Boat Trip Image
Metascore
18

Overwhelming dislike - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 28
  2. Negative: 22 out of 28
  1. If this rings distant Laurel-and-Hardy, or even Crosby-and-Hope bells, it's on purpose. Gooding's and Sanz's performances are almost a tribute to vaudeville-influenced two-guy comedy.
  2. 50
    Has an agreeable air of anything-goes vulgarity, which is so transcendentally idiotic that it's impossible to tell whether the film is a brilliant, deadpan parody of raunchy lowbrow farces from the '70s and '80s, or one of the stupidest, most regressive films ever made. Or, more likely, it's a little of both.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    38
    The only thing a movie this unrefined needs is a vaudevillian in baggy pants and someone hawking peanuts in the aisle.
  4. Cuba Gooding Jr. can just return his "Jerry Maguire" Oscar right now. He has no excuse for making Boat Trip, a perniciously unfunny comedy.
  5. 20
    Cuba Gooding Jr.'s unrelenting energy can be galvanic in good films, but in lesser efforts it reeks of frenzied futility.
  6. 12
    Not that the film is outrageous. That would be asking too much. It is dim-witted, unfunny, too shallow to be offensive.
  7. 0
    The movie improves immeasurably if you visualize a looming iceberg in the corner of the frame.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
  1. DanielR
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    I love this movie Cuba Gooding and Horatio Sanz were Fantastic together......Hilarious.
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    This movie's hilarious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's kinda weird but whatever. It's funny. I haveThis movie's hilarious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's kinda weird but whatever. It's funny. I have nothing else to say. Collapse
  3. Jan 31, 2011
    5
    Boat trip feels so much like a farrely brothers gross out, but you got to keep remembering that even those guys would craft a more well madeBoat trip feels so much like a farrely brothers gross out, but you got to keep remembering that even those guys would craft a more well made sex comedy such as "there's something about Mary Expand
  4. IslamB.
    Nov 9, 2005
    2
    I tough it was really bad a waste of Cuba's talents which made me feel really bad for him.It wasn't funny and the gay element in it I tough it was really bad a waste of Cuba's talents which made me feel really bad for him.It wasn't funny and the gay element in it was just plain dumb it doesnt promote or demote gay's it just want's to try to make a point but sadly can't. Expand
  5. GilbertMulroneycakesAllSummerLong
    Nov 15, 2003
    0
    "A sexy, uninhibited romantic comedy about following your heart?no matter where it leads you." Here's "Boat Trip" instead. Again I "A sexy, uninhibited romantic comedy about following your heart?no matter where it leads you." Here's "Boat Trip" instead. Again I scratch my head - "Gosford Park" gets 5.5, "Boat Trip" 7.4. I hate to be a snob, but come on, people! There's a whole world of wonders out there in cinema, and here you are gawping at Cuba Gooding Jr (find a good script, for God's sake, you're a talented boy) blank-eye his way through one of the very stupidest films of the decade, one which seems to have aspirations toward nonchalant homophobia, yet doesn't even have the cojones to be properly offensive. The only thing it has going for it is Roger Moore making the best of a bad situation - but even Sir Rog isn't enough to save a "sinking ship". Ho, and indeed, ho. I hope that's enough explanation for the pleasant-sounding Marcos R. - it's an affront to my dignity and my family. Look, just do something else instead, okay? Expand
  6. BrianN.
    Aug 14, 2007
    0
    Cuba Gooding Jr. deserves to be stripped of his Oscar for this incompetent mess.

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.
  2. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.