Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bridegroom tells the emotional journey of Shane and Tom, two young men in a loving and committed relationship that was cut tragically short by a misstep off the side of a roof. The story of what happened after this accidental death - of how people without the legal protections of marriageBridegroom tells the emotional journey of Shane and Tom, two young men in a loving and committed relationship that was cut tragically short by a misstep off the side of a roof. The story of what happened after this accidental death - of how people without the legal protections of marriage can find themselves completely shut out and ostracized - is poignant, enraging and opens a window onto the issue of marriage equality and human rights like no speech or lecture ever will. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Ernest Hardy
    Oct 1, 2013
    90
    Without forcing the material into facile uplift, Bloodworth-Thomason still edges it into the realm of inspirational, never overplaying the anguish or soft-pedaling the bigotry at the heart of the story.
  2. Reviewed by: David DeWitt
    Oct 3, 2013
    90
    What Bridegroom celebrates is not simply gay rights; it’s the human spirit.
  3. Reviewed by: Gary Goldstein
    Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Despite the pain, sadness and vast emotional upheaval depicted here, Bridegroom is also a movie filled with hope and passion, dignity and pride, and many stirring pockets of joy.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Oct 8, 2013
    70
    It may not be balanced or especially sophisticated filmmaking, suffering from a misty-eyed oversimplification of what relationships (gay or straight) actually demand. But for many, it’s precisely the sort of emotional eye-opener needed for young people to find inspiration and naysayers to reconsider their attitudes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    This was the most heart-touching documentary I have ever seen in my life. It captures your full attention just the way it starts. Loved theThis was the most heart-touching documentary I have ever seen in my life. It captures your full attention just the way it starts. Loved the way how the story is narrated after it. I would be lying if I say I did not cry while watching this. I was sad for an entire week thinking how it must feel. Shane is very strong and his courage and strength inspired me very much. For me, Shane is the face of LGBT rights. Expand
  2. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    This amazing documentary is at once both life affirming and heart breaking. It tells the story of Tom and Shane who genuinely come across asThis amazing documentary is at once both life affirming and heart breaking. It tells the story of Tom and Shane who genuinely come across as 'the perfect couple' only to have their idyll shattered by a tragic accident. The film traces the now all too familiar story that they, as gay men growing up, suffered at the hands of small town mentalities. Testimonies lovingly articulated by family and friends bear out that their six year relationship really was one that most people would aspire to. Events following the accident appallingly demonstrate how cruel and selfish the actions can be by the people who purport to love us the most, our parents!

    The film is a tear jerker of the first order and so the overly saccharine incidental music that creeps in from time to time isn't necessary as all the emotions are right up there on the screen. That said, however, there are some beautiful songs wonderfully integrated throughout which contribute to a film that will make your life all the richer for having seen it.
    Collapse
  3. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This is the most moving film I've watched in a long time. It was really touching and I'm not sure how I feel about the world after watching itThis is the most moving film I've watched in a long time. It was really touching and I'm not sure how I feel about the world after watching it partially inspired, partially saddened, but this film is definitely a conversation starter and a must watch. I wish Shane all the best and this film really captures the turmoil he went through with his partner's death. I hope Tom's parents come to their senses one of these days and realize how shameful their actions pre and post-death were. Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A bona fide tearjerker! I am oblivious of Shane’s youtube videos, which kickstarts this feature-length picture, but the film needs to be seen by literally everyone, whether for or against the same sex equity, it is deeply heartfelt and perspicaciously educational, I think whoever as long as hold a small fraction of mercy in their hearts, regardless of their religious convictions, after watching this film, it will be a game-changer for the prejudiced and a touchstone for a mightier love above social class, creed, race, color and gender.

    The documentary is about Shane and Tom, a gay couple being together for 6 years until Tom died of falling from a rooftop accidentally in 2011 (aged 29), the interviewers (Shane, his families and their friends) chart the story of their lives from Shane’s childhood, his bullied school days and his struggling self-identification of being a gay man while Tom attended a first-rate high school albeit his blue-collar family background, and turned out to be an all-american boy, handsome, macho, outgoing, a role model excels both in sports and academy. After fate let them meet in L.A., their relationship epitomizes the most desiring lover-cum-soulmate perfection one could ever dream of, which causes the ensuing tragedy far more harrowing to bear.

    A familiar juncture for almost every gay person, the coming-out process, particularly to Tom’s parochial family, it was an incubus, which sheerly contrasts with the understandable reaction from Shane’s family, however, it is all evinced secondhand by Shane and their friends, since Tom’s family adopted the silent treatment to the invitation of the production team to be part of the film, surely we will never know the story from the other side, which is a minor glitch in this otherwise viscerally affecting picture.

    Nevertheless, a more contingent fact is how the young soul’s passing provoked much more indignation when Tom’s family flagrantly shut down Shane out of the funeral and expunged their entire life together as if it never happened, it is an atrocious transgression towards our very basic canon as human beings, it is love unites us, differentiates us and sublimates us from other creatures on earth, and propels our society to move on to a better world, so even though BRIDEGROOM (which is Tom’s family name, what a pertinent one!) is hardly a ground-breaking piece of art work (SMS interaction, video footages, travel photography is all it has to render the narrative aside common interviews with apt editing), it is a film should not be missed and I do hope the cost of a young life can be at least in some level compensated by awakening more conservative minds to evaluate the world with a more humane mind and encouraging more individuals to embrace their true color. Also, best wishes to Shane, you are lucky enough to experience true love and don’t lose hope, live long and prosper!
    Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2014
    9
    I believe this movie provides a different view for the people who may not believe in gay rights. It allows the viewer to think, "Wow, what ifI believe this movie provides a different view for the people who may not believe in gay rights. It allows the viewer to think, "Wow, what if that was my significant other." I enjoyed this movie because it gives a different outlook on love. Expand

See all 6 User Reviews

Trailers