Focus Features | Release Date: March 31, 2006
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 174 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
132
Mixed:
22
Negative:
20
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MasterRileyJul 23, 2016
Brick is a really good movie with a heavy focus on the writing and characters rather than the action and effects. It continually gets more and more interesting as the movie goes on and thats all thanks to Johnson's great writing. TheBrick is a really good movie with a heavy focus on the writing and characters rather than the action and effects. It continually gets more and more interesting as the movie goes on and thats all thanks to Johnson's great writing. The performances are also really great as well. Definitely an awesome movie to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeApr 29, 2016
Brick is a very decent film and it makes a brick worth watching, construction or destruction. What makes Brick look unique is not the fact that you're thinking bad, but it's the script that saves the movie from being a bomb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SpangleOct 24, 2015
Brick is the type of movie to really piss me off. It feels so self-important and, honestly, gives off an air of being better than everybody else. This comes through loud-and-clear in the dialogue as it just feels like an immature and juvenileBrick is the type of movie to really piss me off. It feels so self-important and, honestly, gives off an air of being better than everybody else. This comes through loud-and-clear in the dialogue as it just feels like an immature and juvenile film that was made by some obnoxious film school student. Tragically, I do like Rian Johnson and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, but this film annoyed the living hell out of me. The plot is aimless and stupid and when it all comes together at the end, it somehow becomes dumber. A film made on a shoestring budget, it certainly shows a lot of directorial promise for Johnson (that was certainly fulfilled with Looper), but man oh man was I let down by this. Brick is the film equivalent of an annoying teenager who thinks he's smarter than everybody else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
worleyjamersJun 7, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. IF you can accept that Brick is a film about a bunch of high schoolers involved in their own drug trade, you'll love the film. If you try to use logic and disregard the seemingly implausible plot than you'll find the film tortuous. I for one loved the film and thought it was unbelievably believable. The kids are great and Rian Johnson directs with confidence and style. Absolutely amazing! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
This movie has a great cast, a seemingly good story, and a ton of eye candy, but even with all that it has going for it. It was just weird. I didn't understand the code, the slang, or the point. I was looking forward to this one and I wasThis movie has a great cast, a seemingly good story, and a ton of eye candy, but even with all that it has going for it. It was just weird. I didn't understand the code, the slang, or the point. I was looking forward to this one and I was incredibly disappointing. This is just one strange ass movie that you can avoid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
seancriswellNov 16, 2012
High school kids masquerading as characters from an old school hard boiled detective movie. This is an interesting premise, and one that you can tell Johnson probably wanted to make from the moment he decided he wanted to make movies.High school kids masquerading as characters from an old school hard boiled detective movie. This is an interesting premise, and one that you can tell Johnson probably wanted to make from the moment he decided he wanted to make movies. Unfortunately there is little going on of interest past the niche premise. Some of the acting and writing is pretty decent here, so you will not be bored. However there is nothing in the story or characters that makes you care what happens to them, which gives you no emotional tie to anything that ultimately happens. Overall a disappointing film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Brick has a language, and even a world of its own, and it is utterly fascinating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cabritaOct 20, 2012
It's a very fun unique film. Joseph Gordon Levitt and Rian Johnson's screenplay carry this film the distance. The dialogue is so well written and so emblematic of 40's crime novels and films it can but only put a smile on your face. And theIt's a very fun unique film. Joseph Gordon Levitt and Rian Johnson's screenplay carry this film the distance. The dialogue is so well written and so emblematic of 40's crime novels and films it can but only put a smile on your face. And the actors are true to the premise from beginning to end. Not once winking at the audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Vltra88Jun 29, 2011
Well written, Well acted, solid artful piece. The Film Noir/Hard boiled "who dunnit" feel fits really well in the director's childhood California high school setting while only feeling forced for brief moments. It's in my top ten films forWell written, Well acted, solid artful piece. The Film Noir/Hard boiled "who dunnit" feel fits really well in the director's childhood California high school setting while only feeling forced for brief moments. It's in my top ten films for sure. The pace is for the patient, and the entire vibe requires an understanding or appreciation of Film Noir. Maybe not for everyone, but I saw it as an incredibly well written script with an obvious intended goal for the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
