Bridge to Terabithia

Bridge to Terabithia Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 242 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. 90
    Director Gabor Csupo of Rugrats "fame" steer clear of cutesy tween stereotypes, but it's Jess's relationship with his father, played by Robert Patrick, that elevates Terabithia from a good kids movie to a classic contender.
  2. 88
    This is easily the best family feature of the early year.
  3. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    80
    A thoroughly pleasing family film with fine performances and honest, affecting real situations mixed with joyful adventure.
  4. 75
    [Csupo's] take on Bridge to Terabithia doesn't pander or misrepresent, but instead illustrates the power of open-mindedness in both its forms: creativity and acceptance.
  5. 75
    Parents should be warned that the novel ventures into some emotionally dark territory that could be upsetting to very young or sensitive children, and might want to consider reading and discussing the book together before seeing the film.
  6. Bridge to Terabithia the movie, like the book, is buckets-of-tears sad. Director Csupo and company manage to get that - the simple power of a story about kindred souls, about loss, about the limitless possibilities of a lively mind - just right.
  7. Wall Street Journal
    Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    50
    Though the first-time director, Gabor Csupo, has achieved distinction as an animation artist, he lacks experience directing actors. The best adult performance in the film is that of Zooey Deschanel; she comes off -- again, agreeably -- as self-directed.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 105
  2. Negative: 24 out of 105
  1. TessU.
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    This was a moving movie. It really told me that I should just be myself and not follow a crowd and to definitely keep my mind wide open.
  2. JonasN.
    Nov 9, 2008
    10
    This movie is simply beautiful. The way Lesslie gives Jess an incredible gift, and teaches him to appreciate his mind. I have never cried at This movie is simply beautiful. The way Lesslie gives Jess an incredible gift, and teaches him to appreciate his mind. I have never cried at a movie before, but when Jess gives Maybell his hand and takes her to Terabithia, and everything becomes clear, the beauty, the incedible sadness of what happened, the message, I broke down. This movie must not be missed. Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2012
    10
    I love this movie. I think it is a great movie and I believe the right cast was chosen. Josh Hutcherson was a great Jess, Annasophia Robb wasI love this movie. I think it is a great movie and I believe the right cast was chosen. Josh Hutcherson was a great Jess, Annasophia Robb was a perfect Leslie, Bailee Madison was a cute Maybel, Zooey Dushenel was an good teacher. I think the creativity and imagination put into this book and then film was inspiring and a great family film. The ending was very sad and I felt for Jess. The was Josh showed us how Jess was feeling was incredible and more than I expected! Overall a lovely film and perfect for a family get together! Expand
  4. JackB
    Oct 25, 2008
    8
    Heartbreaking, truly heartbreaking. The people who made the trailer should be fired though, very misleading.
  5. Brendan
    Apr 16, 2007
    7
    Like most people that have reviewed this film so far I agree with the fact that the trailer was surely misleading. I have read and enjoyed Like most people that have reviewed this film so far I agree with the fact that the trailer was surely misleading. I have read and enjoyed the book so when the trailer came out I thought that Walden Media and Disney had changed the storyline to put in more animation but I was wrong. It followed the classic book very well and was very exciting, dramatic and humorous. It is one of the best family dramas I have seen. Great performances are given by all the cast members especially from the two young stars. I hope that everyone will give this film a try for it is surly a great adventure that is a classic for Disney. Expand
  6. AaronF.
    Oct 13, 2008
    4
    It had it's good points and was a fairly imaginative movie, and I also appreciated the idea of not just being another LotR ripoff. The It had it's good points and was a fairly imaginative movie, and I also appreciated the idea of not just being another LotR ripoff. The problem for me was the way the tear-jerker ending came about. It just didn't fit the pacing of the movie. It's like sprinting and hitting a wall suddenly. After that was all said and done, they didn't really feel like they finished out the story they had been building with through the movie. I'm not saying they couldn't do that ending, I just wish they'd taken the time to not have it feel so random. They could have used at least some sort of pacing in their or scenes to pre-lude such a sudden tragic moment. It could have been great, but falls flat because of bad directing in my oppinion. Expand
  7. SavannahS.
    Feb 21, 2007
    0
    It was a good movie,that I would have rated 8. But the end RUINED it. It made the whole thing ruined. Like biting into a peice of WONDERFUL It was a good movie,that I would have rated 8. But the end RUINED it. It made the whole thing ruined. Like biting into a peice of WONDERFUL chocolate cake, then coming to the last 2 bites and finding A HAIR. Do you like that cake anymore? No.Do you still think that chocolate cake is good? No. Expand

See all 105 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  2. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.