Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    May 11, 2011
    50
    Bridesmaids is bipolar filmmaking at its most disconcerting, with changes in tone so abrupt that they can cause whiplash. In part because of this and in part because the writing is often lazy and self-indulgent, the movie rarely works.
  2. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    May 12, 2011
    60
    If this sounds like a typical date movie, worry not. It's very much an Apatow production-though the crasser additions, like his already-notorious food poisoning scene, feel painfully forced.
  3. Reviewed by: David Denby
    May 16, 2011
    50
    It's essentially a skit idea, not a dramatic idea, and the best the movie does with it is to repeat it. What saves Bridesmaids is Feig's love of performers - in particular, his love of actresses.
  4. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    Apr 30, 2011
    40
    A sluggish, charmless misfire in which even the most appealing players -- must try too hard to make anything close to an engaging impression.
  5. Reviewed by: David Fear
    May 10, 2011
    60
    Wiig comes out a winner, but nothing is worse than watching a perfect marriage of performer and material get so perversely undermined.
  6. Reviewed by: Karina Longworth
    May 10, 2011
    60
    Many of the chaotic set pieces cataloging Annie's self-destruction have a kind of dumb crassness that works against Bridesmaids' often smart, highly class-conscious deconstruction of female friendship and competition.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 462 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 142
  2. Negative: 27 out of 142
  1. May 13, 2011
    10
    This is by far the funniest film of 2011 so far, I'm not sure if it will continue to be with Hangover part 2 coming out and other promisingThis is by far the funniest film of 2011 so far, I'm not sure if it will continue to be with Hangover part 2 coming out and other promising comedies arriving this year, but this was a blast! It is very hard for me to find something I didn't enjoy about this movie. The performances were brilliant and the dialog was clever and witty! Full Review »
  2. Sep 9, 2011
    1
    I'm perplexed - how can a film that is supposed to be one of the funniest movies of the year, be so bad and unfunny? To say it's in the sameI'm perplexed - how can a film that is supposed to be one of the funniest movies of the year, be so bad and unfunny? To say it's in the same league as Hangover is bizarre - absolutely no comparison. What a complete waste of time. Full Review »
  3. May 13, 2011
    0
    My god, that hour and a half dragged on and on and would not end. I was so happy when those end credits rolled and i ran ou the theater.My god, that hour and a half dragged on and on and would not end. I was so happy when those end credits rolled and i ran ou the theater. Thankfully, i vowed NEVER to watch this movie again. If i see it in a 5 dollar bin, i'll BURN it. If i see a poster for it on eBay, i'll buy it and BURN it. Avoid this movie, go see Priest or Thor. Or Fast Five. Full Review »