Blue Valentine

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 332 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 332

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 31, 2011
    5
    Stars Ryan Gosling and Michelle Williams were also executive producers of this film, which explains the self-indulgent acting exercise that they've turned into a downer. It runs two parallel courses, when they meet and fall in love and several years later, when their marriage is falling apart. It took 3 writers to create the mundane dialogue and a director with a claustrophobic camera.Stars Ryan Gosling and Michelle Williams were also executive producers of this film, which explains the self-indulgent acting exercise that they've turned into a downer. It runs two parallel courses, when they meet and fall in love and several years later, when their marriage is falling apart. It took 3 writers to create the mundane dialogue and a director with a claustrophobic camera. Granted, the performances are award material, but the film is grim and painful for the characters and for us. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2011
    5
    I will give the director and the actors and actresses credit for making such a gritty film. Unfortunately, there was no reward or satisfaction gained by this viewer. Grim and depressing films can be enjoyed. This one was not able to deliver that.
  3. Feb 21, 2011
    6
    It was okay, considering that halfway in you begin to realize that Cindy and Deans' relationship was reaching its peak in the present time and that they were showing the birth and death of their relationship.
  4. May 11, 2011
    5
    I like these two actors and they do a good job acting in this movie but the movie is just..we'll it is a REAL downer. I don't require that movies always end happy or be happy. I like 21 Grams it was sad but deeply meaningful and interesting. This movie does not come off that way, this movie is just sad....period. Remember how you felt as a kid when your hampster died? That is how you willI like these two actors and they do a good job acting in this movie but the movie is just..we'll it is a REAL downer. I don't require that movies always end happy or be happy. I like 21 Grams it was sad but deeply meaningful and interesting. This movie does not come off that way, this movie is just sad....period. Remember how you felt as a kid when your hampster died? That is how you will feel at the end of this movie. Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    I am so tired of the mid-late 90's documentary film approach of what could otherwise be a captivating story. Personally, I just can't absorb myself in the story or even connect with the characters when you are so obviously looking over someone's shoulder at their life. I watch movies to escape my reality for a brief window in time and the film style used here actually distances the viewerI am so tired of the mid-late 90's documentary film approach of what could otherwise be a captivating story. Personally, I just can't absorb myself in the story or even connect with the characters when you are so obviously looking over someone's shoulder at their life. I watch movies to escape my reality for a brief window in time and the film style used here actually distances the viewer from the story rather than pull them in. Don't let my opinion turn you away though, as they don't use this approach across the board but it is present enough to ruin the experience for this fan of escapism. Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Jan 28, 2011
    100
    It is beautiful, and it is difficult to watch. It is heartwarming, and it is heart-wrenching. It is absorbing, and it's unsettling.
  2. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Jan 28, 2011
    88
    Two superb actors etch an unflinching portrait of a young marriage doomed never to grow old.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jan 27, 2011
    100
    Sounds depressing, but Blue Valentine is a reminder that well-measured and expertly acted pain is as thrilling to watch as 3-D spectacle.