Paramount Pictures | Release Date: May 24, 1995
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 422 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
375
Mixed:
30
Negative:
17
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DenathornDec 22, 2016
One of my favorite movies of all time, Braveheart is a masterpiece. Acting - flawless. Story portrayal - perfect. Awesomeness of the war - Incredible. Everything about this movie is great, and I'm not biased because of my Scottish heritage.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
itchipodJun 30, 2016
Boring, historically inaccurate, unrealistic, bland and uninteresting. I just love how those Scots trashed the English. Good portrayal by the actors and cinematography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BerCJun 27, 2016
The artistic medium of film is very subjective. Every audience member has a different set of criteria they use to measure their viewing experience. Not everyone shares the same set of criteria. If we did, what a bland and uninspired worldThe artistic medium of film is very subjective. Every audience member has a different set of criteria they use to measure their viewing experience. Not everyone shares the same set of criteria. If we did, what a bland and uninspired world this would be.

What I Personally Liked About "Braveheart":
Let's start off by addressing the fact that this film features some of the most spectacular locations ever caught on camera. The shooting locations found in both Scotland and Ireland fit the production perfectly and breathed life into the backdrop in a way most movies can only dream about. The stylish way the locations are presented from a visual standpoint seems highly influenced by the eighties' output of Akira Kurosawa, and let's be honest, there are certainly worse directors you could derive inspiration from. As for the acting, Mel Gibson has fairly decent chemistry with all of the cast members he plays off. This is an admirable trait considering the fact that the spotlight is on him so often in this film. Unlike other three hour ensemble pieces from the nineties ("Short Cuts," "Magnolia," etc.), "Braveheart" contains a straightforward narrative and much of that is fueled by Gibson alone. In addition, the battle sequences are well-framed and well-choreographed which creates an exciting sense of urgent realism. It also contains one of the finest, most memorable battle cries of its decade when William Wallace says "They may take our lives, but they'll never take...our freedom!"

What I Personally Disliked About "Braveheart":
For as good an actor as Gibson is, this film would have benefitted from tighter direction. You can feel every ounce of weight in its length and that is not a complimentary statement. Often times, it moves at a snail's pace with patches that serve to bore the story into one's head instead of letting the moments unfold naturally. Basically, it is an epic for the sake of being an epic. Another drawback is that many of the movie's villains feel like generic knock-offs when compared to the fully fleshed heroes who oppose them. From a cinematic standpoint, as we have learned over the decades, a hero is only as strong and as righteous as his villain is evil and crafty. The forgettable villains in this film inadvertently weaken the accomplishments of our brave Scots.

My Overall Impression of "Braveheart":
While it is a bit long in the tooth and a bit one-sided in the characterization department, this is still a reasonable example of what Mel Gibson was capable of delivering when he wasn't portraying crazed cops or reimagined mavericks. This is his show all the way and you can tell he tried to make the best of it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
notlawMay 5, 2016
This is one of the greatest movies ever made. Anyone that says any different is a total muppet that should be shown the rack and hung for there treason!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ChopperGunnerNLSep 4, 2015
A Captivating story, set in the 13th century, of how the Scots fought their way to freedom against the English.
Everything is great about this movie and I'd truly recommend this to anyone who loves history, swordfighting, action and a good
A Captivating story, set in the 13th century, of how the Scots fought their way to freedom against the English.
Everything is great about this movie and I'd truly recommend this to anyone who loves history, swordfighting, action and a good story. 10/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
darkknight00Jul 28, 2015
best historical movie, glorious battle scenes, deep meaning and emotional music, love explanation in the best way, protesting and fighting against tyranny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bpmike83Jun 24, 2015
Saw this on pay per view when I was about 16 years old, and it's still as good as it was then, in 1995. I'm not sure why people give such low scores for no reason, such as historical inaccuracies, when it's a frickin movie. If you want toSaw this on pay per view when I was about 16 years old, and it's still as good as it was then, in 1995. I'm not sure why people give such low scores for no reason, such as historical inaccuracies, when it's a frickin movie. If you want to see a historical biography go watch the History channel or something. This movie has great music (RIP Horner), action, and emtion, and is probably the best medieval movie ever made (Gladiator does not beat this). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FlickLoverMay 30, 2015
Braveheart: "Every man dies. Not every man truly lives." From beginning to end I found this to be a perfect movie. This film is full of heart, violence, hope, loss, love and passion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AGYPMar 10, 2015
Great movie! It really gives you a sense of history and what it was like to live in those days, even though the Scottish weren't wearing kilts until years after.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jamiecusackDec 3, 2014
mel gibson gives the performance of his carrer in this unforgettable classic. The movie will give you goosebumps and man who wants a basic easy life ends up fighting against the english with his fello scots for scotland to be free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chwSep 14, 2014
Braveheart was amazing. Not at all a waste of time, even coming from Mel Gibson, who stars and directs the film. He's definitely done his very best here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
fatlittlewytguyAug 30, 2014
this movie, made me cry, it made me cry tears of joy. I'm a grown ass man, but this movie man, this movie just cant allow you to comprehend how amazingly brilliant it is. it makes me cry with such happiness because this movie made me feel,this movie, made me cry, it made me cry tears of joy. I'm a grown ass man, but this movie man, this movie just cant allow you to comprehend how amazingly brilliant it is. it makes me cry with such happiness because this movie made me feel, like i was Wallace himself. if anything, we need a movie with as much 'epicness' to make this world know, when we say movies, we mean business. FOR FAT PEOPLE RIGHTS!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeAug 28, 2014
It's long, violent and quite the journey... but that's what an epic is. Mel Gibson is memorable as the lead, but should've made some necessary cuts. Storytelling done correctly can be incredibly powerful. Unfortunately, one cannot do soIt's long, violent and quite the journey... but that's what an epic is. Mel Gibson is memorable as the lead, but should've made some necessary cuts. Storytelling done correctly can be incredibly powerful. Unfortunately, one cannot do so without knowing what to share and what not to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJul 24, 2014
This one is certainly quite an epic and, for the most part, is very successful. The acting is good throughout, the action is very exciting and well done, the score is great, and the cinematography is gorgeous. The costumes are also very wellThis one is certainly quite an epic and, for the most part, is very successful. The acting is good throughout, the action is very exciting and well done, the score is great, and the cinematography is gorgeous. The costumes are also very well done, even if completely historically inaccurate. The length is also very much justified as there is always enough going on to keep you fully wrapped up in the proceedings. However, even though all of those things are good to great, there is enough going wrong to take away from the overall product. Firstly, the violence, though not graphic, is entirely numbing. There is just too much of it and by the end, it loses all of its impact as you are so desensitized to it. Also, I just struggled as times with Mel Gibson here. He just does not look right, he just seems so out of place here. His acting was good and all, but I think somebody else could have fit the look better. Finally, the historical inaccuracies are bad. This is not inaccurate like a film like Inglourious Basterds is inaccurate, as that one has no false pretense of accuracy and is very much theatrical and gloriously inaccurate. Here, Braveheart does not necessarily pass itself off as accurate, but it certainly would like you to believe that it is and I simply cannot do so. If it was only a little inaccurate, then ok, but the blatant disregard for what happens is annoying to say the least. Overall, Braveheart is a pretty good film and is certainly worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IhuarraquaxJul 9, 2014
Braveheart is an awesome film. It tells a story how Scots became free. Acting is on the highest level, Mel Gibson raised to the challenge too and his acting is also outstanding. In this film is not missing extremely breathtaking scenes. SlowBraveheart is an awesome film. It tells a story how Scots became free. Acting is on the highest level, Mel Gibson raised to the challenge too and his acting is also outstanding. In this film is not missing extremely breathtaking scenes. Slow motion scenes are remarkably well made and fit to moments in the film. The film has a brilliant soundtrack. Wounds and scenes of battles are intensely realistic. I can't understand how director, Mel Gibson, made it. I honestly recommend this superb film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Manbearpig666Jun 3, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The review I am writing is on "Brave Heart" a movie based on the true events of William Wallace's life and the Scotish revolution. This story was writen by Randall Wallace and directed by Mel Gibson who also plays the main character, William Wallace, in this story. William experiences tragedy at a young age when he walks into a house filled with murrdered Scottish nobles, killed by King Henry Longshanks (played by Patrick McGoohan). Then again when his family is kill while trying to confront the king, and once again when he was an adult his family was taken away after the English try to rape his wife and then sentence her to death for assaulting a Brtish soldier. This infuriates Wallace and makes him seek revenge on the English through a crusade if violence and warfare. He is detrimental to this story because without Wallace the Scottish revolution would have never happened. I empathize deeply with Wallace and his loss he loses his family twice to a king he never pledged as his own. The main theme of the story is the idea freedom, you will probably hear him say that word more times than you can count throughout the movie. The theme of freedom in the movie helps drive Wallace to his goals and it was pulled off rather nicely, Gibson's performance makes the audience wish that they could do something in the world to stop opreshion of anyone. Gibson took a very dramatic approach to filming this movie with amazing battle sceenes and intense, dramatic diolage. The big impact this movie has on the world is to help people believe that one man can change the world and the importance of equality. As a person of Celtic ansestory I may have a bias but I truly believe that this movie inspires everyone who watches it to go out and make a difference in the world and try to others around them. I enjoyed this movie for it's raw story telling, everything felt natural and realistic nothing was forced onto the audience or was compleatly unbelievable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
patrickbrooks38Jun 2, 2014
William Wallace/ Braveheart

The movie Brave heart is an epic story based on true historical events. In the late 1200 a boy named William Wallace was born. After the English takes his land kills his brother, father, and wife he begins a
William Wallace/ Braveheart

The movie Brave heart is an epic story based on true historical events. In the late 1200 a boy named William Wallace was born. After the English takes his land kills his brother, father, and wife he begins a revolt. This revolution ends up taking on epic proportions. The reason this revolution becomes so powerful is mainly because of William Wallace. He just is a motivational leader and his undying belief in freedom is contagious. In fact before one of the bigger battles of the movie Wallace makes the quote, “Sure I’d love to settle down, have a farm, and raise a family. But I can’t do any of that, not without the English taking it. I’m willing to lay down my life for others so that they may live the dream that I have. ” It was his belief in freedom and a land of their own that helps him lead his troops so well.
Not only is the plot amazing, but the actors who preform it are truly stunning. Throughout the movie you can feel it, as Mel Gibson (William Wallace) yearns for a better life. Every time Wallace loses someone you care about you can feel the pain in your heart too. Also when Wallace was betrayed to the English you felt everything in you die a little bit. This movie and the actors within it really help you respect and treasure the freedom we have now. It was because of great men like William Wallace that anyone has any true freedom.
The impact of this movie is incredible. I can guarantee that anyone who sees this movie will have a hard time not screaming freedom randomly. Personally I felt that all the themes of this movie were life changing, and impacted the way I’ll think of day to day life forever. In my opinion the only place this movie fell short was it wasn’t long enough. I would advise anyone who wants to live life to its fullest to watch this movie.
-Patrick Brooks
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviebuffmikeMay 9, 2014
A masterpiece. Makes me feel an entire range of emotions. It made me laugh, cry and cheer on William Wallace and there resistance as they went into battle. It has everything a good film should contain and it's damn entertaining for 3 hourA masterpiece. Makes me feel an entire range of emotions. It made me laugh, cry and cheer on William Wallace and there resistance as they went into battle. It has everything a good film should contain and it's damn entertaining for 3 hour flick. One of the best film ever, a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ShottyMcLagcampMar 15, 2014
While the movie is still fun and story relevant. I always question the validity exactly of these "Based on true stories" where one side is almost comedically evil and the other fights for good. In the end the plot is still fine, the fightsWhile the movie is still fun and story relevant. I always question the validity exactly of these "Based on true stories" where one side is almost comedically evil and the other fights for good. In the end the plot is still fine, the fights are beginning to look dated. The effects are ok, but with the LOTR movies, the battles seem like they got like 200 extras, dressed them up, and told them to mess around with fake swords. Still a good film in all, but the grand scale that made it so great when I was a kid, just doesn't hold up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CaestusMar 2, 2014
Braveheart is a superb film, which goes under your skin and really fascinates. Great soundtrack and the battle sequences are among the best even today and the fact that the movie is actually 20 years old just shows how good they are.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 18, 2013
A film full of so much heart, emotion, well written script, amazing acting, beautiful music and scenery is packed into this amazing film with such elegance and style. No wonder it won Best Film of 1995. A beautifully motivating film. Beautiful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
stevelaughtonJul 10, 2013
Regardless of the fact that it may not be factually accurate this film is still an epic piece of screenplay. I can't fault it and it has been my one of my all time favourite films since it's release.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrThehammer171May 16, 2013
the best movie ever it was everthing good in a movie and if you give this movie lower than a 9 than you dont know good movies alright dont listen to those haters to this movie mel gibson was amazing in this movie and he is the best actor ever
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
kublay0880Dec 20, 2012
I don't think that this movie deserves a 10, but it doesn't deserve a 0 either, I agree with some of the critics about the battles, the first time that I saw the movie I noticed how the swords, axes, and all other weapons or armor that wereI don't think that this movie deserves a 10, but it doesn't deserve a 0 either, I agree with some of the critics about the battles, the first time that I saw the movie I noticed how the swords, axes, and all other weapons or armor that were supposed to be metallic were plastic it was kind of funny. Now this movie was never sold to the people as a documentary but as a movie, trying to represent Wallace's life, don't expect from a movie strict adherence to history, it has to have something that is exaggerated or not too precise. And talking about the romance on the movie which I thought that it was properly handled you got to admit that behind every man there is a love story. Gibson gives a great performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AkelaarDec 13, 2012
Braveheart deserves 100/100 rating. This movie is incredible with its natural and emotional scenes, with epic battles, sieges and ambushes. It might be not quite right historically but as movie it is perfect, so I see no reason not to rate it 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YoursTrulyNov 9, 2012
Just really good. You take an intriguing story from history, mix it together with a camera, some fine actors, a pinch of badassery supplied by one Mel Gibson and a heavy infusion of thought, care and execution and you get something really rewarding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuOct 8, 2012
Braveheart is a very nice tale of oppressed Scottish folk standing up to the tyrannical English. It works in all the right places and succeeds despite historical inaccuracies and slightly over-the-top sentimentality. Kudos for having bloodyBraveheart is a very nice tale of oppressed Scottish folk standing up to the tyrannical English. It works in all the right places and succeeds despite historical inaccuracies and slightly over-the-top sentimentality. Kudos for having bloody battle sequences that still shock a good 18 years after the film was made! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
debjyotinsecJul 21, 2012
one of the best fiction based on a historical event! Superlike for acting,story,photography,music and thrill that truly connects with audience. hats off mel
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
csw12Apr 4, 2012
This movie is flat out sick and disgusting but it had a compelling story and Mel Gibson gave a great performance. The movie was a little long and a bit boring at times though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CyberPunkFeb 13, 2012
Although it may be historically inaccurate, Braveheart is a very compelling and memorable film. The acting, story, and war scenes are great. Definitely one of my favorite movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JAM123Feb 9, 2012
A complete masterpiece. A fantastic movie about honor and fighting for your freedom. This movie made me cry, laugh, and scream for joy. It is an incredible inspirational underdog story about fighting for freedom. Mel Gibson makes anotherA complete masterpiece. A fantastic movie about honor and fighting for your freedom. This movie made me cry, laugh, and scream for joy. It is an incredible inspirational underdog story about fighting for freedom. Mel Gibson makes another fantastic movie and is amazing in it too. I was so moved by this movie and it will be in my favorites for a long long time. HIGHLY recmmend! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
xjamesJan 5, 2012
Braveheart was an epic. It was the high point of Mel Gibson's career as both an actor and director. Though it is not historically accurate, there is some truth to the storyline and the characters, and that truth is enough to build aBraveheart was an epic. It was the high point of Mel Gibson's career as both an actor and director. Though it is not historically accurate, there is some truth to the storyline and the characters, and that truth is enough to build a wonderful movie that has left viewers spellbound since 1995. People are still spellbound and its close to seventeen years later and Braveheart is still a household name and is a first experience epic for most children. This movie combines the blood and gore of a war movie with the intense plot line of a drama. It is a work of art to say the least. Braveheart will go down in history as one of the greatest movies ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Python25Dec 30, 2011
Great movie. Also the soundtrack is very nice. Mel Gibson is a great producer.
The best movie in his genre. Anyway the best battle fights in all time, even gladiator and Lord of the Rings the big battles are not as great as in Braveheart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
bronxstyleDec 26, 2011
оÑ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
rotkuOct 24, 2011
Although the historical accuracy is questionable there is no doubting that this is an epic movie that will become a classic along the lines of Zulu as time passes, however the movie is driven by the superb fight scenes which feel raw, brutalAlthough the historical accuracy is questionable there is no doubting that this is an epic movie that will become a classic along the lines of Zulu as time passes, however the movie is driven by the superb fight scenes which feel raw, brutal and savage. The storyline is solid and the acting is excellent and overall this film is a great way to pass a rainy day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
saccyindJul 29, 2011
One Of The Greatest Films Ever Made In The History Of Ciema.Braveheart Is Truly A Great Film,Action Sequences Were Superb So Was Music So Was The Film
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
ovi_bzJan 8, 2011
Nice movie. It will be a classic in the future. Great story and very well played by Mel Gibson. Nice music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GavGav96Dec 10, 2010
'Braveheart' means well, provides a few emotionally wrenching segments, and won't disappoint gore fans, but the film's content will make historians feel sick to their stomachs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Nov 12, 2010
Mel Gibson's great performance
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
As far as epics go, Mel Gibson aims for a sprawling vision in the likes of David Lean. However, by putting antics before aesthetics, 'Braveheart' is at its core not much more than a glorified melodrama - not necessarily a bad thing (it justAs far as epics go, Mel Gibson aims for a sprawling vision in the likes of David Lean. However, by putting antics before aesthetics, 'Braveheart' is at its core not much more than a glorified melodrama - not necessarily a bad thing (it just makes the surplus of sentimental moments painful to sit through) Collapse
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
HeatherEJan 19, 2009
A Destiny Written In A Battle For Honor-
4 of 5 users found this helpful
5
KeirBJul 11, 2008
Great music, and Cinematography. The irony of this film is that Mel Gibson preaches the importance of freedom, yet could care less if Jewish and homosexuals are denied theirs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
PierreCDec 3, 2007
When I rate a movie, I try to imagine the best possible scenario for that movie. Everything from the acting (e.g. Tom Hanks) to the cinematography was spectacular. I could honestly not imagine it done differently. It's an inspirational When I rate a movie, I try to imagine the best possible scenario for that movie. Everything from the acting (e.g. Tom Hanks) to the cinematography was spectacular. I could honestly not imagine it done differently. It's an inspirational and captivating film that everyone should watch in their lifetime. Pure gold! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
WAJun 2, 2007
Battle scenes that cross the line from realism to pure comedy, plus more cheese then Wisconsin and more corn than Iowa. Music is good though.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SamaraR.Apr 22, 2007
This movie is a spectacular representation of what actually happened and is awesome to watch. It is intruiging and gory.. I love it!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattJ.Mar 6, 2007
Utterly stunning, a motion picture for the ages.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillyK.Nov 21, 2006
This is one of the best movies ever made. Gibson is a true genius. He not only does a magneficent job as William Wallace, he directs and guides the film with such beauty and passion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ReikonAug 12, 2006
This movie has it all, drama, action, romance....the best movie i have ever seen, and with the best soudtrack I have ever heard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
FelixQ.Jul 25, 2006
Oh man. The one thing about this movie that just rubbed me the wrong way was the [***SPOILERS***] one thing that spoiled the whole thing for me- the whole thing is about his obsessive love for his first love, and avenging her- then he goes Oh man. The one thing about this movie that just rubbed me the wrong way was the [***SPOILERS***] one thing that spoiled the whole thing for me- the whole thing is about his obsessive love for his first love, and avenging her- then he goes and sleeps with someone else and STILL her ghost meets him at his demise? Sure it's human, and not a big thing in practical terms, but when the entire movie is about this unrelenting passion for one woman, then veering from that compromises the integrity of the story itself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobS.Jun 23, 2006
1 for cheek. Ludicrous - Mel Gibson should not be allowed out with millions of dollars to spend without proper guidance.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JayD.Apr 28, 2006
I was curious to see what this movie was ranked by critics and normal folk alike. I must say that I am shocked to see it only getting a 66 by critics. Wow! Shame on some of you. In addition, I certainly don't feel like I need to comment I was curious to see what this movie was ranked by critics and normal folk alike. I must say that I am shocked to see it only getting a 66 by critics. Wow! Shame on some of you. In addition, I certainly don't feel like I need to comment on this movie; the people with good taste have already done that for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveW.Mar 8, 2006
Absolutly amazing!! a true patriotic film, every time i return to scotland and every hogmany festivle we watch this, iv never seen so many grown men cry at the end of a film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PattyS.Dec 8, 2005
This movie offers it all: action, romance, intellect, suspense and drama. My favorite movie by far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Nov 17, 2005
The battles are suprisingly good, even without CGI, and the violence is satisfying. It's more about standing up for ideals, the difficulties of doing so, and how your ideals influence others, which is pretty interesting and refers to The battles are suprisingly good, even without CGI, and the violence is satisfying. It's more about standing up for ideals, the difficulties of doing so, and how your ideals influence others, which is pretty interesting and refers to even today's situations. It doesn't always resonate as it should, though, and LOTR has bypassed this epic in almost every category, but Braveheart is still a strong entry in the genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
aboozarmJul 3, 2005
The best movie that i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
georgec.Jun 19, 2005
I'm hooked when ever I see it. Its an inspirational movie, well like all Mel Gibson ones. KEEP IT UP, I wish that me & my family meet you in person.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RDNJun 3, 2005
The problem is, people will start to believe this historical nonsense. But it keeps the Scots angry at the English, so it can't be all bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MuratS.Mar 27, 2005
When the words are not enough, you should be in the silence. However I do not believe we can award this movie with points. It would be so unfair. When we think about space, that has no end, this movie is same, it has not an end neither.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
aboozarmJan 5, 2005
The best movie that i have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveC.Oct 24, 2004
Often hagiographic, sentimental and bigotted (every Englishman is devoid of mercy or humanity, expecially King Edward's gay son, every Scotsman is a tough, macho hero) Braveheart nevertheless works thanks to the sheer passion that has Often hagiographic, sentimental and bigotted (every Englishman is devoid of mercy or humanity, expecially King Edward's gay son, every Scotsman is a tough, macho hero) Braveheart nevertheless works thanks to the sheer passion that has gone into it. Battle sequences are well executed, Mel Gibson delivers the performance of his career and the film is directed with remarkable energy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
VladTheImpalerAug 21, 2004
Pretty much the worst recent example of a genre.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidJ.May 23, 2004
This is a great relatively accurate historical movie where they aren't afraid to show violence and the way war was fought in the medieval era.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ViktorW.Mar 31, 2004
One of the best movies ever!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveB.Feb 25, 2004
This movie gets a ten for sure. its breathtaking & exhillerating fight scenes take your breath away!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TelyS.Feb 7, 2004
A glorious revelry in pure masculine pride with passion and poetry to spare.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatC.Jan 7, 2004
No No No No No. This was not the best picture of the year. This was Mad Max in a kilt. The best actors were all part of the English royalty. The English and Scots fought for centuries to control their shared island. To this day the question No No No No No. This was not the best picture of the year. This was Mad Max in a kilt. The best actors were all part of the English royalty. The English and Scots fought for centuries to control their shared island. To this day the question remains, why? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattiM.Aug 4, 2003
Englishmen suck!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulaD.Jul 30, 2003
This is the best movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PiscesJun 18, 2003
This movie is about Courage, Love, Passion and above all Freedom, which can only be conquered when a person is brave enough to listen to his/her heart. I feel sorry for those who didn't get the message...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillS.Jul 13, 2002
I have the VHS, have since 1997 and still watch the movie a couple of times a year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ToriD.May 16, 2002
Who could deny liking this movie?? It's one of those touching movies that leave you wanting "freedom" yourself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KonokoS.Apr 4, 2002
This is the best movie I have ever seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanD.Oct 24, 2001
So addictive. You want more when it ends after 3 hours!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OscarC.Oct 19, 2001
This is what we are looking for in a movie, entertainment, romance, inspiration. A great movie, for a great actor and in a great moment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentOct 2, 2001
An excellent movie with a classic script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful