Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 8, 2006
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 543 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
492
Mixed:
37
Negative:
14
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
AaronM.Feb 9, 2007
Blood Diamond is a surprisingly intense and informative movie that the general public needs to see. Yet, the box office viewing is evidence of what America does to Africa on a general level (turning a blind eye) that it's no surprise it Blood Diamond is a surprisingly intense and informative movie that the general public needs to see. Yet, the box office viewing is evidence of what America does to Africa on a general level (turning a blind eye) that it's no surprise it never earned a #1 spot. Still, I believe it to be one of the best movies I've seen this year. Leonardo DiCaprio, similar to his performance in The Departed, is believable, strong, and convincing. The story is strong; the cinematography is excellent; and overall, Blood Diamond does everything I want a movie to do (to educate, captivate, and be enjoyable). Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JoeO.Jan 28, 2007
Brilliantly illustrated, accurately placed, powerfully emotional and a total mixture of sociology, politics and commerce
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PeterB.Jan 30, 2007
Superb movie - well acted and exciting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StaceyH.Jan 31, 2007
Wow!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 19, 2011
With a great wild performance by DiCaprio and a surprisingly deep story, Edward Zwick's "Blood Diamond" is certainly one of the most discussed movie of the year.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
8
Ian_EdmondsAug 28, 2011
This movie is a very good, very beutiful acting, loved the movie, F**CK YOU AVAtar HATER aka GERRY MARSHALL YOU ****
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
DickVagNov 11, 2008
lol this movie is funnay!!!! This movie is a disney version of what really happens in africa, all you rich fux buying conflict diamonds for you whore of a wife, while you and your children sleep safely, these people deal with malaria,lol this movie is funnay!!!! This movie is a disney version of what really happens in africa, all you rich fux buying conflict diamonds for you whore of a wife, while you and your children sleep safely, these people deal with malaria, robbery, theft, rape and murder. Some where in south africa, about every 12 seconds there are girls under the age of 10 that are raped. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
vibor123Feb 16, 2011
f only by simply choosing not to buy diamonds until the big corporations start showing some accountability. A lesson I think even the current government needs a reminder of.â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
cgravesDec 6, 2012
Upon watching this movie I am first filled a variety of emotions. Putting it lightly, the movie certainly presents some significant problems facing those who live in Sierra Leonne. When I step back though and consider my emotions I am leftUpon watching this movie I am first filled a variety of emotions. Putting it lightly, the movie certainly presents some significant problems facing those who live in Sierra Leonne. When I step back though and consider my emotions I am left wondering what to do with them. Sure I am filled with some rage and compassion for those who are affected by this "blood diamond" business but if I fail to do anything with my emotions, if I fail to act, did the movie serve any purpose? Ultimately the movie does an excellent job of articulating a problem but fails to answer with a solution.

Personally I am a Christian and when I take a minute to ponder the horrific nature with which diamonds are found and distributed I question their need. As a Christian I walk away and begin to think of the responsibility I have to be aware of people suffering around the world and not only must I be aware but I must seek justice for people embattled in a place like Sierra Leonne. So what should the response be towards this movie? Well, I personally know a woman who made sure her husband bought her an engagement ring that did not cost someones life. I too should push towards a similar response. Too often Christians are seen as legalistic or too removed from the culture. I am here to say, Christians must stay in tune and care about social ills while holding fast to our belief in Christ.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
abi_abhiabiJul 28, 2016
wow i'm just spell bound after watching this movie.. this movie is long but you will never feel that it is long.. it has so much intense in what it shows.. the actions scenes are entertaining and also the movie tells something which we arewow i'm just spell bound after watching this movie.. this movie is long but you will never feel that it is long.. it has so much intense in what it shows.. the actions scenes are entertaining and also the movie tells something which we are not aware of.. and leonardo is just amazing.. Djimon Hounsou is just great.. this is movie is something which everyone have to watch.. thumbs up! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
lobeGreenJan 3, 2007
Amazing film. When I heard that, this film was going to be on our cinema i was thrilled.I was greatfull but when I saw the film I said: This film made for me
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronH.Jan 4, 2007
I really loved this movie. The acting was great, the story was compelling (and never lagged), the characters were intriguing, and it was beautiful visually. Its definitely on my list of movies I would like to own. This is top notch stuff all I really loved this movie. The acting was great, the story was compelling (and never lagged), the characters were intriguing, and it was beautiful visually. Its definitely on my list of movies I would like to own. This is top notch stuff all the way baby. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoC.Feb 5, 2007
Only after a couple of my friends told me I had to go see this movie, I started to believe it. And yes, it has pleasantly suprised me. DiCaprio suprised me with very 'put down' character. But what opened my eyes more, was the moral Only after a couple of my friends told me I had to go see this movie, I started to believe it. And yes, it has pleasantly suprised me. DiCaprio suprised me with very 'put down' character. But what opened my eyes more, was the moral behind it.(cliché) Themes for movies start discussions like Mink was 15years ago. Diamond trade and Mink Trade are alike, the only problem is, what does one find cuter: Man or Animal? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TonyT.Feb 7, 2007
Terrific movie. Loved the performances of the 3 main characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Jun 9, 2007
An impressive action thriller that brings out visceral action, engaging social commentary, and great performances. I recommend it highly, and it'll get woman to look at their jewelry in a different way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CrystalB.Sep 7, 2007
I LOVE this movie it was THE BEST i love you Leonardo Dicaprio *kisses*.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackB.Apr 1, 2008
I had this DVD unopened on my shelf for months, i just watched it and WOW, i was gripped. Ive been impressed by very few films recently but Blood Diamond was superb. Perhaps a dodgy accent by De Caprio but he's really matured into a I had this DVD unopened on my shelf for months, i just watched it and WOW, i was gripped. Ive been impressed by very few films recently but Blood Diamond was superb. Perhaps a dodgy accent by De Caprio but he's really matured into a fantastic actor. Great supporting cast too. The storyline is excellent, the scenery breathtaking and nothing is overdone. Certainly deserves the plaudits it received and i would recommend it to any one out there like myself with a passion for film. The film itself has made me more aware of the problems in Africa, something i will certainly be looking into more in the near future. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DS.Jan 3, 2009
Good performances by DiCaprio and Hounsou. A little long in length, but well directed. Good movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChavezDec 12, 2006
WOW! This is beautiful, powerful, epic, human, real filmmaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RyanH.Dec 4, 2006
A strong "message" film, with fantastic action thrown in. Stellar cast. Ed Zwick's best!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenV.Jan 1, 2007
This movie was outstanding. It was an excellent story in addition to the truth. It really made me think about what was taken for granted in the rest of the world.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrewK.Oct 28, 2007
It is a dramaticly powerful movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GeorgeC.Jan 5, 2007
There were so many times this movie could have gone bad, and it just didn't. I thought it was a really good film. I disagree with a ton of the "professional" critic's comments. I don't think this is a typical Hollywood There were so many times this movie could have gone bad, and it just didn't. I thought it was a really good film. I disagree with a ton of the "professional" critic's comments. I don't think this is a typical Hollywood adventure. I think the movie brings a social awareness to some of the atrocities that we in America don't give a second thought to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GeorgeCaineJan 8, 2007
Like 2006
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JanetM.Feb 13, 2007
I did not like Jennifer Connolly's performance. Beautiful face, no expression, no passion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TracyC.Feb 2, 2007
Powerful, thought provoking and very painfully moving, i had little knowledge of the diamond trade before this or the devsastating lives of child soldiers. Well done to Leo and all involved
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NajwatR.Feb 3, 2007
DiCaprio and Hounsou's stellar performances, slick editing, beautiful cinematography, and appropriate music make this flick one of this year's very best. It's a shame that it didn't get a Best Picture Oscar nomination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EllenS.Feb 5, 2007
Good movie: the story was thought provoking and well told and the acting outstanding. I forgot that DiCaprio was DiCaprio -- and I've never forgotten that before, not in any of his films. Lots of violence, but it seemed appropriate to Good movie: the story was thought provoking and well told and the acting outstanding. I forgot that DiCaprio was DiCaprio -- and I've never forgotten that before, not in any of his films. Lots of violence, but it seemed appropriate to the story. Worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleD.Feb 5, 2007
Absolutely amazing. Powerful, moving, really made me think. Great acting too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JabezT.Mar 23, 2007
This is a generally entertaining movie, and the reason I gave it a 9 is DiCaprio. I generally dislike him and feel that he has been woefully miscast in films like "The Gangs of New York" and "The Aviator". This performance is by far the best This is a generally entertaining movie, and the reason I gave it a 9 is DiCaprio. I generally dislike him and feel that he has been woefully miscast in films like "The Gangs of New York" and "The Aviator". This performance is by far the best of his career, towering above his pathetic effort in "The Departed". He is dragged down a bit by the dopey role Jennifer Connelly plays, but he is totally believable in this role. At its heart, this film focuses on human stories, and this apparently disappoints those that expected a political film. The mostly incomprehensible politics whirl around the characters in a way that is more realistic than a preachy documentary approach would have been. Sappy in parts, predictable in others, but a stunning Leo and a beautiful and numbingly violent African background help make this movie worthwhile. See it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful