Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 13, 2011
7.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 516 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
371
Mixed:
85
Negative:
60
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
DukeJonApr 13, 2013
I was expecting a mushy rom-com but this film wasn't like that at all. Wasn't massively funny, and the humour was something you'd expect from a film aimed at a male audience; ie. throwing up and cringe-worthy speeches, etc. I also found theI was expecting a mushy rom-com but this film wasn't like that at all. Wasn't massively funny, and the humour was something you'd expect from a film aimed at a male audience; ie. throwing up and cringe-worthy speeches, etc. I also found the main character quite unlikeable. I didn't have any sympathy for her as all the bad things happening to her were mostly her fault. The cop was the only character I felt myself warming to. A bit "meh" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
DarkhawkJul 2, 2014
Any film in which the crowning moment is a fat woman having diarrhoea in a kitchen sink is a movie not worth watching. Which is too bad, because Rudolph and Wiig are two very funny comedic actresses, and it's such a waste to see them foolingAny film in which the crowning moment is a fat woman having diarrhoea in a kitchen sink is a movie not worth watching. Which is too bad, because Rudolph and Wiig are two very funny comedic actresses, and it's such a waste to see them fooling around this juvenile nonsense. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
marnee96Dec 11, 2011
Funny, sweet and relate-able. Bridesmaids is the type of "good" comedy that rarely comes around every so often. It also sports a kick-ass performance by not only the whole cast but Kristen Wiig and Melissa McCarthy in particular. 4/4 stars
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
radiobenjiNov 3, 2011
It had some really funny moments but I'm not one who finds dick and fart jokes funny. It felt like a female response to the god awful The Hangover, but was much better than that creepy trash. If this is the beginning of Wiig's film career, IIt had some really funny moments but I'm not one who finds dick and fart jokes funny. It felt like a female response to the god awful The Hangover, but was much better than that creepy trash. If this is the beginning of Wiig's film career, I look forward to seeing her grow. If she grows. 5 Grouse points for including fellow countryman Rebel Wilson. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
CazweigunNov 20, 2011
When it had been dubbed the female version of The Hangover, I was eager to check it out. Unfortunately it doesn't quite live up to The Hangover's standards. It took a while to get going but it did have some memorable lines and funny scenesWhen it had been dubbed the female version of The Hangover, I was eager to check it out. Unfortunately it doesn't quite live up to The Hangover's standards. It took a while to get going but it did have some memorable lines and funny scenes and Kristen Wiig puts in a great performance as Annie.
It was a bit of a lacklustre ending but the film is certainly worth a watch.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aozetaDec 30, 2011
This movie turns out to be one of the years greatest surprises. This is not just about the script and delivery that makes you laugh but it can as well offer a good emotional transference to it's viewers. If my girl friends will see this...This movie turns out to be one of the years greatest surprises. This is not just about the script and delivery that makes you laugh but it can as well offer a good emotional transference to it's viewers. If my girl friends will see this... they might just keep a tissue on their hands--tears for the laughs and hurts. movienotesbook.blogspot.com Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JollyG87Dec 13, 2011
If you're looking for a comedy that will make you cry laughing, run to the theaters and see this now. "Bridesmaids" is hysterically funny from beginning to end. Better yet, it doesn't just rely on gross out gags for entertainment.If you're looking for a comedy that will make you cry laughing, run to the theaters and see this now. "Bridesmaids" is hysterically funny from beginning to end. Better yet, it doesn't just rely on gross out gags for entertainment. Screenwriters Kristen Wiig (who also stars) and Annie Mumolo also manage to create complex characters, and they provide fresh insight into the meaning of friendship and true love. I especially loved the development of Melissa McCarthy's character. Here's a character that could have been the stereotypical fat girl, but instead she's treated as a real person, and ends up being one of the emotional anchors of the film. A lot of people have been calling this the female Hangover, and I don't really see much of a comparison. The stories are completely different. Yes, they both center around wedding parties, but "The Hangover" was much more of an ensemble piece while this one centers around Kristen Wiig's character trying to find herself. There are a few moments where "Bridesmaids" tries in vain to keep you laughing, but for the most part, it is one hilarious ride filled with gags that everyone can relate to. Guys, this is not a chick flick for only females. You will laugh just as much here as you did in "The Hangover," if not more. This is a comedy that everyone should enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DiegoSanRoblesDec 16, 2011
I hope this movie is a glimpse of Kristen Wiigâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tss5078Feb 23, 2013
Ever since this movie came out, I've heard great things about it, still, I was hesitant to see it. I mean bridesmaids, a wedding, I just wasn't sure. It was however produced by Judd Apatow, and that alone made me give it a chance. Basically,Ever since this movie came out, I've heard great things about it, still, I was hesitant to see it. I mean bridesmaids, a wedding, I just wasn't sure. It was however produced by Judd Apatow, and that alone made me give it a chance. Basically, Bridesmaids is a girls version of The Hangover meets Knocked Up, with an almost trip to Vegas and without the hangover. Kristen Wiig is the writer and star of this film and she was great! I'd never even heard of her before this film came out, but after seeing it, I want a lot more. It seems pretty hard for a woman to make it in comedy, it's a fairly rare event, but she's got a tremendous future ahead of her. As for the story it's pretty solid, it's a comedy, so you're not really looking for realism, just something cohesive that you can follow and this definitely fits the bill. If you're looking for something funny, but different, I'd highly recommend this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
lasttimeisawJan 31, 2012
As raunchy as any female flick could bear, BRIDESMAIDS is not just a female version of THE HANGOVER spin-off. It hinges firmly on a 3S ladyâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
abcgbcJan 13, 2012
The Best R-Rated female comedy film that I;ve watched...It is so funny and real. The main cast deliver the character with effortless. The movie is so funny,sweet,emotional and smart that all ages will be like it and especially the maleThe Best R-Rated female comedy film that I;ve watched...It is so funny and real. The main cast deliver the character with effortless. The movie is so funny,sweet,emotional and smart that all ages will be like it and especially the male viewers will also love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
RegOzApr 7, 2012
Okey, so apparently this is a comedy! Did it made me laugh? Yes, it did, just a few times. I am not denying the fact that many people can love it. It is just not what I expect a good comedy to be. To me, it is not good, smart humour. Some mayOkey, so apparently this is a comedy! Did it made me laugh? Yes, it did, just a few times. I am not denying the fact that many people can love it. It is just not what I expect a good comedy to be. To me, it is not good, smart humour. Some may claim that this is one of those comedies that are there to relax you, and do not attempt to make you think. Sure! But even when I relax (and I am veeeery relaxed person), I want to think, feel, and enjoy what I see. Because it is thinking what actually make me establish a judgement about the quality -or lack of it- of a film. Therefore, something that I believe is plain silly just doesn't make me laugh for if I want to see stupidity, I don't need to spend my money on it, I can just turn the tv on or surf the net and I will surely find plenty of vulgarity and idiocy. Bridesmaids was cheap and mediocre. The ending of this movie (actually, after the credits) was in my opinion, completely unnecessary and obnoxious. Unlike what many may assume, I am not a religious person at all, neither I am hypersensible, or conservative...quite the opposite; I am actually very liberal, analytical, and carefree; but to me, the overexposure of sex , makes me think about those who are not free about it, otherwise why sooo much focus on it? I enjoy it in my private life, and of course I can freely discuss sex with my friends and acquantainces; I can also watch and enjoy erotic scenes on tv within the right context' but here it was totally out of place. This movie was not hideous, but was at times gruesome, and it was also unengaging. In fact, the leading characters were annoying, miserable, insecure, ridiculous, and so pathetic that I am glad no one I know is like them...and I couldn't be around those sort of women either. Those characters do not make me laugh but they bore me. Unfortunately, there was not a single character in this movie who had some brains!. The comedies I enjoy are so different! My favourite comedy ever is perhaps The Full Monty, there are other more recent and of course not as original comedies, less subtle and light, and yet fun and not gross; The Hangover, for example is refreshing, definitely a thousand times better than Bridesmaid! Thus, I do not recommend this movie, especially if you have a more delicate taste. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
mikeisnowonfireJan 19, 2012
Great movie. Though it seems like comedies are starting to follow the same formula nowadays, this one shines above the rest. This was the funniest movie in 2011.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GreatbealloJan 27, 2012
I really enjoyed this movie. It was raunchy but not too raunchy. It was simultaneously hysterical and heartwarming. I think that I have a new comedy to throw in my rotation of rewatchable comedies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BadMovieLoverMay 12, 2012
I am amazed by the reception of this film and saddened by the comparisons to "The Hangover", an actually funny movie, with a plot and a great script. This has neither. It is just terrible. The fact that it got an Oscar nomination is just anI am amazed by the reception of this film and saddened by the comparisons to "The Hangover", an actually funny movie, with a plot and a great script. This has neither. It is just terrible. The fact that it got an Oscar nomination is just an indication of how low public taste has sunk. It is as though Aptow took "My best friend's wedding" dumbed it down and had a mentally challenged High Schooler write the script. I am writing this in reaction to the reviews I saw here. However, I wrote a small review when I first saw it expressing my immediate reaction: Wow..I don't know what to say, that may have been one of the worst movies ever; not funny, not charming, not good. While it is true that I like bad movies, this is just bad/bad. A great bad movie is bad/funny or bad/cheesy or bad/stupid; this wasn't any of those things, it was just dull. Dull, dull, dull. The story - lame, the acting - flat, the dialog - unsparkling, the jokes - unfunny. This movie had some pretty solid performers, but it sucked any remnant of talent from all of them. Even the title is misleading, this was not an ensemble piece, it was all about one character played by Kristen Wiig who also wrote the movie. From this outing my perception is that she sucks. The dialog lacked wit, and the performance lacked charm. You don't care about her sad life or her stupid behavior; you just wish it would end, sooner rather than later. Two hours of my life I can never get back. For Review of better movies go to: http://badmovielover.blogspot.com Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
diesel2003Jun 25, 2012
All I have heard is about how this movie is hilarious and better than most of the comedies that have been released in the last 5 years. So I finally watch it today and I have to say I was fooled. If the people who made the movie were goingAll I have heard is about how this movie is hilarious and better than most of the comedies that have been released in the last 5 years. So I finally watch it today and I have to say I was fooled. If the people who made the movie were going for a drama with a splash of comedy they succeeded but all guides say it's a comedy. If I would have missed all of the hype and just watched it as a regular movie I probably would've enjoyed it more but I was disappointed over all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 3, 2012
One of the best movies ever, is really funny, yes more tha the boring Paul, Bridesmaids is a new classic of the comedy, with funny situations, great performance. Bridesmaids rocks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DemasMar 6, 2012
It's not funny. The acting isn't very good. The main character Annie and her friend (can't even remember her name, played by Maya Rudolph) are annoying. We're meant to feel sympathetic towards Annie when really she's an incredibly selfishIt's not funny. The acting isn't very good. The main character Annie and her friend (can't even remember her name, played by Maya Rudolph) are annoying. We're meant to feel sympathetic towards Annie when really she's an incredibly selfish destructive person. The "antagonist", if you can call her that pretty much just stands back and just lets Annie ruin herself and her friends' lives. And then when she comes to Annie in a time of weakness Annie treats her like **** and acts like It's her that was wrong. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
I'm not sure that Bridesmaids was meant to become a great American comedy, but it has gone on to greater lengths and is sure to become classic. This group of women are able to grab hold of you immediately and entertain you to no end. KristenI'm not sure that Bridesmaids was meant to become a great American comedy, but it has gone on to greater lengths and is sure to become classic. This group of women are able to grab hold of you immediately and entertain you to no end. Kristen Wiig proves to be not only a hysterical on-screen comedienne but also a gifted comedic writer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AwesomeReviewerMar 26, 2012
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Jan 18, 2013
Clever, funny, and well acted. The ladies of this movie have a knack for comedic timing and deliver great performances. It is a sincere outrageous movie that never feels dull.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
A_NorthernerFeb 18, 2013
Before seeing Bridesmaids, I genuinely thought it was just a female Hangover rip-off. Maybe that was the marketing or maybe I was being lazy. Having seen the film, the truth lies somewhere between the two. Yes, its about chaotic pre-weddingBefore seeing Bridesmaids, I genuinely thought it was just a female Hangover rip-off. Maybe that was the marketing or maybe I was being lazy. Having seen the film, the truth lies somewhere between the two. Yes, its about chaotic pre-wedding festivities, the gang intend to go to Vegas and yes, there are some moments of hilarious toilet humour, but that's about it. Melissa McCarthy steals most scenes she is in with her brazen vulgarity, a supporting role for which she was Oscar nominated. Prior to his appearance in Lena Durham's Girls (also produced by Apatow), Chris O'Dowd appears as a traffic officer and Matt Lucas has a cameo as Annie's landlord. After reading that Rose Byrne and Wiig ad-libbed most of the speech scene, Byrne's stock has increased in my eyes, as I would never have thought her capable of a comedy role. What sets Bridesmaids apart is that as well being hilarious, it's script has heart, and genuine heart, not the over the top contrived heart usually found at the end of most comedies. Over everything else, Bridesmaids is a showcase for Kristen Wiig's sharp co-written script and funny portrayal as the flawed and troubled maid of honour. Her inclusion in the upcoming Anchorman sequel is surely down to the success of Bridesmaids.

I would even go as far as that the girls have outdone the boys and produced a comedy better than its closest sibling, The Hangover.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GagaForGhibliJun 6, 2012
A Really Good Funny Ass Movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleAug 12, 2016
Bridesmaids is a bit disappointing namely because of how hit-and-miss it can be. Some of it is really very funny. Some less so. But, what was really a miss was the ending. Far too neat and cliche, the ending just does not work at all,Bridesmaids is a bit disappointing namely because of how hit-and-miss it can be. Some of it is really very funny. Some less so. But, what was really a miss was the ending. Far too neat and cliche, the ending just does not work at all, especially for a film that had really built up solid characters and characters with real emotion and relatability. Unfortunately, the film goes a little cliche and silly at the end where the girl gets the guy, even if it does not make much sense. Additionally, the film has a problem that plagues many modern comedies have in that it thinks that gross out scenes and over-the-top unrealistic scenes are hysterical. Unfortunately, they are not. Bridesmaids falls for these mistakes far too often. That said, the acting is good and the cast has good chemistry. Unfortunately, it is simply not funny enough, even if it can be quite enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
dev92Jul 21, 2012
Bridesmaids is cringe-worthy funny but it is nowhere near the levels of comedic worth that I have come to expect of Apatow-produced films. Melissa McCarthy is very funny, as is Jon Hamm's small role but all in all it is not enough to rateBridesmaids is cringe-worthy funny but it is nowhere near the levels of comedic worth that I have come to expect of Apatow-produced films. Melissa McCarthy is very funny, as is Jon Hamm's small role but all in all it is not enough to rate this film extremely highly. Still, it is definitely worth a view or two and will liven up a quiet night in for sure. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JTKelleyAug 10, 2012
Kristen Wiig delivers a break-out performance from a raunchy, hilarious script she co-wrote. The film is nothing short of genius, with hilarious turns by all of the supporting players (especially Melissa McCarthy) as it wasn't at all a shockKristen Wiig delivers a break-out performance from a raunchy, hilarious script she co-wrote. The film is nothing short of genius, with hilarious turns by all of the supporting players (especially Melissa McCarthy) as it wasn't at all a shock to see this film receive awards season attention a year ago. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JawsLaxerDramaDec 21, 2012
I can't believe this movie. It does have laugh out loud moments. Overall, at the end of it, I felt cheated. It's a mediocre movie that can't be too horrible, but my God, it's seriously one of the films that will be quoted by teenage girls forI can't believe this movie. It does have laugh out loud moments. Overall, at the end of it, I felt cheated. It's a mediocre movie that can't be too horrible, but my God, it's seriously one of the films that will be quoted by teenage girls for years. I am 16 years old, and although I do have to say, I enjoyed a couple of scenes, in the end it felt like the whole movie was unecessary. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EdorkMar 25, 2013
Best comedy I've seen in a long time. Great story, funny scenes, and characters I actually cared about. I love how this movie went the route of having a flawed main character who grows to be a better person. I'd recommend this for anyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
It goes a little overboard on a few occasions, particularly the extended dress shop barfing scene, but hey, it's got soul, and Melissa McCarthy is fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Mar 11, 2015
"Bridesmaids" may boast the comedic prowess of some of modern cinema's finest comedic minds, but it also has a big heart and a whole lot of creativity in tow.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
worleyjamersDec 7, 2012
Seriously a great film, and sure to be a classic in time! Smart, quirky, memorable, and hilarious! Kristen Wiig is great, as is the entire cast, but Melissa McCarthy gives a star-making performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
survivorfan989Jan 19, 2013
This is one very funny movie thanks to a great mostly female cast. Kristin Wiig leads and, as always, she is just hilarious and carries the film on her shoulders. Props must be given, however, to Melissa McCarthy who easily provides a largeThis is one very funny movie thanks to a great mostly female cast. Kristin Wiig leads and, as always, she is just hilarious and carries the film on her shoulders. Props must be given, however, to Melissa McCarthy who easily provides a large amount of the laughs despite only having a supporting role. It's also a great concept of probably a tale that is all too common when it comes to bridesmaids. Overall a very funny film that has been compared to 'The Hangover', but with girls ;) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FilmisFeb 14, 2013
Hilarious! The humour in this film is so varied, it varies from subtle dry humour to crudeness. Admittedly some of it is cringey but this is overlooked by the pure wit and amazing comedy acting from some of the funniest comedy actresses youHilarious! The humour in this film is so varied, it varies from subtle dry humour to crudeness. Admittedly some of it is cringey but this is overlooked by the pure wit and amazing comedy acting from some of the funniest comedy actresses you will see. Definitely a girls film but enjoyable for guys as well, every girl will understand and relate to this film! A must see for a feel good movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
dierregiOct 19, 2014
It is astonishing to think that this piece of shallow silliness got two Oscar nominations. However, it works very well as an indicator of the sorry state of contemporary society. The story revolves around Annie Walker, a most annoying womanIt is astonishing to think that this piece of shallow silliness got two Oscar nominations. However, it works very well as an indicator of the sorry state of contemporary society. The story revolves around Annie Walker, a most annoying woman who would be a perfect character for a cheap sitcom.

Annie alleged best friend Lillian is getting married and that horrendously stressing event that is an American wedding must be organized. Countless chick flicks have been there, only to underline how the true meaning of getting married and any shred of happiness are lost in the process of having so much “organized” fun.

Produced by Apatow and co-written by Kristen Wiig, who is also starring – and appearing in every scene - as main character Annie Walker. If you know a bit about movies, this can explain why it is so bad. Apatow is the king of crass, vulgar, unfunny comedies. Wiig wanted to make clear she is the star. Unfortunately, like most female comedians, she seems to think that the only way to make women “funny” is to degrade them. Surely they get plenty of humiliations in this movie, but this does not make the movie funny in any way.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RedOwlReviewsJul 18, 2013
(skip to the last paragraph for a concise one-sentence summary and a number)
I usually don’t like critiquing comedies, because the trend for them has been to forsake story and character development for snappy one-liners and cheap gags.
(skip to the last paragraph for a concise one-sentence summary and a number)
I usually don’t like critiquing comedies, because the trend for them has been to forsake story and character development for snappy one-liners and cheap gags. Bridesmaids is the odd one out. Not only is it a female-centered comedy, it is an AMAZING female-centered comedy, and definitely the best comedy of 2011. Director Paul Feig gives the film unprecedented heart, and Kristen Wiig plays the role of a downward spiraling, paranoid maid of honor perfectly.
Just because it is a female comedy doesn’t mean Bridesmaids can’t be raunchy and explicit. And Feig makes this very clear. From Melissa McCarthy’s painful outbursts of explosive diarrhea to Wiig’s psychotic breakdown at the bachelorette party, Feig proves that women can be just as vulgar as men in comedy. Basically, think of Bridesmaids as the female counterpart of The Hangover.
Wiig’s character is also one of the best female characters of the year. From the airplane scene, to the fitting scene, to the bachelorette party, down to her personal life, Wiig plays a well rounded, three-dimensional character whose perspective allows the comedy to reach its full potential.
In conclusion, this is what I have to say: Bridesmaids approaches the genre of raunchy physical comedy the way its ladies should approach anything; intelligently, meaningfully, and full of hilarious surprises.

