Focus Features | Release Date: March 31, 2006
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 175 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
133
Mixed:
22
Negative:
20
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
JohnT.Aug 7, 2006
The cinematography of this movie is superb. unique camera angles and impressive acting. like many others said. it's a bit tough to follow the dialogue. sometimes they talk to quick and use word that you usually don't use in aThe cinematography of this movie is superb. unique camera angles and impressive acting. like many others said. it's a bit tough to follow the dialogue. sometimes they talk to quick and use word that you usually don't use in a sentence. that's how i felt the first time i watched it. BUT! watching it the second time around i totally caught on. if you're having trouble with the dialogue. buy the dvd and watch the movie with subtitles. it WORKS...haha. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TomJ.Aug 9, 2006
Felt like it was filmed by a bunch of high schoolers w/ a cam corder. Just couldn't buy into the whole ridiculous plot or the brooding teen angst.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RichardC.Aug 11, 2006
The sound was very mushy, so I turned on the captions, and when I saw what the characters were saying, the dialogue is almost laughable. Nobody talks like that. It detracted from what might have been a reasonably decent storyline. The sound The sound was very mushy, so I turned on the captions, and when I saw what the characters were saying, the dialogue is almost laughable. Nobody talks like that. It detracted from what might have been a reasonably decent storyline. The sound track was also a distraction. It just didn't work for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
N.LeeAug 14, 2006
Visually, it was fun. I also appreciate the attempt to create a new type of neo-noir. But it dragged in places and I had a hard time feeling much sympathy for the characters. There was also a "surprise" regarding Emily, the murder victim, Visually, it was fun. I also appreciate the attempt to create a new type of neo-noir. But it dragged in places and I had a hard time feeling much sympathy for the characters. There was also a "surprise" regarding Emily, the murder victim, which I predicted and was disappointed in when it was revealed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
AviS.Aug 15, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] This movie just didn't do it for me. Pretentious and over-rated. It felt like I had watched a totally different movie to those who gave it high ratings. Or maybe it's a movie where it's cool to say you enjoyed [***SPOILERS***] This movie just didn't do it for me. Pretentious and over-rated. It felt like I had watched a totally different movie to those who gave it high ratings. Or maybe it's a movie where it's cool to say you enjoyed it and "got" it. I really wanted to like this movie. The characters were two-dimensional, the acting was lacklustre, and the story just didn't flow. It just wasn't believable; A scrawny kid being able to threaten to beat up a group of half a dozen local tough kids? Didn't buy it. And these kids were supposed to be high school students, but they never went to school? It really did feel as if the screenplay and movie was done by a bunch of high school students. Only the musical score was decent. They should've set this movie back in the 1920's, and use known grown-up actors. If you're into the Film Noir genre, you're better off checking out other movies like "Memento", "The Usual Suspects", "Blade Runner", "Se7en", or the recent "Edmond" with the under-rated William H. Macy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnN.Aug 16, 2006
Took me 3 days to watch because I kept falling asleep. What the heck were they even saying...who talks like that?! Get real! Made very little sense.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnH.Aug 18, 2006
I had high expectations for this movie due to the trailer, and I was very disappointed. The dialogue in this film is pretentious to the point of absurdity, and ruined what could have been a decent film. Don't even waste your time on I had high expectations for this movie due to the trailer, and I was very disappointed. The dialogue in this film is pretentious to the point of absurdity, and ruined what could have been a decent film. Don't even waste your time on this drivel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StacyB.Aug 21, 2006
dramatic montage and killer dialogue. this movie is definitely one of the best i've seen in a while.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanB.Aug 22, 2006
This was really good. I didn' think it dragged anywhere. And the folks who think the dialogue stunk cos "no one talks like that", I think they're missing the point? No one is supposed to talk like that, it's what they call a This was really good. I didn' think it dragged anywhere. And the folks who think the dialogue stunk cos "no one talks like that", I think they're missing the point? No one is supposed to talk like that, it's what they call a "conceit", that high schoolers are going to talk like gangsters in old time noir pictures? Anyway, the twist at the end had a bit less impact than it might have and there's certainly flaws, but the originality of making a noir pic in high school totally won me over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeteM.Aug 26, 2006
Brick is an intense and powerful noir piece with such riveting performances and stellar writing that it resonates well beyond its slightly gimmicky
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarcK.Aug 26, 2006
Beverly Hills 90210 on steroids. Pretentious and over-rated. Between the muttering of the actors, and the unreal slang, I actually had to turn the sub-titles on my DVD to figure out what the heck was going on. It barely helped.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Aug 28, 2006
It's the allusion to Martin Scorsese's mother in "Good Fellas" that really hooked me. Mrs. "Pin['s]" second appearance reminds me of Scorsese when she congratulates Joe Pesci's character for being made a "made man". You It's the allusion to Martin Scorsese's mother in "Good Fellas" that really hooked me. Mrs. "Pin['s]" second appearance reminds me of Scorsese when she congratulates Joe Pesci's character for being made a "made man". You think "Brick" is like Larry Clarke's "Kids"(clueless parents) because the mother has such a homespun guileless quality when she's entertaining Brendan(Joseph Gordon-Levitt). But no, there isn't a gulf between both the adult world and the "Bugsy Malone"-update world of these matriculating Hammetts. She knows her son is a gangster. "Brick" is almost Tarantino-like in its use of references to other movies. It is so clever, and unexpected. A lot of the fun comes from the filmmaker's use of extrapolation. For example, the femme fatale's true nature doesn't take place in a smoky bar, but on a... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavisR.Aug 29, 2006
this film is tied with Kevin Smith's dreadful Clerks 2 as the worst film of the year. Besides the dialogue which is obviously the worst thing about this film, it is Joseph Gordon-Levitt who propels this disaster toward this film is tied with Kevin Smith's dreadful Clerks 2 as the worst film of the year. Besides the dialogue which is obviously the worst thing about this film, it is Joseph Gordon-Levitt who propels this disaster toward "Rushmore"-territory. Just because a hack like Gregg Araki sees the irony in casting the kid from 3rd Rock from the Sun in his borefest Mysterious Skin, now everyone wants to cast this American version of Kal Penn in their movies. It's not fair to say he ruined this film because had he been replaced with Curtis Jackson the film would still be a failure. Johnson delivers the worst film debut since Reservoir Dogs and unless you want to waste 2 hours of your life stay far away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
H.CarterSep 5, 2006
what a great little movie this is! I do love film noir so a friend had recommended this movie. --I was skeptical I admit, but other than a few times where the dialogue fell flat, the movie worked wonderfully through and through. The what a great little movie this is! I do love film noir so a friend had recommended this movie. --I was skeptical I admit, but other than a few times where the dialogue fell flat, the movie worked wonderfully through and through. The direction, writing, tight plot, cinematography/sets, the story--everything was impressive for whomever this first time writer/director is (much like Hustle and Flow). however, if you're not a fan of noir movies, Brick does follow a lot of those concepts so it may not be the movie for you. However, I do think it does goes above and beyond the selling slogan of "updated noir set in high school". I highly recommend this film and can't wait to see what this new filmmaker will do next. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffS.Sep 11, 2006
Effortlessly guides the viewer into its own high concept and once hooked, the film is a pleasure to scrutinize. Not a film for easy viewing, but sure to be a repeat offender on cult-friendly dvd players. Easily one of the best films of 2006.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidB.Sep 12, 2006
Yes. It's a ten. But then Dashiell Hammett is a favorite author, and Houston's Maltese Falcon a desert island movie. Rian Johnson captures the voice and tone of the American hard-boiled detective story perfectly. A couple of times Yes. It's a ten. But then Dashiell Hammett is a favorite author, and Houston's Maltese Falcon a desert island movie. Rian Johnson captures the voice and tone of the American hard-boiled detective story perfectly. A couple of times I laughed with sheer pleasure how note-perfect the acting (Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Nora Zehetner are simply outstanding) and dialog were. This is the best detective story since Chinatown Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanC.Sep 30, 2006
This film seamlessly (and fearlessly) transfers film noir to an unlikely setting - it takes real chances and it succeeds. Especially good are the small moments of humor that remind the audience of where they are, without any of the wink-wink This film seamlessly (and fearlessly) transfers film noir to an unlikely setting - it takes real chances and it succeeds. Especially good are the small moments of humor that remind the audience of where they are, without any of the wink-wink cleverness that could have undermined the atmosphere. A fascinating, visual inventive, and impressive film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeahB.Oct 5, 2006
This film was purely entrancing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AlexSDec 10, 2006
Being a fan of film noir hardboiled styles Brick came as a nice surprise when I was expecting a simple high-school drama. It's fast and well planned pacing draws you in, and you soon realise this is so much more than it seems. The Being a fan of film noir hardboiled styles Brick came as a nice surprise when I was expecting a simple high-school drama. It's fast and well planned pacing draws you in, and you soon realise this is so much more than it seems. The characters seem entirely realistic; there being no real villain (I wouldn't classify the Pin as a villain), and a dark protagonist, seem like real people you might find around any high-school social scene. The brilliant acting also brings the story to life as a film noir work. It can sometimes be a little hard to follow considering it's speed, but once you're on the level, it's a great story through-and-through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KipM.Dec 19, 2006
What a feat. Rian Johnson is shaping up to be one of the best directors out of the mainstream today. His debut "Brick" is completely new take on both the detective and high school genres and blends them mostly seamlessly. Joseph What a feat. Rian Johnson is shaping up to be one of the best directors out of the mainstream today. His debut "Brick" is completely new take on both the detective and high school genres and blends them mostly seamlessly. Joseph Gordon-Levitt, miles away from his alternative teen idol days on "3rd Rock" and "10 Things I Hate about You," is absolutely brilliant as Brendan, alone by choice, who is smarter than anyone in the room and uses that to his advantage. The labyrinthe plot (involving an ex-girlfriend's murder and a giant web of drug dealers and users) is never too confusing or unnecessary. You learn every detail along with Brendan, piecing it together in search of closure and justice. The noir dialogue doesn't take you out of the plot; it envelops you into its world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JSJan 2, 2007
Brick bleeds Dashiell Hammett and it amazes me how seamlessly the filmmakers brought hard-boiled detective fiction to a high school setting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
xitiJan 26, 2007
I saw it by chance and I think it's very very interesting, it has a very intelligent script and a very good rhythm
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JWFeb 11, 2007
In my mind, the noirisms hit their stride when the character of Brain is introduced and he utters the line: "Lunch? Lunch is difficult...." A better summation of high school I've never heard. And NO LAPTOP! He got the reputation as In my mind, the noirisms hit their stride when the character of Brain is introduced and he utters the line: "Lunch? Lunch is difficult...." A better summation of high school I've never heard. And NO LAPTOP! He got the reputation as "Brain," not by being a geek computer whiz or building robots, but by his detailed knowledge of social strata and teenage communication. In fact, aside from a loner cell phone, most communication in the movie is done longhand - either person-to-person or in symbollic notes, etc. I love all of it. The Brat Pack movies have at last been put under. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DomenicP.May 3, 2007
This is a great take on the traditional noir. The actors all deliver surprisingly great performances for people their age, and Johnson's direction is pitch-perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DonalM.Sep 1, 2007
Absolutely fantastic film. Brilliant storyline, well told. Very little special effects, adds to the effect. Also found it witty at times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Lopez17Aug 11, 2010
Film noir was one of cinemas most popular and most profitable genre or it uses to be back in the last stretch of the golden years in Hollywood (1940-1950). The last neo-noir the golden era pushed out was Orson Welles "Touch of Evil"(1958)Film noir was one of cinemas most popular and most profitable genre or it uses to be back in the last stretch of the golden years in Hollywood (1940-1950). The last neo-noir the golden era pushed out was Orson Welles "Touch of Evil"(1958) while during its release, it was well received but it sadly failed to reignite the flame of a fading genre. Noir seemed almost dead until an up and coming director named Roman Polanski took on the dangerous task of trying to breathe new life into the deceased genre. I never thought it could be done someone being able to bring back one of cinema's most beloved genres but Polanski did it and his film "Chinatown"(1974) was the film that restarted the film noir genre. Launching a whole new era of Neo-Noirâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Vltra88Jun 29, 2011
Well written, Well acted, solid artful piece. The Film Noir/Hard boiled "who dunnit" feel fits really well in the director's childhood California high school setting while only feeling forced for brief moments. It's in my top ten films forWell written, Well acted, solid artful piece. The Film Noir/Hard boiled "who dunnit" feel fits really well in the director's childhood California high school setting while only feeling forced for brief moments. It's in my top ten films for sure. The pace is for the patient, and the entire vibe requires an understanding or appreciation of Film Noir. Maybe not for everyone, but I saw it as an incredibly well written script with an obvious intended goal for the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
cabritaOct 20, 2012
It's a very fun unique film. Joseph Gordon Levitt and Rian Johnson's screenplay carry this film the distance. The dialogue is so well written and so emblematic of 40's crime novels and films it can but only put a smile on your face. And theIt's a very fun unique film. Joseph Gordon Levitt and Rian Johnson's screenplay carry this film the distance. The dialogue is so well written and so emblematic of 40's crime novels and films it can but only put a smile on your face. And the actors are true to the premise from beginning to end. Not once winking at the audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Brick has a language, and even a world of its own, and it is utterly fascinating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
seancriswellNov 16, 2012
High school kids masquerading as characters from an old school hard boiled detective movie. This is an interesting premise, and one that you can tell Johnson probably wanted to make from the moment he decided he wanted to make movies.High school kids masquerading as characters from an old school hard boiled detective movie. This is an interesting premise, and one that you can tell Johnson probably wanted to make from the moment he decided he wanted to make movies. Unfortunately there is little going on of interest past the niche premise. Some of the acting and writing is pretty decent here, so you will not be bored. However there is nothing in the story or characters that makes you care what happens to them, which gives you no emotional tie to anything that ultimately happens. Overall a disappointing film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews