Sundance Selects | Release Date: October 25, 2013
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 315 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
259
Mixed:
20
Negative:
36
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
Mancunian2014Jun 21, 2014
A mature movie for mature audiences. It realistically shows a young Adele coming to terms with her lesbian identity in a still rather homophobic French society. It also shows rather well how one cannot control who ones falls in love withA mature movie for mature audiences. It realistically shows a young Adele coming to terms with her lesbian identity in a still rather homophobic French society. It also shows rather well how one cannot control who ones falls in love with and how one's first love can seem like the universe. And moreover, Adele simply doesn't fall for or sleep with Emma right away. It grows to that point which is really how life works. Yet, their relationship doesn't work and rightly sends the message that cheating is detrimental in society where it is widely believed and glorified in the media that one's partner will do that.

My complaints with the film are how long it is (even though you don't feel that as much as you might) and how the long lesbian sex scene was, which essentially ended up being pornography. I wasn't the only theatre-goer who giggled with absurdity when it simply would not end! And not that I think one who watches porn is necessarily immoral; rather I think that the director shouldn't try to pass off what he'd produced in that scene as art. He did it push boundaries and make a name for himself in the end. But it's the filming technology and porn actor stand-ins that's becoming even more common in once taboo movies. This is really nothing revolutionary.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ArchonMagazineSep 20, 2014
Seventeen year old Adele’s life is changed when she meets Emma, a sapphire haired university student, and her path changes from adrift high school student to a woman discovering herself and sexuality in Blue is the Warmest Color.

Beautiful
Seventeen year old Adele’s life is changed when she meets Emma, a sapphire haired university student, and her path changes from adrift high school student to a woman discovering herself and sexuality in Blue is the Warmest Color.

Beautiful and honest, Blue is the Warmest Color is a realistic love story. I find it quite hard to say what it is about without it sounding banal. Adele is a confused girl, unfulfilled in her life, trying to figure out what she desires. Then, girl meets girl, girl likes girl, girl falls for girl, and girl’s relationship with girl follows its destined course. In the meantime, girl comes to grips with her desire, sexuality and identity. But it is poignant, sweet, sad, unflinching,

The more naive and inexperienced of the two is Adele, played by Adele Exarchopoulos. She does a wonderful job of being both unsure and youthfully headstrong. I enjoyed her character being so blase about pretenses and frivolity in the superficial. She is hilarious to watch eat food, Adele ravenously devours meals as if her appetite for sustenance is insatiable. Emma, played by Lea Seydoux, is the slightly older college student who Adele befriends, at first as a confidante and mild mentor, but soon that friendship evolves. Emma is free-spirited and confident without being pretentious or judgmental and Seydoux’s character warrants Adele’s infatuation.

The film is raw, the sex scenes enthralling without being gratuitous and what you get essentially from Blue is the Warmest Color is a coming of age lesbian love story.

More reviews of recent releases can be found at our website.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LowbrowCinemaNov 5, 2013
BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR left me so astounded that I had to walk aimlessly for an hour to get over its gut wrenching examination of our ability to love and lose so profoundly. After nearly 2 hours and 20 minutes the film builds to a seriesBLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR left me so astounded that I had to walk aimlessly for an hour to get over its gut wrenching examination of our ability to love and lose so profoundly. After nearly 2 hours and 20 minutes the film builds to a series of scenes that make you feel like your heart has been scraped by a knife, leaving only a battered shell of veins intact. Forget all the talk of explicit and long sex scenes, these just small bits of BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR, a very modern story of love and its power over all of us. Is it really possible to feel so profoundly? And can we possibly move on? Expand
11 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
9
LamontRaymondOct 27, 2013
The film captures the thrill and the pain of young love highly effectively. The two lead actresses are phenomenal. Even though the movie is over three hours, it never drags. I'd suggest it's not first-date material, but perhaps secondThe film captures the thrill and the pain of young love highly effectively. The two lead actresses are phenomenal. Even though the movie is over three hours, it never drags. I'd suggest it's not first-date material, but perhaps second date! Everyone's heard about the sex scenes. I think they're well done, but perhaps a hair too long. Absolutely recommended. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
lutherrevanNov 14, 2013
Honestly I had a bad feeling about this movie. But when I left the theatre my mind was changed. The actress where extremely talented (especially adele). The film shows feelings like no other I saw for a long time. The 3h passed like 1min andHonestly I had a bad feeling about this movie. But when I left the theatre my mind was changed. The actress where extremely talented (especially adele). The film shows feelings like no other I saw for a long time. The 3h passed like 1min and this for me is a sign of a good movies especially when the story can lead to a bad and boring film. This is for me a masterpiece of the french cinéma. However this film is clearly not for all public and I think the target is people who can be receptive to a strong love story (the gay things isn't a major aspect of the movie and a lot of people can see themselves through the characters) and the theme of the crossing line between teenage and adulthood. So you have to know what you're going to see, because unlike big blockbusters this doesn't fit to everybody. Sorry for my bad english (obviously it isn't my birth language Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
MarkAngelNov 16, 2013
The premise is not especially original nor inventive. Nevertheless, by the end of the third hour, La Vie d'Adele marvelously and bitter-sweetly becomes singular cinematic experience that feels profound in its essence. It avoids tediousThe premise is not especially original nor inventive. Nevertheless, by the end of the third hour, La Vie d'Adele marvelously and bitter-sweetly becomes singular cinematic experience that feels profound in its essence. It avoids tedious detailing of events, people, circumstances, complex narratives or character studies. Instead, it focuses on simple and meaningful themes such as youth, self acceptance, love, sex, loneliness, lost and dealing with the sorrows of solitude. The juxtaposition between life and intimacy achieves greatness here. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGoer14Dec 13, 2013
Blue is the Warmest Color is actually the best picture of 2013. You might consider it a pornography for aristocratic people it is not, and most importantly it is not a pornography; it is a window to certain lives, it is beautiful and soBlue is the Warmest Color is actually the best picture of 2013. You might consider it a pornography for aristocratic people it is not, and most importantly it is not a pornography; it is a window to certain lives, it is beautiful and so realistic, porn is fake, this is so realistic, deserving Academy Award Nominations for both actresses. It is well written, shot and directed, the shaky camera aspect of the film makes it so believable and very realistic. It is very intense at times, very passionate throughout and very ambitious, characters are in some risky situations or even in danger or in a fight, every shot throughout makes you care even more for the characters. Not only an epic love story but also shows the absolutely poisonous look of society towards Gay people. Blue is the Warmest Color is a 3 hours long epic romantic drama, well shot, well written and well directed and acted, everything is done passionately behind the camera and on the camera. A+ Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
iheartmoviessJul 6, 2014
Probably the truest and most raw romantic drama I've ever seen. Adele Exarchopoulos gave a performance with more realistic emotions and reactions than one coming from an actual reality show. This film displays so accurately the humanProbably the truest and most raw romantic drama I've ever seen. Adele Exarchopoulos gave a performance with more realistic emotions and reactions than one coming from an actual reality show. This film displays so accurately the human relationships between one another emotionally and sexually, how quickly they can be broken and how easily they can be repaired.
I can believe the historical choice of giving the prestigious Cannes Palme d'Or award not only to the director, but to the two lead actresses due to their basically flawless performances. Honestly, this film really made me think on a greater scale about love, loss, and me as a partner in relationships.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
netflicNov 9, 2013
This movie won Palme d'Or at the Cannes Film festival this year, so I had certain expectations.
It is true, cinematography and acting are superb. Having said that, why does it have to be that long? Three hours?! At times I was glad it
This movie won Palme d'Or at the Cannes Film festival this year, so I had certain expectations.
It is true, cinematography and acting are superb. Having said that, why does it have to be that long? Three hours?! At times I was glad it wasn't the last show I went to or I would get asleep. In my opinion, it would be beneficial to cut at least 30 minutes out. Nevertheless, overall it is a very intense and sensible movie with plenty of masterfully shot erotic scenes. Love story full of passion, happiness and tears.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawJun 3, 2014
Last year’s Palme d’or winner, the much-hyped French lesbian drama directed by Abdellatif Kechiche, about a high-schooler, Adèle (Exarchopoulos)’s discovery of her sexuality through a heartfelt relationship with Emma (Seydoux), an art collegeLast year’s Palme d’or winner, the much-hyped French lesbian drama directed by Abdellatif Kechiche, about a high-schooler, Adèle (Exarchopoulos)’s discovery of her sexuality through a heartfelt relationship with Emma (Seydoux), an art college student, it is a visceral rite-of-passage eloquently elaborated in 179 minutes, details a thoroughly poignant metamorphosis of Adèle, from green adolescence to womanhood, and under the parameter of Kechiche’s truth-capture tack, unyielding close-ups and hand-held cameras faithfully records the normality of Adèle’s daily life.
read rest of my review on my blog, google cinema omnivore.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensOct 28, 2013
Certainly, one of the best pictures of the year!!! I really liked it, and I'm proud of Adele Exarchopoulos, because she is a very new and young actor and she does really well!!! Excellent!!!
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
ProteusDec 26, 2013
My favorite movie of the year. It casts a magical spell on the viewer. I "fell in love" with the main character and thought about her for days afterward. Just a sublime movie in every way.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
Rossi163Mar 31, 2014
An interesting story, well executed.

I could watch Adele what's-her-name eat a bowl of cereal and nothing else in a feature length film. She was captivating and the director deserves props for creating this timeless piece of art regardless
An interesting story, well executed.

I could watch Adele what's-her-name eat a bowl of cereal and nothing else in a feature length film. She was captivating and the director deserves props for creating this timeless piece of art regardless of his methods or level of creepiness.

So says me, anyways.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
StingwoodMay 1, 2014
This movie may change your life, but it's depends of who you was before you watching this. Maybe it's pretty long movie, but I'm not regret any of 3 hours I've spend watching Blue Is the Warmest Color, beacause there is great acting,This movie may change your life, but it's depends of who you was before you watching this. Maybe it's pretty long movie, but I'm not regret any of 3 hours I've spend watching Blue Is the Warmest Color, beacause there is great acting, interesting plot and pretty good direction. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
NataliaDiazAug 9, 2014
La vida real, esto es lo que de verdad pasa con el amor, todo lo que no se espera de una cinta que sorprende, los 179 minutos mas encantadores de mi vida, La mejor película de la década, sin duda!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
AzurimDec 4, 2013
I'm not a big fan of the genre, but I enjoyed all 3 hours of the movie. The last time I had to hide behind the seat in front of me was around 20 years ago when Jurassic Park came out. Watching "Blue Is the Warmest Color" In a movie theatre II'm not a big fan of the genre, but I enjoyed all 3 hours of the movie. The last time I had to hide behind the seat in front of me was around 20 years ago when Jurassic Park came out. Watching "Blue Is the Warmest Color" In a movie theatre I had to hide because of the sex scenes, which are quite good, but difficult to watch in a public spaces even if you have a lot of experience watching porn xD However, it is a good thing, as it is a new experience, not a bad thing. The movie itself is very realistic and honest: the characters act as they probably would have in real life, no unrealistic or accidental twists of plot that I could have noticed. I would believe if I was told that the movie is entirely based on a true story. The actors are also very good, their emotions seem sincere. Some people notice that the movie is above all about lesbian love. Actually the fact that the main characters are lesbian is not so important for the love story that is presented. This observation in itself is interesting: that a movie about lesbians is actually not about lesbians after all and, moreover, you are not expected to experience that love between lesbians is something out of the ordinary, it is shown as something mundane. As it should be. Would recommend watching. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
Prodigy2013Dec 15, 2013
Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder people say. Some may call this erotic French drama; art, others may say it’s pornographic; some may callll its premise an insightful study, others may say it’s a shallow excuse for graphic sex scenes. IfBeauty is in the eyes of the beholder people say. Some may call this erotic French drama; art, others may say it’s pornographic; some may callll its premise an insightful study, others may say it’s a shallow excuse for graphic sex scenes. If you ask me, Blue is the Warmest Colour, like most works of art, is a bit indulgent; but it felt perfect! This was somewhat of a coming-of-age film about a teenage girl named Adele, and the tremendous changes her life incurs after she falls for an artsy, blue haired college woman named Emma. Adèle Exarchopoulos, who (conveniently) stars as Adele, gives a breakout performance. Her odyssey of sexual awakening and emotional maturity; as she comes to understand herself and the complexities of love was a committed performance. The character’s growth takes years; with the film spanning her awkward teenage years all the way through to young adulthood. Exarchopoulos stands firmly, holding our attention for the entire time. Both her and her equally fabulous co-star, Léa Seydoux (as Emma), showed a great deal of bravery in their roles. My hat goes off to them. The final part of this trio was Abdellatif Kechiche, who obviously directed the hell out this movie and its stars. The way his camera stalks and zooms in on Adele at even her most intimate moments could almost be considered predatory. Also the detail he gives to those controversial sex scenes may have been excessive. In the end, it was all in the name of getting this character study across in the most meticulous way possible; and I must commend him for that. With so much commitment and hard work on all the corners of this film, it’s no surprise how persuasive Adele and Emma romance was. I was taken aback by it, and captivated for the film’s entire three hour run time. Blue is the Warmest Colour was a keen study that was thoroughly moving. Beauty was certainly in the eyes of this beholder. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
GauthierOct 29, 2013
A disconcerting realism serving a great, an erotic, a mad love. A true love. The actresses are gorgous, sensual. They really live before our eyes. Everything seems authentic (I have NEVER seen something like that). The Cinematography isA disconcerting realism serving a great, an erotic, a mad love. A true love. The actresses are gorgous, sensual. They really live before our eyes. Everything seems authentic (I have NEVER seen something like that). The Cinematography is absolutely sublime (Kechiche is a virtuoso). And finally, 3 hours is not enough I would like (and I will) go back to cinema to watch again and again Adèle and Emma love, cry, laugh live. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
mapizarroOct 25, 2013
"La vie d'Adèle" is single story about a young girl grows from teenage to adulthood. As Homer's Odyssey, Adèle crosses many experiences, her first love, her first disappointment. Her partenaire, Emma, is simpler than Adèle. Emma is clearer,"La vie d'Adèle" is single story about a young girl grows from teenage to adulthood. As Homer's Odyssey, Adèle crosses many experiences, her first love, her first disappointment. Her partenaire, Emma, is simpler than Adèle. Emma is clearer, no default. Adèle is more complex but it's difficult to empathize with her. Perhaps, director wants that because it's realer. "Blue Is the Warmest Color" is raw, honest, passional and amazing. Great film! Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
7
AdamantJun 1, 2014
Realistic to the point of being boring at times, though stunning in others. An honest look at a relationship that just couldn't be. The story follows the progression of a relationship that starts as unruly passion and experimentation to oneRealistic to the point of being boring at times, though stunning in others. An honest look at a relationship that just couldn't be. The story follows the progression of a relationship that starts as unruly passion and experimentation to one of stagnation, distance and eventual separation. Sexual, blue and realistic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
shadow-catNov 29, 2014
It was a very good movie that was well acted and I would recommend to people to watch but it did go on for some time and didn't feel like there was a concrete plot and it was just allowed to go on and on. It was an enjoyable film though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MattBrady99May 3, 2015
This is one of those movies you should never watch with your parents because it will be awkward and you don't want them to question you about it.

The story to Blue is the warmest Color is about a young lesbian couple from inception all the
This is one of those movies you should never watch with your parents because it will be awkward and you don't want them to question you about it.

The story to Blue is the warmest Color is about a young lesbian couple from inception all the way through to one possible end.

Wow this took me a while to get around to watch this movie I mean originally I was going to watch this back in 2013 but at the time I was busy and after a while I forgot about the movie, until this year I finally watched it and wow let my just tell you that this movie is brilliant and I'm not just saying that because of the sex scenes, I really do think this is a real and honest look at young age sexuality.

Adèle Exarchopoulos and Léa Seydoux both give Oscar worthy performance in this movie that's how good they were. Now one of the actress Adèle Exarchopoulos that I never seen before in anything until this and I got to say that she is a actress I would like to see in more roles showing off her talent. I have seen Léa Seydoux before in movies like Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol, Midnight in Paris, The Grand Budapest Hotel and Inglorious Bastards, and just like I said about Adèle Exarchopoulos I would like to see Léa Seydoux in more movie and well she is going to be in Spectre so there's that.

The director of the movie Abdellatif Kechiche directs this movie so incredibly well and so magnificent that he understood teenagers today how they really act. It wasn't like Hollywood movies that normally get it totally wrong and have no clue on what teenagers are like today because Hollywood are just a studio with their heads up their own ass and have no clue on reality, then comes this movie that's not from a big Hollywood studio but from a different country and a different director who actually have touch of reality on it's characters and how young people discovering their sexuality, and that's why Abdellatif Kechiche pretty much made this movie work.

Now I hear a lot of people saying that this movie is basically porn with the two lesbian and them having...you know what I'm talking about. Now here's the thing porn is basically not real and what I mean is that the actors are getting paid to do they business and the whole meaning of porn is to watch these people who probably don't know each other or don't really like each that much but they have sex anyway and after the video is done they get paid and off they go. Blue is the Warmest Color dose have sex scenes that you would find on PornHub if I have to be honest but it's more than just, the movie brilliantly shows a relationship, a break up, how much they love each other or do they love each other. It's things like this that isn't rocket science to work out and some people are making false arguments over pointless things in movies, some people are so stupid sometimes.

The writing was realistic and brilliant, the movie is 3 hours long and it flew by me just like that.

Now for problems: I haven't got that much to say when it comes to problems but if I have to really think of the things that I didn't like is that there are some scenes that I felt didn't really belong there and felt a bit fill, and that's it for problems, you see how small my problem was.

Blue is the Warmest Color may not be a easy watch for some people but it shows a realistic look on sexuality and young people today that I think is what makes this movie great from start till the very end.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
CineAutoctonoDec 2, 2015
Nothing vaguely out the devil by mouth but this movie has more feature themes of sexuality , of the young . The union of same-sex couples , yes sir , that thing. There I showed the clearest dark secrets but at the same time about having aNothing vaguely out the devil by mouth but this movie has more feature themes of sexuality , of the young . The union of same-sex couples , yes sir , that thing. There I showed the clearest dark secrets but at the same time about having a complement ... as said Miss Antioquia, in Colombia , in 2008 "Woman to Woman , Man to Man ," but I worry about the theme pros and cons . The Pros by the community and the state itself , and the Contras by The Church (knowing that God's rules is that the man be just the woman , and in the opposite direction ) . But this film left everything bare , bare to players who won the Palme d'Or at Cannes. That controversial !. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
movielover1966Aug 8, 2015
Absolutely amazing movie. This brings back memories of young love. Adele is breathtakingly beautiful in this movie. The emotion is raw and her innocence is real.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
donelsonOct 14, 2014
An astonishing performance from Adele Exarchopoulos. In each scene, every shot, you see and feel and live her reality. The confusion of our early awakening sexuality, our search for identity and place in the world, the shock of discovery ofAn astonishing performance from Adele Exarchopoulos. In each scene, every shot, you see and feel and live her reality. The confusion of our early awakening sexuality, our search for identity and place in the world, the shock of discovery of true passion, losing oneself in another, young love and then deep love. Our identity entwined with another's, the building of balance and union, partnership and security, and endless days of joy.

And from this grows a curiosity about limits, about life, about other possibilities. And then the surprise of carelessness, mistake, and tragedy. The profound pain, the agony that goes on, and never really ends. Longing and wishing and regret, which slowly dulls and is covered by busy-ness and life.

And always, all your life, you remember and ache as you re-live those days, first true love, held inside, honoured but faded.

And I am very lucky, for in this movie I re-lived all of this, all those memories awakened, those feelings and passions and joys, in this masterpiece of acting and writing and camera and direction. Joy and pain and love and life.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AlvaradoKTAJun 17, 2014
Incredibly long at three hours, Blue Is the Warmest Color is paced as to connect the audience to these believable characters. Beautifully shot and passionately acted, I found it easy to love this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
catcarloJan 22, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Una storia d’amore. Che nasce per uno sguardo casuale in una piazza affollata, esplode di inarrestabile passione, poi inizia a raffreddarsi tra routine e piccoli malintesi, infine si conclude con amarezza a causa di nuove attrazioni anche se il legame fatica a spezzarsi. Adele è una liceale di Lilla che vive le incertezze proprie della sua età, tra una famiglia che non ne intuisce il difficile momento e una scuola di periferia animata però da insegnanti appassionati che ne alimentano l’amore per la letteratura. La sua omosessualità si disvela incrociando Emma, più vecchia di lei di qualche anno, proprio mentre sta andando all’appuntamento con un ragazzo: quando la ritrova in un bar per lesbiche dove è finita un po’ per caso e un po’ no,. ci vuole poco perché il rapporto diventi intensamente fisico e, per lungo tempo, si trasformi in una simbiosi allo stesso tempo totalizzante e liberatoria. Quando però Adele cresce e corona il suo sogno di insegnare all’asilo – inizia qui la seconda parte del film - si presentano nuove opportunità che finiranno per allontanare le due ragazze: i capelli di Emma - non più studentessa d’arte, ma pittrice - non sono più blu come nella prima parte e sono il simbolo della normalizzazione. Malgrado una scenataccia di gelosia che soffoca nella culla il rapporto dell’amante con un collega, è proprio Emma a rifarsi presto una vita con una nuova compagna, mentre Adele – più fragile – resta a fare i conti con il vuoto nella sua vita e una brace che non si vuole spegnere. L’idea che ci vogliano tre ore per raccontare una storia all’apparenza banale potrebbe spaventare, eppure – a parte una scena di sesso da circa otto minuti francamente pletorica (però, nel caso scappasse la pipì…) - il franco tunisino Kechiche gira un film in cui non si avverte il passare del tempo grazie a una capacità di raccontare con levità che rende estremamente scorrevole il passare dei minuti. Il tran-tran della vita quotidiana – la scuola, la famiglia, il lavoro – è reso interessante da un notevole cura per il particolare e, soprattutto, grazie a un’attenzione assidua per i volti e gli sguardi, con una speciale predilezione per quelli di Adèle Exarchopoulos, indagata da mille primi piani quando è sveglia e anche quando è addormentata con l’utilizzo di materiale girato fuori scena per accentuare l’autenticità. Il soggetto è tratto da un fumetto di Julie March, ma il regista e lo co-sceneggiatrice Ghalia Lacroix ne hanno eliminato qualsiasi effetto melodrammatico per raccontare una vicenda che dimostra che, se ogni amore è diverso a modo suo, tutti possono essere interessanti da raccontare (ma bisogna esserne capaci, ovviamente, come nelle delicatissime scene al parco quando il sentimento si dischiude) e non importa se il sesso dei due componenti la coppia sia uguale o diverso. Curiosamente, la questione che ha smosso la chiacchiera attorno al film viene ben presto accantonata durante la visione perché l’attenzione è attratta da aspetti più intriganti, dimostrando che spesso lo scandalo è nella mente di chi guarda: Kechiche sta dalla parte dei suoi personaggi e si limita a mostrare le reazioni delle persone attorno alle due ragazze limitandosi a indicare i due estremi del rifiuto un po’ ipocrita da parte delle compagne di scuola e della serena accettazione nella famiglia di Emma. Ne esce un film che unisce qualità narrativa e grande densità emotiva sprigionando un fascino sottile che si infila sottopelle e cresce con il passare del tempo dopo che i titoli di coda sono finiti: non è perfetto – c’è qualche lungaggine, le scene di sesso sono troppe e allentano la tensione, il rapporto di Adele con i genitori è inconsistente, il salto all’età adulta troppo brusco – ma si tratta di difetti ben lontani dall’inficiare la qualità complessiva che è stata con merito premiata a Cannes. Così come è giusto che sia stata riconosciuta la bravura delle due attrici che sono sempre al centro della scena – il resto del cast fa tappezzeria – protagoniste di un impegnativo tour de force da cui escono come meglio non si potrebbe disegnando due figure molto concrete, magari non particolarmente simpatiche ma estremamente reali (‘niente trucco sul set!’ pare abbia ordinato il burbero regista e la povera Léa Seydoux è stata costretta a studiare Brando e Dean per tirar fuori la propria parte maschile). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LeZeeFeb 28, 2014
I must admit that this lesbian movie was quite impressive than any gay theme movie ever I saw. It gave equal preferences to elements in the story. I mean it did not lean on the only sexual side, but emerged to explore on the emotional side asI must admit that this lesbian movie was quite impressive than any gay theme movie ever I saw. It gave equal preferences to elements in the story. I mean it did not lean on the only sexual side, but emerged to explore on the emotional side as well. It briefs how hard a life as a gay and within that relationship problems like regular ones.

The director used some of the outstanding tricks to capture many great scenes for the movie. Looked everything was realistic and natural including sleeping, fighting and street walking scenes and of course sexual intercourse. Yeah, it had too strong sex scenes like Steve McQueen's 'Shame' and I was shocked for its rawness. It shows how todays director's are fearless to show what they really wanted in their films.

Like the original French title say 'La Vie D'adèle: Chapters 1 and 2' this movie divides its story telling into two parts. The first one reveals the journey of character Adèle to find what really she is and another spills the seriousness of its reality. Sometime we won't understand the reason for path we're choosing to travel in life. Once we're into it the after effects will teach more about the truth. This movie was rendered in such concept.

Adèle was the center of the attraction. It was her real name as well the screen name. Every youngster will fall for her incredible innocent performance and for her wild beauty, especially for her rabbit teeth. There are many reasons why it was called Blue, As many of us believed because of blue hair of character Emma. But Emma comes somewhere middle of the story and later on she vanishes till the beginning of the ending. I thought maybe because of Adèle who wore a blue dress at the end, which warms her (life) after the disastrous previous years.

The aggressive sex scenes from the movie drawn the barrier from the Oscar. Otherwise, this movie would have done great in 2014 Academy Awards. It is not fair to let it go because of the plot it deals, there's many things in it like life and relationship. If you are successful you will get the movie's message at the end with your sympathy and tenderness.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews