Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Jessica Kiang
    May 25, 2013
    91
    With pitch-perfect performances across the board, and boasting crisp photography and editing, the film never ceases to twist, turn and surprise, taking wicked joy in constantly switching us back on ourselves and our expectations of the characters.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jun 5, 2014
    90
    That Borgman restrains itself from turning into a full-scale horror movie makes it all the more unsettling, although it has its bumpy moments.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 3, 2014
    90
    Van Warmerdam keeps such a calm, firm hold on the material that he practically hypnotizes you into following along to the end. The craftsmanship is precise; the result is enigmatic.
  4. Reviewed by: Josh Kupecki
    Jun 11, 2014
    89
    Coyness aside, Borgman is a supremely controlled and darkly nuanced fable that veers away from your expectations every time you think you have it figured out.
  5. Reviewed by: Tirdad Derakhshani
    Jun 13, 2014
    88
    A remarkable, thoroughly disturbing creepshow that burrows deep under your skin and refuses to let go.
  6. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    May 25, 2013
    83
    With its palatial setting, Borgman shows how money can buy luxury, but it can't salvage the corruption that comes from within.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Jul 22, 2014
    7
    The Dutch's submission for 2014 Oscars and it did not find a place in the final five. This Dutch movie got good critical response and mixed from the moviegoer. A strange narration and excellent characters display by the cast make the movie very interesting. A similar movie to the recent ones 'Upstream Color' and 'Enemy'. A movie for grown ups and a hard concept to crack it down. A slightly disturbing which leaves lots of questions behind than answering it. You should choose carefully this movie to watch. If you know what this movie is all about then there won't be an issue when you begin to watch it.

    This is not your regular entertainer, it is what people sometimes call an art movie. You need to be a little smarter in order to understand the movie with presentation like this. Because the movie won't conclude by saying its purpose, instead you should yourself decode it otherwise you will miss something hidden within and blame for the wasting time. This is the story of a mystery man Camiel Borgman and his gang who finds a place in a rich family house. Slowly conquer whole family by possessing and corrupting their minds. The gang is aware of what they are doing and what should be done like some secret mission of the secret organization. So how far it takes to accomplish and what are all methods used is the story that unfolds.

    ‘‘I am scared. It appeared suddenly.
    I've been marked’’

    Other movies leave pretty wide clues of what it was dealing, but this one it is a tough to make a guess. What I got was the good versus the evil theme. What if the negative forces like ghosts and demons are not scarier ones like we have believed, but lives among us as one possessing and terrorizing the human. The opening scene was fairly convinced me to believe this way when a bunch of priest tried to hunt down the evils by digging their graves out. So they left no choice, but leave the place behind and find a new home to save themselves and their kind. That is how Camiel Borgman make to a rich house. Entering into their minds, psychologically affecting the characters and bringing chaos to fight each others.

    Yeah, it won't look like any horror movie with scary pictures and sudden loud noises, but everything was told in a realistic manner. You would also find a werewolf kind of concept as well. Characters turning into a slimy dog (don't expect the computer graphical tricks because there is none) which won't exactly explains, but I assumed that way. Usually demons need an invitation, a scene in the movie explains it when a bunch of them try to enter the house as a gardener, but denied until Camiel Borgman makes it. I am not made for a movie like this, but sometimes I enjoy them and this movie looked better than what I had in my mind about it. Expected a little better in a few areas and wanted to like it. Still, I was not fully convinced, but somehow managed to like the movie.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 8, 2014
    5
    I will have to side with Slant Magazines unfavorable review of this one. While Borgman commits to its theme of not explaining itself wholeheartedly, it falls short of being a genuinely intelligent thriller and comes away looking pretentious. Thus it falls to critics to justify the absurd with their high brows and references to religious symbolism. In fact i have found that some reviewers interpretation far more interesting than the film itself. Which i guess makes it worth seeing if you want to appear clever other film critics. Full Review »
  3. Aug 25, 2014
    4
    It does not offer much, just some surprises and a few memorable scenes. It seems at first like a great indie/foreign film, but then ultimately is an idea that crashes. Borgman is like a rocket that soars and immediatley bashes into a plane. Full Review »