FINAL SCORE: 80 (excitingly great)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Bridesmaids is a good chick flick that guys can find watchable and like. The plot may be pointless and washed out the film plays to its strong points. The great dialog and how the main cast plays off each other also all the funny scenariosBridesmaids is a good chick flick that guys can find watchable and like. The plot may be pointless and washed out the film plays to its strong points. The great dialog and how the main cast plays off each other also all the funny scenarios the women find themselves in. The whole cast was great Kristen Wiig, Melissa McCarthy, Maya Rudolph, Rose Byrne, Wendi McLendon-Covey, Ellie Kemper but id have to say that Melissa McCarthy was absolutely the funniest and it was her breakout role i loved Kristen Wiig she has great comedic talent. The film did have more drama then i was expecting but it played well with the comedy so that was good. The movie was geting a lot of love when it first came out and was clearly a hit because then we got rip off movies about the same thing *cough cough Bachelorette cough*

Overall i give it a 6.5
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FranzHcriticNov 30, 2014
After rewatching 'The Hangover', I heard that this was the quote on quote, female version. whoever told me this was wrong. I don't give a f**k who says its a good movie, but it's perpetual and annoying nauseating and with the exception of aAfter rewatching 'The Hangover', I heard that this was the quote on quote, female version. whoever told me this was wrong. I don't give a f**k who says its a good movie, but it's perpetual and annoying nauseating and with the exception of a few scenes with Melissa McCarthy, unfunny. I hate Kristen Wiig. She is just the most irritating comedian to watch; no offense to her, but she's intolerable to speak to. And I thought watching her in 'Knocked Up' was bad enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysSep 25, 2013
Bridesmaids will get in your head with its raunchy feel and shocking scenes, but its not as appealing as some say. It turns from comedy to drama, and then more comedy. The direction it goes is as predictable as a hyper kid with a sugar rush.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksJul 20, 2016
A funny and original film that proves female comedians can grab all the attention. Overall this movie works and remains as funny the more times watched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MuddsjrFeb 22, 2014
Bridesmaids has all the right comedians, playing various different parts. Bridesmaids is a luscious, fresh and endlessly entertaining film. Bridesmaids is simply gut-bustingly hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
adalberathJan 30, 2014
How on earth did this movie earn itself a BAFTA, an Oscar and a WGA nomination for best original screenplay!? "Bridesmaids" is a lot of things but definitely not original. Or do all those other 2000 romantic comedies with the same plot existHow on earth did this movie earn itself a BAFTA, an Oscar and a WGA nomination for best original screenplay!? "Bridesmaids" is a lot of things but definitely not original. Or do all those other 2000 romantic comedies with the same plot exist only in my mind? I don't think so. "Bridesmaids" is a failure, a cliche movie for women, just like all those Chuck Norris movies are cliche movies for men. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
lukechristianscSep 12, 2014
people say that any movie is the best of the year well bridesmaids is the best comedy of the year 2011. Kristen Wiig co wrote the script to bridesmaid let me just say that thanks to Wiig and Annie Mumolo , Judd Apatow and Paul Peigpeople say that any movie is the best of the year well bridesmaids is the best comedy of the year 2011. Kristen Wiig co wrote the script to bridesmaid let me just say that thanks to Wiig and Annie Mumolo , Judd Apatow and Paul Peig ,Bridesmaids is Outrageous , funny , awesome , kick ass , amazing comedy adventure story also Bridesmaids got nominated for Oscars Thanks Judd Apatow , Wiig , Feig , Mumolo for giving us bridesmaids a film we will never forget. there is the bad news i think that Paul feig wanted it to be a Judd Apatow comedy not a Feig comedy ( That what a film needs a directors vision) thats dumb. But It did make critics enjoy the movie more !. Judd Apatow is amazing comedy director , producer, writer when it comes to (Knocked Up , funny people , this is 40 ) i did like his movies but he is cocky sometimes even though if produces a comedy people think he's the one who created it and not taking the real director credit . This is an amazing movie thanks to Apatow his next producing film is the five year Engagement. Grade A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SuperficialityFeb 7, 2015
Watched it twice, and laughed all the way through both times. Great cast and acting, but I felt it was missing a bit more sophistication in its cliches and girl on girl drama.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
GregePorterAug 31, 2015
Bottom line: Between laughing and exhaling heavily out of one’s nose, Bridesmaids made me do the latter; it has its moments it wasn’t consistent enough to quench my thirst for comedy though it does have some interesting commentary aboutBottom line: Between laughing and exhaling heavily out of one’s nose, Bridesmaids made me do the latter; it has its moments it wasn’t consistent enough to quench my thirst for comedy though it does have some interesting commentary about marriage.

I had heard great things about Bridesmaids. After all, it was nominated for best supporting actress and best original screenplay. I expected it to be something of a female based Hangover (which I found surprisingly funny). I tried not to get my hopes up but I did and what I found was a disappointing movie that made me want to watch something else (later re-watched Meet the Parents). I don’t think my hopes were too high though.

The movie opens with a comedic sex scene with Annie Walker (Wiig) and her friend (read: attractive jerk that doesn’t want more than sex). It’s funny to see his enthusiasm compared to her obvious dissatisfaction. It isn’t a new joke but it got a chuckle out of me.

The next morning, after the guy tells her to leave, she meets with her best friend, Lillian (Rudolph). “Why are you seeing him…at all…ever,” the friend asks. “I shouldn’t but he is so cute,” Annie replies. She is at that stage where she wants to feel bad about herself and, shortly thereafter, we learn about why. She opened a bakery with her previous boyfriend. It failed, he left, she lost all of her money and now she works at a jewelry store. She has given up on men and baking. Her friend Lillian is with a guy who has been “kinda distant recently”. A couple days go by and Lillian tells us that she is engaged to that guy; he felt distant because he was nervous.

Marriage isn’t painted as the most positive institution so, perhaps, we are supposed to feel a little awkward by the sudden engagement. Lillian’s tone about the guy was such that I thought it was more of a fling than a long term relationship. As we meet more of Lillian’s friends, we see how they are put in rather depressing positions. Rita (McLendon-Covey) “can’t watch the Daily Show without being entered,” while Becca’s (Kemper) love life is passionless. So often it’s the case we hear men complaining that marriage means the end of sex. It is refreshing to hear a woman’s perspective on marriage. By the end of the movie, I didn’t know how to feel about Lillian's over-the-top wedding. Maybe the laser show is mocking the place marriage has in our society today. Is it a perfect wedding when you have puppies as partying gifts or when you have a giant cookie cake that no one will eat? Bridesmaids positions marriage such that women are forced into it for security and validation. None of the women, for example, (aside from the single Megan) are professionals so they need financial support. Society also puts pressure on them; Annie is treated like a loser because she is in her thirties and unmarried. Now, in terms of comedy, I was unsatisfied by Bridesmaids and I feel like it was in part because I had trouble connecting with Annie.

To put it plainly, I didn’t like her. She is whiny and all of her problems were her own doing and felt that she lacked the determination to get herself out of her circumstances. Consider Bridget Jones’ Diary as a point of comparison. Bridget is a single, thirty-two year old woman who struggles with work and relationships. One of the reasons I like Bridget, as a character, is that she has a consistent underlying strength. In the beginning of the movie she says, “I suddenly realized that, unless something changed soon, I was going to live a life where my major relationship was with a bottle of wine...and that I would die fat and alone and be found three weeks later half-eaten by a pack of wild dogs.” She realizes that something is wrong and decides to change it somehow. Annie, oppositely, complains about how her business failed and blames it on the recession but doesn't try to do something else. She is a talented baker but does she use her talent? No, she screams and yells and ruins situations. She submits to her position at the crumby jewelers all the while displacing her frustration on her customers. One reason that may explain why Bridget Jones is more successful is that we hear her thoughts. Unlike with Annie, we are in a privileged position which helps explain how Bridget functions.

The jokes in Bridget Jones’ Diary are positive despite have a rather depressing subject matter (because they are often about how alone Bridget is) while, in Bridesmaids, everything is so bitter. Don’t get me wrong, bitter cynicism can be a lot of fun but not if I can’t relate. How can I commiserate if I am not brought into their position too? The high points of the movie come with Megan (McCarthy). She is strong and funny and speaks plainly. She doesn’t get involved with any of the conflicts in the movie so it seems like she is a character who is disconnected from the movie. She can speak along with the audience.

Overall, I was not satisfied by Bridesmaids.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Mar 3, 2016
Full of heart, warmth and enough excrement to fill an all-white bridal shop.

Watch this movie online http://www.watchfree.to/watch-24c457-Bridesmaids-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: It's what a romcom should be. Genuinely funny, appealing to all ages and with a pretty good plot backed up with heart felt protrayal of relationship and character
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE- It's perhaps a little too silly
VERDICT:
WHAT I LIKED: It's what a romcom should be. Genuinely funny, appealing to all ages and with a pretty good plot backed up with heart felt protrayal of relationship and character
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE- It's perhaps a little too silly
VERDICT: 'Bridesmaids' is a film anyone can enjoy. It's got everything you could want from this genre.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
alcohollica91Nov 13, 2016
If you have any intent on watch the movie, let me be clear - watching
it free is still too much to ask for this piece of crap. Get ready for
2h of over exaggerated fart jokes, which seem to be the works of a 10 year old, unfunny dialogue
If you have any intent on watch the movie, let me be clear - watching
it free is still too much to ask for this piece of crap. Get ready for
2h of over exaggerated fart jokes, which seem to be the works of a 10
year old, unfunny dialogue written by morons and a depiction of human
behavior characteristic to the mentally ill. Don't waste your time watching this movie, better look at paint dry.. On the up-side some of the characters are very well depicted by the actresses and Chris O'Dowd performance of an actual, normal, human being is really refreshing. He was probably the one who drew the long straw, thus wining the only well created character...Bravo!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeJan 16, 2018
i'm so glad you were free..

Bridesmaids

A smart funny writing filled with semi-comic sequences surprisingly not irrelevant making the audience rooted for the characters; Bridesmaids is a done deal.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews