User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 431 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 431

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 13, 2011
    10
    This is by far the funniest film of 2011 so far, I'm not sure if it will continue to be with Hangover part 2 coming out and other promising comedies arriving this year, but this was a blast! It is very hard for me to find something I didn't enjoy about this movie. The performances were brilliant and the dialog was clever and witty!
  2. Sep 9, 2011
    1
    I'm perplexed - how can a film that is supposed to be one of the funniest movies of the year, be so bad and unfunny? To say it's in the same league as Hangover is bizarre - absolutely no comparison. What a complete waste of time.
  3. May 13, 2011
    0
    My god, that hour and a half dragged on and on and would not end. I was so happy when those end credits rolled and i ran ou the theater. Thankfully, i vowed NEVER to watch this movie again. If i see it in a 5 dollar bin, i'll BURN it. If i see a poster for it on eBay, i'll buy it and BURN it. Avoid this movie, go see Priest or Thor. Or Fast Five.
  4. May 13, 2011
    8
    Best described as MY BEST FRIEND'S WEDDING meets THE HANGOVER, BRIDESMAIDS is a fresh take on a stale genre - it's an occasionally sweet, frequently gross, thoroughly engaging, sporadically smart, slightly edgy, repeatedly over-the-top and emotionally straight forward movie that's fun for all age-appropriate groups...including moms (mine gave it an A-). BRIDESMAIDS may have its minor flaws (heavily edited; over two hours long) but it still delivers the summer-comedy goods! Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2011
    4
    Not as good as I expected. There were only a couple of funny parts. I felt it was a movie about bad things happening to one person, none of which were that persons fault. This movie isn't for everyone. You have to like a certain kind of comedy to like this movie.
  6. Sep 25, 2011
    3
    I really looked forward to this movie, as I thought it looked hilarious in the trailers, and I like many of the actresses in it, but it was nothing like what I expected. It had the opportunity to be really funny, but instead went from funny to sad to pathetic. My wife and I ended up turning it off.
  7. Sep 26, 2011
    7
    I surprisingly liked "Bridesmaids". Its more funnier than "The Hangover", and more girlish then "Sex and the City". Possibly one of the best winning comedies of the year.
  8. May 22, 2011
    2
    The fact that the general public loved this movie is awfully depressing, but not at all surprising. (Judd Apatow has, after all, become, the cultural barometer of our time.) The fact that several leading citiics found bathroom humor, upchucking, raunchy sexual scenes, temper tantrums, and other bad outtakes from (the past decade of) Saturday Night Live to be funny, insightful, or otherwise groundbreaking, simply because it was about women (and because the upchucking was just "implied"), may be an indication that the end of the world (or at least the end of the civilized world) is coming (despite the failed prediction of Harold Camping). Is Hollywood's view of women so negative that a scene of an overweight woman taking a **** on a sink and other women puking on each other is considered progress? The only funny sequence in the movie was that of Kristen Wiig (who can, upon occasion, be funny) trying to get Chris O'Dowd to arrest her because of the various ways in which she's breaking the law with her driving, and the only slightly touching feature was the relationship between Wiig and O'Dowd. Most of the rest of the movie, as others have suggested, was mostly a mixture of torture and mind-numbing cliches than anything else. (Then there was the mother who brought her young child to the showing that I attended...) Expand
  9. May 13, 2011
    4
    This movie is totally mistitled and misleading. It should have been titled "The Bridesmaid" singular. There was no strong female clique as advertising would suggest. Nothing like "The Hangover" ensemble. No, this is a movie focused on the Maid of Honor/Bridesmaid, which totally gives it a different tone than expected. You feel trapped in an emotional rollercoaster rather than a comedy. So, yeah, for a "Bridesmaids" movie, as it is, this movie was overall boring and long and only seldom humorous. And for a rated R movie, it should have had more suggestive/sexual content to be frank and hotter guys (and this is coming from a guy's perspective). Expand
  10. Sep 23, 2011
    0
    Well ladies welcome to the world of "women can be a much a pig as a man can." It seems the entire point of this film was to illustrate to the world that women can be as digusting as their counterparts are espoused to be. Quite an achievement. I couldn't wait for this piece of garbage to be over. There wasn't a single performance in this piece worth remembering. The script wasn't focused. The characters were caricatures. It seems the public will laugh at anything now. I'm surprised one of these broads [cause not a single one of them deserves to be called a "lady" or a "woman"] didn't whip out a used tampon to illustrate a point. Sad and pathetic. Expand
  11. May 18, 2011
    0
    Oh my .. i totally agree with tdi7457. I couldn't wait for the movie to end. I only found very few scenes funny. It was an ordeal sitting through it. I kept waiting for it to get better and it just never did. The sister of the groom was the only highlight .... it was a waste of my time. I would rather have had dental work ...
  12. Jun 3, 2011
    4
    Bridesmaids was an absolutely painful movie to watch for more than two hours. Yes, it had it's Judd Apatow moments that make anybody with a sense of humor laugh; on the other hand, there were so many poorly edited scenes that, if watched with a fresh eye, could have made the movie much, much shorter. I'd say any chick with a sense of humor will love this, but don't think it's a movie for everyone. Guys: save your money. Collapse
  13. Jun 4, 2011
    0
    Given the huge build up and enthusiastic reviews, this is one of the most disappointing movies I have seen in a long, long time. It swings between the maudlin to the just plain unfunny with an over abundance of potty jokes. Robert Evans has said, "if it is not on the page, it won't be on the screen." There is nothin on the screen. This is a movie of no surprises, no twists ( humorous or otherwise) filled with cliche cardboard characters and a predictable plot line. The acting, save for Ms. Wiik, is first rate as is the photography, editing. Too bad they were trapped in this dross of a production. Expand
  14. Sep 24, 2011
    2
    This movie is terrible. The critics thought it was good?! YUCKO- forgive my sophmoric adjective- in line with the movie i would say! The only bright spot was Annie's policeman friend. And Melissa McCarthy is funny and does best she can with semi crappy lines. Don't bother
  15. nbc
    May 14, 2011
    10
    Super Good. Maya Rudolph and Kristen Wiig were hilarious and spot on. I honestly laughed throughout the entire movie.
  16. Oct 7, 2011
    0
    WOW, I can't believe this movie has high ratings. This is one of the worst movies I have seen lately especially as its labelled comedy but comes nothing close to it. Was this movie even suppose to be funny, I thought I was watching a morning drama?
  17. May 30, 2011
    5
    Whether you're going for thoughtful comedy or all-out comedy, you gotta keep the laughs comin' man. I walked in thinking that a Kristen Wiig penned script would deliver, but really it just slugged along. I wanted the laughs to come out quick and relentless like diarrhea (see BRIDESMAIDS), but it just came out slow, awkward and not enough (see, um BRIDESMAIDS). It's a dramedy - You really gotta know your **** to pull off one of those turds. Expand
  18. May 14, 2011
    10
    This is by far the funniest movie of the year and of the past ten years as well. It is the only comedy I've ever seen that has you screaming with laughter at slapstick antics one minute and crying the next. Kristen Wiig deserves an Oscar and her supporting cast is aces. The movie is an instant classic and a must-see for anybody, Do not listen to negative reviews of this movie. Just go and laugh yourself hoarse. Expand
  19. May 14, 2011
    10
    Laughed until I cried, just about the whole way through. Not a chick-flick either. The guy sitting next to me came by himself. I think we both nearly wet ourselves we laughed so hard. Hysterical!!
  20. Sep 8, 2011
    0
    Waste of time. Better off watching Bad Teacher even though that was a disappointment too, or you could watch paint dry, there's always that. My expectations were average didn't expect much, but even then expecting it to be average was too high. Stupid humor. Stupid story. The only thing good about this movie is Ellie Kemper, Melissa McCarthy and Chris O'Dowd. And even then, Melissa's character is horrible and annoying, she is so much better in Mike & Molly. The only scenes I could actually slightly enjoying and pay attention to without annoyance and disappointment were the scenes with O'Dowd Expand
  21. May 27, 2011
    10
    These women are funny and smart. Bravo to everyone involved, from Kristen Wiig and Annie Mumolo to Paul Feig and Judd Apatow to the superbly talented cast. Funny is funny.
  22. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    See-it - Kristen Wiig is officially the next big thing in comedy, and proves it in her leading role as a maid of honor in this R-rated, female-driven, Judd Apatow comedy.
  23. Sep 22, 2011
    0
    What a letdown. I heard so many good things about this movie and couldn't wait for it's release on dvd. My wife and I watched ot last night and both of us came away feeling we had not only wasted $4 but more importantly nearly 2 hours of our lives. You can't get that back. So take my advice and do something more important for 2 hours. Scrub your bathroom, mow the lawn, clean out the garage, take the dog on a walk, take a nap, have your teeth cleaned at the dentist, go see some other movie. Doing just about anything for 2 hours instead of watching this garbage will leave you feeling much better about yourself. Expand
  24. Aug 8, 2011
    6
    I even found the movie funny in some scenes, like the one of the dressing-room, which was hilarious. But I still donâ
  25. Jun 9, 2011
    0
    In all honesty, I was expecting a better movie, as Judd Apatow was involved. The movie does have an emotional core which redeems the proceedings somewhat and makes it better than The Hangover. However, this film more than any other shows that males and females have reached a dubious parity in low humour. I did laugh a lot especially in the early part of the film but less and less as the film progressed. Some gags went on painfully long and I was inwardly shouting, enough already, move on. To it's merit, this is a ladies film and I noted that the audience was 99.9% female at the showing that I saw. They laughed a lot and no doubt Bridemaids 2 is already in the works. I won't be there for #2 though as I saw enough of it in #1. Expand
  26. Jul 27, 2011
    2
    Now I did enjoy this as I was dragged to the cinema with girlfriend but only compared to other films like this. Very unimagintive story wise in my eyes as it was so predictable. The larger of the bridesmaids was funny but the lead charecter the bride and the annoying I'm perfect girl was just too much and teh cop was just rubbish. Funny in parts but in general poor.
  27. Jul 10, 2011
    4
    Had something going for it and i laughed at loud at a couple of scenes but it loses its way and becomes intensely boring with a school girl ending where everyone ends up friends. I got so bored i left about 10 minutes before the end....Nothing more to say.
  28. Jun 5, 2011
    0
    Not worth the money. Bathroom humor is not a girl thing in my opinion. The beginning was lame, the ending sweet, and everything in the middle pointless. If you want to see it, wait for the video. Maya Rudolph was the only real actress here (and Jill Clayburgh) but it wasn't enough. I do have a question, why wasn't Jon Hamm in the credits?
  29. Jul 7, 2011
    1
    This has to be one of the worst movies of the year that we have seen... full of potty-mouth humor(?), graphic scenes of people vomiting, showing extended and annoying sex scenes, children cursing their parents, etc. Did the director really conceive this was funny or did he just assume that there was a paying audience for this crap? We all know about what happens when you get food poisoning, how sex works, etc, but showing it in such graphic detail (like having a bowel movement in the street!!) just does nothing for us. Honestly, there may be one or two funny lines in the whole movie, but we did not wait to see what else may have been coming because we walked out after an hour (we should have left earlier). My rating: Disgusting! Expand
  30. Jul 14, 2011
    4
    Every scene too long, no character particularly sympathetic (certainly not the lead), very little to laugh at, and a thin, well, actually, no plot: I don't know how this film has garnered so much praise.
  31. Sep 29, 2011
    0
    This IS the most disappointing movie I have seen this year. I saw the high ratings on IMDb, and even great ratings on otherwise unforgiving meta-critics so i gave it a shot. What a mistake. Movie is mildly saying...catastrophic. The humor, the plot, the lines...its like its been made by 10 year old girl. I really cant believe that people found this movie hilarious or funny. It starts a bit promising but i was
    preparing myself for awesomeness that has been promised from various
    reviews, and i waited and waited....but nothing happened. The acting
    itself is not that bad, but the plot, cliché dialogs, and dullness was
    killing my brain cells. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

    p.s. So disappointed with metacritic reviewers and critics :(
    Expand
  32. Oct 9, 2011
    2
    Such a disappointment! The sisters were supposed to give us something hilarious to admire. A string of lame SNL skits with uninspired writing masked with sight gags. I suppose "awkward" is the new funny.
  33. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This movie is crap, figuratively and literally. It's a sad example of how low people's idea of humour has plummeted. And a quite shocking display of bad taste by the metacritics.
  34. Sep 2, 2012
    0
    This was terrible. I might have given it a marginally higher score but I couldn't finish it; therefore, it receives a 0. The vomit and diarrhea scene was so shockingly not funny that nothing else would redeem this cinematic catastrophe. I'm shocked this movie was reviewed as well as it was. I've heard from many friends who said it was funny. However, I find it rather telling that the friend who insisted I watch it with her was far less amused the second time she watched it. Then again, perhaps it was the look of repulsed horror on my face that changed her mind. I watched the movie up to the point where the vile females vomit on each other, another purges her bowels in the sink, and the bride-to-be squats in the street to release her bowels while wearing a wedding dress. The only memorable parts of this travesty that I'm unable to forget are colored with vulgarity and long embarrassing jokes that are simply uncomfortable to watch.
    This film does do an excellent job of painting women as spiteful, petty, helpless, vulgar, and foul. Perhaps somebody finds that funny but I'm simply appalled. To add insult to injury, I'm quite confident I can predict the ending so I'm glad I don't need to watch the rest of it.
    Expand
  35. May 16, 2011
    7
    Surprisingly, I've had a tougher time assigning a score to this movie than to any other I've seen this year. I laughed hard with it, but it's not something that I anticipate watching again and again like I did with other high profile comedies such as The Hangover or Wedding Crashers. There are some big laughs in it, and it really does have a lot to say about relationships among female friends (I think!), but it didn't come together in such a way that I'll find myself quoting it or thinking too much about it. Perhaps it's Kristen Wiig. She's a terrific actress, but she's not a dominant personality. Maybe that's required for the lead actor in an uproarious comedy. What I will say is that the supporting actors are tremendous - with the exception of John Hamm. He has no feel for comedy - even though the press seems to fawn over him when he does SNL, etc. Expand
  36. Nov 5, 2011
    7
    One would think it's kind of "The Hangover" with women - and it kind of is. "Bridesmaids" is extremely entertaining; there is never a dull moment in the film. The story of bridesmaids trying to have fun and organise a great wedding for their friend is, actually, overshadowed by the personal troubles of the lead character, Annie. And while rather depressing at times with her issues, the film is written rather cleverly making it seem as if everything will be alright in the end. After all, it is a comedy, so one expects from the beginning to get a happy ending (of some sort). Kristen Wiig, whom I've never seen before on screen, was simply amazing as Annie - very naturally acted role, convincing and highly entertaining. The other performances are generally pretty decent. The film does, however, have a number of clichés in it and it is certainly no Oscar-worthy material, but it is entertaining, funny, charming and keeps you engaged. It is everything a comedy of this type should be! Good film! Expand
  37. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "You're putting the p**** on a pedestal," Jay complains to Andy Stitzer, the sexual naif in "The 40-Year-Old Virgin", the 2005 gross-out comedy that stole the genre's mantle away from the previously undisputed kings of good-natured sexism, Peter & Bobby Farrelly. It's Jay's opinion that Andy's apprehension towards women stems from his overvaluation of the vagina. The "p****", according to the video equipment salesman, is not some "great big goddess named "P***alia" whom you can never approach. He tells Andy to stop psyching himself out. When it comes to uneasiness concerning female genitalia, however, nobody can beat the Catholic church. As a matter of fact, both Jay and the Orthodox officials seem to believe that the female sex and the female sex organ are one and the same. At the outset of "The Magdalene Sisters"(or what I like to call, "The Song That Bono Forgot to Write"), a wedding is in progress, where Bernadette, through no fault of her own, gets raped by a first cousin, but be that as it may, ends up at an asylum for "fallen women", because in the church's eyes, a compromised vagina is a compromised vagina, regardless of how it ended up that way. Recalling the scene in "Porky's" where Pee-Wee and his friends turn the girls' shower room into a peepshow, "The Magdalene Sisters" too becomes a gross-out comedy, but this time nobody is laughing, as two nuns, acting more like adolescent boys than servants of the Lord, objectify and humiliate a lineup of buck-naked girls by comparing their breast sizes and pubic hair density in a contest. Furthermore, whereas the teacher howls like a wolfess when she has sex with a fellow colleague, the priest is "not a man of God", but a dog(a practitioner of "outercourse", as defined by the health clinic counselor in the Apatow film), who receives oral sex from a mentally-challenged girl. Catholicism keeps people(especially women) in bondage, just like the action figures Andy retains in their hermetically-sealed boxes. As chance would have it, the virgin's follicle-rich chest, metaphorically speaking, could be a hairshirt, sometimes called a cilice, made from goat's hair that sinners wore as penance for their transgressions. Jay, who complains to Moog, "Why are you always telling me to f*ck a goat?" can't watch the waxing, because down deep inside, he knows that the wrong man is being punished. Unlike the asylum priest, Andy doesn't practice even the most mildest form of outercourse. When the virgin receives a box of porn from David, he ends up watching "Everybody Loves Raymond". Not wanting to be obvious about the sexism(and running critique about said sexism) that subsists in "The 40-Year-Old Virgin", the filmmaker punishes the next best thing to a woman: an emasculated man, so it's Andy, who unfairly pays for the subjugation of women, a filmic chastening facilitated by a stealthy conservatism that belies the numerous references to extreme sex acts, among them, bestiality and anal intercourse. Encapsulated in his raw, bloody nipples is an auto-criticism of the film's sexual content. "Knocked Up", shares with its predecessor the same silent dialectic in which Catholic dogma gets masked by a seemingly nihilistic purview, save for the fact that Alison never considers abortion as a viable option to her, initially anyway, unwanted pregnancy. At least "Juno" goes through the motions of feminism when the pregnant teen visits a clinic before she has second thoughts about the procedure. Likewise, the fetus is a person to Ben. The expectant father worries that his penis will reach the unborn child during intercourse, therefore scarring the developing infant for life. In other words, "Knocked Up" endorses the belief that the fetus has a consciousness. "Bridesmaids", on the other hand, is free of the latent Catholicism abiding itself surreptitiously in the aforementioned films. It's no accident that Wilson Phillips makes a cameo late in this uber-chick flick, performing the soft-rock classic "Hold On" at Lilian's wedding. The early-nineties refugees give the women permission to behave badly without any patriarchal moralizing. They help their sisters "break free from the chains" of traditional religion by infusing the diegesis with paganism. Unlike Catholics, who believe that only humans have a soul, pagans practice animism, a conviction that everything has a spirit. Indeed, the pedigreed girls seem to be practicing animism in the music video for their 1990 smash, where they sit on rocks atop a mountain, surrounded by trees, not crosses. The great outdoors is their church. In "Bridesmaids", what do you know, they perform in the open air. So if Becca and Rita want to experiment with lesbianism, no robed man is going to judge them. The same goes for Annie, who has rigorous sex with a f*** buddy, and talks openly about oral sex with Lillian. As equal opportunity anarchists go, it's hard to beat this wedding party. Expand
  38. May 26, 2011
    10
    Great Movie! Absolutely hilarious. Kristen Wiig and Melissa Mcarthy are great. I highly recommend anyone who likes to laugh go out and see this one.
  39. May 15, 2011
    10
    I say, without a shadow of a doubt, that this was the funniest movie I've seen since 40 year-old virgin. It actually trumps The Hangover in sheer amounts of laugh-out-loud moments. For some people, the all-female cast is going to be enough to deter them from coming to the theater. These people are sexists, and more importantly, they're missing out. Comic genius Kristen Wiig is in top form here, as well as stellar supporting performances from Maya Rudolph and Melissa McCarthy. This is the best comedy of the last 5 years, with far more heart and hilarity than Hollywood's had to offer recently. Expand
  40. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    This movie is amazing. Although, I feel like the title is a bit of a misnomer and the movie is misadvertised, because I thought it was going to be about a group of bridesmaids going to a bachelorette party (more like the Hangover), but it's really just the story of Kristen Wiig's character, who happens to be the maid of honor. It's actually nothing like the Hangover at all, there's not even a bachelorette party in the movie. But, that's really what made the movie great, and unique. It's a bit ridiculous at times, and Kristen Wiig never strays far from her characters on SNL, but it's still really funny and greatly entertaining. I do have to say that if you do not like Kristen Wiig on SNL, you may not like this movie. There are so many funny parts that I can't remember them all, which makes me want to see the movie again. I will most likely buy this movie on DVD when it comes out. Expand
  41. Aug 20, 2012
    9
    Comedy is so hard to pull off...and this one plays so many notes so well; maybe it hits my feminine taste, but I just found it fun, charming and pretty close to real. That's what it was ...so close to real, but with one fine and witty twist after another. Well done!
  42. May 22, 2011
    9
    I hope this movie leads to even bigger things for Kristen Wiig and Melissa McCarthy. A good balance between emotional realism and some truly absurd comedy. A lot of laughs and some scenes that were both painful and funny. Melissa McCarthy is a real discovery for me; she nails every scene she is in.
  43. May 15, 2011
    10
    We loved this movie! Very,very funny and sweet. Loved the cast of characters and actors involved. The storyline was great. A day later, I still think of the movie and smile.
  44. May 19, 2011
    7
    The best stuff (and there's a lot here) makes it worth sitting through the drudgery of tone deaf scenes and an standard stitched together ending. You can actually see the scenes that were pissed in by the suits who backed this movie. They get it mostly right and it's flat-out wonderful to see ladies get as nasty as the Hangover boys. Still, I can't wait for a director's cut.
  45. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    Judging by the attendees at the theatre, approx 80% female, I figured this would be mostly chick flick. And while it had elements of that, its much broader in its appeal. A really funny movie that is well written, acted and paced. And it's the type of film that will be just as good at home as it is in the theatre. See it.
  46. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    Kirsten Wiig is hilarious in this version of Hangover where girls go to the extreme. A sequence of funny (and difficult to forget) moments make up one of the funniest films of the year. Go girls!
  47. May 21, 2011
    10
    When I left the theater, my sides and cheeks hurt from laughing and all my mascara was gone. My friends and I were laughing as we left the theater and kept laughing as we recounted scenes on the way home. It is the funniest movie I've ever seen! I highly recommend it!
  48. May 16, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kristen Wiig co-wrote and stars as the maid of honor who has abundant complications with and without her new posse of bridesmaids. The script is smart, has heart and is full of funny situations (some of them hilarious). The cast is crammed with delightful comic support and the direction energetically pulls it all together. This is already a classic and one of the funniest films to come along in a whileâ Expand
  49. May 28, 2011
    10
    Uproariously funny. I had pains in my side at several times from laughing so hard. The entire cast is great, especially Melissa McCarthy in a wildly different role from what she's known for on television. This is the funniest film in years and an absolute delight. I can't wait to see it again.
  50. May 16, 2011
    8
    This movie proves that women can succeed with low-brow bathroom humor as well as the guys. The movie seems to meander a bit in parts and seems unfocused, but gets back on track. It could have used a little more editing. BUT, when it was funny it was really, really funny. The scene in the posh store when they are trying on wedding dresses was hilarious. Not quite as good as The Hangover as an ensemble piece. A couple of the bridesmaids are barely used and forgettable, so the chemistry as a group is not always there, but funny anyway. A good comedy. Expand
  51. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    It would be foolhardy to dismiss this film as just a chick flick, especially if you've got a dark sense of humor. The story is touching but never sentimental, the characters are all hilarious and it grips you from start to finish. It somehow manages to nail that balance between being a film that doesn't stake itself seriously but somehow makes you feel a genuine connection to the characters and to the subject matter. A feel good film that's completely honest and non precious. It's brilliant to see realistic, diverse female characters in a film behaving like most females do and not like your usual superficial Hollywood mannequins. A perfect film in every way and easily one of the funniest ever made. Don't watch it with your mum or your nan though Expand
  52. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    Beautiful and funny story of friendship ... I laughed a lot, mmmmm I have nothing more to say that Melissa McCarthy was incredible as the rest of the cast ... recommended
  53. May 17, 2011
    10
    Went with a mixed crowd of men and women. All ten of us LOVED the film. Laugh-out-loud funny throughout the movie: perfect mix of smart and dumb comedy. We found ourselves trying to one-up the table with quotes from the movie at dinner, afterward -- usually a good sign. Amazing comedic cast is worth the price of admission. Tim Heidecker has no lines, but he's just funny standing in the background. Melissa McCarthy will make you shoot soda out of your nose. Guaranteed.

    Overall, a really good time.
    Expand
  54. CBZ
    Jun 16, 2011
    8
    Much better than the Hangover 2, it delivers a very complete package for all audiences.
    Its a chick flick opened for men too, this is not the Notebook.
  55. May 18, 2011
    9
    It's kind of like Sex and The City, except take out all the annoying and unfunny parts and make them hilarious. While no movie is worth the twenty bucks it takes to take your lady friend to the theater these days this one certainly came closer than others.
  56. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    Produced by Judd Apatow the man behind films like Knocked Up and Pineapple Express, Bridesmaids is being called the female version of The Hangover, with one group walk in slow motion and the characters being a group of girls rather than group of guys there is nothing else in the movie that can be compared. Hilarious movie for both men and women I would recommend this to everyone, this is far from a chick flick. Expand
  57. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    I bought my ticket for "Bridesmaids" with one goal in mind - to laugh. I did. Out loud. Several times. So, mission accomplished. Then I noticed a generous helping of gravy. This movie was successful on several levels, but the one which provided me with the most pleasant surprise was the true-to-life characters and spot-on casting. The characters in "Bridesmaids" started off as, well, just that...characters. By the end of the movie, those same characters became real and more three dimensional. If Kristin Wiig was not spot-on perfect for the lead, Melissa McCarthey would have stole the show. Maya Rudolph was great as the bride - a good performance which supported the others in a subdued, bride-to-be way that let Wiig and McCarthey strut their stuff. 2011's not-so-chicky-chick-flick! Expand
  58. Aug 8, 2011
    7
    Last review of a triumvirate: I saw this, Change-Up, and Horrible Bosses all in one weekend. This was in the middle. It's a solid movie, definitely, with GREAT acting by Kristen Wiig, some great humor and surprises, and a good story arc. It's just a little too formulaic and predictable, but still very well acted with a good cast. Props to Melissa McCarthy for delivering a really well-acted character, too. Expand
  59. May 22, 2011
    9
    More than I expected. I thought it was going to be a female version of Hangover and it was far from that. It was the comedy I though it was going to be. But more importantly it was fine character study with real good satire.
  60. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    This is not the kind of comedy I usually go and see, but I enjoyed it. I was expecting something slicker and hackneyed, this has original characters and fresh, funny, unexpected moments interspised with the slapstick set-pieces.
  61. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    Nailed it! This film is incredibly funny. The cast is as strong as ever, perhaps more stronger than The Hangover cast? Though the comparison is unfair, one cannot help but consider this film a companion piece to The Hangover. Melissa McCarthy's character steals the show, much like Galifianakis did with his role. Wiig is superb and she cracked me up in nearly every scene. She is the awkward character that most of us can relate to here, and she displays this role with such hilarious realism. However, though I have enjoyed Rudolph's work in the past with SNL, she just seems so fake and unrealistic in her film roles. Regardless, her performance does little damage to the overall film, which is a non-stop comedic masterpiece. Expand
  62. May 16, 2011
    9
    Delightful. Kristen Wiig and her co-writer Annie Mumolo hammered out a delightful story. Their movie was made by some great actors and crew. It's definitely Wiig's movie -- there's something very grounded but ethereal about her performance, and it seems like it's that kind of energy which flows though the entire movie. I also noticed there were a fair amount of two-shots throughout the movie, which always makes me think someone (or some people) really thought through the whole sha bang. About 10 minutes into it, I immediately thought, "Dag, KW comes across so much more beautifully on the movie screen as opposed to the tv screen". Expand
  63. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    This was by far the most entertaining movie I have seen this year. Excellent acting, and an even better plot. I am going to buy this movie so I can watch it over and over again.
  64. Jun 10, 2011
    6
    For me I have to get lost in a movie to really enjoy it. There were too many times in this movie that set off that little message in my head that said "this just wouldn't happen!" Lots of laughs and some great performances by character actors, but if I were the cop I'd have been running in the other direction. Sometimes less is more when you're going for the laughs. This was just a bit too much!
  65. May 18, 2011
    10
    Loved this movie! One of my favorite for the year! It's about time that a good comedy came out. Kirsten Wig needs to write more movies! If you don't see this one, you are missing out!
  66. May 19, 2011
    9
    One of the best movies of the year!!! Hysterical scenes that are actually tied together with a decent story line. Hooray for female comedians - Kristen Wiig and Melissa McCarthy are AWESOME!
  67. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    Bridesmaids seems to have been dubbed "The Hangover for girls" by just about everyone. It really isn't. The Hangover can only dream of being this funny, well-written and honest. The film gets the balance of comedy just right - the jokes are dirty but never tasteless, it's sweary but rarely excessive, and you can never go wrong with a good old-fashioned bit of slapstick. The overall quality of Bridesmaids can be almost entirely credited to Kristen Wiig. As well as playing the lead, Annie (a well-developed and rounded character, and a compellingly relatable protagonist), she co-wrote the film, and was one of the main driving forces behind its development. Wiig proves she is a great comic and dramatic talent, and the rest of the cast all add something to the film - Rose Byrne's Helen is the perfect rich **** Chris O'Dowd's good-natured and by-the book Officer Rhodes makes a great love interest for Annie, and Melissa McCarthy provides a good proportion of the chuckles as the borderline-psychotic, sex-crazed sister of the groom, Megan. The laughs are plentiful throughout, but the best scenes by far are those where Annie and Helen try and compete for the Bride's (Maya Rudolph) affections (though the scene where the bridesmaids get food poisoning while trying on dresses and where Annie exchanges progressively more brutal insults with a pre-teen girl aren't far behind). Bridesmaids isn't just worth a watch because of the novelty of an almost entirely female-driven comedy film. It's a great film, end-of. It's got some brilliant performances, drama and truckloads of great gags. It's the funniest film of the year by a long way, and if we see more like this in the near future, then I'll be very happy, and crying with laughter for a good while. Expand
  68. May 21, 2011
    8
    How long has it been since there has been a worthwhile adult comedy? Personally, I would have to go back to The Other Guys last year, and that was more about "moments" than the whole package. Bridesmaids feels like that to me. It is the best adult comedy I have seen all year, but mostly for some shining moments, it did not quite pull it all together for me. Regardless, it did something very important. It created a niche for itself in a category that had yet to exist-The Adult Female Comedy. It is the female perspective that many of the jokes stem from (save the wedding store bit-I could see that playing right at home in a male led comedy) that gives the film something fresh. The ending leaves you wanting a bit from the resolution to the romance side-plot, which had been handled well up until then, but overall, this is a solid comedy. At a time when Hollywood struggles to make us laugh, I am all for some new blood in the theater-female or otherwise. Expand
  69. May 21, 2011
    10
    This movie was hilarious. I basically had to drag my friends to this and got a lot of sour looks when we found that we were the only guys in the theater. But when the movie started, there were jokes that only we were laughing at. Despite being a female cast, this has some hilarious guy humor as well and is anything but a chick flick. Every role in the movie is acted with so much passion that you can't help but love or hate the characters and disassociate them with the actors that play them. Its partially that passion and partially just stellar writing that makes this one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. Expand
  70. May 27, 2011
    10
    This moving was absolutely hilarious!! Lots of fun, raunchy humor and way better than I expected!!! I loved it! It's definitely a movie I would see again as I'm sure there were parts I missed!!! Great summer movie!
  71. May 28, 2011
    10
    This was a **** funny movie. Different than I expected, a unique balance between raunchy slapstick comedy and real-life, relatable issues and relationships that made me glad I am no longer single.

    What I also realized was that there are no movies that show girls (women) doing and saying the things that these women did and said. I liked it because this is how i act with my friends and
    my sisters, these are the types of things we say to each other, the things we talk about. And yeah, its not some deep, meaningful **** its just life and the way we make each other laugh and get over awful, ****ty things. It just felt really good to laugh with these women who were like me and my friends. Expand
  72. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    20/10! This movie was HILARIOUS! This is the definition of a sleeper hit. Nobody expected this movie to do good with critics and it was never expected to make that much money but as of now it has a 75 and its made 85 mil through 3 weeks released. Kristen Wiig i have never been really a fan of, she was good in whip it though, but she was hilarious in this movie. I've never been a big Maya Rudolph fan either but she was great in this movie, and Melissa McCarthy made this movie, she was absolutely hilarious. She was the star of the film. I give this movie a 20/10 because it is even funnier than the hangover i swear! Definitely worth your time and your money. Expand
  73. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    Don't let the name Bridesmaids fool you. I am calling it now this is hands down the best comedy of 2011. Kristen Wiig and Rose Byrne shine in the female. Anchorman except with a better story line!!! So new and refreshing!
  74. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    I laughed out loud many times during Bridesmaids. Kristen Wiig was funny (and only occasionally slipped into SNL characters), and Rose Byrne and Jon Hamm show great comedy chops! And perhaps most importantly: there was actually a nice little story there! My only complaint is that because of the language and one bathroom scene, I can't recommend this film to my parents, but if you're college-age to about 50 or so, you'll probably enjoy it very much. Expand
  75. Jun 19, 2011
    7
    I liked this movie, I liked the ladies, and I liked the characters, too. I think everybody involved did a really neat job putting it together, getting everybody together to have fun. I don't think it's a great comedy, but it's a good one with some very funny moments in it, like the part where they're trying on dresses at a bridal shop, I won't go into details, but there are also moments that lose momentum and slow things down. It goes for two hours, which is long for this kind of movie, and there are a few parts that could've been left on the cutting-room floor, but it did well in keeping my attention, because I liked the characters and I cared what happened to them, despite my knowing a happy ending was well on the way. Kristen Wiig is a really lovely lead, and her script she co-wrote with Annie Mumulo was brilliantly written. Melissa McCarthy steals the show, she's hilarious, and her character, Megan, is a really honest one. I liked Chris O'Dowd as well, I thought he made a very charming and funny love interest. Another thing Kristen and Annie did well writing the movie was keeping all the bridesmaids involved in what's happening, I never felt I didn't see enough of certain characters. Expand
  76. Jul 26, 2011
    8
    While the regular mainstream chick flick often comes across as forced pandering to womens interests and woes, Bridesmaids is a clever film with some genuine depth, and has believable characters and life learning situations. I found myself rooting for the lead character and her peril and later the supporting cast became equally significant. There are some VERY funny scenes that while pushing the line dont over step it, at least too far and become too vulgar or inappropriate. Bridesmaids was highly enjoyable and a great example to how romcoms can be both entertaining and genuine. Highly recommended. Expand
  77. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    I thought this movie was extremely funny. It was a little longer than needed. But it had some of the funniest stuff this year. The dress buying and the plane ride to be specific. I liked everybody in the film. I found a lot of it very believable.

    Definitely one of the better comedies of late.
  78. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    Boasted by its bold director and lovable leading actresses, Bridesmaids singles itself out to be one of the finest, funniest, and clever rom-coms in recent years.
  79. Jun 26, 2011
    9
    There seems to be a growing trend of great comedic scripts written by the great comedic actors who understand the language better than anyone. We've seen this in many Judd Apatow productions and so far, I believe, it's passed with flying colors. Bridesmaids is easily the funniest film of 2011 and I have a hard time believing anything else will come along to take that glory from it.
  80. Jul 23, 2011
    6
    Bridesmaids is a good film. A Really Funny Movie And The Cast Was Very Good. My only problem with this film is that its kind of a girly film and men cant really relate to what they do. But overall a good film and i would give this film a low matinee!
  81. Dec 28, 2011
    4
    I finally took time out to see Bridesmaids, and plain and simple: It wasn't worth it. This is commonly cited as the female version of the Hangover, and I can see why; Its loud, raunchy and most of all it's Overrated. The movie is sluggish and filled to the brim with simple minded, toilet humor. It has some laughs here and there but overall the humor was forced (eg. the food poisoning scene). Story-wise, the movie may have been fine, but this was overshadowed by all the mess. It is also bizarre that Mellisa McCarthy is getting this much attention, for a substandard, useless performance. Expand
  82. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    This was one of the most hilarious movies I've ever seen. The funniest movie of 2011. It had me laughing from beginning to end. It seems like your typical comedy chick flick but it had me laughing harder then I've probably ever laughed. I can't seem to find any thing about this movies that I did not like. It is a must see.
  83. Jul 9, 2011
    9
    Here you have a breath of fresh air with comedy's in this generation. This film is non-stop funny.

    Kristin Wiig and Melissa McCarthy are some noticeable stand-outs in this movie, however one thing that makes this movie so great is the strong ensemble talent. There are no weak leaks in this film! Every character has at least one or two memorable quotes, that you'll be repeating before
    you even leave the theater.

    It's one thing for a comedy to make you laugh, but a comedy that really has you rooting for the characters is something special. You feel connected to Wiig's lead character, and truly feel sorry for her when things are down in the dumps. This is quality script writing.

    There seems to be a fear that keeps some guys away from this movie, calling it a "chick-flick." Believe me, this movie is far from a chick-flick. There is something for anyone that simply wants to have an enjoyable time at the theater. You will laugh. That is for sure.

    It's amazing to me that this film came out in the US in May, and is STILL going strong in theaters. That right there should be enough of a sign to go see this movie. I've seen it 4 times, and I can't wait to see it again.

    9/10
    Expand
  84. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    Funniest comedy of 2011, hands down! Great direction, writing, and a stellar cast that had me on the floor ROLLING! Brought to us by comedic geniuses Judd Apatow and Paul Feig, wouldn't expect anything less.
  85. Jul 17, 2011
    9
    The movie is a laugh riot from start to finish, and all I can say is go see it, it is absolutely wonderful.

    full review here:
    http://dutchentertainmentjunkie.blogspot.com/2011/07/bridesmaids.html
  86. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    Parts of this were hilarious. Especially the bit in the bridal shop and the airplane. But the rest of the movie seemed to be pretty weak, and the relationship between Wiig and the cop just seemed lame and contrived.
  87. Aug 8, 2011
    9
    Loved it. Went with a group of 4 and we were all crying we were laughing so hard. The friendship between Wiig and Rudolph feels real, so unlike a lot of other similar comedies, in this one it feels like there's something actually at stake. It's gross and painful and silly and definitely won't be for everyone. But OMG... if this is for you, it is so so much fun!
  88. Aug 9, 2011
    9
    This is easily the best comedy I've seen in ages. It's living proof you still can be genious grabbing some ordinary jokes and thoughts if gotten together with genuinely hilarious dialogues, while endowing an emotional core. I haven't been more that 3 min without laughing or grinning while seeing this. And I've always flinched before going to the cinema to see comedy films.
  89. Apr 13, 2013
    6
    I was expecting a mushy rom-com but this film wasn't like that at all. Wasn't massively funny, and the humour was something you'd expect from a film aimed at a male audience; ie. throwing up and cringe-worthy speeches, etc. I also found the main character quite unlikeable. I didn't have any sympathy for her as all the bad things happening to her were mostly her fault. The cop was the only character I felt myself warming to. A bit "meh" Expand
  90. Sep 25, 2011
    8
    It is really the best Apatow film so far !Bridesmaids is truly amazing and so funny ! Its not just like other Wedding/Bridesmaid type of film ! It was written very well . As fo the "Bridesmaids" all of them were awesome ! Melissa McCarthy really did an amazing work ! Maya was also good as the bride ! Rose was like a Beautiful Barbie (I really do like her a lot) ! and last Wiig did an awesome job playing the lead role both acting and writing .She really is a good actress . Expand
  91. Jul 2, 2014
    2
    Any film in which the crowning moment is a fat woman having diarrhoea in a kitchen sink is a movie not worth watching. Which is too bad, because Rudolph and Wiig are two very funny comedic actresses, and it's such a waste to see them fooling around this juvenile nonsense.
  92. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    Definitely a hilarious movie. Haven't laughed out loud that much for years. I've heard much of Kristen Wiig, but haven't watched SNL for years, so I didn't know how great she was. If only more romantic comedies were like this, and not insipid, the world would be a better place.
  93. Sep 5, 2011
    7
    Although it doesn't add anything new to the genre, Bridesmaids is funny, entertaining and well acted. Our protagonist, Annie, an ex baker who resides in Milwaukee, had lost her savings. Her love life isnâ
  94. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    Funny, sweet and relate-able. Bridesmaids is the type of "good" comedy that rarely comes around every so often. It also sports a kick-ass performance by not only the whole cast but Kristen Wiig and Melissa McCarthy in particular. 4/4 stars
  95. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    It's funny. It really is. There are a few slow points in the movie, but nothing that should keep it from getting below a "C". Annie is the main star, played by Kristen Wiig. The best scenes are worth the wait. The dress fitting, the luncheon, and the airplane scene are well worth the wait. It's a cute movie, with lots of laughs and has heart when she finally finds a guy who is nice to her. It is the guy version of the Hangover, but don't expect ridiculous proportions. Cute movie, and perfect for a Girl's night in. I'm 15, and I found this to be so funny. Don't pay attention to the "R" sign, at this age, we see sex all the time. Sometimes they say **** a lot but it's for comedic effect. Expand
  96. Nov 3, 2011
    6
    It had some really funny moments but I'm not one who finds dick and fart jokes funny. It felt like a female response to the god awful The Hangover, but was much better than that creepy trash. If this is the beginning of Wiig's film career, I look forward to seeing her grow. If she grows. 5 Grouse points for including fellow countryman Rebel Wilson.
  97. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    When it had been dubbed the female version of The Hangover, I was eager to check it out. Unfortunately it doesn't quite live up to The Hangover's standards. It took a while to get going but it did have some memorable lines and funny scenes and Kristen Wiig puts in a great performance as Annie.
    It was a bit of a lacklustre ending but the film is certainly worth a watch.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Jun 20, 2011
    80
    Finally, a female ensemble comedy that balances realistic characters with smart laughs and side-splitting farce. Not everything works, but there's more than enough here to keep you chuckling - not to mention baying for a sequel.
  2. Reviewed by: David Denby
    May 16, 2011
    50
    It's essentially a skit idea, not a dramatic idea, and the best the movie does with it is to repeat it. What saves Bridesmaids is Feig's love of performers - in particular, his love of actresses.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    May 13, 2011
    63
    So what is Bridesmaids? A boozy wedding comedy? A touching character story? A paean to friendship? At turns, it's each -- making it a wedding movie with a commitment problem and giving Feig's scattered film a rudderless quality between the laugh lines.