User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 143
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PatC.
    Dec 19, 2003
    10
    The intelligence of this movie is so self-evident I don't want to analyze it.
  2. RickM.
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    Excellent, well-constructed movie. People who say this film lacks depth are completely wrong. There is so much symbolism in this film its almost exhausting.
  3. Aug 27, 2010
    10
    A film that shows, in an American-surrealist context, that life and love are the biggest mysteries of all. It's unfortunate that it wasn't until "Mulholland Dr." that David Lynch hit such a great height again.
  4. AJ
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    It's hard to find the words to describe the experience of watching Blue Velvet. The film is simply a masterpiece.
  5. DJHobby
    Jul 6, 2008
    0
    Public Service Announcement: David Lynch Sucks I'm watching Blue Velvet right now and I want to know how did this movie garner any accolades. Congress should pass a law declaring that if David Lynch ever tries to make another movie he should be drawn and quartered. I decided to watch this movie after seeing that it was one of the American Film Institutes top 100 movies of all time. Public Service Announcement: David Lynch Sucks I'm watching Blue Velvet right now and I want to know how did this movie garner any accolades. Congress should pass a law declaring that if David Lynch ever tries to make another movie he should be drawn and quartered. I decided to watch this movie after seeing that it was one of the American Film Institutes top 100 movies of all time. AFI even said it was even one of the top 10 mystery films of all times. The big mystery is who supports this crap. I'll give you the play by play of this movie as I watch it. It has the worst sound track of any "serious" movie ever made. Some of the songs are good songs, I love Roy Orbison etc.. But they are all out of place. The acting in this movie is horrible. The dork main character chews up the scenery. And then there is Dennis Hopper. Hopper is the worst actor of all time. He ruins ever movie he has ever made. Think about it. Apocalypse Now was awesome until Hopper shows up. Hoosiers might have been a good movie if he had not been cast. This movie is definitely no exception. It has one of the worst/weirdest scene ever in any movie. Dennis Hopper (have I told you how much I hate this asshole?) starts sniffing something, (oxygen?, glue?, his underwear?) and rapes Isabella Rossellini while he yells for his mommy. Damn, I need a shower. This movie is just full of unnecessary sexual violence. Why does that damn curtain keep flapping? And what is with the 25 times the actors say or drink a Heineken? "Heineken? Fuck that shit! Pabst Blue Ribbon!" That is a line delivered ham fisted, straight from the movie. This ranks right down there with Muhalland Drive, another David Lynch movie, that is the worst movie ever made. Is that guy dancing with a snake? More underwear sniffing, and then Hopper puts on lipstick? Man this movie is bad? Roy Orbison's estate should sue for slander. To quote an Orbison song played during this movie, "I can't help it if I cry," at how bad this movie is. Oh shit, the man in the yellow coat is a cop! I didn't see that coming. Also, what year did this take place? Most of the cars are from the late 50's, and a few from the 60's. The main dork dresses like it's 1982, but everyone else dresses like it's 1962. The dork sure does heal well. First he's stabbed in the face, (and that appears and reappears trough out) and then he is nearly beaten to death and then the next day he is fully healed. WTF? I didn't see that coming. David Lynch convinced Isabella to get naked and beat up one more time. Wouldn't you just take her to the hospital, not to your girlfriends house? What the hell?!? Now the guy with the yellow coat is standing there, and he's dead, standing? What in the world is Dennis Hopper sniffing? Sorry about the long rant but I can't say enough about how bad this movie is. Don't just take my word for it. From wikipedia: Roger Ebert, noted film critic of the Chicago Sun-Times, supports my view, although he praised Isabella Rossellini's performance as being "convincing and courageous". Ebert criticized how she was depicted in the film, even accusing David Lynch of misogyny: "degraded, slapped around, humiliated and undressed in front of the camera. And when you ask an actress to endure those experiences, you should keep your side of the bargain by putting her in an important film" David Lynch you put your disease in me. Expand
  6. SteveO.
    Jul 19, 2006
    2
    Dull. Unpleasant. Muddled narrative. Ludicrous dialogue. Talented actors giving the worst performances of their careers. I'll never understand how this film became a critical darling. Whatever Lynch was trying to do, the result is a boring, embarrassing mess. I remember reading one review that actually claimed the bad acting was a deliberate "Brechtian distancing device". I guess you Dull. Unpleasant. Muddled narrative. Ludicrous dialogue. Talented actors giving the worst performances of their careers. I'll never understand how this film became a critical darling. Whatever Lynch was trying to do, the result is a boring, embarrassing mess. I remember reading one review that actually claimed the bad acting was a deliberate "Brechtian distancing device". I guess you could apply that to GLITTER and GIGLI as well. I think this was one of those films which middle-class critics hyped to prove they were too sophisticated to be shocked by its gross-out elements. For some viewers, it seems to be a Rorshach test or an Emperor's New Clothes experience, allowing them to read all sorts of "postmodern irony" into its ineptitude. It's weird, certainly, VERY weird. But for some of us weird isn't enough. A film has to be good, too. Expand
  7. GaborA.
    Mar 3, 2006
    2
    Lynch's absolute worst(yes, that includes Dune). One of the biggest dissapointments in film history. Overall themes are trumped by a story that has no sense of flow and actors as confused as we are giving their worst performances ever.
  8. Monist
    Jul 15, 2006
    1
    I'll keep it short: weirdness in film can be fun and challenging. Weirdness without brains is very, very, difficult to sit through.
  9. Nov 9, 2012
    3
    I give Blue Velvet a 3 because it does manage to invest its audience from the other side of the screen. But I really didn't like this. It was weird for the sake of being weird. It seemed to be riddled with lazy attempts at symbolism which were far from translated to the viewer (or at least this viewer). And at times it was unsettling for no reason. Not like the kind of unsettling thatI give Blue Velvet a 3 because it does manage to invest its audience from the other side of the screen. But I really didn't like this. It was weird for the sake of being weird. It seemed to be riddled with lazy attempts at symbolism which were far from translated to the viewer (or at least this viewer). And at times it was unsettling for no reason. Not like the kind of unsettling that invigorates your insides and leaves you amazed. But the type of unsettling that just gives you a very unpleasant experience that you simply want to end. I found it to be a film that tried too hard and was even a bit pretentious. Not for moi. Expand
  10. KrisA.
    Jan 4, 2007
    10
    Stone-cold classic. Just as potent after 20 years. I have yet to see a dismissal of this film that didn't entirely miss the point.
  11. DL
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    Wow... unbelievable! It has a vibe unlike any other film. Classic.
  12. BlancoA.
    Sep 30, 2001
    9
    A David Lynch classic, in all of its whacked out glory. We rented this back in high school, a bunch of guys and girls, expecting some weirdness, but this movie was SO FAR over the top, I loved it!! Dennis Hopper's most memorable role.
  13. ThisIsAToad
    Oct 18, 2002
    10
    I dare you to call Hopper a shortarse.
  14. BennN.
    Feb 9, 2002
    10
    As Fran say in the movie: " Sh.t. Let's drink to something else. Let's drink to f..kin'. Say here's to your f..k Frank."
  15. JohnM.
    Apr 16, 2002
    9
    Blue Velvet pushes the limits of cinema even NOW - 15 years later! It is a remarkably original piece of work. The only thing is that Owen Gleiberman's review quotes that "No one in the last 20 years has made a movie greater than David Lynch's Blue Velvet." - - - so why give his review a 7/10? Beats me. Maybe it is a mistake.
  16. DaveC.
    Aug 2, 2003
    10
    Absolutely perfect from beginning to end. My interpretation of it? It's not only a story about the horrible problems that are a result of one's pursuit of curiosity and suspicion of problems in the world are often masked with an image of a happy middle class American life, but also about how his bravery is eventually rewarded, in spite of the fact that he temprarily lowered Absolutely perfect from beginning to end. My interpretation of it? It's not only a story about the horrible problems that are a result of one's pursuit of curiosity and suspicion of problems in the world are often masked with an image of a happy middle class American life, but also about how his bravery is eventually rewarded, in spite of the fact that he temprarily lowered himself to the level of the sick and dangerous people causing these. "It's a strange world, huh?" Expand
  17. BertrandDeB.
    Dec 7, 2004
    10
    This has has to be Lynch's best work. The story, the setting, and editing are brilliant.
  18. AndrewM
    Sep 7, 2004
    4
    I look down the user reviews on this film and I get a strong feeling of lonely solitude. I did not like Blue Velvet. Maybe one day I will appreciate it more, for I have only seen it the one time, and will hold it in higher regard, but my feelings on first viewing are simple: either I just purely did not get it, or it is just way too smart for me. Regardless, I'm not going to unload I look down the user reviews on this film and I get a strong feeling of lonely solitude. I did not like Blue Velvet. Maybe one day I will appreciate it more, for I have only seen it the one time, and will hold it in higher regard, but my feelings on first viewing are simple: either I just purely did not get it, or it is just way too smart for me. Regardless, I'm not going to unload heavy criticism on it because I don't really know what to say. Other than I did not like it! Mulholland Drive is one of my favourite movies over the past decade. It is an amazing head trip and very rewarding for discriminating viewers. I laugh now that many people find it inaccessible and confounding, for if MD is all that, what do you call Blue Velvet? The credit I do give it is for wholly technical reasons. I find very little redemption in story and entertainment terms. In other words, I got nothing out of it. I can only hope in the future, on repeat viewings (if there are any!), that I will feel differently, for I found this film very disappointing and really wish I felt otherwise. Expand
  19. MikeS.
    Jan 24, 2005
    8
    From Beginning to the end this movie grabbed my attention and I was drawn into David Lynchs world. Great Movie!
  20. TyC.
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    The criticisms of BV almost always miss the point of this film. It is most certainly not meant to be a straight-up thriller, that's just an absurd idea. Also, you can't properly judge it by seeing it only once, I've seen it maybe 5 times now (going to see the new 35mm print tonight at Film Forum! Ohhhhh yeah!), and am only now beginnign to be able to get a handle on its The criticisms of BV almost always miss the point of this film. It is most certainly not meant to be a straight-up thriller, that's just an absurd idea. Also, you can't properly judge it by seeing it only once, I've seen it maybe 5 times now (going to see the new 35mm print tonight at Film Forum! Ohhhhh yeah!), and am only now beginnign to be able to get a handle on its full dimensions. On the issue of its aging well or not, the NY Times and I agree it has held up amazingly well. It's probably the best thing Hoppers' done. Rossellini is astonishing. Also, one must never forget that it contains one of the most talked about, memorable scenes in all of cinema, not just American: Rossellini's totally unexpected nude appearance, which shocks on about 3 or 4 levels. Most people don't see how absolutely hilarious it is. It's really a dark comedy. The idea (if you can call it that) seems to be simplistic (there's good and bad in the world going on simultaneously), but there are layers to it that can be penetrated and yeld much more complex meanings and suggestions. The young characters enter the dark world that's always been there, next to their light one. They emerge, changed forever, but manage not to be seduced into the underworld. This is modern, American mythology. And it's damn well made, stupendously entertaining stuff to boot! Lynch hasn't really matched it, though Wild at Heart came close, and I am amazed at how few people saw and appreciated Fire Walk with Me. Only Kubrick, Allen and Welles surpass Lynch in importance among American filmmakers. Not enough people agree with this, but time will correct that error. Expand
  21. MCJC
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    One of the best films ever made. In any genre. In any time. Performances- amazing Dialogue- mind-blowing Visuals- dreamily devastating Music- heartbreakinglu beautiful The opening sequence is unsurpassed. Here's to Ben!
  22. RD.
    Nov 3, 2007
    9
    Shocking, repulsive yet ultimately is oddly fascinating. Isabella Rossenlini is amazing and courageous in her role. But the best performance is by Dennis Hopper as the sick disgusting "human being" Frank Booth. Kyle Machlachlan AND Laura Dern are nice. But Hopper rules. Lynch's very weird but at least comprehensible movie. Makes you feel as if you are having a nightmare and a very Shocking, repulsive yet ultimately is oddly fascinating. Isabella Rossenlini is amazing and courageous in her role. But the best performance is by Dennis Hopper as the sick disgusting "human being" Frank Booth. Kyle Machlachlan AND Laura Dern are nice. But Hopper rules. Lynch's very weird but at least comprehensible movie. Makes you feel as if you are having a nightmare and a very sick one at that. Expand
  23. AnneW.
    Mar 8, 2002
    10
    A brilliant, disturbing, movie about the darker side of human nature. It shows that even in supposedly idylic, picketed fence, small town America, Evil lurks, and even the so called nice people, are capable of acts that are vile.
  24. Here'sGilbertMulroneycakesAnyway
    Apr 7, 2003
    9
    Ebert won the Pulitzer Prize. "Frank B", I suspect, did not. I would advise "Frank" that if he finds himself in disagreement with Ebert, rather than going by simple star ratings, he reads the whole review. 9 out of ten times, you'll agree with him. Except, that is, for now. See, what he implies is that Blue Velvet is a comedy. At least in part. Specifically, the Ebert won the Pulitzer Prize. "Frank B", I suspect, did not. I would advise "Frank" that if he finds himself in disagreement with Ebert, rather than going by simple star ratings, he reads the whole review. 9 out of ten times, you'll agree with him. Except, that is, for now. See, what he implies is that Blue Velvet is a comedy. At least in part. Specifically, the privet-fences-red-roses-small-town schtick. Supposed to find it funny. Now. Either I'm missing the point, or the Pulitzer-winner is, but the facts are the facts: I Like Blue Velvet, Ebert Does Not. If what he says about "comedy" is true (and he does claim to have got the info straight from Dave's mouth), then it was wasted on me. I thought the smalltown aspects were just a backdrop - an artificial, exaggerated Utopia, under which the insects crawl. I certainly didn't think they were supposed to be funny, and they absolutely, positively DIDN'T undermine the horror for me. Quite the opposite; the backdrop of an artificial Utopia simply added to it. So. I thought it was a Great Movie, although of course Not For Everyone (a scenario also referred to as "A David Lynch Film) - just don't confuse it for a comedy. Expand
  25. DanC.
    Apr 14, 2004
    10
    David Lynch's best film! Dennis Hopper gives one of the best Oscar-snubbed performances ever. Not only should he have been nominated, he should have won Best Supporting Actor for his performance as Frank Booth. Frank Booth is one of the greatest film characters ever! He is genuinely creepy. In fact, his best scene is the scariest scene ever outside of a horror film. That scene is a David Lynch's best film! Dennis Hopper gives one of the best Oscar-snubbed performances ever. Not only should he have been nominated, he should have won Best Supporting Actor for his performance as Frank Booth. Frank Booth is one of the greatest film characters ever! He is genuinely creepy. In fact, his best scene is the scariest scene ever outside of a horror film. That scene is a karaoke scene. Wow. Expand
  26. Twelvefield
    Mar 6, 2006
    7
    Although a strong movie for David Lynch, and with truly ground-breaking performances by the main actors, it's not a film that has stood the test of time entirely well. Either too edgy for conservative viewers, or not over-the-top enough for those whose tastes have been jaded by modern ultraviolence, it sits in the middle as an homage to early Lynch at his most marketable. As the Although a strong movie for David Lynch, and with truly ground-breaking performances by the main actors, it's not a film that has stood the test of time entirely well. Either too edgy for conservative viewers, or not over-the-top enough for those whose tastes have been jaded by modern ultraviolence, it sits in the middle as an homage to early Lynch at his most marketable. As the fictional Lumberton evokes a time and place gone past and best left behind, so too does Blue Velvet remain in a category of films that are to be watched and appreciated, but not emulated, and that should be relegated to the previous millenium, and not brought forth into contemporary cinema. In short, it's the kind of film that would have shocked your parents, but will leave the next generation bored and unimpressed. Expand
  27. MichaelP.
    Dec 22, 2007
    9
    Dark, menacing, sexual, beautiful, and hauntingly dreamlike. David Lynch, your a genius!
  28. KateG.
    Dec 22, 2007
    9
    Brilliant movie, and extremely well-done by one of the greatest directors in America. We are lured into this false sense of security, and then eventually presented with dark, depraved and extremely disturbing underworld.
  29. JasonM
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    One of the few American films to make a difference in the medium, and one of the greatest. Its an undeniably brilliant movie.
  30. JoesephL
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    A flat-out masterpiece. Everything about this film is amazing, people who don't like it seem to be prudish morons. I must have watched the opening, like, 100 times.
  31. MikeR.
    Jul 14, 2003
    10
    This is my favorite movie...and I'm still learning things about it. The background sounds swell and ebb with the more eerie dialogue. It's really disturbing in a number of different ways. Hopper is an amazingly scarey villain.
  32. YoonC.
    Sep 14, 2003
    8
    This gross and off-putting movie has an uncanny way of exploring the underbelly of both the suburbia of human society and mind. Unsettling, disturbing, even nauseating but Lynch always descended to that area of thought and emotions where our murky bio-chemicals are bubbling into primordial consciousness which then shapes and coagulates into what we smugly call morality. Facinating but This gross and off-putting movie has an uncanny way of exploring the underbelly of both the suburbia of human society and mind. Unsettling, disturbing, even nauseating but Lynch always descended to that area of thought and emotions where our murky bio-chemicals are bubbling into primordial consciousness which then shapes and coagulates into what we smugly call morality. Facinating but perhaps too obviously grostesque in moments. Expand
  33. LukeJ
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    A beautiful film, never seen anything like it in the history of cinema...and I don't think I ever will again. 10/10.
  34. KateO
    Dec 22, 2007
    6
    Bizarre movie...would've been more enjoyable if the sex and violence wasn't as pretentious as it seemed. Dennis Hopper was great, though.
  35. FrankB.
    Dec 31, 2002
    10
    Maybe the best film of the Eighties. Then again, Roger Ebert gave it one star. He gave "Ghost Ship" 2 stars and "The Hot Chick" half a star. So Blue Velvet is smoewhere between these two. Is he from this planet?
  36. TelyS.
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    Forever in my top 2 films ever made. This is the last great American film ever made. Nothing has come close since. It is what happens when brilliant directors get final cut. I hope in the future, when looking back on American cinema, people will regard this brilliant work of art above the dissmal nothingness that mainstream Hollywood churns out under the guise of "art" as they count the Forever in my top 2 films ever made. This is the last great American film ever made. Nothing has come close since. It is what happens when brilliant directors get final cut. I hope in the future, when looking back on American cinema, people will regard this brilliant work of art above the dissmal nothingness that mainstream Hollywood churns out under the guise of "art" as they count the money of ticket returns. Expand
  37. DanielR.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    David Lynch's magnum opus, a masterpiece not to be missed!
  38. Sep 1, 2010
    7
    Man returns home after his father becomes ill. He finds an ear in a field whilst walking home & decides to find out more.
    Dennis Hopper is brilliant as the brutal Frank Booth & Kyle MacLachlan & Laura Dern are also good. However, Isabella Rossellini is plain awful & looks like Tim Curry in The Rocky Horror Show!
    Lynch weirdness as expected but not as good as some of his other work Don't
    Man returns home after his father becomes ill. He finds an ear in a field whilst walking home & decides to find out more.
    Dennis Hopper is brilliant as the brutal Frank Booth & Kyle MacLachlan & Laura Dern are also good. However, Isabella Rossellini is plain awful & looks like Tim Curry in The Rocky Horror Show!
    Lynch weirdness as expected but not as good as some of his other work
    Don't you f**king look at me!!!!
    Expand
  39. Jan 1, 2011
    9
    Blue Velvet is a tough film to approach. Its surrealism aspects may swiftly guide some away, but the others that stay are truly in for a surprising film. The plot focuses on Jeffrey Beaumont (Kyle McLachlan) a young man that ventures down to his hometown of Lumberton after his father suffers a severe stroke. After visiting him in the hospital he ventures his way home, taking a shortcutBlue Velvet is a tough film to approach. Its surrealism aspects may swiftly guide some away, but the others that stay are truly in for a surprising film. The plot focuses on Jeffrey Beaumont (Kyle McLachlan) a young man that ventures down to his hometown of Lumberton after his father suffers a severe stroke. After visiting him in the hospital he ventures his way home, taking a shortcut through an abandoned field. There he finds the remains of a human ear and takes it to the police. After some investigating, Jeffrey finds his way into the grasp of a strange woman named Dorothy Vallens (Isabella Rossellini) who develops an unusual attraction towards Jeffrey. He then begins to stalk her a little, and the story kicks off from there. Jeffrey comes to a close encounter with the main antagonist of the story, Frank Booth (Dennis Hopper). He is a violent sociopath that snorts amyl nitrite through a gas mask, which triggers him to experience constant amounts of pleasure and rage and inflict mass amounts of sexual anger towards Dorothy. Frank has kidnapped Dorothy's son and husband in exchange for her to be his sexual servant. Jeffrey discovers this and tries to help her get them back. While this plot sounds strange and complex, it's actually supposed to be. That's what makes this film so brilliant. It's emotionally charged atmosphere and characters pulls you in to experience the surrealism that is inflicted upon these characters. Directed by David Lynch, who is a master himself at surrealism, presents the film in such a strange and bizarre film that it's completely hard to imagine what's going on. The film itself is beautiful because of this as I have truly never seen a movie as original and as creative as this. While Blue Velvet is criticized due to the fact of the sexual aspects of Rossellini and how awful she's treated during the span of the film, it actually shows how broken she is and the amount of pain and suffering she would go through in order to maintain her peace and to make her way back to her son and husband. A lot of people tend to spew hate on the film because they tend to think that it's trying to go for a realistic approach. In any means it is NOT. The acting is great from the 3 main leads and the strongest role definitely goes to Hopper. Frank Booth is indeed a creepy, creepy villain. It's one of the late Dennis Hopper's best performances in a film as he is both haunting and hilarious. All in all Blue Velvet is a tough film to swallow, its contents are both graphic and surreal. Its a brilliant film that makes you think of the inevitable, that makes you think of what is real, and what is the surreal. Expand
  40. Jun 26, 2013
    6
    Having absolutely loved Mulholland Dr., I was keen to see more of Lynch's films. This predecessor, while exhibiting a lot of the filmmaking chops that in part made the former so enjoyable, is unrewarding and at times grotesque. On paper it sounds great: an innocent young man gets tangled in the hidden criminal and erotic underworld that you'd never guess was there in his picturesque town.Having absolutely loved Mulholland Dr., I was keen to see more of Lynch's films. This predecessor, while exhibiting a lot of the filmmaking chops that in part made the former so enjoyable, is unrewarding and at times grotesque. On paper it sounds great: an innocent young man gets tangled in the hidden criminal and erotic underworld that you'd never guess was there in his picturesque town. Some of the representations of this latent darkness are great (the shot zooming into the well-trimmed lawn to reveal a sea of gnashing bugs is inspired and very creepy), and indeed these two halves to the film are in themselves believable (Hopper's villain is nightmarish and feral, the ordinary citizens quaint and unassuming; which is unsettling in its own way). But whereas Mulholland Dr. took me through all the emotional reactions I can think of, the scenes here where these contrasting sides met only made me feel nauseous and uncomfortable (a naked and bruised woman lingering awkwardly in a family's front room, for example). Lynch's talents were evident here, and overall I admired it for its hard-hitting and challenging mission statement, but while I really wanted to love this movie I feel that, with its garish and even repulsive confrontations, it did its best to put me off. Expand
  41. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Rich symbolism, artistic cinematography and excellent Lynchian surrealism. I don't want to say more, words fall short of describing this film - a masterpiece.
  42. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Intense, strange and horrific. David Lynch's Blue Velvet is effective and provides a great soundtrack, a brilliant performance by Kyle MacLachlan and a terrifying and demonic performance by Dennis Hopper as the antagonist.
  43. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    Disturbing, bizarre, funny, moving.... "Blue Velvet" is, perhaps, Lynch's finest hour. The imagery is as powerful and the story as frightening as it was in '86.
  44. Feb 20, 2013
    8
    "Blue Velvet" opens with images from the American Dream: perfect little houses with white picket fences, and impeccably manicured yards. A man collapses while watering his lawn, and the camera, after following him to the ground, burrows into it--parting the blades of grass to reveal a colony of swarming bugs. The message is clear perfection often hides deeply-rooted rot. Dreams can easily"Blue Velvet" opens with images from the American Dream: perfect little houses with white picket fences, and impeccably manicured yards. A man collapses while watering his lawn, and the camera, after following him to the ground, burrows into it--parting the blades of grass to reveal a colony of swarming bugs. The message is clear perfection often hides deeply-rooted rot. Dreams can easily turn into nightmares. Corruption is everywhere, even in places that seem immune to it. These themes, and others about the pernicious influence of evil, are explored in some depth throughout "Blue Velvet".

    Returning home to visit his father who is in intensive care at the hospital, Jeffrey Beaumont (Kyle MacLachlan), stumbles upon a human ear he finds in a field. With local police detective Williams showing little interest to investigate, Jeffrey and Sandy (Laura Dern), Detective Williams's daughter, decide to do their own investigation. But what Jeffrey and Sandy's investigation leads them to discover that a dark underworld exists in their hometown. Jeffrey becomes suspicious of nightclub singer Dorothy Vallens (Isabella Rossellini), who is involved with Frank Booth (Dennis Hopper), an unstable violent man. Dennis delivers a genuinely disturbing performance. There is a dark obsessiveness to "Blue Velvet" one that lingers long after the details of the film's mundane drug and kidnapping plot fade away. One is absorbed in the way that David Lynch draws Ivy League college kid Kyle MacLachlan down into a web of voyeurism, rape, sadomasochism and erotic tension. Perhaps the most fascinating thing about "Blue Velvet" is how it literally becomes a journey into darkness how as Kyle MacLachlan becomes drawn into the web.

    A truly eccentric and unsettling observation of the underlining, unspoken aspects behind the facade of any town, USA. "Blue Velvet" isn't a film for everyone. It has such an ominous, erotic nuance that disturbs, which has come to define his critically acclaimed work over the years. People who like straight forward storytelling where the journey from point A to point B is laid out for them won't be fans of "Blue Velvet". Much like Jeffrey, it's up to you to decide whether you fall into the former or the latter group.
    Expand
  45. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    A true mystery, a thrilling adventure with a disturbing yet surreal David Lynch twist, a stylistic cinematography and convincing performances from Isabella Rossellini and a frightening Hopper.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Reviewed by: John Hartl
    80
    An exhilarating piece of popular entertainment.
  2. You either think it's dementedly wild at heart or a lost highway to nowhere.
  3. As fascinating as it is freakish. It confirms Mr. Lynch's stature as an innovator, a superb technician, and someone best not encountered in a dak alley. [19 September 1986]