Brave

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 669 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 669

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This time, it's Kelly Macdonald's turn to be the princess, the future queen of Scotland. As Merida, she gets to be brave, but brave how? In Elizabeth, Macdonald plays Isabel Knollys, one of the then-princess' girlfriends, first glimpsed in a meadow, where she climbs off a horse and joins the idling others, who stop their dancing in order to greet the future queen's rival. Elizabeth, meanwhile, undulates alone, pretending not to notice the male presence. Whereas Merida grabs the reigns of her own horse, Isabel needs a man to do the riding, Elizabeth's man, the Earl of Leicester, who would later marry the lesser wench, while "The Virgin Queen", a Protestant, was busy antagonizing the Catholics. Unlike Elizabeth, the reluctant princess' formative years is distinguished by the obfuscation of a love interest and friends, both male, and more pointedly, female. It's a filmic calibration, calculatedly so. Instead of a true love, a man without the pedigree to marry a princess, Merida has a bow; no beau at all, no analog to Elizabeth's earl. Brave, despite its comic tempering, can't quite obscure the fact that Merida hatches a murder plot against the queen. Elinor, due to her interpellation into a patriarchal structure, turns a deaf ear to Merida's plea that she "just listen". The mother is too preoccupied with her daughter's betrothal, thereby circumventing an open dialogue about the redhead's lesbianism. At the outset of Brave, a transfiguration is suggested, when Merida, as a wee lass, encounters a will-o'-the-wisp while retrieving an errant arrow. According to lore, this floating body of blue light is reputed to drive people off safe paths. Metaphorically speaking, as life journeys go, heterosexuality, for a princess and future queen, would seem to be a less complicated road. Marry, and live happily ever after. Merida, however, is no storybook princess. At the archery contest, she declares, "I'll be shooting for my own hand," and afterwards, in the castle, the proto-feminist ranting persists, as the victorious princess, proud of her performative emancipation, tells Elinor, "I'm not going to be like you," before charging off into the woods on her horse. By perchance, the will-o'-the-wisp returns, finding the lost girl at her most vulnerable. Intuiting what Merida wants, the spirit leads the princess to a witch, who then concocts an elixir, a cake, with the power to "change" the queen(into a corpse?). As Elinor writhes and spasms, her daughter sits bedside, oblivious to the potentiality of her mother's death. The girl's overriding concern is that the queen should remand her impending nuptials. She tries to coax some last words out of the queen before the poison takes effect. But unexpectedly, Elinor turns into a bear, causing Merida to remark, "The witch must have given me a gamy spell." These seemingly benevolent words are double-edged, treacherous words that the audience, who presumes the heroine to be good, will vault past, never once entertaining the notion that the tainted cake was meant to kill. After all, it's a children's film. Scan the castle interiors; scan the crowd at the playing field for a girl, a peasant, perhaps, a secret lover who has to escape detection from the parental royals.The cake, and the violence which proceeds its consumption by a matriarchal figure, recalls Heavenly Creatures, when Pauline tells her mother to take the last pastry, to "treat yourself", just before the girls murder Honora Parker. With mom out of the way, Paulie thinks her fate is changed; she and Juliet(first seen dressed as a princess) can now be together. "She doesn't seem to "bear" us any grudge," Juliet says, as the torrid lovers make their last-minute preparations. Neither does Elinor, who adjusts to her new form in record time. That's because she's one, too: a lesbian. While searching for the sprite, Merida lets loose a Freudian slip of sorts, shouting, "Fine, don't come out while my mom is watching." She knows, though; the father, too, about them both. Later, back at the castle, the king tells Merida, "Just like your mom, you devil." He knows that the bear is his wife; he believes Merida. Only as a beast, a monster, can he justifiably kill his gay queen. "Don't let her out!" the king barks out at the housekeeper, or else he'll have to kill Merida, too, bear or not. Brave, in essence, is Mulan with kilts. Even more sexually confused than her Scottish counterpart, only in drag, as Ping, can Mulan love Li Shang. She too is leery about marriage. "When will my reflection show, who I am inside," the cross-dresser sings. Subconsciously, she purposefully sets the matchmaker on fire. But alas, to be a dutiful daughter, Mulan will marry the handsome captain, and please her tradition-bound parents. Merida, however, has other ideas. Like Joan, who passes on sailing to Kiloran in "I Know Where I'm Going", Merida, too, stays on dry land for love. Expand
  2. Jul 23, 2012
    7
    Pixar is one of my most beloved studios in the movie industry. They have created the most memorable animated movies ever. So its fair to say that Brave, Pixar's latest, had a good wealth of expectation given the brilliant record of great movies the studio has produced. The movie had a lot to live up to, and sadly it doesnt quite get there, but nevertheless it ends up being irresistiblyPixar is one of my most beloved studios in the movie industry. They have created the most memorable animated movies ever. So its fair to say that Brave, Pixar's latest, had a good wealth of expectation given the brilliant record of great movies the studio has produced. The movie had a lot to live up to, and sadly it doesnt quite get there, but nevertheless it ends up being irresistibly charming. The reason I believe Brave doesnt quite capture the essence of the other Pixar movies like Up or Nemo, relies on the fact that its story develops mostly on the same place. There seems to be a lack of progression that other Pixar movies seem to develop with such mastery, a sense of discovery. Still, as already expressed, Brave is a very nice movie to see. Its story, while simple, is told with class and mastery. Its visuals are some of the best the studio has ever produced too. Its funny, its interesting and overall it is a worthwhile movie to watch. Certainly better than Ice Age 4 or Madagascar 3! Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2012
    5
    Brave is a very strange movie!! It takes off straight out the gate, then introduces its story, throws in way too much slapstick and then its all over. I sat thinking...'what just happened'. The story is very weak and the whole premise is ridiculous!!Pixar seems to have gotten lazier as there waists have gotten bigger. Dont get me wrong, its amazingly beautiful and the cgi is incredible,Brave is a very strange movie!! It takes off straight out the gate, then introduces its story, throws in way too much slapstick and then its all over. I sat thinking...'what just happened'. The story is very weak and the whole premise is ridiculous!!Pixar seems to have gotten lazier as there waists have gotten bigger. Dont get me wrong, its amazingly beautiful and the cgi is incredible, but the story is boring and could have been told by any other studio!! Maybe Pixars magic couldnt last forever...its a pity but was great while it lasted!! Expand
  4. Feb 3, 2013
    7
    Overall, I liked Brave. While I do not think it is one of Pixar’s best it is still a good film. The story and characters are good enough and a lot better than you see in a lot of kids films these days. While I feel like the film could have been a lot better I think it is good enough. Hopefully, Pixar gets their groove back for their next film. While the film is not the best thing I sawOverall, I liked Brave. While I do not think it is one of Pixar’s best it is still a good film. The story and characters are good enough and a lot better than you see in a lot of kids films these days. While I feel like the film could have been a lot better I think it is good enough. Hopefully, Pixar gets their groove back for their next film. While the film is not the best thing I saw this year it was still good. If you want to see a film with a female protagonist set in Irealnd with decent story and characters check Brave out. While I cannot gurantee you will love this film as much Up or Toy Story 3 you will at least like it and who knows maybe you will love it more than I did because this is a good film. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    I honestly don't understand all the so so reviews. This was a great movie. Fast paced, emotionally stirring; this movie was very good. It may not be as good as WALLE or UP but it was one of the better Pixar films.
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    I first have to praise the animators at Pixar, the film really does look quite stunning, as we’ve come to expect. I will put aside the many historical inaccuracies or I could be here all day; needless to say, a lot of poetic license has been used. There were some really comic moments which I found quite refreshing, but the general narrative was skewed towards a female audience (I felt).I first have to praise the animators at Pixar, the film really does look quite stunning, as we’ve come to expect. I will put aside the many historical inaccuracies or I could be here all day; needless to say, a lot of poetic license has been used. There were some really comic moments which I found quite refreshing, but the general narrative was skewed towards a female audience (I felt). Not that that’s a bad thing; I still found myself wrapped up in the story as much as I would have been if it had been a more male orientated work. Over all, it’s very enjoyable with some great comic moments. Definitely one for mothers and daughters rather than fathers and sons, but still worth a look if you have the inclination.

    SteelMonster’s verdict: RECOMMENDED

    My score: 7.3/10
    Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2012
    6
    This is the first animation from Pixar with a female in the lead. Merida is a young Scottish princess, who would rather ride her horse and shoot arrows than do girlie stuff. When it's time for suitors, she protests, flees and causes a spell that upends her world. While the title suggests a bold, daring action film, that's not the case. This is a tale of inner bravery. While the story isThis is the first animation from Pixar with a female in the lead. Merida is a young Scottish princess, who would rather ride her horse and shoot arrows than do girlie stuff. When it's time for suitors, she protests, flees and causes a spell that upends her world. While the title suggests a bold, daring action film, that's not the case. This is a tale of inner bravery. While the story is compelling, many of the familiar Pixar elements are in short supply: enjoyable supporting characters, clever humor and dazzling visuals (Merida's hair is the star of the movie). While the audience (young and old) seemed rapt, I found there to be too much dialogue and not enough fun. NOTE: Stay thru the credits for one final punchline. Expand
  8. Jun 24, 2012
    6
    Remember when Disney announced a couple of years ago that "Tangled" would be their last Princess movie? They lied, or Pixar didn't get the memo. Here is yet another. Even though I didn't care for the "Cars" sequel from last year, at least it was still original. This movie worries me because there is nothing original about it, and originality is what I have always loved about Pixar.Remember when Disney announced a couple of years ago that "Tangled" would be their last Princess movie? They lied, or Pixar didn't get the memo. Here is yet another. Even though I didn't care for the "Cars" sequel from last year, at least it was still original. This movie worries me because there is nothing original about it, and originality is what I have always loved about Pixar. This movie is a fairy tale and you get the feeling you've seen it a hundred times before as you watch it. They even copied the Irish accents from "How to Train Your Dragon" and "Shrek". It has some humor in it, but not much, and the overall look of the film was dark although I saw it in 3D which admittedly darkens the screen a little. I would rank it higher than "The Princess and the Frog", but WAY lower than "Tangled" (a Disney Masterpiece) if comparing to other Princess movies. If comparing to other Pixar films it would be the second worse right before Cars2. This makes two mediocre films in a row for Pixar. Hopefully they will rebound on the next film. Expand
  9. Dec 9, 2012
    6
    It looks as beautiful as you expect it to be and the story is top notch but Disney's influence is clear. It's a bit too sickeningly sweet in places. It's a safe film, nothing off the wall or unique/intriguing about it like Wall-E or Up. I couldn't sit through it all.
  10. Jun 30, 2012
    4
    This movie looks wonderful. Unfortunately, that is all it has going for it. Ultimately, Brave is an empty experience. The problem with it lies in the fact that it doesn't really have a point; it has no heart. It feels like they just kind of made a movie without any real thought to how to make it a story worth telling.
  11. Jan 4, 2013
    6
    I was a little curious about this movie, but yet was excited to see it because I love Pixar. The trailer looked pretty good and seemed like an adventure film about a Princess that loves archery. It looks like an awesome adventure and would seem like a kick ass Princess film. However, it wasn't exactly as adventuress as I thought it would be, it was more like a typical Princess story withI was a little curious about this movie, but yet was excited to see it because I love Pixar. The trailer looked pretty good and seemed like an adventure film about a Princess that loves archery. It looks like an awesome adventure and would seem like a kick ass Princess film. However, it wasn't exactly as adventuress as I thought it would be, it was more like a typical Princess story with its parental problems like before from Disney. But I still don't think it is a bad one, yet its not as strong as I hoped. The animation was beautiful, even the Princess's design was pretty cool. I also like the characters like the father / King, I love that guy. He was funny, lovable, memorable, and such a great character. I also like the Princess herself, she was cliche'd a bit but not in a bad way. The three little sons were hilarious. The thing that kind of was a little disappointing was the story. Again, I was expecting an epic adventure, but it was more to grow the connection with the Princess and Queen. The Queen turns into a bear and won't change back till the broken relation is fixed. It's not a bad story, but I was expecting a little more. I think Brave was pretty decent and enjoyable, but its sadly not the Strongest from Pixar. But its still pretty good, I'd give it a chance to check it out. Expand
  12. Jan 26, 2013
    9
    Pixar has done it again. This movie is simply magical, and great for families. It's beautifully animated, has excellent voice acting, and a heart-warming story. I have to admit after watching Cars 2 I was a little worried that this movie might flop, but Pixar has once again struck gold.
  13. Jul 4, 2012
    9
    Although with its uneven pacing and really, really terrible jokes, Pixar is still deliver its best. I found Brave is pure, heart-warming and beautiful. I can't stand to mother-daughter drama, I even cry when the battle scene. One of the best releases so far.
  14. Jul 3, 2012
    8
    While this is not Pixar's greatest film. It looks incredible and the simple story allows the tension and depth of the characters show through. Every character is given room to breathe, and the story is more fun and scary (at times) because of it. Very enjoyable.
  15. Aug 16, 2012
    5
    I enjoy watching Pixar movies with my kids - they're original, appealing to adults and kids alike, and above all fun. I just didn't get this one, I found myself bored mostly, which was a big of a surprise, though it would've been far more of one if I hadn't read some reviews beforehand. IMO, compared to How to train your Dragon, this is a distant second. When you actually compare theI enjoy watching Pixar movies with my kids - they're original, appealing to adults and kids alike, and above all fun. I just didn't get this one, I found myself bored mostly, which was a big of a surprise, though it would've been far more of one if I hadn't read some reviews beforehand. IMO, compared to How to train your Dragon, this is a distant second. When you actually compare the characters of those two movies, it's genuinely a shock to find Pixar being the one to roll out such one-dimensional, shallow characters. In How/Dragon the characters have far more depth and like-ability. Expand
  16. Jun 27, 2012
    7
    Brave is a fine film. It strikes a strong touching note in the end as many Pixar films do. Is the story original? No....and yes. It has strong echoes of Brother Bear, which is the finer film, but the bond between mother and daughter is explored here and in much more depth. Merida is a good Disney princess.....a no-nonsense strong girl that refuses to take the path that so many expect herBrave is a fine film. It strikes a strong touching note in the end as many Pixar films do. Is the story original? No....and yes. It has strong echoes of Brother Bear, which is the finer film, but the bond between mother and daughter is explored here and in much more depth. Merida is a good Disney princess.....a no-nonsense strong girl that refuses to take the path that so many expect her to take. In many ways, she is one of the strongest and most realistic Disney princesses we've seen in a long time. Expand
  17. Jul 2, 2012
    6
    Gorgeous, but shallow. While visually stunning -- Pixar really outdid themselves with the animation -- the storyline is cliched and unremarkable. There are some great moments, but this film isn't nearly as moving as some of Pixar's other works. The voice acting is solid, the music is great, but they could have done so much more with the story.
  18. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    I literally saw nothing wrong with this movie. Brave was epic, inspiring, and beautiful. Great action, genius story, and hilarious comedy, it was a perfect film for adults and children to enjoy. Pixar has knocked another one out of the park, only Brave was not your normal home run, it was a grand slam. After a bit of a downfall with Cars 2, Pixar has recovered and has granted us with aI literally saw nothing wrong with this movie. Brave was epic, inspiring, and beautiful. Great action, genius story, and hilarious comedy, it was a perfect film for adults and children to enjoy. Pixar has knocked another one out of the park, only Brave was not your normal home run, it was a grand slam. After a bit of a downfall with Cars 2, Pixar has recovered and has granted us with a beautiful film. Like i said before, from the action, the comedy, the animation, to the story, and everything in between, it was all perfect. You must see this film, whether you're 4 or 94, you will enjoy this movie. 10/10...Perfection. Expand
  19. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    I will admit up front that I am a big fan of Pixar, and any movie of theirs gets an automatic 10 to begin with. From there, it may lose a point or two (Or more... ahem, Cars 2) but it usually takes a lot to convince me to deduct points from a Pixar film. Brave gets only one complaint from me, and that is simply that I can't give it an 11. What an amazing movie. Granted, it's not your usualI will admit up front that I am a big fan of Pixar, and any movie of theirs gets an automatic 10 to begin with. From there, it may lose a point or two (Or more... ahem, Cars 2) but it usually takes a lot to convince me to deduct points from a Pixar film. Brave gets only one complaint from me, and that is simply that I can't give it an 11. What an amazing movie. Granted, it's not your usual Pixar fare, and it certainly isn't for little kids. (My 5 year spent most of the movie under her mom's arm) The story is fairly unique, and the main characters are deep, well written, and well voiced/acted. I have NEVER felt as attached to an animated character as I did to Princess Merida. Lastly, the animation is absolutely mind blowing. Without giving anything away, the animation on the bear when it gets out of the fishing stream is easily the best animation I have ever seen. Robert Bateman would be jealous. Go see this movie, but see it with an open mind and without expectations. You will be glad you did. Expand
  20. Jun 22, 2012
    8
    The digital wizards at Pixar have an incredible dossier of Academy award-winning animated films. Their latest film
  21. Jun 27, 2012
    7
    Brave is a good film that is a blast while your watching it but after you feel as though all will soon be forgotten. This is a result of characters that are not memorable and a message that is cliches and that you've seen in plenty of Disney movies. Because of pixar's masterpieces I feel as though this film should have been better, but it is still good none the less.
  22. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Better than Cars 2 and Cars. The movie's special effects are new to Pixar but great nonetheless. A fantastic introduction to Future Female Pixar heroines.
  23. Jun 27, 2012
    8
    The newest Pixar film seems much more like a pure Disney film, and feels as if Pixar had really nothing to do with it other then the animation. Does this mean it's not a good movie? Definitely not; in fact, it's quite good. A very heartwarming and enchanting tale of one of Disney's finest heroines comes to life in one of this years best animated films (Oscar nomination? I think so.)The newest Pixar film seems much more like a pure Disney film, and feels as if Pixar had really nothing to do with it other then the animation. Does this mean it's not a good movie? Definitely not; in fact, it's quite good. A very heartwarming and enchanting tale of one of Disney's finest heroines comes to life in one of this years best animated films (Oscar nomination? I think so.) Though, as I said, it does not feel like a Pixar movie - it is still one of their best ones yet. So thumbs up for Brave. Expand
  24. Jan 29, 2013
    3
    If you're not the type to be sympathetic toward people who cause harm to themselves, I cannot imagine that you will enjoy this move. Most of the characters in this movie are unbelievably stupid, but you're supposed to relate to them anyway. What are you trying to say, Pixar?! And it's not like the characters get better and have this nice character arc either. They just stay stupid, upIf you're not the type to be sympathetic toward people who cause harm to themselves, I cannot imagine that you will enjoy this move. Most of the characters in this movie are unbelievably stupid, but you're supposed to relate to them anyway. What are you trying to say, Pixar?! And it's not like the characters get better and have this nice character arc either. They just stay stupid, up to the credits. Imagine if you watched a movie where the main character was a vegetarian. She goes up to a Burger King and says, "I want something that tastes good." So then the vegetarian gets a burger at the window. But it doesn't end there! She takes a bite! Then she spits the burger out the window and gets super mad at the employee, who says she's welcome to pull back around and order mozzarella sticks or something. The vegetarian then spends the rest of the movie deciding what to eat before figuring out that she could just pull her car around and order something without meat. And then music plays and you rejoice in the fact that the girl finally made the right decision. That's what this movie is like. Expand
  25. Jan 7, 2013
    8
    i liked brave, but ot as much as i'd hoped. granted, the last pixar movie i've seen is up, and that one is in my top 10 movies ever seen. brave played out like a sort of standard fantasy adventure movie, but as one of those, it's still a good movie.
  26. Nov 29, 2012
    4
    Kind of a disappointment when I watched Brave. I didnt enjoy the animations, I was looking forward to high detailed computer animations. But the background trees were very genertic looking. Close ups, were done very well. The accents really annoyed me as well! They should of made the story more of a fantasy as well.
  27. Jul 1, 2012
    5
    Meh!

    This does NOT feel like a Pixar movie. It feels like a Dreamworks movie, with less schticky humor. I thought it would have the animation style of Tangled... but Tangled had better animation and 3D models. Not impressed. It's Pixar doing Dreamworks animation and barely making the cut.
  28. Jul 28, 2012
    6
    I thought 'Brave was an okay movie, but it was not as good as 'Up' or 'Toy Story' or several other Pixar films. One of the flaws (which can also be seen as a positive - I'll explain later) is that there is no clearly defined villain. As with a lot of other Disney/Pixar films, the memorable villains often end up stealing the show. The lack of one in 'Brave' really hurts the already kind ofI thought 'Brave was an okay movie, but it was not as good as 'Up' or 'Toy Story' or several other Pixar films. One of the flaws (which can also be seen as a positive - I'll explain later) is that there is no clearly defined villain. As with a lot of other Disney/Pixar films, the memorable villains often end up stealing the show. The lack of one in 'Brave' really hurts the already kind of boring main story. That is the other flaw of 'Brave'...the story. To be simple, it's boring. However, 'Brave' does have some good things going for it. Where the film really excelled was in it's breaking from tradition. I really appreciated that the main character was female and that she did not fill any of the typical 'female hero' molds. She was not overly tough or overly 'girly', she was a normal human being. As mentioned before, there also really isn't a clearly defined antagonist. This can also be seen as a positive. Every character has a good and a bad side and 'Brave' does a great job in recognizing that. To sum it all up, this is not Pixar's best, but if you have a daughter I would highly suggest taking her to see it. Other than that, the film's opening short 'La Luna' was the highlight for me. Expand
  29. Jun 25, 2012
    5
    I was really disappointed with this film. I was looking forward to a great movie, but Brave is very bland. The main heroine is a very unlikeable character, because she's very selfish and even seeks harm to her own mother. All the male characters are bumbling idiots and can't even comprehend something that's being yelled in their face 5 times in a row. The main bear character, withoutI was really disappointed with this film. I was looking forward to a great movie, but Brave is very bland. The main heroine is a very unlikeable character, because she's very selfish and even seeks harm to her own mother. All the male characters are bumbling idiots and can't even comprehend something that's being yelled in their face 5 times in a row. The main bear character, without giving away too much about the story, is very repetitive in its manerisms. All the main characters are very unlikeable... and when you reach the point where you are not cheering for anyone in the story, you don't care about anything that happens to them. The only positives I can say about this film is that the computer graphics were amazing to look at, and the witch and triplets were entertaining (but only had a combined 15 minutes of screen time). I'm sure kids will love this movie, especially little girls who want to see a strong female character. However, for the adult crowd that appreciates a family film that includes feeling and humor, this movie missed the mark by a mile. Expand
  30. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    Brave is an odd one from Pixar, they have never made a movie quite like this one before. Which is strange as it is really rather traditional, but seeing as Pixar has never done traditional before it makes "Brave" really stand out. Due to this fact it is hard to rank Brave up along with the rest of Pixar's films, as it is just too different. Now, the film strongly reminds me of "How ToBrave is an odd one from Pixar, they have never made a movie quite like this one before. Which is strange as it is really rather traditional, but seeing as Pixar has never done traditional before it makes "Brave" really stand out. Due to this fact it is hard to rank Brave up along with the rest of Pixar's films, as it is just too different. Now, the film strongly reminds me of "How To Train Your Dragon", which is no bad thing, but the humour is much more in the veins of the "Aardman cartoons" in its style. Without giving anything away, Brave is about a girl and her mum, learning to love each other: another classic storyline. As per usual in Pixar films Brave's voice acting is top of the line, offering the best of Scottish talent in great and finely tuned characters. There is one problem really, we didn't really get enough time with many of the characters which is a bit of a wasted opportunity as they are all fantastic and many of them provide the comedy throughout the film (like one of the other tribe's son's voice is impossible to comprehend, a very funny recurring joke, as no one else in the film can understand him either). All in all I don't think it's one of Pixar's best, but it does oddly stand out if you know about Pixar films, it is a little too short however, which is a shame as an extra 15 minutes would have worked wonders. 87/100. Expand
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    Aug 12, 2012
    80
    No less lovely than former films, in many ways lovelier, but Brave is boutique Pixar: less ambitious, more succinct, excellence at a lower ebb.
  2. Reviewed by: Ben Child
    Jun 25, 2012
    80
    For the animation studio's debut foray into fairytale, Pixar has delivered a rousing family melodrama.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 25, 2012
    85
    My heart belongs to Bear Elinor, whose movements and mannerisms are a tender echo of Human Elinor's – her character is designed and drawn just that carefully.