Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 3, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1083 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
778
Mixed:
101
Negative:
204
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
GlennW.Nov 5, 2006
I HATED the movie, and I laughed all through it. Interestingly, despite it is humorous, it is degrading. I hated it because it's low-grade humor: bodily function, bathroom humor; bigotry; shock-jock-type of appeal. It is reminiscent of I HATED the movie, and I laughed all through it. Interestingly, despite it is humorous, it is degrading. I hated it because it's low-grade humor: bodily function, bathroom humor; bigotry; shock-jock-type of appeal. It is reminiscent of Andrew Dice Clay and Howard Stern. It's cheap. We, as a society, can do much better, and we have in the past. I can appreciate the skill used in compiling the film for what it is, but the degrading status yet remains. There are higher forms of humor, more appropriate for humankind. Someone said it better than I can: "A culture is only as great as its dreams, and its dreams are dreamed by artists. When the level of existence of the artist becomes impure, so becomes impure the art itself to the deterioration of the society." Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
AmberL.Nov 6, 2006
Am I missing something? I understand that this was a sarcastic spoof of a very small country by an English Jewish actor who is using bathroom humor to make his point. Why pick on this tiny country and make all its citizens look like fools? Am I missing something? I understand that this was a sarcastic spoof of a very small country by an English Jewish actor who is using bathroom humor to make his point. Why pick on this tiny country and make all its citizens look like fools? He could have used a ficticious country but to denigrade this small country is wrong. The jokes were cute at first but then became painful to bear. For young males to hail Borat as a King is bad enough but to see the critics review this trash as if it were better than Gone With The Wind is a bit too much. This documentary-comedy is simply awful in my opinion and way too long. Very much forgotten after I left the theater. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
VirginaR.Dec 4, 2006
Perhaps those of you giving it high marks don't understand that publicly insulting others is not funny at all. And yes I can laugh at myself. But extreme cruelty and then goading innocent people into making fools of themselves is not my Perhaps those of you giving it high marks don't understand that publicly insulting others is not funny at all. And yes I can laugh at myself. But extreme cruelty and then goading innocent people into making fools of themselves is not my cup of tea. If it's yours then fine but don't speak for others. Just not funny. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
ChristineK.Jan 21, 2007
Mean-spirited beyond the bounds of necessity, this film incriminates itself as being part of what is least admirable in modern society.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
ClintM.Mar 28, 2007
A huge disappointment. The only laughter I had was in the re-telling to people who hadn't seen it yet. Watching it was uncomfortable.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
AjithS.Aug 7, 2008
This movie wasn't funny at all. I cant understand the high scores.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
HelpUJul 20, 2009
Want to see a movie that your mommy and the evil government doesn't want you to see? Then prepare to wet your diaper in glee because its Borat. Believe it or not, I actually saw this one with my parents. I remember that day it was at Want to see a movie that your mommy and the evil government doesn't want you to see? Then prepare to wet your diaper in glee because its Borat. Believe it or not, I actually saw this one with my parents. I remember that day it was at the cheap theatre just in case it sucked and we got our moneys worth $1 but I can never replace the time lost. To start off, the jokes weren't funny and repetitive a bad combination in my book. The running joke is that he is from Kazakhstan and doesn't know much about America which is totally ignorant because... the funny thing is.... people in Kazakhstan know more about America than Americans know about Kazakhstan. Sometimes, it seems that Ali G, pulls down his pants and shits on the culture which is as insensitive as the "American" culture Ali is trying to portray. After the movie I didn't even have to ask my parents what they thought, they straight up said," Maybe if you cut out all of the story you could have put it on a crappy version of SNL, Madtv perhaps, and spared everyone of the story." That was my dad... My mom,"It seems like they put all the best jokes in the commercials, which could have been on MadTv as a fake commercial." And I said,"Ya, the movie based itself on a joke that just sucked." And they both concluded, "Ya, we kinda saw that, we knew it was going to suck, we just wanted to see the movie that was supposed to be revolutionary." ("Ya that movie was pretty forgettable,"... "What movie?" And we all laughed) that part didn't actually happen but it pretty much summed up how we felt. Its actually funny I wasn't going to see the movie until my parents took me because I didn't want to see the movie that spawned, "High Five", "Great Success", and "Very Nice" the phrases I heard everywhere too many times and I didn't think were funny at all. And it seemed like everyone was watching it because it was controversial. Why did I give it a 3? I think that the movie actually tried to make a good joke and completely failed in execution. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful
3
JackR.Nov 8, 2006
To the people who claim that Borat 'exposes racism and bigotry': Borat insults and ridicules everyone equally; yes, he plays off the racism of certain people, but he's just as rude and mean to people who are very kind to him. To the people who claim that Borat 'exposes racism and bigotry': Borat insults and ridicules everyone equally; yes, he plays off the racism of certain people, but he's just as rude and mean to people who are very kind to him. The fact is, Borat is an equal opportunity a**hole, and you cannot use his isolated attempts to goad racists as a backdrop for the whole movie, because it's not a focal point. This movie is repulsive and lowbrow-- in other words, typical American humor. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
D.L.Oct 30, 2006
Parody aside, this movie is racist to the core. The humor is crass and humiliating--and purely there for shock value. There is nothing intelligent about this movie--and satire is supposed to be somewhat smart, at the very least.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JohnO.Sep 24, 2008
Horrendous, with glimpses of adolescent humor.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
EricH.Sep 6, 2008
Horribly crude. Not funny, just stupidly crude.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
BillB.Nov 25, 2006
I can laugh at gross humor along with the rest, but I did not laugh much at this. I even reflexively put my hands up over my eyes at one point, something I cannot ever recall doing in a movie. I just didn't appreciate it. Maybe I'm I can laugh at gross humor along with the rest, but I did not laugh much at this. I even reflexively put my hands up over my eyes at one point, something I cannot ever recall doing in a movie. I just didn't appreciate it. Maybe I'm not as smart as the rest, or maybe it isn't as valuable as people are saying. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
KNov 25, 2006
a cross culture JackAss clone. a little of the Emperor's New Clothes going on here because i think everybody has heard the hype and are afraid to be labeled not hip and admit they think it was stupid.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JamieL.Dec 10, 2006
Obnoxious movie, only a few funny moments, I found myself more upset at the stupid comments Cohen made rather then laughing at the jokes he attempted to create out of the silly rascist, antisemtic comments. Also he is also speaking Hebrew, Obnoxious movie, only a few funny moments, I found myself more upset at the stupid comments Cohen made rather then laughing at the jokes he attempted to create out of the silly rascist, antisemtic comments. Also he is also speaking Hebrew, Beth C. In conclusion, a waste of money and time. They try too hard. watch the tv series though, it's very funny. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SamF.Jan 24, 2007
Anyone who thinks this movie is funny or good should seriously check into a facility. First this movie is crude, makes fun of every ethnic and minority in so many crude ways its not even funny but Borat seems to make more crude jokes and Anyone who thinks this movie is funny or good should seriously check into a facility. First this movie is crude, makes fun of every ethnic and minority in so many crude ways its not even funny but Borat seems to make more crude jokes and jesters about jews throughout this movie thats sickening. Aside from the large anti-semetic lines, fecal humor and defacation is obviously a huge draw for the sickos who called this trash a movie. But the country he is from, Kazakhstan, should truly hate this man. How this movie was a hit is beyond me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
NatalieM.Jan 8, 2007
Offensive and boring.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ClancyW.Feb 21, 2007
Perhaps I saw a different movie than the critics did. The movie I went to was in no way outrageous or funny or satiric. The movie I saw was mind-numbingly derivitive and only funny for a collective 7 minutes. I'll give this a three Perhaps I saw a different movie than the critics did. The movie I went to was in no way outrageous or funny or satiric. The movie I saw was mind-numbingly derivitive and only funny for a collective 7 minutes. I'll give this a three simply for the cringeability of the first part of the rodeo segment (the 'national anthem' wasn't funny at all) [1 point]; the gun purchase [1 point]; and the nude wrestling and ensuing nude chase [1 point]. That's it. Youtube those parts and you'll have seen the entirety of the movie's funny. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BobS.Jul 13, 2007
I smiled at some of the clever bits and chuckled at an occasional funny scene, but this is not a bring-tears-to-your-eyes. I go back to Brother Dave Gardener and Richard Pryor who did satire that made you laugh outloud.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
MichaelV.Feb 5, 2008
I really disliked this movie a lot, but a couple of parts made me chuckle a bit!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
FreaksterNov 5, 2006
Some funny moments but completely runs out of steam with about a third of the fim still to go. Very overrated unless you checked your brains at the door or had a lobotomy. This works as a short skit but not as a feature film. Avoid.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BrutusO.Mar 11, 2007
Not very good, I'm afraid. A few laughs arise from some of the absurd politically incorrect situations, but mostly it boils down to sub-frat boy humour about racism and fisting, or occasionally incest, with lots of dull interludes where Not very good, I'm afraid. A few laughs arise from some of the absurd politically incorrect situations, but mostly it boils down to sub-frat boy humour about racism and fisting, or occasionally incest, with lots of dull interludes where people have pretty lame set-up jokes played on them apparently without their prior knowledge. Sacha Cohen can think on his feet as a comic actor (nothing great, but he improvises pretty well) and the character who played his Kazakhi sidekick was quite good as well. But overall the film is not that funny, and not that interesting to watch, if you want an assessment not imbued with hype. Middle America may not have seen this sort of humour before, but the rest of us have. Anyone interested to see how gauche comedy can be done with a good deal more wit and panache and genuine laughs should track down the videos of the Australian Norman Gunston shows of the 70's and 80's. There were more laughs in the ads for those shows than in the whole of Borat. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TonyBNov 29, 2006
I really feel sorry for those people who say this highly overated claptrap is the funniest film they've ever seen. To think of all the great comedies they've missed is quite sad. I wish I could have seen "Borat" with some of the I really feel sorry for those people who say this highly overated claptrap is the funniest film they've ever seen. To think of all the great comedies they've missed is quite sad. I wish I could have seen "Borat" with some of the critics who have gone so hysterically overboard in praising its very limited virtues so that I could get some sense of what they found so hilarious. Mr. Cohen is a most unappealing individual who should be quite grateful for his undeserved success, and Mr. Charles does infinitely better work on "Curb Your Enthusiasm." Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
lunixJul 10, 2011
Usually I'm not one to leave a movie in-progress, but I couldn't stand this one. I made it about twenty minutes before turning it off. I was quite pleased that I hadn't wasted movie fare on this unfunny, low-brow stinkburger.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Trev29Jun 11, 2013
Tiring and down-right disgusting at times. The movie made its point a few minutes in, and after that it just becomes boring. I just found it to be obnoxious and vile.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
0
Ozzy0071Jul 20, 2012
Borat is stupid, sooooooo stupid. It isn't even funny. It goes beyond the line of funny, into stupidness, BEYOND stupidness and into something which is just... disgusting. I'm not easily offended, or anything like that, but anyone with senseBorat is stupid, sooooooo stupid. It isn't even funny. It goes beyond the line of funny, into stupidness, BEYOND stupidness and into something which is just... disgusting. I'm not easily offended, or anything like that, but anyone with sense would just find the film just... it's the worst film I've ever seen. I watched an hour of it and I will not watch anymore. I won't even watch the part I've seen again.
I'm a teenager myself (15 years old), and if other people like it when they're just stupid in my opinion. Anyone in the right sense of mind cannot possibly like a film like this. It isn't smart, funny, witty or anything like that which a comedy film SHOULD be. It's just stupid, ridiculous, offensive and sooooooooo graphic. Some of the things it says, some of the things that happen... I swear it should be banned.

Worst film ever. If you want a good comedy, try something like Hot Fuzz.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
asdasd33aFeb 7, 2013
I dont mind offensive if it serves some kind of purpose. I guess the creators purpose was to be funny and point out cultural idiosyncrasies. What they got is just offensive pile of that is this movie.

not even remotely funny unless you
I dont mind offensive if it serves some kind of purpose. I guess the creators purpose was to be funny and point out cultural idiosyncrasies. What they got is just offensive pile of that is this movie.

not even remotely funny unless you definition of funny is toilet humor
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
lukechristianscFeb 14, 2015
Sacha Baron Cohen is insulting america and being offensive also racist. It can be funny sometimes but it's offensive. Grade F- critics **** you and fans of this movie go **** yourself
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
CathyB.Mar 8, 2007
What a waste of time and money! I saw the movie Jackass and this was 100 times worse than that movie. The only positive thing I can say is that I saw people trying to make an outsider feel welcome. After I saw the movie, I called everyone I What a waste of time and money! I saw the movie Jackass and this was 100 times worse than that movie. The only positive thing I can say is that I saw people trying to make an outsider feel welcome. After I saw the movie, I called everyone I share movies with and told them not to waste their time or money on this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GosiaSApr 4, 2007
This movie was ridiculously stupid. I picked it randomly to watch
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AimeeM.May 11, 2007
I don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JFAug 7, 2007
Terrible. I'm generally a huge fan of these types of movies, you know, the kind that you don't have to know anything about anything to think its funny? But... this was a disaster. The plot was a mess, every scene was uncomfortable, Terrible. I'm generally a huge fan of these types of movies, you know, the kind that you don't have to know anything about anything to think its funny? But... this was a disaster. The plot was a mess, every scene was uncomfortable, and personally, I just think that every single joke bombed. I expected a lot out of this movie, and it did nothing but disappoint. I wish I could get my money back. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidPJul 7, 2009
This movie is over-hyped garbage. I don't understand how this movie has such a high Metascore and some really good movies have such low ones. The entire Borat Metacritic page is a testament to how unreliable professional critics are at This movie is over-hyped garbage. I don't understand how this movie has such a high Metascore and some really good movies have such low ones. The entire Borat Metacritic page is a testament to how unreliable professional critics are at telling a good movie apart from a bad one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DunceCapNov 18, 2006
This isn't art nor comedy. It is a crude and disgusting misuse of the arts. The fact that the star is himself a JEW doesn't give him the right to be antisemitc, against gays, femininists, politicians and portray American's as This isn't art nor comedy. It is a crude and disgusting misuse of the arts. The fact that the star is himself a JEW doesn't give him the right to be antisemitc, against gays, femininists, politicians and portray American's as idiotic juvenile racist hate mongers for the sake of comedy. And for the American critics to embrace this moron and compare this work to Gone With The Wind is a mockery of the Hollywood film industry. This is an awful film that grows old quickly and runs out of steam leaving its audience feeling quite uncomfortable; except for those teenagers that enjoy cruelty to others and bathroom humor. Avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
AlanG.Nov 5, 2006
Some critic compared Cohen to Chaplin. Chaplin used pathos. Cohen was just pathetic. Social commentary? Yes - on the state of art today. Angry, mean spirited and juvenile. I agree with Peter D who felt this was the Emperor's New Clothes Some critic compared Cohen to Chaplin. Chaplin used pathos. Cohen was just pathetic. Social commentary? Yes - on the state of art today. Angry, mean spirited and juvenile. I agree with Peter D who felt this was the Emperor's New Clothes phenomena. Right on Peter. Cohen is the flavor of the month soon to be forgotten. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PhyllisM.Nov 6, 2006
I saw the movie Borat and was very shocked and disappointed about the degrading humor, but even more importantly, sad that anti-Semitism is being made into humor. There is NOTHING funny about what happened in World War II to the Jews, the I saw the movie Borat and was very shocked and disappointed about the degrading humor, but even more importantly, sad that anti-Semitism is being made into humor. There is NOTHING funny about what happened in World War II to the Jews, the gypsies, and all mankind. Today, man suffers for it still. That today Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesG.Nov 7, 2006
If you love Borat from "Da Ali G Show", than do yourself a huge favor and don't let this film ruin your fond memories. Absolutely dismal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IssacH.Dec 3, 2006
Lewd and disgusting not funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RasputinDec 5, 2006
With so many people either loving or despising this film I had to go see it for myself. I like to laugh as much as the next person and can make fun of myself also. But this is bathroom humor at its lowest and when you take advantage of both With so many people either loving or despising this film I had to go see it for myself. I like to laugh as much as the next person and can make fun of myself also. But this is bathroom humor at its lowest and when you take advantage of both simpletons and racists to promote the almighty buck then I have a problem. There is nothing funny about this film. To the contrary it is crude and insults humankind. Put me in the camp that hated it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PhilDec 6, 2006
This is probably the worst movie I have ever seen! I would rather have my eyes taped open and forced to watch "Dodgeball" for 24 hrs than see this movie again!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KEND.Jan 22, 2007
I thought it was rude and obnoxious! How did this movie get such good reviews?????
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZephyrJ.Jan 5, 2007
Just wanted to show my solidarity with my fellow viewers who absolutely loathed this garbage. I am sure many people genuinely enjoyed "Borat", without reservation, good for them. I am equally sure that many others hate themselves for liking Just wanted to show my solidarity with my fellow viewers who absolutely loathed this garbage. I am sure many people genuinely enjoyed "Borat", without reservation, good for them. I am equally sure that many others hate themselves for liking it, but are thinking, hey, everyone else loves it, I better say I do too. Cohen's act wears thin very quickly, I regret not having the sense to walk out and leave my hysterically laughing companion to his own devices. In my view, public defecation does not exactly define biting social satire. Truly, the Emperor has no clothes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KevinH.Mar 30, 2007
Crude low brow bathroom humour. Only good for drunken frat types or hopeless stoners.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RogerA.May 29, 2007
Worst movie I have ever seen - nothing socially redeeming about it!! Makes Howard The Duck look like Oscar material.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AjH.Jun 2, 2007
You've gotta be kidding! This movie is SUCK, SUCK AND MORE SUCK!!! Just plain ridiculous!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BrianG.Jun 3, 2007
I was expecting this movie to be very funny from the quotes and stories I heard about it. Wrong. Anything that was supposed to be funny just produced a weak smile. I felt embarrassed for the filmmakers while watching this because everything I was expecting this movie to be very funny from the quotes and stories I heard about it. Wrong. Anything that was supposed to be funny just produced a weak smile. I felt embarrassed for the filmmakers while watching this because everything fell flat. People like to say 'Borat sucks......not!', but it's more like 'Borat is funny or worth watching at all.....NOT!' Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RockyS.Sep 17, 2007
I have three words for this movie: obscene, vulgar, disgusting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LCollinsApr 9, 2008
I'm really trying to think of the reason this film got so many good reviews, but I can't. The movie had very few funny moments, although I didn't sit through the whole thing, it was too crude and boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ElenaNov 10, 2006
A vile and disgusting movie without any redeeming values whatsoever. Now go make fun of me as the audience for this trash all had lobotmies before entering the theater.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JimE.Nov 10, 2006
The movie was utterly repulsive and so idiotic that I only laughed at how stupid the creators must be to think this would be worth watching. I should have known that with all the hype, it was destined to be bad as that typically is the case. The movie was utterly repulsive and so idiotic that I only laughed at how stupid the creators must be to think this would be worth watching. I should have known that with all the hype, it was destined to be bad as that typically is the case. The scene with the two naked men in sexual positions was the most disturbing. I love a good comedy, but where have we arrived as a society when the only things we like are the rediculous reality shows and this....movie for lack of a better word. I strongly recommend you not see it and spend your money on anything else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JaneS.Nov 10, 2006
I sat in the cinema wondering whether the film - a sort of Jackass-cum-Candid Camera, written and played by an undergrad of limited intellect and even less comedic talent - was the same film as acclaimed by critics. There were some funny I sat in the cinema wondering whether the film - a sort of Jackass-cum-Candid Camera, written and played by an undergrad of limited intellect and even less comedic talent - was the same film as acclaimed by critics. There were some funny moments in the first half but the second half dragged with few laughs and some misplaced attempts at pathos. This comedy was also mean-spirited - exploiting the Romanian (where it was filmed) villagers like performing monkeys for a few dollars a day in bit parts aimed at confirming Borat's stereotypical Third World attitudes and behaviour - a dubious activity from which Baron Cohen has made a considerable number of fast bucks. Thank God the man has left Britain and gone to settle in that mixture of concrete and desert known as Los Angeles where he should feel right at home with other amoral mega-egos. Hopefully, when he next minces onto the big screen as Bruno the fashionista, all will see him coming and be able to avoid his entrapment into another low-brow comedy epic that appeals to the 'Frat brothers' in his (mainly male) side-split audience. PS - although the films fans are wetting themselves trying to prove what a nasry reflection it is of the US+A, there were only a few bigots present in the film I viewed and most people who were foxed into appearing came across as endlessly patient and kind towards this drip of a man (in any culture) known as Borat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChuckNov 10, 2006
I was embarrassed that I sat through the entire film. Those of you who are trying to celebrate this piece of trash as some brilliant satire of what American society really is are disgusting. Just like the Michael Moore films, Cohen uses I was embarrassed that I sat through the entire film. Those of you who are trying to celebrate this piece of trash as some brilliant satire of what American society really is are disgusting. Just like the Michael Moore films, Cohen uses situations of his own manipulation to paint the picture HE wants to show. The fact that all of you fell for all of it is even worse. You probably hold yourselves up to be pretty smart, but think of it this way. . . . Some two bit English comedian just convinced you that Americans are pretty much just closet anti-Semite homophobic racists AND you think what he did is Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KynnJ.Nov 20, 2006
I am saddened to see that American audiences and critics have enjoyed this movie. I don't see why it is OK for performers from a rich country to eviscerate a poor country and its people, whereas an equally vicious satire against Jews or I am saddened to see that American audiences and critics have enjoyed this movie. I don't see why it is OK for performers from a rich country to eviscerate a poor country and its people, whereas an equally vicious satire against Jews or Blacks (for example) would have rightfully drawn censure from US audiences. This is the worst kind of movie, because, to the degree that they like it, this movie ultimately debases its audiences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GregB.Nov 26, 2006
Mean-spirited. Watch it if you have a pathological sense of your superiority over others and enjoy past times such as lighting three-legged cats on fire. The joke in this movie is on the critical community who find it funny that Borat can Mean-spirited. Watch it if you have a pathological sense of your superiority over others and enjoy past times such as lighting three-legged cats on fire. The joke in this movie is on the critical community who find it funny that Borat can make a racist hick say idiotic things on film. Wow. That's original. I'm not sure how that homophobe represents America--I do know that a film like that represents a low water mark in film comedy, political parody, and human decency. I walked out. It left me feeling embarrassed for everyone else who didn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AgnesNov 26, 2006
Revolting garbage that simply is not funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PeterD.Nov 4, 2006
I am a major league fan of Ali G and Borat too, the HBO TV version and I went to the movie with an open heart and the highest hope. Is this the Emperor's New Clothes phenomena. I can't understand the critical acclaim. The movie is I am a major league fan of Ali G and Borat too, the HBO TV version and I went to the movie with an open heart and the highest hope. Is this the Emperor's New Clothes phenomena. I can't understand the critical acclaim. The movie is pure dreck, garbage of the first rank. There are only a few bits that work. In addition the confusion about what is scripted and what is not scripted and who is an actor and who is an innocent victim is distracting. None of the brilliance of the TV show is to be found here. Take my word for it, the reviewers are misleading you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DumboNov 6, 2006
What is this world coming to? Did I really read that the professional critics gave this trailer trash of a movie a perfect score of 100? If so, this makes a mockery of the entire film industry. Don't get me wrong teenage males will find What is this world coming to? Did I really read that the professional critics gave this trailer trash of a movie a perfect score of 100? If so, this makes a mockery of the entire film industry. Don't get me wrong teenage males will find this bathroom humor very funny, but seriously, this film drags on for what seems like an eternity. How many times can you repeat the same tired act? It's like a child having unlimited access to all the ice cream he wants. After a few hours of eating the treat the child becomes sick to his stomach. Borat has that same effect as the comedy wanes very quickly replaced by the same old same old tired scenes. This is a movie only idiots will love. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HrenH.Nov 6, 2006
Pretentious kretinism.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GordJNov 7, 2006
Interesting how upset so many people get at others who pan the movie - almost as if it's a personal attack against them. Well maybe that does say alot about the people who like the movie. Personally I got the joke and I don't think Interesting how upset so many people get at others who pan the movie - almost as if it's a personal attack against them. Well maybe that does say alot about the people who like the movie. Personally I got the joke and I don't think it was funny. As others have said it was mean and tasteless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RockyL.Nov 7, 2006
This movie is vile and dispicable. To make fun of a tiny country and to promote anit-semitism even though I understand that Borat is an English Jewish actor is abhorable and tasteless. Then if that is not bad enough to make fun of This movie is vile and dispicable. To make fun of a tiny country and to promote anit-semitism even though I understand that Borat is an English Jewish actor is abhorable and tasteless. Then if that is not bad enough to make fun of handicapped people in that "retard" scene was all I could take. I love a good joke as much as the next person but toilet humor, anti-semitism, and making fun of handicapped people is not worthy of the praise most of you are giving this trash. Avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RockyL.Nov 7, 2006
This movie is vile and dispicable. To make fun of a tiny country and to promote anit-semitism even though I understand that Borat is an English Jewish actor is abhorable and tasteless. Then if that is not bad enough to make fun of This movie is vile and dispicable. To make fun of a tiny country and to promote anit-semitism even though I understand that Borat is an English Jewish actor is abhorable and tasteless. Then if that is not bad enough to make fun of handicapped people in that "retard" scene was all I could take. I love a good joke as much as the next person but toilet humor, anti-semitism, and making fun of handicapped people is not worthy of the praise most of you are giving this trash. Avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
StephanK.Dec 10, 2006
I can understand that the very young, who have not seen all of these gags before might laugh. I can understand those who think like the targets of this movie might have to laugh at themselves and that is good. And it was a very orignal I can understand that the very young, who have not seen all of these gags before might laugh. I can understand those who think like the targets of this movie might have to laugh at themselves and that is good. And it was a very orignal format. But this is one of the few movies ever that I was very close to simply walking out on. The very worst movie I have seen in decades. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HoraceDec 25, 2006
Vulgar and takes advantage of innocent unsuspecting people showing them at their worst. Would not be very funny if it was YOU captured on camera. We all say things we don't actually mean as it is part of our vocabulary. For those who Vulgar and takes advantage of innocent unsuspecting people showing them at their worst. Would not be very funny if it was YOU captured on camera. We all say things we don't actually mean as it is part of our vocabulary. For those who liked this I guess your taste is potty humor as long as it isn't you be exposed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
VirginaA.Dec 2, 2006
Disgusting bathroom humor does not justify the critical acclaim this film has gotten. To the contrary it is revolting to find any credible significance for this poor excuse for a feature film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GeorgeG.Dec 29, 2006
Absouloutely disgusting people who like this is sick
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Dr.StrangeloveDec 7, 2006
The only thing brilliant about this movie is that Borat got a bunch of professional jackass critics to buy this hog swill. Without a doubt the most overrated film in the history of the silver screen. Anyone who found this even remotely funny The only thing brilliant about this movie is that Borat got a bunch of professional jackass critics to buy this hog swill. Without a doubt the most overrated film in the history of the silver screen. Anyone who found this even remotely funny had to have had a lobotomy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IgorS.Dec 9, 2006
This movie is not funny. Borat on ali-g was much funnier.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MorganG.Jan 17, 2007
Pro: it brings social awareness to prejudices today. Con: it doesn't work as a comedy. I smiled 2 times throughout this long-winded, unfunny movie. It's overrated just because of the controversy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesR.Jan 6, 2007
One of the most offensive movies I have ever seen. Extremely anti semetic and anti western culture. I should have walked out in the first ten minutes. It was not even funny just pathetic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JonathonB.Feb 3, 2007
This is without a doubt the stupidest film I have ever had the misfortune of seeing. Aside from the offensiveness and stupidity, this film is also very disgusting. There is alot of very nasty, and just down right repulsive parts in this This is without a doubt the stupidest film I have ever had the misfortune of seeing. Aside from the offensiveness and stupidity, this film is also very disgusting. There is alot of very nasty, and just down right repulsive parts in this movie. It was kind of funny in parts, but in a very moronic type of way. It was a waste of time, and the only thing I liked about it was that it was only eighty-two minutes long. If it would have been shorter I for one wouldn't have complained. I actually think this movie made me a little stupider. It was like torture to my brain cells, and there is nothing I would like more then to go back in time and never see this one. Of course I can't do that, but if I could it would make a better movie then this disgrace of a film. If you haven't seen it consider yourself lucky. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TheanimalMar 12, 2007
Boring & way overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TheoT.Mar 15, 2007
An excellent movie for the mentally and socially disfunctional with a neg IQ. Pityful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveK.Mar 21, 2007
Chalk this one up to the "backlash against political correctness". We've lost any sense of what is acceptable or unacceptable just because we don't want to be PC any more. Critics want this movie to say something important so badly Chalk this one up to the "backlash against political correctness". We've lost any sense of what is acceptable or unacceptable just because we don't want to be PC any more. Critics want this movie to say something important so badly that they are quick to determine everything that is incredibly crude and offensive as a form of satire that somehow points the finger back at us. That's BS. It is what it is... Jackass but with a guy pretending to be from Kazhakstan and a half-baked "plot." Somehow the joke is supposed to be on us because Sacha Baron Cohen is the only one in on the "joke". Look, just because it's over-the-top does not make it in-offensive. Just ask the people of Kazhakstan. How does it make it right at all to tell a people "don't be offended, look at how over-the-top our charcaterization of you is" when they are the ones being offended? Can you honestly say if Cohen picked an African country that there would not be more outrage over this movie? I get that it shows how ugly America is, and makes us look like jackasses, but no less than Cohen looks like the chief of all jackasses. I am sure he doesn't think people in Kazakhstan live like that, but why parody it at all? "Because it's funny." You can laugh at a mentally handicaped kid just because you think it's funny, it doesn't make it right. Wake up, people... why are you laughing? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ShannonP.Mar 24, 2007
This is political correctness taken to its ultimate extreme: jokes about politically incorrect topics and/or having otherwise politically protected targets (
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrandonK.Mar 24, 2007
This film is utter RACIST SHIT. I disagree with everything the racist guy says. I think it should be banend by the government. I didn't laugh once. Everybody who watched this and laughed is racist. UTTER RACIST CRAP.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CherylP.Mar 27, 2007
This is one of the worst sophomoric films I've ever seen. Sacha Cohen must have fulfilled his 13 year old fantasies in this crude, disgusting drivel. I can't believe critics and the Academy gave this a moment's serious This is one of the worst sophomoric films I've ever seen. Sacha Cohen must have fulfilled his 13 year old fantasies in this crude, disgusting drivel. I can't believe critics and the Academy gave this a moment's serious consideration. Oops! Silly me--it was Hollywood where almost anything can pass as a cogent thought. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NicoleW.Mar 27, 2007
One of the main casualties of political correctness has been the use of irony in literature, film, and other art forms. Irony presented with any subtly or insight is inevitably misunderstood, condemned and quashed by the self-righteous, One of the main casualties of political correctness has been the use of irony in literature, film, and other art forms. Irony presented with any subtly or insight is inevitably misunderstood, condemned and quashed by the self-righteous, unknowing thought police. What are we left with? Irony so obvious and over the top that it cannot be misunderstood and that has no redeeming value. In other words, we have Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
That'sIt?Apr 14, 2007
Isn't irony dead yet? If it isn't, it should be. In an age where everyone is sarcastic and punch lines are smarmily laced with irony, this film ultimately disappoints. I typically try to temper my expectations when going to see a Isn't irony dead yet? If it isn't, it should be. In an age where everyone is sarcastic and punch lines are smarmily laced with irony, this film ultimately disappoints. I typically try to temper my expectations when going to see a critic's darling, but I walked out wondering: what did miss? The reality is: nothing. I saw a second-rate comedian going the shock route in what critics are deeming social satire. This might have worked as an NYU film student's final project, or a 7 minute clip on YouTube - but comic genius? Whichever critic compared Cohen to Lenny Bruce and Richard Pryor needs to seriously get help for their obvious crack problem. What have we learned that we didn't already know? I was toally underwhelmed by the 9th-grade "wow" irony of the kind southern lady on Secession Ave allowing her immigrant guest to stay in her house even though he brought his bagged poop to the dinner table, yet calls the police when the black prostitute arrives. You can hear Cohen practically yelling, "DON'T YOU GET IT?" The only real satire that worked in this movie is that of reality TV, which Cohen actually applied with subtlety - so much in fact, that most people who think the movie is funny don't even realize what he was doing. This is the only reason I didn't give this movie a zero: He is making fun of the people who think the movie is funny. You could be one of them. I'm not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BMillerApr 25, 2007
Occasionally I see a movie that is so bad that I feel cheated and angry that I wasted my time and money on it. This is one of those movies. After reading and hearing how funny people found this movie I had high expectations of at least Occasionally I see a movie that is so bad that I feel cheated and angry that I wasted my time and money on it. This is one of those movies. After reading and hearing how funny people found this movie I had high expectations of at least having a few laugh out loud moments. There were none. After enduring the whole movie resisting the temptation to press the fast forward button, in case I missed a funny part, I struggled with trying to analyze why I seemed to be alone in finding this humorless. I concluded that since since Borat's comic routine is basically to insult and embarrass people, the only way it is funny to me is if the victim reacts in a funny manner. They do not, which means Borat has to carry this entire movie himself and frankly he fails. Frequently I felt sorry for the people involved who were, despite some of their beliefs or personal prejudices, for the most part, nice people. I would advise people to avoid this movie unless you enjoy immature toilet humor and like to see decent people humiliated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackKApr 29, 2007
Imagine the sh.t-storm of indignation that would have resulted if this tasteless movie had been set in, for example, Uganda. However, because Central Asia is (as usual) neglected in the public eye, this is read as "ironically amusing" by the Imagine the sh.t-storm of indignation that would have resulted if this tasteless movie had been set in, for example, Uganda. However, because Central Asia is (as usual) neglected in the public eye, this is read as "ironically amusing" by the bleating public. Isn't the third world HILARIOUS? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NickEJul 12, 2007
I think we have the 2006 winner for the 3rd annual Most Overrated Comedy award (I call it a "Sideways"). With the exception of a couple of great scenes, particularly the Pam Anderson scene, this was A LOT less funny than I was expecting, and I think we have the 2006 winner for the 3rd annual Most Overrated Comedy award (I call it a "Sideways"). With the exception of a couple of great scenes, particularly the Pam Anderson scene, this was A LOT less funny than I was expecting, and it has no plot. This is generally what happens when you base a movie on a sketch comedy character - to make it last 80 minutes you start relying on the same gags and jokes over and over, and the whole thing really drags. If foreign persons with strong accents and mangled English from backward developing countries are not something you're inclined to laugh at for their own sake, you probably won't find this at all funny. I also don't see the "skewering cultural commentary" that reviewers talked about - if there's any commentary on American culture here it's only the most shallow and stereotyped sort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnL.Nov 10, 2006
Horrible. About 20 minutes into the movie I leaned over to suggest to my wife that we leave, only to discover that she was asleep. this movie is not funny. I'm not uptight about morals. I laugh my butt off at all sorts of Horrible. About 20 minutes into the movie I leaned over to suggest to my wife that we leave, only to discover that she was asleep. this movie is not funny. I'm not uptight about morals. I laugh my butt off at all sorts of "inappropriate" stuff. But this film just is not funny. There is a scene where he points out that a middle-aged woman is less attractive than the two other women at a dinner table -- this is not funny in the least, it is unbelievably cruel. Anyone reading this who laughed at that scene -- you have problems. Maybe the worst movie I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RevSykesNov 10, 2006
Crude and crass. Bathroom humor spiced up with the hero's charming glamorization of hatred of Jews and women. This is not my type of humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KingC.Nov 13, 2006
Revolting and disgusting. Now we find out that many of the people he meets were misled as to why they were being interviewed and are suing the producers. There's enough hatred in the world without aggravating the situation with Revolting and disgusting. Now we find out that many of the people he meets were misled as to why they were being interviewed and are suing the producers. There's enough hatred in the world without aggravating the situation with offensive material. Bathroom humor and antisemitism jokes just aren't funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SueJ.Nov 16, 2006
Potty humor at its worst.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JayW.Nov 18, 2006
The slippery-slope of bringing potty humor to the screen has begun. The days of suggestive humor are gone and in an attempt to push the envelope, movies are getting less creative and more lewd. I guess shock value sells...but please The slippery-slope of bringing potty humor to the screen has begun. The days of suggestive humor are gone and in an attempt to push the envelope, movies are getting less creative and more lewd. I guess shock value sells...but please don't say its a great film for this. I never seem to agree with the critics... and once again...the critics seemed to love this mess of a film. The previews were the only funny parts of the movies...the rest was obnoxious, depressing and childish. Hard to imagine that such an intelligent guy could create something so worthless to society. Id take Yakov Smirnoff anyday. And the "Kazakhstan" scenes were filmed in Romania...with people speaking Romanian. Maybe he thinks everyone is stupid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CatherineNov 23, 2006
I also walked out on this movie. It might be possible to interpret it as sharp, Swiftian satire on American bigotry, but it is much easier for audiences to laugh, not because they get the more subtle points it perhaps tries to make, but I also walked out on this movie. It might be possible to interpret it as sharp, Swiftian satire on American bigotry, but it is much easier for audiences to laugh, not because they get the more subtle points it perhaps tries to make, but because they find its crudities, its racism, its homophobia, its sexism, and its anti-Semitism funny on their own. I think this movie gives Americans an excuse to claim they are watching something very high-minded while actually revelling in their own prejudice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RayWNov 26, 2006
A road movie redux, Borat is best served as a 5 minute bit on the Ali G show. It is not a full length feature movie. I wanted to really like it as much as I like the HBO show; however, Mr. Cohen cannot sustain the laughs. The laughs are A road movie redux, Borat is best served as a 5 minute bit on the Ali G show. It is not a full length feature movie. I wanted to really like it as much as I like the HBO show; however, Mr. Cohen cannot sustain the laughs. The laughs are diffused by the decidedly unfunny plot lines with Borat's producer, the road trip and Pamela Anderson. A disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DanielNov 28, 2006
I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
benjyNov 28, 2006
The thing with Borat is that it's no different from his Ali G character, only the americans will find this entertaining for the simple reason that they have run out of movie ideas as they have gone through sequels, prequels game to The thing with Borat is that it's no different from his Ali G character, only the americans will find this entertaining for the simple reason that they have run out of movie ideas as they have gone through sequels, prequels game to movie, remakes, love, disaster and america is great movies, for them this is something original but for us brits its all old, been done before and to be honest should be kept in short bursts like it was when it was on TV, yeah it has its funny moments but it goes on for to long. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TammmieNov 28, 2006
No Ben! The fact that Scaha is a devout Jew only makes it that more pathetic. His antisemitism, attack on women and gays only fuels the hatred that is way too much in this sick and perverted world. Only juveniles with lobotomized brains No Ben! The fact that Scaha is a devout Jew only makes it that more pathetic. His antisemitism, attack on women and gays only fuels the hatred that is way too much in this sick and perverted world. Only juveniles with lobotomized brains would find this type of humor funny. I call it sick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FantasyNov 3, 2006
The professional critics are absolutely totally nuts. A couple of funny lines but then the movie starts to drag and drag. If bathroom humor is your bag and you are a teenager then you will love it. Otherwise not worth your hard earned money. Awful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JimK.Nov 5, 2006
This has to be one of the most insulting, base and least funny "comedies" of all time. The laughs were mostly that of embarassment or disgust. I love to laugh and have a reasonable tolerance for crude humor but this was just not funny and This has to be one of the most insulting, base and least funny "comedies" of all time. The laughs were mostly that of embarassment or disgust. I love to laugh and have a reasonable tolerance for crude humor but this was just not funny and the biggest waste of money I've suffered in years. Don't go! If you must see it wait for the DVD. It will probably be out in 3 weeks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnNov 6, 2006
How did such a disgusting, repulsive and sickening piece of trash receive so many positive reviews from the nation
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RobbieD.Nov 8, 2006
An absolutely sick and twisted movie, this film casts a deadly shadow over every civil upstanding civilian there is, I had to leave the cinema 8 times whilst watching this film as the sheer disgusting content outraged me, in the end about An absolutely sick and twisted movie, this film casts a deadly shadow over every civil upstanding civilian there is, I had to leave the cinema 8 times whilst watching this film as the sheer disgusting content outraged me, in the end about after an hour I left the cinema absolutely horrified and disgusted that such a sickening film could have been released. What shocks me even more apart from the huge amount of sexist and racist jokes in this film, is the amount of positive publicity this film is getting, it really shows how much society has degraded in the past 50 years since I was at university. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SidiotDec 17, 2006
Bathroom humor at its worst without any social or redeeming values. Simply not funny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
IvisB.Dec 30, 2006
Maybe funny as a short, but drug out to a movie, just not funny. The premise (of Kahsakistan being so completely barbaric) is absurd, and so more than anything, it really makes fun of Americans who could see humor in it. Hope the terrorists Maybe funny as a short, but drug out to a movie, just not funny. The premise (of Kahsakistan being so completely barbaric) is absurd, and so more than anything, it really makes fun of Americans who could see humor in it. Hope the terrorists don't use it as a recruiting tool. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JackDec 9, 2006
A movie that makes you never want to be duped by the media hype again. Portrayed by the crtics as a new "South Park" (which was truely original and hilarious), it is anything but. Cohen is a vulgar exploiter and the media critics who praised A movie that makes you never want to be duped by the media hype again. Portrayed by the crtics as a new "South Park" (which was truely original and hilarious), it is anything but. Cohen is a vulgar exploiter and the media critics who praised this crud are his accomplices. Well you've got my retirement money out of my pocket for your null-talent piece of drivel Cohen. Now take your filthy lucre, your new "freshly santitized" wife and please disappear. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyanC.Feb 14, 2007
Could a film be anymore prejudice or anti-semetic? Not something I want my kids or anyone else for that matter supporting, even if it is a joke.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChristopherJ.Mar 17, 2007
I liked Cohen's TV show interviews quite a bit, too. I liked some of the Ali G Show interviews, but this movie is worse. For those of you that have no idea, this movie is like Candid Camera, the old TV show, but more boring and with I liked Cohen's TV show interviews quite a bit, too. I liked some of the Ali G Show interviews, but this movie is worse. For those of you that have no idea, this movie is like Candid Camera, the old TV show, but more boring and with more penis shots. I wish I'd done almost anything else rather than waste time watching this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SamS.Mar 28, 2007
This was the worst movie EVER!!! It was boring, pointless and offensive.... It was soo boring I walked out after the first 20 minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful