Metascore
100

Universal acclaim - based on 49 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 866 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Filmed over 12 years with the same cast, Richard Linklater's Boyhood is a groundbreaking story of growing up as seen through the eyes of a child named Mason (Ellar Coltrane), who literally grows up on screen before our eyes. Starring Ethan Hawke and Patricia Arquette as Mason's parents andFilmed over 12 years with the same cast, Richard Linklater's Boyhood is a groundbreaking story of growing up as seen through the eyes of a child named Mason (Ellar Coltrane), who literally grows up on screen before our eyes. Starring Ethan Hawke and Patricia Arquette as Mason's parents and newcomer Lorelei Linklater as his sister Samantha, Boyhood charts the rocky terrain of childhood like no other film has before and is both a nostalgic time capsule of the recent past and an ode to growing up and parenting. [IFC Films] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 49
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 49
  3. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jul 9, 2014
    100
    Like Michael Apted in his "Seven Up!" documentary series, Linklater makes you feel as if you're watching a photograph as it develops in the darkroom.
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jan 26, 2014
    100
    Unshakable, witty and deeply felt, the film will be paying emotional dividends for a long, long time.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Aug 7, 2014
    100
    The greatest movies, the ones that stick with us, are those that hold up a mirror to the human condition and reflect something back at us that we too often manage to overlook. Boyhood is one of those movies, and with it Linklater proves he is among the best practitioners of that art.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jul 10, 2014
    100
    On rare occasions a movie seems to channel the flow of real life. Boyhood is one of those occasions. In its ambition, which is matched by its execution, Richard Linklater's endearing epic is not only rare but unique.
  5. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Jul 17, 2014
    100
    As a film that dares to honor small moments and the life they add up to, Boyhood isn’t just a masterpiece. It’s a miracle.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jul 30, 2014
    100
    In its own quiet way, it’s a world of marvels.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Gonzalez
    Jun 15, 2014
    75
    Richard Linklater's film is an experiment in time, and one that's attentive to the audience's sense of empathy.

See all 49 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 202
  1. Jan 18, 2015
    10
    For me it doesn't get much better than this. Zero melodrama. No annoying crescendos. Just some poignant moments in people's life. NothingFor me it doesn't get much better than this. Zero melodrama. No annoying crescendos. Just some poignant moments in people's life. Nothing added. Nothing taken away. Fantastic writing! Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2014
    10
    Richard Linklater weaves magical elements to create a film so silent yet so powerful. A dozen years in the making, the final product isRichard Linklater weaves magical elements to create a film so silent yet so powerful. A dozen years in the making, the final product is nothing short of sophistication and joy, teaching the viewer to notice and appreciate the little things in life as well as all the people who help you through the difficult times. With Arquette in the lead as the mother who seems to be guiding her children in the right the path through life as her's spirals in different directions altogether, to Hawke, as the runaway father who learns the responsibility of fatherhood from family (the old and new), one of the greatest strengths of this film lies in the acting talents of its superb cast. The narration and direction fall into the "awards worthy" category, and I truly hope this film gets all the accolades coming its way,as the film truly meets and surpasses all the hype and hoopla surrounding it. Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2014
    10
    A boy enjoying pictures of women in swimwear with his friends. A boy being devastated after having his mane cut off. A boy debating theA boy enjoying pictures of women in swimwear with his friends. A boy being devastated after having his mane cut off. A boy debating the necessity of Facebook with his high school girlfriend. In all honesty, Boyhood is a rather apt title for this film. But it could just as well hold the name of another picture currently running in cinemas: Life Itself. That simple yet profound thing is what lies at the core of Richard Linklater’s unique 12-year-spanning story and makes it relatable for everyone, regardless of sex, age group, descent, social status, or character. Linklater lets his audience live through the fun and the pain, the love and the misery, and the excitement and the disappointment of his protagonist Mason with yet another wonderful screenplay in his repertoire and an unspectacular but still extraordinary way of directing. Leaving the cinema, it’s hard to grasp one has just spent the better part of an evening in front of a screen, but at the same time, there’s also a feeling of having relived your own adolescence along with Mason. Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2015
    8
    Boyhood is a really interesting and engrossing movie. I liked how much it felt like real life, and I really appreciated the ambition and timeBoyhood is a really interesting and engrossing movie. I liked how much it felt like real life, and I really appreciated the ambition and time that went into it. Watching this family grow up and grow old together was a completely different movie experience than any I've ever had before. I don't however, think it's as incredible as the hype that came before its release, or the praise which came after its release. There are some scenes and ideas in the movie that I can't agree with, especially a few scenes that seem to slightly laugh at Christianity. These scenes take up very little space in the massive running time, but I feel like they should still be addressed. I also think a little more emotion could have went into the movie, and I felt like it ended on a curiously flat note for such an expansive film. But the movie remains a fascinating, affecting, and for the most part, realistic look at life. The acting is solid across the board, with great turns from Hawke and Arcquette, clichés are scarce, and it's a movie that will stick with you for a long time. I also felt like the movie was better for being longer in its running time. Too many movies trying to replicate real life rush by too fast to become completely engrossed. 2014 was a great year for movies. Was Boyhood the best? In my opinion, maybe not, but if it wins best picture, you definitely won't see me complaining. Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2014
    7
    The movie is about the reflection of time and how people live their daily lives. It focuses on how we manage pain and love. ThoughThe movie is about the reflection of time and how people live their daily lives. It focuses on how we manage pain and love. Though regrettably the only thing I find wrong about the movie is over more than a decade Olivia Evans, played by Patricia Arquette, has never really learned or come to terms her mistakes and past. The movie is done over 12 years and wouldn't in that time frame she have learned anything. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2015
    5
    Coincido con muchas de las otras criticas, me parece muy bien que se rodara en 12 años, pero la película en si es lenta y aburrida. EsCoincido con muchas de las otras criticas, me parece muy bien que se rodara en 12 años, pero la película en si es lenta y aburrida. Es interesante ver a los mismos personajes creciendo, pero no tiene sentido. Simplemente una vida. Un principio, y no nos cuentan el final. Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2015
    0
    Boyhood is a coming of age film directed by Richard Linklater which is over two hours long and let me tell you, it was 12 years for absolutelyBoyhood is a coming of age film directed by Richard Linklater which is over two hours long and let me tell you, it was 12 years for absolutely nothing. all the young actors are more or less incredibly lifeless and Ellar Coltrane goes from being a innocent kid to a miserable and pathetic young man who looks like a druggie Justin Bieber. it was super duper **** and the only good thing was the actress who played mason's mother who was really acting and showing some emotion. Boyhood is a film for poor butt sucking critics who lives are terrible and can relate with a film that gives a dark view on how life is really terrible. I can't believe that rotten tomatoes and metacritic gave this film high scores, either because they don't know what real films or they just have their heads up their prideful asses. Boyhood is a disgrace to modern day cinema and is the absolute worst and I mean worst film of 2014. Expand

See all 202 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2015 Oscar Nominations

    2015 Oscar Nominations Image
    Published: January 15, 2015
    Birdman, The Grand Budapest Hotel, and The Imitation Game are among the most-nominated films at the 87th Annual Academy Awards. Find a full list of nominations in all 24 categories inside.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2014 Image
    Published: January 7, 2015
    The results are in! Find out which video games, movies, TV shows, albums, and songs were the favorites among Metacritic users in 2014.
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2014

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2014 Image
    Published: January 6, 2015
    2014 saw the release of the highest-scoring new movie in Metacritic's history, among a number of great films. Browse our official lists of the year's best movies in a variety of categories, as well as our collection of 2014's worst films.
  4. Best of 2014: Film Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Film Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 6, 2014
    Over the next month, we'll be collecting year-end top ten lists from dozens of movie critics and publications. Browse the individual lists and view our composite rankings inside.
  5. Best of 2014: Film Awards & Nominations Scorecard

    Best of 2014: Film Awards & Nominations Scorecard Image
    Published: December 1, 2014
    Find a complete list of 2014's major film awards and nominations from dozens of professional organizations and critic associations, as well as a running scorecard of the year's biggest winners. Check daily for updates throughout December and January.
  6. Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and Box Office Stats

    Summer Movie Recap: Best Films, Prediction Results, and Box Office Stats Image
    Published: September 2, 2014
    We look back at the best-reviewed and highest-grossing films of the just-concluded summer movie season. Plus, find out how our users' Metascore predictions compared to the actual scores for 30 of summer's biggest films.
  7. Best of July 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of July 2014: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: July 31, 2014
    Our quick guide to the best entertainment of the past month features the highest-scoring video games, TV shows, albums, and films released during July.