United Artists | Release Date: October 11, 2002
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 100 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
74
Mixed:
6
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TerryB.Dec 18, 2007
I don't know if other people watched the same movie that I watched. In the movie, Moore is just telling the truth. Now I know that the truth hurts some people, but lets be serious...our governments top priorities are on bombing the hell I don't know if other people watched the same movie that I watched. In the movie, Moore is just telling the truth. Now I know that the truth hurts some people, but lets be serious...our governments top priorities are on bombing the hell outta some country on the other side of this planet when there are starving families that barely get by from day to day. The government should concentrate on healthcare and childrens' education. Moore is just opening our eyes to how messed up our governments priorities are and how it's putting fear into every american in this country. How could you watch the president of the NRA show no sympathy whatsoever for the 6 year old girl that was shot by a gun at school and not get pissed at him for that?!? Maybe I actually have a heart with a concience, but some people need to open their eyes to what is going on in this country. And not all people of america are gun happy assholes...there are many great people in america and they just don't see those people. It's the government and gun-loving idiot who are screwing many people over. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
4
AliciaJul 26, 2007
Sooooooooooooooo overrated! Surprisingly I did enjoy parts, but only after I began to approach the 'documentary' as an entirely fictional movie. I'm an Aussie and we all 'hate' Americans but i was under the Sooooooooooooooo overrated! Surprisingly I did enjoy parts, but only after I began to approach the 'documentary' as an entirely fictional movie. I'm an Aussie and we all 'hate' Americans but i was under the impression that they're all fiercely patriotic. Michael Moore attacks his country and its institutions in a desperate attempt to be scandalous and get people to watch bowling for columbine. How could he use a tragedy like this? And even more importantly how could he receive awards for fictitious events in the category of documentary? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
GingerO.Feb 15, 2006
Whether we like Michael Moore or not, I believe it is important to understand and take into account that his documentary
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
amurabim.Aug 31, 2005
Hilarious, funny, entertaining, thoughtful, universal & extremely controversial but the best documentary ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardR.Mar 23, 2003
Terrific movie. Moore looked like a jackass at the Oscars (awesome dig, Steve Martin!), but in this country, jackasses are free to show themselves in any (legal) way they'd like. Again, the movie is excellent and eye-opening.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RirenJan 31, 2007
Bowling For Columbine is an example of a sad and increasingly popular trend in documentary: to no longer inform, but to program. Like most sensationalist works, it goes for the emotional reaction instead of the logical. It's very good Bowling For Columbine is an example of a sad and increasingly popular trend in documentary: to no longer inform, but to program. Like most sensationalist works, it goes for the emotional reaction instead of the logical. It's very good at stirring up a cloud of feelings whenever it's logic is weak and might be criticized by a thinking audience. It preys on factual confusion and cynicism to paint an anti-patriotic picture, something done much more thoroughly and intelligently in other mediums such as the books of Noam Chomsky. But where you could argue with Chomsky's writing, Moore's theatrics are unrelenting - rather than let you disagree, he will coyly pretend he wasn't making that point, throw something at you so that you are too uncomfortable to respond, and change the subject so that you won't have the chance to think things through. Moore has made a great contribution to turning documentary into the next great form of propaganda. The only thing he has to be proud of is how many millions of dollars he has duped audiences out of in doing it. Please, if you want to educate yourself on the great problems facing modern society, read a book. Leave this documentary to the liberals who, like a quire, relish in being preached at my their own congregation. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BKMDec 25, 2012
Is it unbiased, fair and logical? Absolutely not. But that's not what Moore is aiming for (no pun intended). Bowling for Columbine is an unapologetic pro-gun control polemic infused with scathing humor and pointed attacks on everyone fromIs it unbiased, fair and logical? Absolutely not. But that's not what Moore is aiming for (no pun intended). Bowling for Columbine is an unapologetic pro-gun control polemic infused with scathing humor and pointed attacks on everyone from the national media to corporate America. The film doesn't come close to providing any real answers to the problem of gun violence, but it does strike a chord when it turns its attention to the culture of fear that is ingrained in our collective psyche. Just don't take it as gospel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TubieNov 2, 2010
This is probably the best documentary Michael Moore ever did and the reasons are easy to understand. This was a very well written and it shows that he invested a lot of sentiment and time in this. It's great and even if you don't agree withThis is probably the best documentary Michael Moore ever did and the reasons are easy to understand. This was a very well written and it shows that he invested a lot of sentiment and time in this. It's great and even if you don't agree with his politics you should still be able to admire this great piece of work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFSep 8, 2013
The dark and comic tone of "Bowling for Columbine" attempts to outline the seriousness of its content, through its condescending questions to various citizens and first hand look at some unimaginable situations, the film is a look at theThe dark and comic tone of "Bowling for Columbine" attempts to outline the seriousness of its content, through its condescending questions to various citizens and first hand look at some unimaginable situations, the film is a look at the simplicity of picking up a firearm in America, writer, investigator, director and the sarcastic Michael Moore narrates various facts about the National Rifle Association, the pro-gun movement, he interviews some of the most colourful individuals on screen, including a young man who sleeps with a gun under his pillow and a young man who makes his own bombs, including homemade napalm.
The title refers to the tragic actions of two gun-wielding and bomb-making students who massacred students and teachers in Columbine High School, after a carefully orchestrated attack, an event that made people question gun control in the United States. We then see a video collage with words to various deals and decisions that the American government has made over the years, giving weapons to a country they later invade, removing democratically elected presidents and replacing them with dictators, which ironically has Louis Armstrong's "What a Wonderful World" playing over it, a startling reminder of what those in power of capable of. We then see video footage of the Columbine tragedy, as a teacher makes a frantic call to the emergency services as the gunmen turned to face the room the caller was in. What happened after was equally as disturbing, the blames, security measures and segregation of children was quite unbelievable.
The film explores this blame and questions just what makes the Free World different from every other country, we share the same entertainment and pop culture variance, things which are blamed for these mass shootings, why does the rest of the world not have such a startling firearm death statistic as the USA. Moore has created a satirical view of serious issues that need addressed, he questions why larger issues are clouded by more menial ones, he also combines this with a perfect soundtrack, one which reflects the material on show, his interactions with a wide variety of people, from rural to urban areas of the States and even up to Canada, trying figure out the source if these problems, he puts the real problems right in "important" people faces and it's unfortunate to see such a cold reaction.
This is touching, disturbing and influential documentary that hits the problems where they hurt, but accepts the fact that it can't do enough to change a nation, little instances happen, but they are blips on a massive scale that barely matter.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AD_PhoenixApr 21, 2014
As relevant today as it was 12 years ago, Bowling For Columbine features Michael Moore addressing the subjects of firearms, race, fear and prejudice in a totally engaging documentary that never falls short and continues to surprise andAs relevant today as it was 12 years ago, Bowling For Columbine features Michael Moore addressing the subjects of firearms, race, fear and prejudice in a totally engaging documentary that never falls short and continues to surprise and educate even up to its bittersweet end. Participatory documentary at its finest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews