User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 247 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 87 out of 247
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. OLuc
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    Sometimes, I come back to this movie and I think about it, and I wonder, "Why isn't this movie being praised as well as othe movies of it's era, like Fargo, or Titanic?" More and more I wonder why people look more towards Quentin Tarantino then P.T. Anderson when it comes to directing, because this movie is just one of those movies that really is brought togethor by the Sometimes, I come back to this movie and I think about it, and I wonder, "Why isn't this movie being praised as well as othe movies of it's era, like Fargo, or Titanic?" More and more I wonder why people look more towards Quentin Tarantino then P.T. Anderson when it comes to directing, because this movie is just one of those movies that really is brought togethor by the film's atomesphere and screenplay, which were both done by Anderson. This movie is better than what many grade it to be, so if you like Robert Altman, than see Boogie Nights, the modern-day Nashville! Expand
  2. DonK.
    Apr 3, 2001
    10
    Incredible filmmaking. We've come to expect so little these days (2000-2001) in terms of good movies, it's great to pop this one in the DVD player to remember what a great film is all about.
  3. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    I was blown away by Paul Thomas Anderson's 'Boogie Nights.' Never have I seen a film so alive. The writing, directing, acting, editing, cinematography, and epic soundtrack are all key elements in the construction of this nearly flawless film.
  4. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    The film is always alive. It is Paul Thomas Anderson's masterpiece. It has obvious influences from legendary director Martin Scorsese which in my opinoin isn't a bad thing at all. It is a masterful film of art with a complicated subject and that's what makes this film and PTA so great.
  5. Dec 29, 2012
    9
    Everything about "Boggie Nights" is sincere and straightforward, and with an wide array of unforgettable characters, it is one of the most distinctive American films made in the late 1990's. Everyone's born with one special thing, and Eddie Adams (Marc Wahlberg) uses his "special gift" and is poised to take the world of porn by storm. Eddie Adams, (also known as Dirk Diggler), isEverything about "Boggie Nights" is sincere and straightforward, and with an wide array of unforgettable characters, it is one of the most distinctive American films made in the late 1990's. Everyone's born with one special thing, and Eddie Adams (Marc Wahlberg) uses his "special gift" and is poised to take the world of porn by storm. Eddie Adams, (also known as Dirk Diggler), is discovered by porn director Jack Horner (Burt Reynolds) and soars to the top of the pornography industry. After achieving great success in the industry during the 1970's, the 80's did not fair so well for Dirk. A change of culture coupled with a drug addiction, he quickly hits rock bottom not knowing anything else to turn to. At the heart of the story is a group of eccentric, outlandish group of characters, an unorthodox "family" if you will. An incredible collection of actors and performances keep this lengthy film completely engaging throughout the 155 minutes. Despite of what you may think of these people and their profession, you can't help but be drawn into their lives and personal stories. Paul Anderson's attention to the fine details; decor, style, culture, and social attitudes of the era are spot on. It is heart-rendering and darkly humorous with an message of redemption and forgiveness. Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    The moment you start watching "Boogie Nights", written and directed by the artist Paul Thomas Anderson, it is quite visible that the movie isn't just very bold and distinct from all the other films of the 90's but that it represents a matter that hasn't been approached almost at all. It is in the 70's and the 80's that the film is set, around the pornography-film-industry. Filled withThe moment you start watching "Boogie Nights", written and directed by the artist Paul Thomas Anderson, it is quite visible that the movie isn't just very bold and distinct from all the other films of the 90's but that it represents a matter that hasn't been approached almost at all. It is in the 70's and the 80's that the film is set, around the pornography-film-industry. Filled with astonishing performances (from practically every supporting actor and Mark Wahlberg in the leading role) and a great script, "Boogie Nights" is one of the year's must-see. Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    Paul Thomas Anderson is one of the great film makers of our time. Boogie Nights isn't my favorite P T Anderson film, but all his films are so strong that I still can't go lower than a 9.
  8. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Something of a Number 1 Favourite Movie of all time for lots of people, "Boogie Nights" is a Film that didn't impress me to that extent, however i still really enjoyed what it is and see why so many people liked it.

    Mark Whalberg plays Eddie Adams, a late teen who washing dishes for a living and bearing the weight of his over-protective mother, one day he is approached by Jack Horner
    Something of a Number 1 Favourite Movie of all time for lots of people, "Boogie Nights" is a Film that didn't impress me to that extent, however i still really enjoyed what it is and see why so many people liked it.

    Mark Whalberg plays Eddie Adams, a late teen who washing dishes for a living and bearing the weight of his over-protective mother, one day he is approached by Jack Horner (Played by Burt Reynolds) a Pornographic Film-maker who introduces him to the many others he has taken under his wing.

    Among them are Amber Waves (Julianne Moore) a Porn Actress longing to see her kids who are in her ex-husbands custody, Rollergirl (Heather Graham) a teenage Porn Actress constanly in rollerblades and fleeing tormentors at school, Reed Rothchild (John C. Riley) a Porn Actor with a unique taste in Magic, Buck Swope (Don Cheadle) a Porn Actor who is extremely knowledgable on stereo systems and is keen to run a buisness based on them, Scotty J. (Phillip Seymour Hoffman) a Gay boom operator who immediately falls for Eddie, "Little" Bill Thompson (William H. Macy) whose wife (real-life porn Actress Nina Hartley) constanly embarasses him by having sex with other men in movies and public, them and many other colourful characters.

    Eddie becomes acquainted to all of these quirky, likable characters and joins the industry under the name "he sees in bright, blue neon lights" Dirk Diggler, And becomes the industries hottest thing.

    Eventually Drugs kick in, the 80's is approaching and everyone goes there seperate ways, Dirk hits rock-bottom countless times, Bill shoots his wife them himself, Julianne Moore fails again to legally see her kids, Buck fails to get a loan. in a nutshell everything get's to their individual heads and ultimately it destroys them.

    Eventually though everything works out, in both unhappy and happy ways, Dirk reconciles with Jack, Rollergirl continues education, Buck uses stolen money to fund his buisness and aid his pregnant wife, Reed becomes a magician in a Nightclub. Essentially everything is back uder Jack Horner's control.

    Paul Thomas Anderson has made a film that is not solely based on Pornography, but based around the Actors and behind the scenes of it all, inspired by watching 70's porn flicks and enjoying the cheesy stories and setups which would eventually be missing from the 80's ones. he wrote "The Dirk Diggler story" a 30 min tribute flick about a fictional porn star.
    Obviously sometime later he managed to build this wonderpiece around that original idea.

    Boogie Nights is an Essential PTA movie, everything he does has always had character development in mind, and in all honesty with this film he's not asking you to engage the characters or Pornography, but rather watch and identify the individualism of the real people behing the fictional Camera.

    Aside from that everyone is wonderful, Burt Reynolds steals the show as the always laid back director, Mark Wahlberg's insecurities give him alot to work with and he does well,
    Everyone in their own right in this movie, actors and characters are all perfect.

    Final Verdict: Sit down and Enjoy, Great casting, An Excellent screenplay, Sharp directing and of course one of the 90's best hits.
    Expand
  9. May 8, 2012
    8
    Set against the backdrop of late 1970â
  10. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    So full of energy is this film that the two and a half hours goes by in the blink of an eye it seems P T Anderson has a talent for keeping his audiences engaged for a longer period of time, as Magnolia, his 3 hour long epic montage, is one of the most interesting films I've seen. In Boogie Nights, Mark Wahlberg and Julianne Moore offer exciting and brave performances, charging head onSo full of energy is this film that the two and a half hours goes by in the blink of an eye it seems P T Anderson has a talent for keeping his audiences engaged for a longer period of time, as Magnolia, his 3 hour long epic montage, is one of the most interesting films I've seen. In Boogie Nights, Mark Wahlberg and Julianne Moore offer exciting and brave performances, charging head on into the film's courageous and teasing sexual controversy. This is a brave film that will pleasantly embarrass and secretly intrigue any audience. The soundtrack and cinematography keeps this film pulsing and exciting, and P T Anderson's sheer talent holds this near-perfect film together as an outrageous and alive masterpiece. Expand
  11. May 4, 2014
    8
    Boogie Nights is a movie that tells you it's vision about the 70s and 80s, and it's a very wise way to show it. Paul Thomas Anderson gives you a film that has colorful characters, great writing, direction and great perfromances by Wahlberg, Reynolds, Moore, Reilly, Hoffman and the whole supporting cast. I would totally watch this film twice!
  12. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    A Masterpiece! A very nostalgic look at late 1970's and early 1980's San Fernando Valley and the porn industry. Mark Wahlberg and John C. Riley are hilariously serious in their roles which take them from top-tier porn actors to junkie rock-star wannabes. YOU GOT THE TOUCH! YOU GOT THE POWERRR!
  13. Apr 23, 2015
    8
    Boogie Nights is excellent storytelling by Paul Thomas Anderson and serves as a breakout role for a young Mark Wahlberg, who has since become a big star. I love the cast of this film so much. Burt Reynolds was the perfect character to play Jack in this movie. He is cool as hell. I didn't care for Julianne Moore until I saw this movie, I thought she did a great job and she was the characterBoogie Nights is excellent storytelling by Paul Thomas Anderson and serves as a breakout role for a young Mark Wahlberg, who has since become a big star. I love the cast of this film so much. Burt Reynolds was the perfect character to play Jack in this movie. He is cool as hell. I didn't care for Julianne Moore until I saw this movie, I thought she did a great job and she was the character that I liked the best just because she was such a nice person. There is also Philip Seymour Hoffman and John C. Reilly both of who I really like and are great in this film. I think what is so special about Boogie Nights is that it captures its time so well and brings us behind the scenes of the pornographic industry a place where we have never been before. Expand
  14. DanM.
    Jan 28, 2004
    8
    Burt Reynolds can act. And he is very good in this film.
  15. GilbertTheSurnameBoycotter
    Oct 2, 2002
    10
    Paul Thomas Anderson has entered the building.
  16. MichaelM.
    Oct 23, 2004
    10
    An excellent movie! I really enjoyed it. It was a bit disturbing at parts, but still very good. You'll notices great performances given by Burt Renyolds, Julianne Moore, Don Cheadle , John C. Reilly, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Robert Ridgley and Alfred Molina (considering he had a very tiny role, he really did alot with it). I wasn't too thrilled about Mark Wahlberg's An excellent movie! I really enjoyed it. It was a bit disturbing at parts, but still very good. You'll notices great performances given by Burt Renyolds, Julianne Moore, Don Cheadle , John C. Reilly, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Robert Ridgley and Alfred Molina (considering he had a very tiny role, he really did alot with it). I wasn't too thrilled about Mark Wahlberg's performance. In my opinion I don't think he is a very good actor. He always plays the same part in every film he stars in. The directing and writing in the film are absolutley outstanding. I was especially taken by the direction of the donut shop shoot out that appears about 2 hours into the movie. If you are looking for an interesting movie to watch, rent or buy Boogie Nights. Be sure to get the New Line Platinum Series. (1/23/03) Expand
  17. JaredS.
    Oct 15, 2003
    9
    Very, very entertaining! PT Anderson has made his Scorsese-que masterpiece. Anderson's major influence consist of Scorsese, Robert Altman, and Jonathan Demme, and I feel he has achieved a similiarity to each of those filmmakers. With Hard Eight, he made his Demme-like film. With Boogie Nights, his Scorsese film and with Magnolia, his Altman-like film. Now, Punch-Drunk Love, on the Very, very entertaining! PT Anderson has made his Scorsese-que masterpiece. Anderson's major influence consist of Scorsese, Robert Altman, and Jonathan Demme, and I feel he has achieved a similiarity to each of those filmmakers. With Hard Eight, he made his Demme-like film. With Boogie Nights, his Scorsese film and with Magnolia, his Altman-like film. Now, Punch-Drunk Love, on the other hand, is unlike any other type of filmmaker. So, I define PDL as PTA's own style. Anyway, back to B Nights. Great film, and a tour-de-force through the rise and fall of the porn industry as well as entertainment in general ranging from the late 70s to the early 80s. Often hilarious, and often powerful, this is definitely worth your time and money. Expand
  18. J.RyanG.
    May 23, 2005
    7
    I own this movie on DVD, and I've seen it at least a half-dozen times. Still, I don't quite get what it is trying to say. Perhaps that's why I keep going back--trying to solve a magnificent puzzle. Everyone in the film is brilliant--especially William H. Macy--and a very real atmosphere is created by the throbbing music, the virtuoso camera work, and the precise editing. I own this movie on DVD, and I've seen it at least a half-dozen times. Still, I don't quite get what it is trying to say. Perhaps that's why I keep going back--trying to solve a magnificent puzzle. Everyone in the film is brilliant--especially William H. Macy--and a very real atmosphere is created by the throbbing music, the virtuoso camera work, and the precise editing. But I get the feeling that the writer-director, Paul Thomas Anderson, did not make a complete statement. Why tell this story? I say, enjoy the film for what it has to offer; but be aware that, unlike its main character, the film has its shortcomings. Expand
  19. VinceJ.
    Dec 7, 2002
    10
    Although completely different, it ranks right up there with 'Goodfellas' as a movie one can watch over and over... and always be entertained. Wonderful film.
  20. A.A.
    Apr 24, 2002
    10
    One of my personal "ten best" of all time. Stunning ensemble acting. Stunning capture of that period, of course, from a pornographers viewpoint. I'm now 45 years old, and I was lucky enough to catch about 6 months of Aerosmith and Led Zeppelin at the nightclubs as a more/or/less underage 19 year old before it all turned to disco. So I can rightfully say I was a witness to the One of my personal "ten best" of all time. Stunning ensemble acting. Stunning capture of that period, of course, from a pornographers viewpoint. I'm now 45 years old, and I was lucky enough to catch about 6 months of Aerosmith and Led Zeppelin at the nightclubs as a more/or/less underage 19 year old before it all turned to disco. So I can rightfully say I was a witness to the perversity of disco. Can you imagine, in 2002, that hard rock ever defined a pure and true artistic period? Well, yes it did, especially compared to disco. I hated disco, but I LOVED Boogie Nights. Expand
  21. JonathanM.
    Jun 15, 2004
    10
    This is a great film. What more can one want, great direction, script and acting are all in this movie. Simply wonderful.
  22. Jul 16, 2015
    9
    Paul Thomas Anderson strikes gold with arguably one of his best works. It's a movie more than the usual life of the party story in which fun and drugs ensue. It tells its story with fascinating characters, including an absolute standout lead by Mark Whalberg. But what makes this movie stand out is Anderson's style and technique on how he tells this story and never loses your attention. ThePaul Thomas Anderson strikes gold with arguably one of his best works. It's a movie more than the usual life of the party story in which fun and drugs ensue. It tells its story with fascinating characters, including an absolute standout lead by Mark Whalberg. But what makes this movie stand out is Anderson's style and technique on how he tells this story and never loses your attention. The situations feel grounded in reality that we can identify with the characters and the struggles they go through. It does not just show the fun to be had behind the porn industry, but the dark side as well. The transformation in structure is done so beautifully that it stands out from other movies that take on this similar formula. Overall, "Boogie Nights" is a standout thanks to its excellent style, storytelling and performances (even if it hits familiar beats.) I give this an A! Expand
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. I'm not sure all of this works out as convincingly as Anderson intends in the movie's somewhat unsatisfying ending, but getting there is a wickedly enjoyable journey.
  2. From the second it begins, Boogie Nights seizes your senses and pulls you right in: no turning back, no time for debate, no regrets.
  3. Writer-director Paul Thomas Anderson has perfectly wedded form to function by filming Boogie Nights in a style suggesting the grainy texture of porn and the ambivalence of the era.