Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 219 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 26, 2013
    100
    After all those false dawns, non-comebacks and semi-successful Euro jeux d'esprit, Allen has produced an outstanding movie, immensely satisfying and absorbing, and set squarely on American turf: that is, partly in San Francisco and partly in New York.
  2. Reviewed by: Manohla Dargis
    Jul 25, 2013
    100
    [Allen's] most sustained, satisfying and resonant film since “Match Point.”
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Aug 8, 2013
    88
    Blue Jasmine, which is easily Allen’s best and most powerful movie since 2005’s "Match Point", is filled with terrific performances, including Hawkins as the sweet-natured Ginger.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jul 25, 2013
    80
    The way she (Blanchette) anchors this superb dramedy is a thing of beauty.
  5. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Aug 7, 2013
    78
    The saga unfolds in a fairly charming fashion, and only Allen’s abrupt ending breaks the spell. Clearly, the filmmaker has no more ideas than Jasmine about how to resolve her predicament.
  6. Reviewed by: Geoff Pevere
    Aug 1, 2013
    75
    Woody Allen’s first Stateside production in nearly a decade is a sharply observed, post-economic crash comedy-drama that boasts a formidable performance by Cate Blanchett and addresses such pertinent real-world concerns as class, gender and corporate criminality in urban America.
  7. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jul 23, 2013
    30
    Blue Jasmine is so relentlessly clueless about the ways real human beings live, and so eager to make the same points about human nature that Allen has made dozens of times before, that it seems like a movie beamed from another planet.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 61
  2. Negative: 12 out of 61
  1. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Great movie, great acting. Cate Blanchette is Jasmine, a woman who has lost touch with reality because she's lost her identity. Woody Allen's script and overall concept are both human and divine. This movie is so full of humanity, everyone should be able to relate in some odd way and feel both annoyance and empathy for its characters. I love this movie. Allen at his best. Expand
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    Simply put: it's tremendous. Cate Blanchett is astonishing. I can't recall a better performance (or more difficult role) by any actress in recent years; yes, it really is that good (prepare to be awed!). It's Woody Allen's best movie in quite a long time. This was a very tricky film to pull off; credit the faultless cast and Mr. Allen's direction for crafting such a compelling and successful production given the extremely complicated relationship of it's subject matter and tone. On this last point, moviegoers must be aware that although the film is filled with continual humor and comedy, the underlying story is very dark and unsettling. That said, it's not standard Hollywood film fare in the best possible way. There is no predictable story or narrative here; you never feel entirely comfortable with the characters or where the film will take you next. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    I just saw the film last night in London. Wow! Allen's best picture in years. I liked Midnight In Paris but this is even better and fabulous in most aspects. Treat yourself to an acting masterclass from Blanchette. We will always have opinions about what works and what doesn't. I felt this hit a nerve about where we are in society today and what we are looking for and how we get and lose what is most important. Life is messy and we are living in uncertain times like never before. No one knows what is around the corner and life throws the unexpected towards us without warning. Thank you Woody! Expand
  4. Jan 11, 2014
    8
    Great movie - funny, dramatic, and consistently entertaining. Cate Blanchett is a true artist. Woody Allen killed it with this one. Alexander Skaarsgard (sp?) was my least favorite part. He just seemed out of place amongst such connected actors. Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2014
    7
    Well, the viewer reviews on Metacritic look like Christmas lights down the page. One thing I think most of us can agree on is that Cate Blanchett utterly lifts this role above and beyond. Her believability as a high-heeled, Park Avenue strutter is seamless through each swing and swell of exasperation. Blue Jasmine is quality and reaches it's audience on emotional and humorous levels. Although, like some films of recent note (Inside Llewyn Davis), the characters eventually fold under their own shortcomings and finally no one learns or grows and no redemptions are achieved. And given Blanchett's scintillating performance, I remain wondering what may have happened had the bomb gone off. Expand
  6. Aug 9, 2013
    5
    Blanche DuBois comes onstage. She’s Stella’s older, single sister (early thirties). Blanche waits inside the apartment and has a shot of Stanley’s booze--the sisters reunite and Blanche reveals some bad news--they are bankrupt. She had a bit of a break-down--Blanche is horrified that her sister is living in a dump like this one when they both come from such a wealthy, elite background. Blanche has another drink--rest assured that Blanche is either having a drink or about to have a drink at all times--Stella goes to the bathroom and Stanley enters and Blanche sees a man not good enough for her sister and too brutal for the DuBois sisters--while they chat, Blanche reveals that she was married once, but her husband died-- that night Stanley and his buddies play poker at the house. Among said buddies is Mitch, who is single.

    No, you are not watching a remake of “A Streetcar Named Desire” or a filming of Cate Blanchett's Blanche, that she played on stage to resounding success. You are watching a modern Woody Allen version called “Blue Jasmine” but unfortunately Allen is not the poet and lover of words that Tennessee Williams was. Here Blanche is called Jasmine, or Jeanette, her sister Stella here called Ginger, played by Sally Hawkins, only now they are not blood sisters but both were adopted, which gives Woody Allen a chance to riff on genes! He also has a Bernie Madoff like Alec Baldwin while pointing fingers at how much did Jasmine--Ruth Madoff--know?

    Now instead of one Staney we have 3: Gingers ex, Augie (Andrew Dice Clay), her current lover Chili (Bobby Cannavale) and a possible future lover Al (Louis C.K.) while Blanche/Jasmine’s gentleman caller Mitch is called Dwight (Peter Sarsgaard). Some more modern touches are using San Francisco instead of New Orleans, the guys watching a football game instead of playing poker, Jasmine popping Xanax and we see Blanche’s Belle Reeves in her New York life. Allen does stick to old blues songs playing a lot of the originals.

    While all the actors acquit themselves doing excellent work it is more Cate Blanchett’s movie than theirs or Woody Allen’s. This is the closest we'll ever get to her stage portrayal of Blanche and, as of now, she is the forerunner for the Oscar’s Best Actress award.
    Expand
  7. Dec 26, 2013
    0
    I received the DVD as a SAG screener. I'm so glad I didn't have to buy a ticket for it...or two tickets..plus popcorn and drinks...and driving to and from the theater...with the expectation that this woujld be a great movie because critics and fans say it is. I was hoping that before I popped the DVD in the machine it wouldn't be one of those wordy diatribes that Woody has with himself on screen as all of his characters. My hopes were dashed. Did all of us watching not know how this was going to play out? What was the point? There was nothing realistic about it Blue Jasmine..and that's because it was an unintended parody on what life might be like for a new divorcee who got bit by a Madoff style scheme gone Federal. Oh poor pitiful Jasmine/Jeanette. Who cares?!?!?!?! No one cares. it's been done so many different ways. Was it well acted? It was overacted by Kate Blanchett with a forced Manhattan Elite American accent. The only scenes I liked involved Louis CK's Al Munsinger character. Well done, Woody. Anytime you can cast the likes of Louie CK, you've done well. I should rate this film a 2 instead of a 1 just for that, but i won't. Do us all a favor, Woodster. Go back to making ridiculous comedies like "Bananas" You're unmatched in that genre. And drop the clarinet-laden art house wannabe flicks. Leave them to the French. They know how to make the films you're attempting to puzzle together. Expand

See all 61 User Reviews

Trailers