rdaviesNov 5, 2010
I am a big fan of film noir and I am open to the concept of neo-noir but this didn't do anything for me. It seemed to be off the pace that it should be keeping up with and although it has some good noir elements to it it didn't provide muchI am a big fan of film noir and I am open to the concept of neo-noir but this didn't do anything for me. It seemed to be off the pace that it should be keeping up with and although it has some good noir elements to it it didn't provide much entertainment value.----
ACTING was all round quite odd. The characters seemed pretty unrealistic and dull to me, although there was some good acting. I have to be honest, Gordon Levitt was more or less abysmal. ----PLOT. All the characters seemed dark and there was constant themes of mistrust, which is obviously in keeping with the noir side. Except, film noir was made at a dark time (40s-50s) and I think that now, it is irrelevant to use the same plot devices and themes. It just doesn't work, especially with a colour picture. ----DIRECTING. It was OK, but it didn't save this film from being a drag. ----CINEMATOGRAPHY: Well, a dark theme film and there is a dark tone to it, but I think the film was too active and full on as oppose to being kept subtle with clever fighting scenes blended in, like a noir film should be. ----Overall, I thought the idea of basing a noir in a high school COULD have been good, but was ultimately risky and in the end I think it just didn't work. A modern day Noir (neo noir) shouldn't stray too far away from the old 40s/50s films, after all, it is based on them. Too many elements were changed in Brick and the elements that remained didn't fit it as a result of the off-pace story and the unnecessarily unspecific character depth. Remember, characters like Sam Spade were dark, suspicious and cynical, but not completely distant to the point where we can't relate to them. ----Final thought: Brick tries to borrow from the classic noir but by trying to make it too modern it's changed the dynamic and become a failure.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
Film noir was one of cinemas most popular and most profitable genre or it uses to be back in the last stretch of the golden years in Hollywood (1940-1950). The last neo-noir the golden era pushed out was Orson Welles "Touch of Evil"(1958)Film noir was one of cinemas most popular and most profitable genre or it uses to be back in the last stretch of the golden years in Hollywood (1940-1950). The last neo-noir the golden era pushed out was Orson Welles "Touch of Evil"(1958) while during its release, it was well received but it sadly failed to reignite the flame of a fading genre. Noir seemed almost dead until an up and coming director named Roman Polanski took on the dangerous task of trying to breathe new life into the deceased genre. I never thought it could be done someone being able to bring back one of cinema's most beloved genres but Polanski did it and his film "Chinatown"(1974) was the film that restarted the film noir genre. Launching a whole new era of Neo-Noirâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
BrittaL.Jun 12, 2010
The plot is inexpressibly below the belt. Another boring college setting. Young spoiled students meet each other at school yards, bee eaters and in upperclass parties and try too much to look like "we make an independent film", but with good The plot is inexpressibly below the belt. Another boring college setting. Young spoiled students meet each other at school yards, bee eaters and in upperclass parties and try too much to look like "we make an independent film", but with good looking girls and with extraordinary pseudo-intellectual dialogs. But they are not intellectual, not even pseudo. It looks like college kids are trying to be Wim Wenders, David Lynch and Stanley Kubrik all together. It makes me feel embarrassed for somebody else. What next? A John Cassavetes wanna-be film with preteens? C'mon! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
deebbeebOct 1, 2009
Too painful to watch, I could only withstand about 30 minutes of this comic caper. No character development at all, I wished the main protaganist would die horribly.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SethPJul 21, 2009
A damned good neo-noir.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewF.Jun 15, 2009
My favorite movie of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DeunneroMay 29, 2009
A great movie for a Friday night after a gruelling week of work. A throwback to films of old. I thought this had simliar tones to "The Night of the Hunter" personally. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
theGuardianMay 9, 2009
Brilliant film and an excellent way to bring noir to the kids that are missing out on it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BradCFeb 18, 2009
Amazing movie. Quite different from other high school or murder mystery movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricSFeb 5, 2009
I thought everything about this movie yelled class (dialog, story, ambiance, costumes, direction) even though most of it takes place in a middle / lower-middle class environment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AndyM.Jun 9, 2008
This movie is best described as a bunch of 25 year-olds, acting like 17 year-olds, acting like 35 year-olds. It's ridiculous. This isn't high school, and it never will be. It tries to be original by placing a 50-years-late, This movie is best described as a bunch of 25 year-olds, acting like 17 year-olds, acting like 35 year-olds. It's ridiculous. This isn't high school, and it never will be. It tries to be original by placing a 50-years-late, washed-up detective genre into a high school setting, and it comes off as plain absurd. As the Wall Street Journal puts it, "It's original, yet it's not". No high school is filled with smooth talking, drug-running teenagers, who spit 1940's lingo like it's the normal thing to do. If you like detective stories and you just HAVE to have a new angle, despite the complete lack of believability, then this is for you. The movie isn't a bad one, don't get me wrong. The writing and the confined presentation just prevents it from being the amazing movie it desperately wants to be. And I mean desperately. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidP.Feb 22, 2008
i think it is sad people rate this so low, mainly due to the fact that they have no mental capacity to truly understand the plot and all the little subtle clues. not to mention they speak the way they do because it is a take on a film noir i think it is sad people rate this so low, mainly due to the fact that they have no mental capacity to truly understand the plot and all the little subtle clues. not to mention they speak the way they do because it is a take on a film noir movie neo-noir if you will, the movie is well produced and shot, not to mention the actors delved deep into their characters making the film noir theme show through better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonalM.Sep 1, 2007
Absolutely fantastic film. Brilliant storyline, well told. Very little special effects, adds to the effect. Also found it witty at times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DomenicP.May 3, 2007
This is a great take on the traditional noir. The actors all deliver surprisingly great performances for people their age, and Johnson's direction is pitch-perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JWFeb 11, 2007
In my mind, the noirisms hit their stride when the character of Brain is introduced and he utters the line: "Lunch? Lunch is difficult...." A better summation of high school I've never heard. And NO LAPTOP! He got the reputation as In my mind, the noirisms hit their stride when the character of Brain is introduced and he utters the line: "Lunch? Lunch is difficult...." A better summation of high school I've never heard. And NO LAPTOP! He got the reputation as "Brain," not by being a geek computer whiz or building robots, but by his detailed knowledge of social strata and teenage communication. In fact, aside from a loner cell phone, most communication in the movie is done longhand - either person-to-person or in symbollic notes, etc. I love all of it. The Brat Pack movies have at last been put under. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
xitiJan 26, 2007
I saw it by chance and I think it's very very interesting, it has a very intelligent script and a very good rhythm
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JSJan 2, 2007
Brick bleeds Dashiell Hammett and it amazes me how seamlessly the filmmakers brought hard-boiled detective fiction to a high school setting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KipM.Dec 19, 2006
What a feat. Rian Johnson is shaping up to be one of the best directors out of the mainstream today. His debut "Brick" is completely new take on both the detective and high school genres and blends them mostly seamlessly. Joseph What a feat. Rian Johnson is shaping up to be one of the best directors out of the mainstream today. His debut "Brick" is completely new take on both the detective and high school genres and blends them mostly seamlessly. Joseph Gordon-Levitt, miles away from his alternative teen idol days on "3rd Rock" and "10 Things I Hate about You," is absolutely brilliant as Brendan, alone by choice, who is smarter than anyone in the room and uses that to his advantage. The labyrinthe plot (involving an ex-girlfriend's murder and a giant web of drug dealers and users) is never too confusing or unnecessary. You learn every detail along with Brendan, piecing it together in search of closure and justice. The noir dialogue doesn't take you out of the plot; it envelops you into its world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexSDec 10, 2006
Being a fan of film noir hardboiled styles Brick came as a nice surprise when I was expecting a simple high-school drama. It's fast and well planned pacing draws you in, and you soon realise this is so much more than it seems. The Being a fan of film noir hardboiled styles Brick came as a nice surprise when I was expecting a simple high-school drama. It's fast and well planned pacing draws you in, and you soon realise this is so much more than it seems. The characters seem entirely realistic; there being no real villain (I wouldn't classify the Pin as a villain), and a dark protagonist, seem like real people you might find around any high-school social scene. The brilliant acting also brings the story to life as a film noir work. It can sometimes be a little hard to follow considering it's speed, but once you're on the level, it's a great story through-and-through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeahB.Oct 5, 2006
This film was purely entrancing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanC.Sep 30, 2006
This film seamlessly (and fearlessly) transfers film noir to an unlikely setting - it takes real chances and it succeeds. Especially good are the small moments of humor that remind the audience of where they are, without any of the wink-wink This film seamlessly (and fearlessly) transfers film noir to an unlikely setting - it takes real chances and it succeeds. Especially good are the small moments of humor that remind the audience of where they are, without any of the wink-wink cleverness that could have undermined the atmosphere. A fascinating, visual inventive, and impressive film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful