Braveheart

Braveheart Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 397 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Scottish national hero Sir William Wallace (Gibson), leads a 13th-century rebellion against landowning English nobles.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. 100
    Offeris an exhilarating, and occasionally touching, experience that has viewers leaving the theater caught up in an afterglow of wonder. These days, heros like William Wallace are as rare as motion picture displays of this high, uncompromising quality.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Clark
    100
    Tempers moments of despair with deliriously romantic passages abetted by James Horner's traditionally lush score and photography by John Toll ("Legends of the Fall's" Oscar winner).
  3. 89
    Thrilling, a grand cinematic adventure -- beautifully handled myth-making from Gibson, who, by the way, is just fine in the lead.
  4. 70
    A completely adequate modern facsimile of the classic romantic epic.
  5. Film.com
    Reviewed by: Sean Means
    70
    Gibson's raw energy and storytelling power in Braveheart are undeniable. If the film doesn't meet his ambitions, it's because he set the bar so high.
  6. Baltimore Sun
    Reviewed by: Chris Kridler
    63
    His film would benefit from more subtlety and tighter editing, but as both director and star, Gibson takes the story by the hilt and plunges forward, as single-minded as Wallace screaming into battle.
  7. A rambling disappointment.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 77
  2. Negative: 7 out of 77
  1. HeatherE
    Jan 19, 2009
    10
    A Destiny Written In A Battle For Honor-
  2. May 9, 2014
    10
    A masterpiece. Makes me feel an entire range of emotions. It made me laugh, cry and cheer on William Wallace and there resistance as they wentA masterpiece. Makes me feel an entire range of emotions. It made me laugh, cry and cheer on William Wallace and there resistance as they went into battle. It has everything a good film should contain and it's damn entertaining for 3 hour flick. One of the best film ever, a must see. Expand
  3. PattyS.
    Dec 8, 2005
    10
    This movie offers it all: action, romance, intellect, suspense and drama. My favorite movie by far.
  4. Jun 24, 2015
    10
    Saw this on pay per view when I was about 16 years old, and it's still as good as it was then, in 1995. I'm not sure why people give such lowSaw this on pay per view when I was about 16 years old, and it's still as good as it was then, in 1995. I'm not sure why people give such low scores for no reason, such as historical inaccuracies, when it's a frickin movie. If you want to see a historical biography go watch the History channel or something. This movie has great music (RIP Horner), action, and emtion, and is probably the best medieval movie ever made (Gladiator does not beat this). Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The review I am writing is on "Brave Heart" a movie based on the true events of William Wallace's life and the Scotish revolution. This story was writen by Randall Wallace and directed by Mel Gibson who also plays the main character, William Wallace, in this story. William experiences tragedy at a young age when he walks into a house filled with murrdered Scottish nobles, killed by King Henry Longshanks (played by Patrick McGoohan). Then again when his family is kill while trying to confront the king, and once again when he was an adult his family was taken away after the English try to rape his wife and then sentence her to death for assaulting a Brtish soldier. This infuriates Wallace and makes him seek revenge on the English through a crusade if violence and warfare. He is detrimental to this story because without Wallace the Scottish revolution would have never happened. I empathize deeply with Wallace and his loss he loses his family twice to a king he never pledged as his own. The main theme of the story is the idea freedom, you will probably hear him say that word more times than you can count throughout the movie. The theme of freedom in the movie helps drive Wallace to his goals and it was pulled off rather nicely, Gibson's performance makes the audience wish that they could do something in the world to stop opreshion of anyone. Gibson took a very dramatic approach to filming this movie with amazing battle sceenes and intense, dramatic diolage. The big impact this movie has on the world is to help people believe that one man can change the world and the importance of equality. As a person of Celtic ansestory I may have a bias but I truly believe that this movie inspires everyone who watches it to go out and make a difference in the world and try to others around them. I enjoyed this movie for it's raw story telling, everything felt natural and realistic nothing was forced onto the audience or was compleatly unbelievable. Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2016
    7
    The artistic medium of film is very subjective. Every audience member has a different set of criteria they use to measure their viewingThe artistic medium of film is very subjective. Every audience member has a different set of criteria they use to measure their viewing experience. Not everyone shares the same set of criteria. If we did, what a bland and uninspired world this would be.

    What I Personally Liked About "Braveheart":
    Let's start off by addressing the fact that this film features some of the most spectacular locations ever caught on camera. The shooting locations found in both Scotland and Ireland fit the production perfectly and breathed life into the backdrop in a way most movies can only dream about. The stylish way the locations are presented from a visual standpoint seems highly influenced by the eighties' output of Akira Kurosawa, and let's be honest, there are certainly worse directors you could derive inspiration from. As for the acting, Mel Gibson has fairly decent chemistry with all of the cast members he plays off. This is an admirable trait considering the fact that the spotlight is on him so often in this film. Unlike other three hour ensemble pieces from the nineties ("Short Cuts," "Magnolia," etc.), "Braveheart" contains a straightforward narrative and much of that is fueled by Gibson alone. In addition, the battle sequences are well-framed and well-choreographed which creates an exciting sense of urgent realism. It also contains one of the finest, most memorable battle cries of its decade when William Wallace says "They may take our lives, but they'll never take...our freedom!"

    What I Personally Disliked About "Braveheart":
    For as good an actor as Gibson is, this film would have benefitted from tighter direction. You can feel every ounce of weight in its length and that is not a complimentary statement. Often times, it moves at a snail's pace with patches that serve to bore the story into one's head instead of letting the moments unfold naturally. Basically, it is an epic for the sake of being an epic. Another drawback is that many of the movie's villains feel like generic knock-offs when compared to the fully fleshed heroes who oppose them. From a cinematic standpoint, as we have learned over the decades, a hero is only as strong and as righteous as his villain is evil and crafty. The forgettable villains in this film inadvertently weaken the accomplishments of our brave Scots.

    My Overall Impression of "Braveheart":
    While it is a bit long in the tooth and a bit one-sided in the characterization department, this is still a reasonable example of what Mel Gibson was capable of delivering when he wasn't portraying crazed cops or reimagined mavericks. This is his show all the way and you can tell he tried to make the best of it.
    Expand
  7. BobS.
    Jun 23, 2006
    1
    1 for cheek. Ludicrous - Mel Gibson should not be allowed out with millions of dollars to spend without proper guidance.

See all 77 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 28 Best Picture Oscar Winners, Ranked From Worst to Best

    28 Best Picture Oscar Winners, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: February 18, 2016
    We rank the best picture winners of the past three decades.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.