User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 223 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 223
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 12, 2013
    0
    No child deserves Bridge to Terabithia. Honestly, if you're going to a place where all wishes can come true, why wish the wish everyone would've wanted and not make them cry till there's nothing left in them like you did? Even the author didn't want this and the moviemakers ignored her statements.
  2. ZachridW.
    Jan 8, 2010
    2
    "Best movie I ever saw?" "Heartbreaking?" Honestly guys, who pays you for these 10/10 reviews? Yes I know, it is a movie about loss, guilt, the end of childhood and the cruelty of reality. But this movie is downright BORING, the first 30 minutes nothing happens and after that it is just two kids running through the woods and using their imagination. There is no plot, no relevant storyarc, "Best movie I ever saw?" "Heartbreaking?" Honestly guys, who pays you for these 10/10 reviews? Yes I know, it is a movie about loss, guilt, the end of childhood and the cruelty of reality. But this movie is downright BORING, the first 30 minutes nothing happens and after that it is just two kids running through the woods and using their imagination. There is no plot, no relevant storyarc, no suspense. [Spoiler] It's just one hour of character-build-up and then they are killing one character off screen, so the other main character can grieve for the last half hour. I mean the story HAS some heartbreaking-potential, but this plot twist isn't worth the 90 minutes you need to sit through them. Expand
  3. LindaC.
    Feb 26, 2007
    1
    I thought that this movie showed no emotion and the actors and actresses did not suit their part. I have read the book nearly 1000 times (not literally) and have strong feelings that it doesn't match at all. I really strongly do not recommend such an inappropriate chick flick.
  4. ChristineB.
    Feb 19, 2007
    3
    I agree with the official newspaper views that this is a good moral movie but at the same time I was disappointed at the lack of special effects which seemed so promissing in the previews. I did not read the book therefore I was not aware that in the book the fact was stressed that Terabithia was really only a fantasy in the children's minds, Since I am a fairytale- and I agree with the official newspaper views that this is a good moral movie but at the same time I was disappointed at the lack of special effects which seemed so promissing in the previews. I did not read the book therefore I was not aware that in the book the fact was stressed that Terabithia was really only a fantasy in the children's minds, Since I am a fairytale- and specialeffects lover I felt that the movie was promoted in a way that was misleading people for the sake of making them buy the tickets. I won't add it to my DVD collection! Expand
  5. SavannahS.
    Feb 21, 2007
    0
    It was a good movie,that I would have rated 8. But the end RUINED it. It made the whole thing ruined. Like biting into a peice of WONDERFUL chocolate cake, then coming to the last 2 bites and finding A HAIR. Do you like that cake anymore? No.Do you still think that chocolate cake is good? No.
  6. Dec 29, 2010
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was advertised as a kind-of Narnia/Spiderwick chronicles-esque movie, with wonderful creatures, another world living within a forest, about two friends and their wonderful friendship in a (supposedly)uplifting tale Let me get this out of the way, I absolutely hate it when i'm misled by trailers, tv spots, advertisements and etcetera. I sit down to watch this on Disney Channel, expecting what i've described in the first paragraph, and what do I get? The magical world and its creatures are imaginary The depressing angst of Jess with bullies and his dad Leslie drowns The lighter parts with Jess and Leslie happily playing in Terabithia and their great friendship are a saving grace for this movie, but ultimately, the death of Leslie and all of the films depressingness just don't fit right with me Expand
  7. JamesD.
    Mar 1, 2007
    1
    Poor semblance of a movie. Some emotional aspects, but overall a bore.
  8. JaneZ.
    Jul 1, 2007
    1
    Watch this movie before showing it to your children or take my word for it and stay clear of it entirely. I am amazed that this movie has received so many positive reviews. This is not a heartwarming story where the cast of Monsters Inc. teaches us about the power of imagination. It plays out more like an incredibly grim After School Special. Bridge to Terabithia is apparently adapted Watch this movie before showing it to your children or take my word for it and stay clear of it entirely. I am amazed that this movie has received so many positive reviews. This is not a heartwarming story where the cast of Monsters Inc. teaches us about the power of imagination. It plays out more like an incredibly grim After School Special. Bridge to Terabithia is apparently adapted from a well loved children Expand
  9. LindaR.
    Mar 15, 2007
    0
    This is a horrible movie and certainly not one for children. While some of the difficulties faced by youngsters growing up is somewhat accurately portrayed, the never-ending doom is depressing beyond words. The main character, Jess, faces hardships througout most of the movie, he then gets to live with the belief that he was responsible for the death of his friend. I have never been so This is a horrible movie and certainly not one for children. While some of the difficulties faced by youngsters growing up is somewhat accurately portrayed, the never-ending doom is depressing beyond words. The main character, Jess, faces hardships througout most of the movie, he then gets to live with the belief that he was responsible for the death of his friend. I have never been so depressed after seeing a movie. I honestly went into this with high hopes, but came out feeling horrible. This is not a movie I would recommend to anyone. Expand
  10. MA.
    Mar 23, 2007
    0
    Very misleading trailer. Never having read the book, like many others, I believed that this movie was about two children's journey to save the land of their imagination. Bull$#!#. This was a depressing and oppressive movie. I thought the acting was ok, and was blown out of the water when the main character died. And they essentially saved the "visit" to Taribithia for the last 10 Very misleading trailer. Never having read the book, like many others, I believed that this movie was about two children's journey to save the land of their imagination. Bull$#!#. This was a depressing and oppressive movie. I thought the acting was ok, and was blown out of the water when the main character died. And they essentially saved the "visit" to Taribithia for the last 10 seconds of the movie. We saw this movie after Ghost Rider of all things. IMHO - Ghost Rider was a MUCH better movie!! Expand
  11. NigelP.
    May 30, 2007
    2
    The acting was good. However, the film was generally inconclusive. Something like a jigsaw when you can't find half the pieces. My nine year old son didn't like it either. I felt angry and worse - out of pocket !
  12. EthanL.
    Jul 5, 2007
    0
    I am seven years old. Don't watch this movie because I watched it with my parents and I did not like it. If you want to be depressed with your children then watch it. It made me sad. This movie was not a good Disney movie. I want my money back.
  13. MarcusM.
    Jul 6, 2007
    1
    What a horribly dissapointing movie. My entire family anticipated a wonderful film of fantasy and adventure, only to have our hearts torn out at the end. My five year old says he wants to break the DVD in two, and throw it away. That's exactly what we did. What a piece of .....
  14. JamesP.
    Nov 20, 2007
    0
    Two kids with no friends become friends and then one dies. Oh, and they imagine stuff, the stuff you see in the trailer. Oh, and by the way, when I say "the stuff you see in the trailer" I mean there is nothing else. You have seen all the imagined parts, the rest is just watching kids go to school, as boring as being there yourself. You have been warned. Somebody should report Disney to Two kids with no friends become friends and then one dies. Oh, and they imagine stuff, the stuff you see in the trailer. Oh, and by the way, when I say "the stuff you see in the trailer" I mean there is nothing else. You have seen all the imagined parts, the rest is just watching kids go to school, as boring as being there yourself. You have been warned. Somebody should report Disney to trading standards. Expand
  15. SethP.
    Feb 16, 2007
    2
    Horrible storytelling. Very inefficient and cliche. The movie essentially recycled the same 4 scenes: Jesse's family is poor and it sucks at home, school sucks because kids pick on him, music class at school where Jesse is either really happy or really sad, and playtime with Leslie in the forest. A good script/director would have summed up the first hour of this film in 10 minutes. Horrible storytelling. Very inefficient and cliche. The movie essentially recycled the same 4 scenes: Jesse's family is poor and it sucks at home, school sucks because kids pick on him, music class at school where Jesse is either really happy or really sad, and playtime with Leslie in the forest. A good script/director would have summed up the first hour of this film in 10 minutes. Then they would have had 50 minutes to add real character and story to this film before the climax, in which the movie hits a completely different note. To make things worse, when the movie did stray from the 4 kinds of scenes mentioned above, it was completely meaningless and unneeded: Jesse painting with Leslie's family, Leslie going to church with Jesse's family. This movie has a clear agenda and has no subtlety in sharing it with the audience. This is a horrible movie with a horrible script and horribly directed. I had no problems with the acting or CGI, but acting and CGI don't make a movie good or bad in themselves. Expand
  16. DeliaR.
    Feb 17, 2007
    1
    This movie was incredible. I sobbed, along with my friend. AnnaSophia and Josh totally get into thier characters, and have wonderful acting skills. A wonderful movie, worth seeing, love, love LOVE!
  17. MelissaB.
    Feb 19, 2007
    2
    This was a horrible film for the family that was falsely advertised by Disney. What is advertised as a "Chronicles of Narnia" is actually a Disney channel-quality film about middle school lifewith a tragic ending. We took our children to see it and we all kept waiting for the film to make its transition into the fantasy world, which is never does until the end except for small moments. This was a horrible film for the family that was falsely advertised by Disney. What is advertised as a "Chronicles of Narnia" is actually a Disney channel-quality film about middle school lifewith a tragic ending. We took our children to see it and we all kept waiting for the film to make its transition into the fantasy world, which is never does until the end except for small moments. For the majority of the film, our family had to plod through a B movie plot and acting about middle school life. The worst part was when the lead character suddenly dies, leaving our family completely abandoned, like Psycho, turning this fantasy film into a horror/tradegy film akin to Pan's Labryrinth, which is a masterpiece and advertised as directed by the master of horror. Our entire family left the theatre deeply angered by this film and wish we had never gone to see it. We felt duped by Disney. Expand
  18. Peter
    Feb 25, 2007
    0
    The film per se was not bad but I was immensely disappointed by the trailer that portrays the film as if it
  19. MeToo
    Feb 26, 2007
    0
    What a rip! I wasted 16 bucks on this peice of crap! False advertising. I was mislead by the previews that this would be a fantasy story. Well guess what the fantasy scenes you will see are what you see in the previews. This is a just a week after school puke special. Save your money!
  20. LouisH.
    Mar 21, 2007
    1
    Overall, this movie was a really big let-you-down dissapointment. I mean the trailor was better than the actual film! I did not read the book, so I did not expect to see anything bad at first. But after I saw it, I regreted how much $ and time I wasted. WIthout a doubt, this was the worst movie I have ever seen. Do not be fooled by the trailor.
  21. kyleb2112douglas
    May 24, 2007
    0
    HUGELY misleading promotional campaign. They billed this as kind of a LOTR for kids in all their ads. It's really a depressing after-school special about DEATH. What really pissed me off is how they showed the vert last shot of the movie--a hero shot of all of Terabithia--as if that's where any part of the movie took place. Terabithia is BS--far less real than OZ. This movie was HUGELY misleading promotional campaign. They billed this as kind of a LOTR for kids in all their ads. It's really a depressing after-school special about DEATH. What really pissed me off is how they showed the vert last shot of the movie--a hero shot of all of Terabithia--as if that's where any part of the movie took place. Terabithia is BS--far less real than OZ. This movie was a bait-and-switch ripoff. Expand
  22. RyP.
    Jun 30, 2007
    0
    I hated it. It sucked. No plot. No fantasy. just crazy little kids running around abusing little furry animals. i was the worst movie ever.
  23. SamJ
    Apr 25, 2009
    0
    Absolutely awful, literally nothing happened through the whole thing, i was so bored through the entire film that I didn't give a damn about the supposedly super sad ending. Seeing the adverts I expected something like narnia, what I got was just a boring sack of crap
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. The fantasy-adventure incorporates the novel's magical and emotional elements without overplaying either -- a balance that hasn't always proven easy to maintain in the world of kid-lit adaptation.
  2. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    70
    Some literal-minded attempts at magical realism are redeemed by the film's emotional texture, winning chemistry between the tyke leads and scrupulous adherence to a childlike point of view.
  3. 88
    This is easily the best family feature of the early year.