Metascore
100

Universal acclaim - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1059 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Filmed over 12 years with the same cast, Richard Linklater's Boyhood is a groundbreaking story of growing up as seen through the eyes of a child named Mason (Ellar Coltrane), who literally grows up on screen before our eyes. Starring Ethan Hawke and Patricia Arquette as Mason's parents andFilmed over 12 years with the same cast, Richard Linklater's Boyhood is a groundbreaking story of growing up as seen through the eyes of a child named Mason (Ellar Coltrane), who literally grows up on screen before our eyes. Starring Ethan Hawke and Patricia Arquette as Mason's parents and newcomer Lorelei Linklater as his sister Samantha, Boyhood charts the rocky terrain of childhood like no other film has before and is both a nostalgic time capsule of the recent past and an ode to growing up and parenting. [IFC Films] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jul 9, 2014
    100
    Like Michael Apted in his "Seven Up!" documentary series, Linklater makes you feel as if you're watching a photograph as it develops in the darkroom.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    Jan 26, 2014
    100
    It's the selective but cumulative use of seemingly arbitrary but significant experiences that gives Boyhood its distinctive character and impressive weight.
  3. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Feb 7, 2015
    100
    There’s not a great theme, a great performance or even a great scene in Boyhood. But I think it might be a great picture.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jul 10, 2014
    100
    On rare occasions a movie seems to channel the flow of real life. Boyhood is one of those occasions. In its ambition, which is matched by its execution, Richard Linklater's endearing epic is not only rare but unique.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Roeper
    Jul 17, 2014
    100
    Once in a great while I see a movie I know I’ll be listing as one of my all-time favorites for the rest of my days. So it is with this remarkable, unforgettable, elegant epic that is about one family — and millions of families. It’s a pinpoint-specific and yet universal story.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jul 30, 2014
    100
    This bold movie may sound like a stunt, but it’s so much more than that. Linklater is an effortless, genial auteur, and his passions are woven through “Dazed and Confused,” “School of Rock” and the “Before Sunrise” trilogy. Here, his mellow groove becomes an everyday rhythm.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Jun 15, 2014
    75
    Richard Linklater's film is an experiment in time, and one that's attentive to the audience's sense of empathy.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 72 out of 255
  1. Dec 26, 2014
    10
    Watching a boy grow from six-year-old to a young adult, witnessing a family's 12 years in 165 minutes is nothing more than watching lifeWatching a boy grow from six-year-old to a young adult, witnessing a family's 12 years in 165 minutes is nothing more than watching life itself.Richard Linkater delivers a film of a lifetime, the most realistic depiction of life and one of the most unique films in the history of cinema.The part I love the most is the final scene, at Big Bend, Mason talking with a girl he just met about the moment seizing us, he says ''It’s constant, the moments, it’s just - it’s like it’s always right now, you know?'', really great, a masterpiece Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    A unique offering from one of America's most original directors. This is not the sort of film imagined by neophyte filmmakers, stuck on theA unique offering from one of America's most original directors. This is not the sort of film imagined by neophyte filmmakers, stuck on the three act structure with predictable conflicts, crisis points and final resolution. Linklater explores influences that contribute to lives built. It is not merely children who grow and change; the adults central to Boyhood are as different after 12 years as their offspring. Linklater allows time to roll by without hitting us with title cards or other obvious signposts. The transitions tend to be subtle, involving, haircuts, music, technology. It's a lengthy film but I found it captivating and fulfilling. Kudos to Linklater but also to IFC Films. Founded in 1999 means that Boyhood has been a work in progress throughout most of its existence. A brave company that does not take the roads most followed. Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    A boy enjoying pictures of women in swimwear with his friends. A boy being devastated after having his mane cut off. A boy debating theA boy enjoying pictures of women in swimwear with his friends. A boy being devastated after having his mane cut off. A boy debating the necessity of Facebook with his high school girlfriend. In all honesty, Boyhood is a rather apt title for this film. But it could just as well hold the name of another picture currently running in cinemas: Life Itself. That simple yet profound thing is what lies at the core of Richard Linklater’s unique 12-year-spanning story and makes it relatable for everyone, regardless of sex, age group, descent, social status, or character. Linklater lets his audience live through the fun and the pain, the love and the misery, and the excitement and the disappointment of his protagonist Mason with yet another wonderful screenplay in his repertoire and an unspectacular but still extraordinary way of directing. Leaving the cinema, it’s hard to grasp one has just spent the better part of an evening in front of a screen, but at the same time, there’s also a feeling of having relived your own adolescence along with Mason. Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2015
    8
    You can count me among those who think this movie is over-rated. Don't get me wrong, it's a good movie, but if this is the best movie of theYou can count me among those who think this movie is over-rated. Don't get me wrong, it's a good movie, but if this is the best movie of the year then there isn't much for me to look forward too. On the plus side, kudos to Richard Linklater for making a well-directed film, but what really is the point of the whole exercise -- to make a movie that was shot over a period of 12 years with the same actors in the end as where there in the beginning? Well, that's quite a feat I admit, but it doesn't automatically translate to an entertaining film. I guess it helps to be a parent which I'm not. You can hold that against me if you like. Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2015
    6
    I can see some appeal it this movie, but I think it depends on how you are going to relate to it or if you are even in the right mood toI can see some appeal it this movie, but I think it depends on how you are going to relate to it or if you are even in the right mood to observe+relate rather than just being entertained. I don't care much about the 12 years of real time either, because it only added so much in the overall experience. I would prefer more focused and interesting story-line instead.
    That being said, it is hard to predict how every other spectator would precept it and from what angle. But one thing, I am quite certain of, is that it dragged too much for what could be much shorted and more eventful tale. The ending was kind of charming though.
    Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2014
    3
    Boyhood is a movie shot with the same cast over 12 years. As the main character grows from a kid in elementary school into a young adult, heBoyhood is a movie shot with the same cast over 12 years. As the main character grows from a kid in elementary school into a young adult, he understands himself and the world around him and gains more control over it. While the idea of growth is a fascinating subject, this movie fails to build an engaging story around it.

    In Boyhood, milestone moments in life are overshadowed by mundane events. High school graduation is overshadowed by a talk with a friend after graduation ceremony. Marriages and divorces are overshadowed by talks over dinner table. The movies seems to be very valuable for the director, Richard Linklater, and the cast who helped with the script and the mundane moments that are overemphasized seem to have personal connections with the cast. If you similar connections with similar moments in life, you will love the movie, otherwise there is not much to love in Boyhood.
    Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2015
    0
    There was absolutely no plot to this movie except to have a few subliminal political messages continually bashing Bush, Fox News andThere was absolutely no plot to this movie except to have a few subliminal political messages continually bashing Bush, Fox News and Republicans, while at the same time flaunting sex, alcohol and drug use by minors, while a hard working Mom gets constantly abused by the men in her life. It was like watching a liberal campaigning for office bringing up just about every liberal hot topic to push down the throats of its viewers. As expected, because of this the liberal media and Hollywood will love this movie, hence all the Oscar nominations.

    It would be nice to see a movie that had no political overtones (liberal or conservative) to it be nominated once in a while, but that is not what drives Hollywood.

    With that being said, it was a brilliant idea to film these characters over an 11-12 year period. There was just no storyline and it ended making you fell like you were waiting for there to be some type of conclusion and/or wondering if you missed something. After watching the movie a 2nd time, I realized I did not miss anything, because there was nothing to miss. There was no point to this movie except for watching the characters grow up physically. A complete waste of time-twice!
    Expand

See all 255 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Final 2015 Oscar Predictions from Experts and Users

    Final 2015 Oscar Predictions from Experts and Users Image
    Published: February 19, 2015
    The Academy Awards will be handed out this Sunday. Find out the favorites in all 24 categories as we survey over 50 industry experts (and 3,000+ Metacritic users).
  2. How to Predict the Oscars: 2015 Edition

    How to Predict the Oscars: 2015 Edition Image
    Published: February 12, 2015
    Need help filling out your Oscar pool? We look for patterns in recent races in a variety of Academy Awards categories.
  3. Oscar Best Picture Race: Critics vs. The Academy

    Oscar Best Picture Race: Critics vs. The Academy Image
    Published: February 10, 2015
    How often does the best film win the Academy Award for best picture? We look back at the last 20 years of best picture nominees to find out just how often Oscar voters agree with critics.
  4. 2015 Oscar Nominations

    2015 Oscar Nominations Image
    Published: January 15, 2015
    Birdman, The Grand Budapest Hotel, and The Imitation Game are among the most-nominated films at the 87th Annual Academy Awards. Find a full list of nominations in all 24 categories inside.
  5. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014 Image
    Published: January 7, 2015
    The results are in! Find out which video games, movies, TV shows, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2014.
  6. The Best and Worst Movies of 2014

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2014 Image
    Published: January 6, 2015
    2014 saw the release of the highest-scoring new movie in Metacritic's history, among a number of great films. Browse our official lists of the year's best movies in a variety of categories, as well as our collection of 2014's worst films.
  7. Best of 2014: Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 6, 2014
    Over the next month, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  8. Best of 2014: Film Awards & Nominations Scorecard

    Best of 2014: Film Awards & Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 1, 2014
    Find a complete list of 2014's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.
  9. Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and Box Office Stats

    Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and Box Office Stats Image
    Published: September 2, 2014
    We look back at the best-reviewed and highest-grossing films of the just-concluded summer movie season. Plus, find out how our users' Metascore predictions compared to the actual scores for 30 of summer's biggest films.
  10. Best of July 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of July 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: July 31, 2014
    Our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month features the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during July.