Blue Is the Warmest Color Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 221 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Blue is the Warmest Color centers on a 15-year-old girl named Adèle (Adèle Exarchopoulos) who is climbing to adulthood and dreams of experiencing her first love. A handsome male classmate falls for her, but an unsettling erotic reverie upsets the romance before it begins. Adèle imagines thatBlue is the Warmest Color centers on a 15-year-old girl named Adèle (Adèle Exarchopoulos) who is climbing to adulthood and dreams of experiencing her first love. A handsome male classmate falls for her, but an unsettling erotic reverie upsets the romance before it begins. Adèle imagines that the mysterious, blue-haired girl she encountered in the street slips into her bed and possesses her with an overwhelming pleasure. That blue-haired girl is a confident older art student named Emma (Léa Seydoux), who will soon enter Adèle's life for real, leading to an intense and complicated love story that spans a decade and is touchingly universal in its depiction. [IFC Films] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    May 27, 2013
    100
    Less concerned with classic storytelling than with creating virtual performance pieces on screen, the film features dozens of extended sequences of Adele and Emma both in and out of bed—scenes that are virtuously acted and directed, even if they run on for longer than most filmmakers would allow.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Oct 25, 2013
    100
    It’s a simple, even predictable story, yet textured so exquisitely and acted so forcefully as to feel almost revelatory.
  3. Reviewed by: Ian Freer
    Nov 18, 2013
    100
    Anchored by two of the most natural, committed performances you’ll ever see, Blue Is The Warmest Colour is the most moving love story of the year.
  4. 90
    The movie goes on for three hours without an emotional letup — it’s finally overwhelming.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Oct 24, 2013
    88
    Blue Is the Warmest Color sweeps you up on waves of humor, heartbreak and ravishing romance.
  6. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    May 27, 2013
    80
    It's a long movie, and by the end you may well feel every bit as wrung out as the characters. But it is genuinely passionate film-making.
  7. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 7, 2013
    50
    Kechiche's doting on entwined limbs, thrusting pelvises and oral stimulation, all carefully posed and continued longer than necessary to get his point across, races beyond titillation to creepy voyeurism.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 6 out of 37
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR left me so astounded that I had to walk aimlessly for an hour to get over its gut wrenching examination of ourBLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR left me so astounded that I had to walk aimlessly for an hour to get over its gut wrenching examination of our ability to love and lose so profoundly. After nearly 2 hours and 20 minutes the film builds to a series of scenes that make you feel like your heart has been scraped by a knife, leaving only a battered shell of veins intact. Forget all the talk of explicit and long sex scenes, these just small bits of BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR, a very modern story of love and its power over all of us. Is it really possible to feel so profoundly? And can we possibly move on? Expand
  2. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    La vida real, esto es lo que de verdad pasa con el amor, todo lo que no se espera de una cinta que sorprende, los 179 minutos mas encantadoresLa vida real, esto es lo que de verdad pasa con el amor, todo lo que no se espera de una cinta que sorprende, los 179 minutos mas encantadores de mi vida, La mejor película de la década, sin duda! Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Blue is the Warmest Color is actually the best picture of 2013. You might consider it a pornography for aristocratic people it is not, andBlue is the Warmest Color is actually the best picture of 2013. You might consider it a pornography for aristocratic people it is not, and most importantly it is not a pornography; it is a window to certain lives, it is beautiful and so realistic, porn is fake, this is so realistic, deserving Academy Award Nominations for both actresses. It is well written, shot and directed, the shaky camera aspect of the film makes it so believable and very realistic. It is very intense at times, very passionate throughout and very ambitious, characters are in some risky situations or even in danger or in a fight, every shot throughout makes you care even more for the characters. Not only an epic love story but also shows the absolutely poisonous look of society towards Gay people. Blue is the Warmest Color is a 3 hours long epic romantic drama, well shot, well written and well directed and acted, everything is done passionately behind the camera and on the camera. A+ Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2013
    8
    I'm not a big fan of the genre, but I enjoyed all 3 hours of the movie. The last time I had to hide behind the seat in front of me was aroundI'm not a big fan of the genre, but I enjoyed all 3 hours of the movie. The last time I had to hide behind the seat in front of me was around 20 years ago when Jurassic Park came out. Watching "Blue Is the Warmest Color" In a movie theatre I had to hide because of the sex scenes, which are quite good, but difficult to watch in a public spaces even if you have a lot of experience watching porn xD However, it is a good thing, as it is a new experience, not a bad thing. The movie itself is very realistic and honest: the characters act as they probably would have in real life, no unrealistic or accidental twists of plot that I could have noticed. I would believe if I was told that the movie is entirely based on a true story. The actors are also very good, their emotions seem sincere. Some people notice that the movie is above all about lesbian love. Actually the fact that the main characters are lesbian is not so important for the love story that is presented. This observation in itself is interesting: that a movie about lesbians is actually not about lesbians after all and, moreover, you are not expected to experience that love between lesbians is something out of the ordinary, it is shown as something mundane. As it should be. Would recommend watching. Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    Last year’s Palme d’or winner, the much-hyped French lesbian drama directed by Abdellatif Kechiche, about a high-schooler, AdèleLast year’s Palme d’or winner, the much-hyped French lesbian drama directed by Abdellatif Kechiche, about a high-schooler, Adèle (Exarchopoulos)’s discovery of her sexuality through a heartfelt relationship with Emma (Seydoux), an art college student, it is a visceral rite-of-passage eloquently elaborated in 179 minutes, details a thoroughly poignant metamorphosis of Adèle, from green adolescence to womanhood, and under the parameter of Kechiche’s truth-capture tack, unyielding close-ups and hand-held cameras faithfully records the normality of Adèle’s daily life.
    read rest of my review on my blog, google cinema omnivore.
    Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2014
    6
    Good story, good acting, but not really well-structured, in my opinion. A bit overlong (and I usually like films to be over 2 and a halfGood story, good acting, but not really well-structured, in my opinion. A bit overlong (and I usually like films to be over 2 and a half hours) and the craving for "realistic-ness" just too pushed, which resulted in the film not being really realistic after all. This results in a compelling but slightly average watch.

    I just want to point out that the explicit scenes didn't bother me at all, in fact, the first two or three were almost necessary. Besides, they seem to be a common feature in French film. The one thing that bothered me, though, was the pseudo-intellectual dialogues between the characters, as if the screenwriter wanted us, the viewers, to learn something about philosophy too - a bit offensive and, again, pushed.
    Expand
  7. Feb 17, 2015
    0
    It's time to tell the truth: this movie is a porn for people who want to fap on two beauties who make sex. Everyone saw the movie for that.It's time to tell the truth: this movie is a porn for people who want to fap on two beauties who make sex. Everyone saw the movie for that. Anyone who try to deniet it is either an hypocrit or naive. Admit it: people love lesbian porn, more than normal porn, because it allow to see two naked beauties without see naked men.

    "But hey, we live in a society who would istantly condemn porn, so we need to mask that porn as art" that's what the director thinked. That is exactly what's this movie is: porn disguised as art. You don't believe me? Read the interviews: the actress repetedly said that the director forced them to do the sex scenes very many times and every time the director acted like a perv and even take advantage of the situation to touch them.

    But that's just the typical hypocrisy of french cinema: just like they have pretended to defend the tigers with the Two Brothers movie while that movie actually SUPPORT tiger's abuse by using trained tigers to shot it. In the same way, this movie pretend to be "an opera who defend and acclaim the homosexual love" while in truth it's just porn for aroused teenagers.

    When I say that I watched this movie just to see the beautiful girls naked I will be accused by prissiest and conformists to be a perv or one who doesn't understand the movie, while in truth I'm only honest and I understand the movie more than them. But sincerity rarely get popularity. They prefer to play the sophisticated one and say that they love the movie because of the """"messagges"""

    As another confirm, the two actress are not even actress, they are MODELS. But you can see for yourself in the movie that they are not actress, since none of them can act proberly. But no one was interested in acting or story by the way.
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2013

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2013 Image
    Published: January 6, 2014
    There were more great movies released in 2013 than in any year in recent memory. Browse our official lists of the year's highest-scoring movies in a variety of categories, and check out 2013's worst films, too.
  2. 2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 8, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.