Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Liv and Emma are best friends who since childhood have planned every detail of their respective weddings. At the top of their bridal "must have" list: a ceremony at New York's ultimate bridal destination, the Plaza Hotel. Now, at age 26, they're both about to get married; they're about to realize their dreams; and they're about to live happily ever after. Or maybe not--when a clerical error causes a clash in wedding dates - they're now to be married on the same date! - Liv, Emma and their lifelong friendship are put to the ultimate test. Now, the two best friends who'd do anything for each other, find themselves in a no-holds-barred, take-no-prisoners struggle that threatens to erupt into all-out war. (20th Century Fox) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 30
  2. Negative: 23 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Olivia Putnal
    88
    Sometimes the only funny stuff is in the trailers, but not so here. Kristen Johnson was especially adept at stealing some scenes.
  2. Reviewed by: Reyhan Harmanci
    50
    If you came to see two pretty girls in wedding dresses wrestle, you won't be disappointed.
  3. A dopey if largely painless romantic comedy.
  4. A girlie romantic comedy with tired slapstick pranks but not an ounce of self-respect or intelligence.
  5. 25
    An insipid comedy in which the women are shallow, acquisitive, backstabbing, selfish harridans.
  6. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    25
    Bride Wars is about as funny as a cringingly awkward wedding toast.
  7. I'd be hard-pressed to name another recent film so deeply noxious, soul-sick, and unfunny.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 24
  2. Negative: 11 out of 24
  1. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    I absolutely loved it. It was great. It had the right people to play each character. The acting was fantastic and the movie was very entertaining and hillariouse espesially the part were that one girl gets her hair died blue. When I first saw this movie I was like oh my gosh this is wonderful but not as great as twilight but I will say that all of the other reviews are way to mean and harsh. Do not be a devil. Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2011
    8
    The movie was fairly entertaining but a little on the goofy side and with many parts unbelievable. Hathaway had drawn my attention into this one - and other than that the story was mildly interesting even though a bit ludicrous (not in a good way). I still have to give it above average though... not the worst or close to it. Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2012
    4
    Besides the huge amount of cliches and the large lack of laughs, along with the self referential story; the film has a surprising amount of heart, and solid performances from Anne Hathaway and Kate Hudson. I give this movie 36%. Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2010
    3
    There is something hateful about this movie. Sure, our leading ladies look good on the outside, but underneath they are vindictive and cut throat. I am sure that seriousness about weddings was the intention, but it always seems to go too far...it's almost unsettling. That and am I the only one who thought Kate Hudson looked good with blue hair? Collapse
  5. Nov 16, 2013
    2
    Bride Wars leaves me fighting for survival.
    The movie isn't funny, rarely entertaining, and overall just bad. The acting is poor to average,
    and the concept is silly. The drama is overdone, and there is no substance whatsoever. Expand
  6. Jun 10, 2011
    1
    Bad. Re-he-he-healy bad. Story doesn't make sense, characters are unlikable and off putting, humor is tasteless and mean spirited and plot holes are a commonplace. Instead of the two brides fight, couldn't they just have a DOUBLE WEDDING!!?!!? They even mention it on the beginning of the film when they were children with the word "double wedding" completely and utterly mentioned. If that happened then the film would be finished straight away. Awful. Just awful Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2011
    0
    To spare you an experience that only I can only describe as being less preferable than colonic irrigation, let me describe to you Bride Wars in the best way I can: "Two awful women who are best friends, because awful people stick to their own kind, discover that they are getting married on the same day. After they both rapidly change into a harder level of awful human beings, the kind that hate each other, they engage in 90 minutes of painfully unfunny sitcom set-ups, which we're supposed to enjoy because they are terrible people doing terrible things to each other. Then, contrivances arrive, patch everything up, and the movie ends with a BFF message, even though these two did horrible things to each other." Excuse, I'm going to ponder whether or not this job is worth it. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: 20 Worst Chick Flicks of the Past 20 Years

    Ranked: 20 Worst Chick Flicks of the Past 20 Years Image
    Published: August 11, 2010
    It's classic summer counterprogramming: When a major action film comes out (like this week's "The Expendables"), counter it with something that appeals to women (like this week's "Eat Pray Love"). We look back at some of the worst examples of the "chick flick" genre since 1990.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.