User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 219 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 219

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    3
    I am a long-time Woody Allen fan and consider myself a minor aficionado of his work, but I am at a loss as to what he was intending by making a film about a person who is mentally ill and whose life is coming apart--again and again--because of her inability to have a relationship with the truth. Glib jazz played over tragic emotional breakdowns did not elicit amusement in me or my partner. We were deeply disappointed and somewhat disturbed. Okay, quite disturbed. I give it a 3 instead of 1 because there are some excellent performances. Too bad they are for naught. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    2
    The movie is well done, however it is not enjoyable. Very few of the characters are likable, and seeing Jasmine's character have one mental breakdown after another becomes tiresome. The film is so bleak it becomes difficult to watch. I was ready to walk out when the film finally ended. This should not be listed as a comedy.
  3. Aug 11, 2013
    2
    Although this is well acted, Woody Allen's arrogance and cruelty is hard to take.

    We watch a Cate Blanchett's very unattractive character disintegrate under a mass of grandiose and selfish self-delusion while she behaves badly to the people that try to help her. It's disturbing to watch, and I came away wondering why anyone would want to make an intensely ugly movie like this. Is this a
    morality tale? Or just something to make us feel good about ourselves while we look down on the main character's frailties?

    I've been used to indulging Woody Allen's oddly dated view of the world because his interesting characters, but this is just too cruel and unredeeming.
    Expand
  4. Irk
    Aug 16, 2013
    3
    I'm a blue collar guy and if there's one thing I know, Woody Allen has never spent a moment of his life getting to know men like me. In fact, while watching "Blue Jasmine", I was struck with the feeling that almost every character in this movie was somewhat imaginary. I kept thinking, "This is not how a person from this background in this situation would respond or behave", there was always something disturbingly off kilter in nearly every scene. It felt like a play, a two dimensional play.
    Cate Blanchett is a terrific actress and it's something to see as she tries to spackle her past outwardly while desperately failing to reconcile her conscious inwardly. Almost everything else is garbage. Your demographic for this movie goes like this: White, Affluent, Insular, Educated, and mostly in
    Retirement. Woody Allen knows this audience and, in my opinion, very little else. Clams in San Francisco? Dear Lord, did no one whisper into the emperor's ear that crab is what we eat here? Stupid example yes, but the entire movie has dumb moments like that. But details matter.
    Call me an idiot, but I did not even know what this movie was or that Woody directed it, furthermore, I didn't pick up on the fact that this was a retelling of Streetcar. I really can't tell you how that passed me off. The writer and director of this movie is a putz. Such good actors, such a great city to set it in, such a lot of money; Such an insipid waste.
    Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Painfully depressing movie with no redeeming qualities--other than a bunch of fully developed characters who I'm happy to not know in life and wish I'd never met on film. Frankly, I'm baffled by all the positive reviews. Cate Blanchett's performance verges on being histrionic, which apparently critics are keen on. Mental health issues visible breakdowns sociopathic behavior awards, please. Best of luck to the cast and crew on that, but I'd like my hour and a half back. Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2013
    2
    I'm giving this film 2 stars because at times it was funny but mostly it felt like torture rather than entertainment and the only reason I endured the entire film was I was hoping it would redeem itself, which it did not. If you want to get up close and personal to a bunch of characters who live in a constant state of denial and have given up their common sense and morals for material possessions, treating each other as part of the food chain, as objects to be manipulated, used and thrown away if that's your version of "humanity" then by all means go see this. My suggestion to the rest of us wait a few weeks until its on DVD and rent it that way you will only spend a couple bucks and if you don't like it you can switch the channel. Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    0
    this movie shouldn't be nominated for anything. i love woody allen, but giving this movie good reviews is only encouraging more of the same material. the only depth in the story is in blanchett's character and in my opinion her acting wasn't as great as a lot of critics seem to think. watching this old woman in denial for what seemed to be 3 hours when it was only 98 minutes is not an enjoyable experience. the movie has two comedians and the only parts i laughed at were how awkward the serious scenes came off.
    this type of movie could have worked if it had more depth. blanchett's character doesn't fit into the typical woody allen movie, if this movie accomplished anything it's highlighting that fact in bold. it was just a big disappointment and the blame has to go to allen. i can't blame the actors for believing in the movie or giving it a good try. i still respect allen but if he produces more movies like this you can count me out.
    Expand
  8. Jan 10, 2014
    4
    Another story that has been done time and time again with below average performances except for Cate Blanchett. Very few of the characters are likable, and seeing Jasmine's character have one mental breakdown after another becomes tiresome.
  9. Sep 22, 2013
    0
    Great cast, well played by everyone! But I am giving review for a movie not a cast. Worst movie I have seen in years!! Man if you read this run away, do any house work anything your women wants to do BUT do not go to this movie. It is depressing, it is boring and useless! Do not waste your time!! I hate scary movies but I would trade it for any scary movies in a heart beat. Now for all girls that think your life is terrible go to this movie! Maybe you will appreciate something in your life more and stop complaining about not having this or that.
    This movie is not couple movie!
    I would name it as "movie for two(or more) single girls "
    I hate it!
    Expand
  10. Jan 25, 2014
    2
    The Village Voice review on the left argues that Blue Jasmine is " relentlessly clueless about the ways real human beings live" and I think that just sums it up perfectly. Most of the characters are so completely ridiculous and artificial that it seems like they escaped from an SNL skit. That shouldn't be a problem in a comedy, but here's the thing: there's nothing funny about the plot of Blue Jasmine. There's infidelity, divorce, financial fraud, prison, suicide, debts, mental problems... a whole litany of very serious topics that Allen handles with a subtlety straight from the Three Stooges. It's revolting and the only reason why I'm giving Blue Jasmine such an undeservedly high rating is because of the excellent acting. Collapse
  11. Mar 28, 2014
    2
    The plot was bad version of, perhaps, Groundhog Day? I had a strong feeling that Kate Blanchett actually enjoyed playing the character, in a way to demoralise this woman. Is it my false perception, or is the actress an evil person in actual life? I don't like her in general, but this movie turned me completely off, I will avoid any movies with her playing in it, in future.
    As for the
    plot, this was just representing women in an unfavourable light, ridicule rich, and just full of negativity, overly exaggerated and clearly single sided opinion, author obviously hates women most of all
    All in all movie about nothing, no detection of any good morals, it was absorbed with hate and cruelty. I don't want my kids to ever see this
    Expand
  12. Dec 26, 2013
    0
    I received the DVD as a SAG screener. I'm so glad I didn't have to buy a ticket for it...or two tickets..plus popcorn and drinks...and driving to and from the theater...with the expectation that this woujld be a great movie because critics and fans say it is. I was hoping that before I popped the DVD in the machine it wouldn't be one of those wordy diatribes that Woody has with himself on screen as all of his characters. My hopes were dashed. Did all of us watching not know how this was going to play out? What was the point? There was nothing realistic about it Blue Jasmine..and that's because it was an unintended parody on what life might be like for a new divorcee who got bit by a Madoff style scheme gone Federal. Oh poor pitiful Jasmine/Jeanette. Who cares?!?!?!?! No one cares. it's been done so many different ways. Was it well acted? It was overacted by Kate Blanchett with a forced Manhattan Elite American accent. The only scenes I liked involved Louis CK's Al Munsinger character. Well done, Woody. Anytime you can cast the likes of Louie CK, you've done well. I should rate this film a 2 instead of a 1 just for that, but i won't. Do us all a favor, Woodster. Go back to making ridiculous comedies like "Bananas" You're unmatched in that genre. And drop the clarinet-laden art house wannabe flicks. Leave them to the French. They know how to make the films you're attempting to puzzle together. Expand
  13. Mar 1, 2014
    3
    Working against time to see the Oscar nominees. Didn't know that this was a Woody Allen film until it started . .that's how clueless I am. Cate B.'s performance was very good and it sounds like she'll win the Oscar. Okay. Trying to figure out why this film was so disturbing to me. Not sure . . . wanted to eject the DVD but waited until the end for what I hoped would be some redemption. Disappointed that it ended the way it started . .Jasmine talking to herself. Sheesh. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Oct 4, 2013
    80
    Allen’s ambitions with this taut, tart character study might not be stratospheric, but they’re at least moderate-to-high, and his degree of success is exciting.
  2. Reviewed by: Jamie Graham
    Sep 26, 2013
    80
    The one-liners are in evidence but this is more abrasive than you might expect. Blends rigour and vigour to join "Vicky Cristina Barcelona" and "Midnight In Paris" as the best of late-period Woody.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 26, 2013
    100
    After all those false dawns, non-comebacks and semi-successful Euro jeux d'esprit, Allen has produced an outstanding movie, immensely satisfying and absorbing, and set squarely on American turf: that is, partly in San Francisco and partly in New York.