User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 486 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 486

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    Loved the characters and the world. The story is familiar (Little Mermaid/Brother Bear) yet heart warming. One of my favorite Pixar films and Merida's my favorite Disney princess.
  2. Apr 27, 2014
    10
    I didn;t think this sound like the best concept for a disney/pixar movie, but me and my friend went to see it because she legit looks like the main character Merida and it was all a bit of a joke really. However, this movie really surprised me, in fact I love it! I will watch it over and over! It's comical and has a great story line which is truly unique to anything else. The movie centres around a strained relationship between mother and daughter which most people can relate to, and how they decide to resolve their problems. Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I enjoyed this movie very much. Concept of the movie was great! Special effect was amazing. So i think this movie is better for any kids or animation lovers :) Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    A charming and beautiful story about the mother-daughter relationship. This animation packs laughs, tears and joy. Something about watching animals with human-like behaviour that really gets me. The characters were quite unique and very well-written. The animation was stunning, even in 2D, which was what I saw. For me, the story itself won the show.
  5. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Brave isn't a typical Pixar film, but that isn't a bad thing because it's a really great film. It's not up there with Pixar's best, but: it's not down there with their worst. It features an enchanting story equipped with emotion and action, it is also charmingly comedic. The voice acting on this film is superb and the dialogue is funny. The characters all have there charms and there designs and detail are terrific, this is matched with skilled and fluid animation. One of the faults of Brave however, is that it's too short, another 20 minutes would fit nicely; also, the ending didn't have to be that stereotypically cheesy and predictable. But, aside from those fairly minor faults Brave is a really great movie. So I give this film a... 86/100! Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    Brave is new, is simple. Brave is a touching story about mother-daughter relationships.
  7. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    Portuguese Brazil

    Gostei da produção: Bela trabalho gráfico e iluminação, realmente magnifico! A personalidade do elenco deixa-o melhor ainda, a historia não ficou tão ruim apesar já ser usado em outros filmes, estou a espera do filme 2!

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    English

    I liked the production: Beautiful artwork and lighting, truly magnificent! The personality of the cast makes it even better, the story was not so bad despite already being used in other films, I'm waiting for the movie 2!
    Collapse
  8. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    Pixar has done it again. This movie is simply magical, and great for families. It's beautifully animated, has excellent voice acting, and a heart-warming story. I have to admit after watching Cars 2 I was a little worried that this movie might flop, but Pixar has once again struck gold.
  9. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    "Brave" has all the ingredients of a Pixar movie and like all the others it is a completely masterpiece. The problem is that people can't see a Pixar movie without thinking on Up, Wall-E, Ratatouille, etc. Let's see the film, enjoy it and think that it's a new and different adventure. Maybe it is not has good as the most recent Pixar movies, but it still being a marvelous and well-done movie.
  10. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    Brave is an odd one from Pixar, they have never made a movie quite like this one before. Which is strange as it is really rather traditional, but seeing as Pixar has never done traditional before it makes "Brave" really stand out. Due to this fact it is hard to rank Brave up along with the rest of Pixar's films, as it is just too different. Now, the film strongly reminds me of "How To Train Your Dragon", which is no bad thing, but the humour is much more in the veins of the "Aardman cartoons" in its style. Without giving anything away, Brave is about a girl and her mum, learning to love each other: another classic storyline. As per usual in Pixar films Brave's voice acting is top of the line, offering the best of Scottish talent in great and finely tuned characters. There is one problem really, we didn't really get enough time with many of the characters which is a bit of a wasted opportunity as they are all fantastic and many of them provide the comedy throughout the film (like one of the other tribe's son's voice is impossible to comprehend, a very funny recurring joke, as no one else in the film can understand him either). All in all I don't think it's one of Pixar's best, but it does oddly stand out if you know about Pixar films, it is a little too short however, which is a shame as an extra 15 minutes would have worked wonders. 87/100. Expand
  11. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    Disney and Pixar do not deny ever and lead us in our cinemas Brave. Meanwhile, the film manages to give us a vision of the crazy Scottish landscapes with stunning graphics and tells a simple story but what about the family and its importance and how important is the dialogue between different generations.
  12. Aug 1, 2012
    9
    My honest rating for this movie is an 8.5. I give it a 9 only because I think an 8 is too low. While this movie had some issues, it was for the most part entertaining to watch. Pixar's visuals are always outstanding, and the music and voice acting paired very well with the visual scenes. A strong female lead impressed me as the script departed from the traditional cookie-cutter princess role. Overall, an enjoyable movie with a good message, good morals, and wonderful audio and visuals. Expand
  13. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    This is so far the only movie I have ever been motivated to write a review for, it was a story that I totally got into and lost myself. Seeing the daughter and mother work through their two different life views in this magical world was totally exhilarating. Their transformation both literal, and figurative spreads freedom and the ability to define ones own destiny throughout their kingdom. Every young girl should see this movie, if only to realize that the inner strength she holds within is best used when selfishness and petty fears are pushed aside. Expand
  14. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    It was a great movie! This movie has a great levek of depth and magic. It is simply beautiful. There was great humour, intresting characters and most important of all showed great values of family, friendship and self belief. This movie reminds you of those simple things in lifethat make us who we are and sometimes we take forgranted. Its a perfect movie. I highly reccommend it! This movie deserves greater reviews and scores. Expand
  15. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    A PERFECT MOVIE

    This may not be the greatest movie Pixar has ever made, but it's a gentle, funny, perfectly satisfying movie. I believe it's a classic. One thing I like is that there's no malice in it, anywhere. No bad guys or gals, just ordinary people making each day's ration of mistakes. Brave provides a model for girls, to be leaders, to be truly accomplished at something, and to
    expect to be recognized for it. This was the best movie experience I've had all year. Expand
  16. Jul 11, 2012
    10
    i loved brave it was so good and i cant believe 13 people gave it a 3 or less because i thought it was heart warming but at the same time sharing a lesson about how you have to be careful of what you wish for
  17. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    This is a great movie, so many good messages about family and putting yourself in someone elses shoes. But the best message I thought was that a young woman can be complete without a man, making it okay to wait for the right man. I hate that everyone is comparing it to Wall-e and Up and Toy story. All great movies, but all different stories, as is this one. Why compare? The animation was great! The look in Angus's eye's as real as any of my horses. If anyone walked away from this with anything other than a good feeling, they might want to take a closer look within themselves. Expand
  18. Jul 4, 2012
    9
    Although with its uneven pacing and really, really terrible jokes, Pixar is still deliver its best. I found Brave is pure, heart-warming and beautiful. I can't stand to mother-daughter drama, I even cry when the battle scene. One of the best releases so far.
  19. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    Brave's story is a simple and even sometimes predictable one. Pixar played it safe. The characters however, are some of Pixar's deepest, most believable and loveable yet, made only more so by the excellent voice cast and fantastic animation. The excellent characterisation results in some of Pixar's most poignant, beautiful character moments to date, and there will be more than a few times you'll wipe tears from your eyes. The plot might be a familiar setup, but the characters and their relationships and their triumphs and tragedies is what Brave is REALLY about. Expand
  20. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    BRAVE is an amazing, emotional and funny movie!!! I really loved it! It is the best animated film i have seen all year!! What i love most about this movie is that even if Merida is a princess, she is not a classic one. AMAZING MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  21. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    I found this movie extremely refreshing. Seldom in 'hero' stories are audiences allowed a female lead, and while Merida is a Disney princess, she is also the hero of her own story. It's also nice to see a mother-daughter relationship explored in a children's movie. Brave has plenty of laughs and charm for the whole family, and the breathtaking scenery (and hair rendering!) are a must-see. It's nice that the previews didn't give away the main plot, and while the movie carries similar themes as other Disney films, this one feels new. Expand
  22. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Better than Cars 2 and Cars. The movie's special effects are new to Pixar but great nonetheless. A fantastic introduction to Future Female Pixar heroines.
  23. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    Perspective: i'm not a fan of Scottish lore

    Expectations: pretty low, since all i want from Pixar at the moment is Incredibles 2

    Delivery: Brave starts out touching all of the typical "rebellious princess" plot points to establish the setting. It starts to deviate into a slightly original delivery (in delivery, yes. content? not so much) The action is exciting enough, the humor is
    on point, very likable cast of characters. The animation is ridiculous, there were times i would simply focus on Princess Merida's flaming red hair.

    Save for a few deviations from the norm, Brave is a typical Princess story, but it's a GOOD story (The revelations in the 2nd act are particularly rewarding) it has enough charm and emotion to hold me over until a particular Pixar sequel comes to light
    Expand
  24. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    I honestly don't understand all the so so reviews. This was a great movie. Fast paced, emotionally stirring; this movie was very good. It may not be as good as WALLE or UP but it was one of the better Pixar films.
  25. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    Pixar has really outdone itself on this one. Brave is a fantastically animated picture, with something for pretty much anyone! It's not going to be a surprise that Pixar's got another big success on their hands. The story is fantastic, the humor is solid, and the characters are believable and loveable. Overall the film is a jolly good, arrow-launching 9.5/10.
  26. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    I will admit up front that I am a big fan of Pixar, and any movie of theirs gets an automatic 10 to begin with. From there, it may lose a point or two (Or more... ahem, Cars 2) but it usually takes a lot to convince me to deduct points from a Pixar film. Brave gets only one complaint from me, and that is simply that I can't give it an 11. What an amazing movie. Granted, it's not your usual Pixar fare, and it certainly isn't for little kids. (My 5 year spent most of the movie under her mom's arm) The story is fairly unique, and the main characters are deep, well written, and well voiced/acted. I have NEVER felt as attached to an animated character as I did to Princess Merida. Lastly, the animation is absolutely mind blowing. Without giving anything away, the animation on the bear when it gets out of the fishing stream is easily the best animation I have ever seen. Robert Bateman would be jealous. Go see this movie, but see it with an open mind and without expectations. You will be glad you did. Expand
  27. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    I literally saw nothing wrong with this movie. Brave was epic, inspiring, and beautiful. Great action, genius story, and hilarious comedy, it was a perfect film for adults and children to enjoy. Pixar has knocked another one out of the park, only Brave was not your normal home run, it was a grand slam. After a bit of a downfall with Cars 2, Pixar has recovered and has granted us with a beautiful film. Like i said before, from the action, the comedy, the animation, to the story, and everything in between, it was all perfect. You must see this film, whether you're 4 or 94, you will enjoy this movie. 10/10...Perfection. Expand
  28. Jun 24, 2012
    9
    Pixar's Ratatouille, Wall-E, Up, and others, always left me with a buzzy feeling of awe and inspiration. This movie, though, left me kind of confused, because I didn't feel like that after watching it. I can't put my finger on it as to why, because everything about the movie seemed right. Despite that, there were moments where I chuckled and laughed, and moments where I got a little dust in me eye. Don't completely take my word for it, or anyone else's; decide for yourself what you think it is. Even if you end up not liking the story, it's Pixar! They make the best movies in the world! The attention to minute detail, the tones and colors of each scene, the thought and care put into every character movement and camera placement, the care put into each word, the accuracy of the Scottish culture etc. is beyond the grasp of just one sitting. Pixar can make drying paint humorous and interesting. On another note, for those believing the movie was all about "women's empowerment", I discourage that perspective. Moreover, I believe it was a much more simple approach: Pixar wanted to try a female lead, for once, and they didn't want to do it like its been done before a gajillion times. The story came about as it did organically after that decision. Having a nontraditional female lead, though, brings its own boat of problems, whether you meant to bring them out or not. People will always bring in their own experiences and justifications whether its true or not. Just the fact that they made a nontraditional female lead was Brave in and of itself.
    Personally, I thought it was really amazing that Merida isn't a girly, pink, blonde princess like in Tangled. It's interesting, and it's badass.

    And, although this movie is 3D, if you love paying attention to little details in Pixar movies (ex. looking for Easter Eggs from their other movies) I highly discourage it. The 3D makes it very difficult to focus on minute details because you can only focus on one "layer" of the 3D at a time. Watch it in 2D if you want to really soak in as much details and minutiae as possible. The only reason they made it in 3D was probably because they had to do be competitive with all the other 3D stuff out there.
    Expand
  29. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    The newest addition to the infamous Pixar line-up, Brave, is pure, cinematic magic. It is nothing like any other masterpiece the studio has impressed us with before, but is in no way inferior to its predecessors. The film takes place in the Scottish highlands. As soon as the beautifully crafted scenery graced the silver screen, I was in love. Being at least a quarter Scottish myself, I have a special place in my heart for the stunning country. The film centers on the royal family and their clan, the somewhat dysfunctional yet lovable DunBroch. You can't help but laugh whenever King Fergus is on the screen. Though he has a rough and rugged exterior, he's clearly a secret softie, harboring undying love for his family. The several moments between the king and queen in the film are sweet, heartfelt, and endearing, and the fact that they're complete opposites and still manage to maintain that subtle "spark" in their marriage is extraordinary. Queen Elinor, though it may surprise you, is undoubtedly the character that captured my heart and attention the most. I wish to express my sheer gratitude to the animators that worked on her. One can hardly tell she's animated; every expression she holds is extremely detailed and beautifully sculpted, even on her bear counterpart. Kudos to the animators; I just wish we had seen more of the queen's human form. The three adorable triplet boys, Harris, Hubert, and Hamish, provide a bit of comic relief throughout the movie, and play a key role in the film. And, that brings us to everyone's favorite tomboy, Princess Merida, the spirited and somewhat stubborn daughter of Fergus and Elinor. Her fiery, curly locks are to be admired. They captured my attention and put me under a spell, just as Merida did to her mother. Determined to choose her own path in life, Merida goes against traditional values and seeks the help of a witch in order to sway her mother's opinion of an arranged marriage - an overused topic in fairy tales, but does nothing to diminish the message the film conveys. Though the main storyline is admittedly a bit cliché, it still radiates charm that can undoubtedly be recognized as a Pixar film. Not only is Brave heartwarming, it's also packed with action, complete with a demon bear, a beastly curse, and a race against time to save a beloved member of the clan. The voice actors chosen to portray the characters couldn't be more perfect in their roles. The beautiful and somewhat tearful ending to the film nearly had a stoic movie-goer like myself cry tears of joy, and I enjoyed one last laugh at a final comedic moment within the family. Viewers are provided with closure at the end of the film - the mother and daughter duo we've grown to adore has strengthened their bond as a result of their ordeal, and their friendship is as close as ever. It's the perfect ending to a wonderful and satisfying film. Though I had been slightly disappointed in Pixar after Cars 2, Brave has thoroughly restored my faith in Pixar, and the film has enough classic Disney flair to provide audiences of all ages with a joyous ride through the highlands. Expand
  30. Jun 23, 2012
    9
    The story of BRAVE is the always-poignant tale of "be careful what you wish for because it might come true". Any film with that message will always touch the hearts of audiences because we have all had the desire to change a parent or sibling to our benefit, but we would never think how much we'd miss them as they are. This film also deals with the always perplexing issue of teenager-to-parent communication, which never gets old because teenagers have been a mystery to a adults since the Stone Ages.

    These treasured story templates mixed expressed within the Celtic background make for an over-all pleasing film. Some of the critics, both professional and otherwise, have noted that this Pixar film was not ground breaking like their other big hits, but I say that doesn't matter. We can't expect everything Pixar pumps out to be on par with "Toy Story" or "Finding Nemo". BRAVE is a fantastic tale in its own right and in its own way. Definitely a must see for the family!

    BRAVE: 3.5 out of 4 stars
    Expand
  31. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    Don't listen to the critics! This movie, although adopting a premise that has been done to death (especially by Disney), is still subversive as much as it is conventional. It's a character-driven story - like every other Pixar movie - that focuses more on the chemistry between the protagonist and her mother than on the adventure. It does so deftly, with theme and emotion and depth all around, as much depth as How To Train Your Dragon (to which it is often compared. Personally I think they're equally great.) What I loved the most was the care they took in portraying Merida realistically - not as a badass action heroine, but as a frightened, desperate child who only wanted her mother back. She doesn't end up with a husband by the end of the movie, but I think it's better that way. We really needed a movie, actually, that reminds us that things like love and occupation don't need to be found when you're so young. Because in the end, this movie is really about a girl who just wants to be the child that she is, while she still can, rather than grow up too fast. And I find that incredibly poignant. Expand
  32. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    Last year, Pixar gave us Cars 2. Critics and audience members alike were appalled at the product. It was no where near the masterpieces that Pixar had brought us previously. But while it wasn't perfect, I still enjoyed Cars 2. But I definitely didn't want Pixar to keep making movies like Cars 2. I wanted more masterpieces. So Brave comes along. The film that everyone is hoping will save the day and remind us all why we love Pixar.

    Unfortunately, many critics aren't all that impressed with Brave, and while MOST of the critics liked it, the reception has been a little disappointing, especially when you consider how well the rest of the Pixar films have done. Brave is being considered one of the worst Pixar films.

    But I think this is bizarre. I'm not quite sure why this is being met with such lukewarm reception. Brave is nothing short of a masterpiece. In fact, it's one of Pixar's BETTER films, in my opinion.

    Brave (originally titled The Bear and the Bow) is about a princess named Merida who wants to be an archer. Unfortunately for her, Merida's mother, Elinor, wants Merida to be a bit more ladylike. Merida puts up with her mother, but when she's being forced to marry before she's even ready. There's an argument between the Merida and Elinor, a witch, and next thing you know Elinor is a bear. So Merida must change her mother back to a human and at the same time, regain her bond with her mother.

    Brave has all the ingredients that every good movie needs. For one, the characters are very memorable. I doubt any of them will replace anyone's favorite Pixar character, but they're funny and well developed. Also, Brave is very funny. It's not as humorous as Up or the Toy Story films, but there's enough gags to entertain adults and kids. Admittedly, some of the humor feels a bit more tilted towards the Dreamworks canon, but I still found myself laughing often.

    The last main ingredient; heart. And Brave has heart to spare. Pixar has almost always managed to make me cry, I don't mind saying. But then came Cars 2. Sure it made me laugh, and the animation impressed, but I never felt any real emotional connection with anything going onscreen.

    But Brave reminded me why I look forward to Pixar films every year. I did cry at times, and there were times when I held back tears. Brave is one of the most moving pictures I've ever seen. Seeing Merida and Elinor's relationship grow as the film progresses, and the sacrifices they make for each other is particularly moving. Rarely do I feel so engaged with the characters.

    Some critics were complaining about the uneven tones. From soft mother-daughter scenes, to boy-ish humor. I actually LIKED the shifts in tone. There were times when things got a little tragic and humor really helped to lighten the mood.

    Patrick Doyle composed the score for Brave. This is his first time scoring a Pixar film, and having heard very little of Doyle's scores, I wasn't sure how I'd like his music. Well, Doyle has proved himself a hundred times over. I was extremely impressed with the score, and hope to see Doyle compose more Pixar films in the future.

    The voice acting is, as usual for a Pixar film, superb. The voices are a little more recognizable this time around, but in the end, I wouldn't have changed anything. Kelly MacDonald does a more than respectable job as Merida, while Emma Thompson does excellently as mother (though unfortunately, she spends most of the movie as a bear). And Billy Connoly does a hilarious job as Fergus, Merida's rambunctious father.

    And naturally, the animation is gorgeous. Easily outdoing any of Pixar's previous films. Trees, water, mist, hair, all of the above. Pixar does an eleven-out-of-ten job on their animation, making Brave the best looking animated film of the year thus far.

    Brave is being unfairly labeled as one of Pixar's weaker films, and a merely decent film. Brave is, in fact, a masterpiece and hopefully the so-so reviews and the female protagonist won't stop male audience members from seeing it. Cars 2 was decent, but left me nervous as to Pixar's future. Brave has put all those fears to rest. Pixar is back baby: Hopefully forever.

    Note: Brave was preceded by a short film entitled La Luna. This was both imaginative and magical. Don't come late or you'll miss it, and you will not want to miss this.
    Expand
  33. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    Excellent movie with wonderful messages. I seldom say that. Exciting for the entire family. Especially heartfelt experience to share with mothers & daughters. If you have a pre-teen daughter who may be asserting her independence in less than positive ways, you'll find this movie to be a wonderful way to illustrate some of the things that are often difficult for them to understand. My daughter has often heard me say that I am her Mama Bear and it's my job to protect her, even from herself. After seeing this movie, she has an entirely new perspective on that. Great flick. Great way to spend some easy time with the kids while teaching such valuable lessons. A must see if you have daughters. Expand
  34. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. People seem to be complaining about Pixar somehow letting themselves down by doing a formulaic Disney/fairytale Princess movie but I didn't see it that way at all. Yes, that's basically what it is. But first of all, what's wrong with that? And secondly, it's not as formulaic as I expected. There are many very familiar elements, as there are in all fairy tales, but what I loved was how Pixar found ways to put a fresh wrinkle on those elements.

    Primarily, I loved the fact that here, for once, is a princess movie that absolutely does NOT rely on the princess falling in love with or being rescued by a handsome prince. I've always wondered why fairy tales so consistently teach young girls that they need a man to solve their problems for them. Many modern retellings of fairy tales do take a more contemporary approach by presenting a spunkier, more independent princess who doesn't need the handsome prince, but Brave deviates much further by not having a prince at all. Merida doesn't fall in love, doesn't meet the man of her dreams, because that's not what she needs and it's not what the movie is about. The movie's love story is between the girl and her mother - and how often do you see that? The movie, like Merida, is emotionally independent and follows its own path despite the traditional expectations placed upon it.

    Other familiar elements are given fresh takes too. I love that the witch is not evil, she's simply just not very good at being a witch. Even though the movie is set in a romanticized fairy tale version of Scotland it felt very authentic to me. Certainly moreso than How To Train Your Dragon - which I also loved, but I couldn't get past the bizarre decision to have the faux-Nordic heroes speak like Scots, except for the hero who for some reason was American.

    The movie also has more than its fair share of hilarious Pixar sight gags and character moments. Oh, and can I just say that I love how Pixar consistently casts ACTORS rather than falling victim to the celebrity-casting trap that so many animation studios do. I need to see it again (just found out there is a Dolby Atmos cinema here in town) but I think it might actually be my favorite Pixar movie already. I could find nothing wrong with it.
    Expand
  35. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    Brave is a simple story, but told with such depth and magic it is hard not to love this movie. It isn't the studios best but it sure is great. Wonderfully voice acted by Kelly McDonald and the rest of the cast. And it is expertly and beautifully animated with wonderful detail. It is funny, emotionally resonant, and altogether beautiful. I give this movie 95%.
  36. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    Pixar has made another great animated film! Pixar has come back after their worst reviewed movie, Cars 2. Even though it isn't flawless like Ratatouille and The Incredibles, it still delivers a very comedic and action packed movie. Pixar has definitely made a comeback.
  37. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    Great movie. Yes, it does not break new ground for the most part, following traditional disney fare. But as a father of a five year old girl, I cringe every time my daughter wants to to see The Little Mermaid, or Beauty and the Beast. Brave has a strong female lead, good story, stunning visuals, and breathtaking score.
  38. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    Love Love Love this movie! this movie is Completely a pixar movie! Amazing story not one of the BRILLIANT pixars movie נוא Delivers the good of the summer and the pixars movie
  39. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    i think brave have a place with a pixars movies like the incredibles and monsters inc because of the story of brave is not brilliant like up and wall e but he is exciting and funny enough to be a pixar movie :)
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    Aug 12, 2012
    80
    No less lovely than former films, in many ways lovelier, but Brave is boutique Pixar: less ambitious, more succinct, excellence at a lower ebb.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Child
    Jun 25, 2012
    80
    For the animation studio's debut foray into fairytale, Pixar has delivered a rousing family melodrama.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 25, 2012
    85
    My heart belongs to Bear Elinor, whose movements and mannerisms are a tender echo of Human Elinor's – her character is designed and drawn just that carefully.