Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: November 3, 2006
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1085 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
779
Mixed:
102
Negative:
204
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
NDApr 1, 2007
Expected more from reading the reviews - still found a good few laughs in there - just not enough to recommend it to anyone else.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
ChrisK.May 15, 2007
Weak. Dated and unoriginal. These are the same themes he's explored for 10 years now.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
wongitDec 12, 2006
Shocked to say the least, not only at the risk this movie takes but at its reviews. OVERATED
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TheMagicalHippieKillerMar 13, 2007
This movie was hard to watch, not only because of some of the more rather tastless scenes, but the exposure of some of the dark and disturbing happenings and attitudes in our own country. The film had an oppurtunity to be smarter, but in This movie was hard to watch, not only because of some of the more rather tastless scenes, but the exposure of some of the dark and disturbing happenings and attitudes in our own country. The film had an oppurtunity to be smarter, but in this day and age where simple-minded humor is depicted because Scary Movie/American Pie types dominate, it fell flat. However, it was still enjoyable, but only as a rental. The film runs only on shock value, and once you know when things are going to happen, the feeling is gone. However, despite several leud scenes and gags about bodily waste, the most disturbing parts of the film were most of the unsuspecting victims. Several scenes (A high class southern dinner party on "Secession Ave"; an antique shop that is pro-Confederate; a rodeo in which much of the audience is depicted as racist; a Senator and Supreme Court Justice at a Pentacostal gathering; several schovanistic college students and expressing their views) show a darker side to American society, as well as show that Americans do not truly have a centralized culture; many of the locations and their populations vary differently, as seen in the film. Unfortunately, the film does not focus on this the way it should, instead, as stated earlier, choosing to stir up some controversey. However, the best thing about works like this is that it can really help to point out people who are unable to grasp the concept. I am not saying everyone who hates this is an idiot, some of you have very good arguments on why the film is stupid (Ray K, Morgan G). However, a lot of you should sit out on this one. And for the record, and I am suprised there are acutally people who do not know this, but Sacha Baron Cohen, the actor that plays Borat, is in fact, Jewish. Also, this movie seems a little far-fetched. Unless this film was shot after each time he paid his bail, it was most certainly staged in order to broadcast Cohen's personal views. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JoshMar 3, 2007
Borat has some excellent moments, especially where it takes a moment to point out the ignorance and hypocrisy that permeates America. All in all, though, it is just a movie centered around bathroom humor and American's desperate desire Borat has some excellent moments, especially where it takes a moment to point out the ignorance and hypocrisy that permeates America. All in all, though, it is just a movie centered around bathroom humor and American's desperate desire to be on television. It was, to me, a painfully long and embarrassing film that was only moderately funny. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
CocoBunnyJun 23, 2009
High expectations, big letdown. While it has its funny moments, it dragged at times. And dragged. And dragged. Surely Cohen could have come up with more funny stuff--or edited some of the lulls out--to fill the whole running time. If High expectations, big letdown. While it has its funny moments, it dragged at times. And dragged. And dragged. Surely Cohen could have come up with more funny stuff--or edited some of the lulls out--to fill the whole running time. If you're a fan of gross-out comedies, you'll like this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TimS.Mar 18, 2007
Definitely funny but a one time see for sure.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
PerlaN.Nov 21, 2006
It really isn't as funny as critics say it is. The humor is really dumb and gets only dumber and ruder. Boring sexist humor. Do not take a female date to see this movie - she might very well be grinding her teeth and looking at you It really isn't as funny as critics say it is. The humor is really dumb and gets only dumber and ruder. Boring sexist humor. Do not take a female date to see this movie - she might very well be grinding her teeth and looking at you wondering what kind of acned teenager am I here with? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NathanielD.Mar 20, 2007
As a big fan of Da Ali G show (I own both seasons on DVD) this movie came as a big disappointment. Granted, Borat was actually always my least favorite of Cohen's 3 personalities, but I think that the biggest problem with this movie is As a big fan of Da Ali G show (I own both seasons on DVD) this movie came as a big disappointment. Granted, Borat was actually always my least favorite of Cohen's 3 personalities, but I think that the biggest problem with this movie is that not much of it seemed improvised and that most of it was scripted. Paired with the fact that I don't see how this could be near as funny in subsequent views, I don't think this movie will stand the test of time and won't ever hold a classic status. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JamesM.Mar 5, 2007
Self-indulgent and overrated. Not that I like Freddie Got Fingered, quite the opposite, but I can't understand why critics butchered that film and not Borat... This movie is far from a satire. It is the motion picture equivilent to a fart joke.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TinaR.Jun 13, 2007
This movie has couple shockingly laughable scenes, but on the whole it is very uncomfortable to watch and most of the scenes that are supposed to be funny are just idiotic and embarrassing. If someone like this can make money on comedy, then This movie has couple shockingly laughable scenes, but on the whole it is very uncomfortable to watch and most of the scenes that are supposed to be funny are just idiotic and embarrassing. If someone like this can make money on comedy, then anyone can...It's utter nonsense. And most of us would probably do better! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TBoneNov 10, 2006
I thought that the movie could have been way better. It was not offensive to me at all so I don't know what those people are talking about. It would be offensive if someone was actually seriously saying and doing some of the stuff but I thought that the movie could have been way better. It was not offensive to me at all so I don't know what those people are talking about. It would be offensive if someone was actually seriously saying and doing some of the stuff but it was fake! I laughed but I found myself wondering why I payed to see this movie when you can see funnier Borat sketches on Da Ali G Show. Funny but not great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KennethK.Nov 6, 2006
Lots of exteremely funny moments. I didn't think it was as amazing as most critics seem to think, but it was ok. I was absolutely disgusted at times, but I think Cohen did a great job exposing some of the horrors in our society in a Lots of exteremely funny moments. I didn't think it was as amazing as most critics seem to think, but it was ok. I was absolutely disgusted at times, but I think Cohen did a great job exposing some of the horrors in our society in a humorous way. Definitely makes you think. Cohen's performance was also fantastic. A great actor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RebootsDaMachinaJan 26, 2007
Occasionally hilarious. The rest of the time is pure 4th grade playground. Relies heavily on homophobic humor to create movie theater discomfort!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JeffC.Mar 1, 2007
Funny in parts, but really bloody gross, and I'm not squeemish. Highly overrated.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KenMar 20, 2007
Truly tasteless and offensive. That said, it's also pretty darn funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RodP.Nov 17, 2006
It is just not as funny as you/we are being led to believe. You'll scream in parts of it, but Cohen misses a lot too. A lot of Borat is the act that Yakov Smirrinoff has been doing for 30 years. It's not a "must see" that is for It is just not as funny as you/we are being led to believe. You'll scream in parts of it, but Cohen misses a lot too. A lot of Borat is the act that Yakov Smirrinoff has been doing for 30 years. It's not a "must see" that is for sure. The DVD will be fine for most people. Essentially, it's "JackAss" for a different crowd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidG.Nov 18, 2006
I also agree with Wade T. The movie had me laughing hystarically at times, but for the same reasons I laugh at Jackass. Shock value laughs. It's funny, but was not the clever satire that I hoped it would be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ShmittySNov 25, 2006
I was really disapointed by this movie. I was hoping it to be much much more funny. I don't think I laughed once, but people around me were going nuts for it. People who find this movie offensive... you realize its a MOVIE! "It's I was really disapointed by this movie. I was hoping it to be much much more funny. I don't think I laughed once, but people around me were going nuts for it. People who find this movie offensive... you realize its a MOVIE! "It's racial, blah, blah." welcome to humor. It's a great comedy, but I guess it wasnt my night. 5/10 for potential (a rushin' rushin' around...) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SharifN.Nov 4, 2006
Watching Borat is a lot like getting tickled: you laugh, but that doesnt necessarily mean you enjoy it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
StarfoxNov 4, 2006
Very funny, but also very far from the funniest movie ever. Also, very forgettable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JoshB.Nov 5, 2006
I have 6 brothers and adore crude, random, and intelligent humor. I don't see ever giving this movie a 10. It's interesting to watch, but really just a compilation of skits. I never laughed from down deep. South Park had me in I have 6 brothers and adore crude, random, and intelligent humor. I don't see ever giving this movie a 10. It's interesting to watch, but really just a compilation of skits. I never laughed from down deep. South Park had me in fits, but this is not really ground-breaking stuff. I wouldn't watch this movie again, and I doubt it would achieve cult status as suggested. It falls short of the potential and and the expectation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RobertH.Nov 5, 2006
This guy is very funny but for a real fan, the movie misses. It moves a bit into being a little mean spirited (evnen though sure it's fummy), the full theater really did not uproarisly laugh that much, it's a little sophomoric, and This guy is very funny but for a real fan, the movie misses. It moves a bit into being a little mean spirited (evnen though sure it's fummy), the full theater really did not uproarisly laugh that much, it's a little sophomoric, and if you know his humour there's not much new here. My suspicion is from looking at reactions of those leaving, they leave dissapointed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SpongeeeNov 5, 2006
The movie does not live up to the TV show it is based upon. As noted, being on the big screen, there are new demensions unlike the TV show: an 80 min story line, questions on what is real and what is not, and actual happy/sad feelings toward The movie does not live up to the TV show it is based upon. As noted, being on the big screen, there are new demensions unlike the TV show: an 80 min story line, questions on what is real and what is not, and actual happy/sad feelings toward Borat. While there are good moments throughout, overall it is disapointing. The bottom line is that the movie is not as genuine as the TV show, making the laughs not as good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KorkyB.Nov 7, 2006
I am tried and true fan of the HBO show, that said: Yes the movie was funny, yes Sacha was great, Azamat was tremendous (not to mention he spoke Armenian on screen-I'm Armenian so that bias points there). But my bone to pick would be I am tried and true fan of the HBO show, that said: Yes the movie was funny, yes Sacha was great, Azamat was tremendous (not to mention he spoke Armenian on screen-I'm Armenian so that bias points there). But my bone to pick would be the lack of focus on the strangers being interviewed and the large amount of attention given to Borat. Borat is the secondary joke, the raicst and sexiest idiots are the real joke and the movie seemed to never fully capture the stupidity of each interviewee like the TV show does. It seemed as each "setting/interview' was rushed and never fully exploited.Iit's more about Borat and his trip and the story. I understand it's a movie and there has to be character/story/plot so in that sense it was a 'good Borat movie', but compared to the TV show, the TV show is funnier, hands down. Hence all these 10's and 9s are not justified because as a movie it's good but it's not a classic comedy. The TV show is a 10 and compared to the show, the movie can only disapoint in my eyes, hence the 5. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BilB.Dec 10, 2006
Cute and original but nothing to write home about. Some scenes were truly funny, others showed a disturbing view of just how backwards the USA really is, and some scenes were just plain old stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BillD.Dec 30, 2006
Sometimes the most hysterically funny, sometimes the rudest and most offensive piece of celluloid I've seen in my life. Not for the PC crowd (which appears to be 7/10ths of the world) or for the young (the film should have been rated Sometimes the most hysterically funny, sometimes the rudest and most offensive piece of celluloid I've seen in my life. Not for the PC crowd (which appears to be 7/10ths of the world) or for the young (the film should have been rated NC-17). And not deserving of Globes or Golden Men...but it WAS funny! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GeoffB.Dec 6, 2006
I find it most useful in thinking about Borat to imagine it as a fully scripted movie (and judging from the lawsuits it might well have been) as opposed to the "reality movie" it was billed as. Would the New York times have called a scripted I find it most useful in thinking about Borat to imagine it as a fully scripted movie (and judging from the lawsuits it might well have been) as opposed to the "reality movie" it was billed as. Would the New York times have called a scripted scene mocking drunk mysognistic frat boys "brilliant...social satire"? I imagine the phrase would have been "tired old cliche". Or how about those stuffy southerners? They totally freak when you bring your own feces to the dinner table. I think I have seen about half a dozen similar scenes in those teen comedies so deliciously panned. That isn't to say it wasn't funny. It was very very funny. But so was Jackass, American Pie, Harold and Kumar. Those movies took my nine bucks and made me laugh, but they did not pretend to have brilliant insights of American mores. Borat on the otherhand, he took my nine bucks, he made me laugh, and the only insight I got was that America loves a bandwagon. They just cant wait to jump on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BethC.Dec 7, 2006
I have never seen Da Ali G Show, so I can't make comparisons. I do think that the film was overrated. There is very little plot, mainly a series of scenes, ranging from almost brilliant (the rodeo scene) to flops (the New York I have never seen Da Ali G Show, so I can't make comparisons. I do think that the film was overrated. There is very little plot, mainly a series of scenes, ranging from almost brilliant (the rodeo scene) to flops (the New York feminists). I'm also not a fan of bathroom humor or slapstick, so I didn't appreciate these parts. The conglomeration of languages used in the film (Polish, Armenian, Romanian) made it clear that they weren't really talking about Kazakhstan, but it did tend to generally denigrate people from Second/ Third World countries. I did enjoy the few times that the joke was actually on Borat - his portrayal as a homophobe who really enjoys hugging, kissing and wrestling with other men. But mainly, there just weren't enough good laughs and I got bored with it by the end. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeDOct 30, 2007
Whereas the small-screen Borat was a daring and revealing hidden-camera concept, brought to the big-screen he is reduced to a gross-out comedy bastion. The film starts off promisingly, but then the jokes become somewhat weaker, and then it Whereas the small-screen Borat was a daring and revealing hidden-camera concept, brought to the big-screen he is reduced to a gross-out comedy bastion. The film starts off promisingly, but then the jokes become somewhat weaker, and then it all feels really set-up. Not nearly as good as it could have been. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful