Brave

Brave Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 676 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Brave follows the heroic journey of Merida, a skilled archer and headstrong daughter of King Fergus and Queen Elinor. Determined to change her fate, Merida defies an age-old custom sacred to the unruly and uproarious lords of the land: massive, surly Lord Macintosh and cantankerous LordBrave follows the heroic journey of Merida, a skilled archer and headstrong daughter of King Fergus and Queen Elinor. Determined to change her fate, Merida defies an age-old custom sacred to the unruly and uproarious lords of the land: massive, surly Lord Macintosh and cantankerous Lord Dingwall, unleashing chaos in the kingdom. When she turns to an eccentric Witch, she is granted an ill-fated wish and the ensuing peril forces Merida to harness all of her resources—including her mischievous triplet brothers—to undo a beastly curse and discover the meaning of true bravery. (Pixar)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 21, 2012
    100
    Brave has a manic, almost daffy energy and sense of humor.
  2. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Jun 19, 2012
    80
    The animation studio's first film with a female protagonist, a defiant lass who acts as a much-welcome corrective to retrograde Disney heroines of the past and the company's unstoppable pink-princess merchandising.
  3. Reviewed by: Ben Child
    Jun 25, 2012
    80
    For the animation studio's debut foray into fairytale, Pixar has delivered a rousing family melodrama.
  4. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jun 20, 2012
    75
    Merida may be a headstrong heroine, a feisty animated hybrid who calls to mind Katniss Everdeen, Bella Swan, and the neo-fairy-tale protagonist who faces off against her evil stepmother in "Snow White and the Huntsman." But she is also, for safety's sake, a nice girl in a pretty green dress who loves her family and believes in dynasty.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 19, 2012
    70
    Moms and girls everywhere deserve this movie, absolutely, and I hope they have a great time. But they also deserve much more, and much better.
  6. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jun 21, 2012
    63
    Brave feels like a merely good-enough children's movie.
  7. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jun 19, 2012
    40
    This isn't the NASCAR-fellating cash grab that is the Cars franchise, but it's still Pixar on preachy autopilot.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 168
  1. Jun 22, 2012
    10
    Brave is a simple story, but told with such depth and magic it is hard not to love this movie. It isn't the studios best but it sure is great.Brave is a simple story, but told with such depth and magic it is hard not to love this movie. It isn't the studios best but it sure is great. Wonderfully voice acted by Kelly McDonald and the rest of the cast. And it is expertly and beautifully animated with wonderful detail. It is funny, emotionally resonant, and altogether beautiful. I give this movie 95%. Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2016
    10
    Brave is a 2012 animated comedy-fantasy film directed by Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman.It is the 13th Pixar film,and certainly a great oneBrave is a 2012 animated comedy-fantasy film directed by Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman.It is the 13th Pixar film,and certainly a great one as their previous.
    Brave follows Merida the daughter of Scottish King Fergus and Queen Elinor.She is a skilled archer who wants to make her own fate in life and pursue her own dreams.She is then forced to get married,as the tradition requires at a certain age but she is in her own mind and seeks help from a witch to change the fate and be her own person in life.
    This movie is amazing,from the glorious animation to the characters who are likable just as much as they are interesting.Merida is a strong female lead character who chooses her own path in life and makes her own decisions for herself.She has dreams and most importantly is "brave" enough to pursue them till the very end.She's also smart and Kelly Macdonald's voice work just helps the cause with her amazing Scottish Accent.
    The story is very interesting and intriguing while still being emotional that gives depth to the characters.But it also has funny moments throughout,even though the finale is very dark and also even sad which in my opinion is great.
    People has been complaining about the twist over and over again and how it is more of a kids film than for adults,which Pixar is used to making.But I disagree because while it is an absolute treat for kids,it is also dark at times,it has adult jokes here and there and what's very important,it has character development at its finest.The place where Merida and different characters in the movie are at the beginning and where they end up is just brilliant and life changing.The lessons they learn through their adventures,them being good or bad,and the way that this movie teaches people that we can make our own fate if we are brave enough to follow our hearts,that makes for an unforgettable experience.
    Expand
  3. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    "Brave" has all the ingredients of a Pixar movie and like all the others it is a completely masterpiece. The problem is that people can't see"Brave" has all the ingredients of a Pixar movie and like all the others it is a completely masterpiece. The problem is that people can't see a Pixar movie without thinking on Up, Wall-E, Ratatouille, etc. Let's see the film, enjoy it and think that it's a new and different adventure. Maybe it is not has good as the most recent Pixar movies, but it still being a marvelous and well-done movie. Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    Not the direction I thought it would go.I thought she would go on some different adventure, but it was good. I liked the main character. TheNot the direction I thought it would go.I thought she would go on some different adventure, but it was good. I liked the main character. The story overall was nothing to crazy. Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2012
    7
    Brave Is A Solid Good Movie. I Don't Like How This Can Be The Most Popular Childrens Movie Of 2012 And Then Studiuo Ghibli Is Stuck In TheBrave Is A Solid Good Movie. I Don't Like How This Can Be The Most Popular Childrens Movie Of 2012 And Then Studiuo Ghibli Is Stuck In The Ground. Watch A Studio Ghibli VS Pixar. GHIBLI ALLWAYS WINS IN MY BOOK! Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2013
    6
    I was a little curious about this movie, but yet was excited to see it because I love Pixar. The trailer looked pretty good and seemed like anI was a little curious about this movie, but yet was excited to see it because I love Pixar. The trailer looked pretty good and seemed like an adventure film about a Princess that loves archery. It looks like an awesome adventure and would seem like a kick ass Princess film. However, it wasn't exactly as adventuress as I thought it would be, it was more like a typical Princess story with its parental problems like before from Disney. But I still don't think it is a bad one, yet its not as strong as I hoped. The animation was beautiful, even the Princess's design was pretty cool. I also like the characters like the father / King, I love that guy. He was funny, lovable, memorable, and such a great character. I also like the Princess herself, she was cliche'd a bit but not in a bad way. The three little sons were hilarious. The thing that kind of was a little disappointing was the story. Again, I was expecting an epic adventure, but it was more to grow the connection with the Princess and Queen. The Queen turns into a bear and won't change back till the broken relation is fixed. It's not a bad story, but I was expecting a little more. I think Brave was pretty decent and enjoyable, but its sadly not the Strongest from Pixar. But its still pretty good, I'd give it a chance to check it out. Expand
  7. May 15, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I give this a 0 because to many people give this a 10. I would say this movie deserves like a 6 or less.
    First of all even if its a kids movie it should still should have quality.
    They re used so many graphical scenes... the plot was amazingly thin and generic.

    Okay so the plot...
    Princess forced to marry, she does not want to get married... shocker....
    she has a hissy fit and runs off and finds a witch with a potion to solve the problem... shocker...
    Potion has negative side effects... Oh didn't see that one coming......
    turns into a bear... wtf?
    bear fights...
    princess at ends has no interest in anyone and has some horrible speech about independence.
    the end.
    Expand

See all 168 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Every Pixar Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Every Pixar Movie, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: May 5, 2016
    We rank all 17 Pixar films from worst to best.
  2. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.
  3. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: April 27, 2012
    This week, watch new trailers and clips for "Lawless," "Moonrise Kingdom," "Hope Springs," "Brave," "G.I. Joe Retaliation," and many more films, and get a quick recap of this week's major movie news.
  5. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: February 24, 2012
    This week, watch new clips and trailers for Pixar's "Brave," "The Wrath of the Titans," "American Reunion," "Bully," and more, and get a concise recap of major developments in the film world from the past seven days.