Bridget Jones's Diary

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 169 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 169

Where To Watch

Buy On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Apr 6, 2016
    7
    You know, diaries are overrated. Let's just not think about them and go home.... however, when I read this upcoming, I never expected it to be that great anyways.
  2. Mar 29, 2016
    10
    One of the most cliche'd romantic comedies I've seen, but it's a great film adaptation to the source material but the screenplay written by Helen Fielding (based on her novel she works on the screenplay), Andrew Davies and Richard Curtis (Notting Hill, Four Weddings and a Funeral) is super charming and is spiking wit also is cheerful, the script and Sharon Maguire's direction workOne of the most cliche'd romantic comedies I've seen, but it's a great film adaptation to the source material but the screenplay written by Helen Fielding (based on her novel she works on the screenplay), Andrew Davies and Richard Curtis (Notting Hill, Four Weddings and a Funeral) is super charming and is spiking wit also is cheerful, the script and Sharon Maguire's direction work perfectly together. Renee Zellweger couldn't be more perfect to play Bridget Jones, she outshines the material. Renee Zellweger plays Bridget Jones, a 32 year old decides it's time she takes control of her life by keeping a diary. She's a heavy-drinking heavy-smoking, who works in publishing, is torn between Daniel Cleaver (Hugh Grant) and Mark Darcy (Colin Firth) who is introduced to Bridget in a god-awful sweater. Bridget's mother (Gemma Jones) has left her husband (Jim Broadbent) for a TV huckster. Despite it's cliche's it has a intelligent screenplay and three great performances by Zellweger, Firth and Grant. 5 out of 5 stars Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    The film adaptation of Bridget Jones's Diary is sweet, honest, hilarious and has a great British cast (and Renee Zellweger, whose accent is thankfully utterly convincing). Bridget Jones makes a compelling heroine who's a real joy to spend time with, and you're carried along nicely with the highs and lows (mostly lows) of her life as a thirty-something singleton looking to improve her lifeThe film adaptation of Bridget Jones's Diary is sweet, honest, hilarious and has a great British cast (and Renee Zellweger, whose accent is thankfully utterly convincing). Bridget Jones makes a compelling heroine who's a real joy to spend time with, and you're carried along nicely with the highs and lows (mostly lows) of her life as a thirty-something singleton looking to improve her life on romantic, professional and emotional terms. The film doesn't make any major changes to the classic rom-com formula, but when a film is this emotionally engaging, well-written (by Andrew Davies and Richard Curtis), confidently directed (by Sharon Maguire) and so ably performed by the cast, it doesn't really need to stand out much from the crowd. You might find yourself shifting a bit uncomfortably towards the end as Bridget, like many rom-com protagonists takes a painfully long time to make the right decision, but a rewarding side story exploring the strained relationship of Bridget's parents (Jim Broadbent and Gemma Jones) helps keep emotion levels high even if the main plot begins to tire. And Bridget really isn't fat, she's woman-shaped. Bridget Jones's Diary is still a great romantic comedy film that delivers everything it promises - laughter, tears and a comforting warm fuzzy feeling inside. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    It is fun, indeed! Unfortunatley, a comedy that is based in ordinary life, and ordinary issues has to be a bit more realistic. To me some of the situations are just ridiculous, you just can't believe them for they are very credible.Personally, I never managed to like Bridget...and I do like Darcy a bit...but almost all the characters are 'movie-like' stereotypical. Bridget's friends doIt is fun, indeed! Unfortunatley, a comedy that is based in ordinary life, and ordinary issues has to be a bit more realistic. To me some of the situations are just ridiculous, you just can't believe them for they are very credible.Personally, I never managed to like Bridget...and I do like Darcy a bit...but almost all the characters are 'movie-like' stereotypical. Bridget's friends do not feel real either.. My favourite-and perhaps the only character I actually did like- character there was the one played by Hugh Grant; I believe because he was more 'human', he was real! The movie would have been much better if he and Bridget ended up together. Still, Bridget was such a mediocre, unattractive, frivolous, shallow, and uneducated girl! Thus, the 'love' between her and Darcy didn't make sense. In fact, the movie never actually shows why they fell in love with each other. Especially why Darcy falls for Bridget!. There were no bases for that. Summarizing, the movie is good for a laugh, but that's it. Would I watch it again? Yeah, indeed, I do watch it every two years. Expand
  5. RachelL.
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    This was a brilliant film! i thought it was hilerious! ive bought the box set of the first one, the second one, and also the missing bits too!
  6. SusanM.
    Oct 11, 2005
    9
    So good. So very, very good.
  7. G.MD.K
    Nov 7, 2004
    10
    A wonderful film! Bridget Jones Diary is such a brilliant movie about how single 30 year olds survive the world of love.I loved this film and every second of it! go see it!
  8. morris
    Sep 22, 2004
    7
    Hardly smart about relationships, but funny and cute, mostly thanks to the disarmingly wonderful Zellwegger.
  9. AnnikaH.
    Jul 28, 2002
    9
    Great, I would give it a 9.5, sorry that some parts of the book don't come back in the movie. Can't wait for the next movie. Cause have seen this one about...a zillion times. Love it!!!!
  10. Loira
    Feb 12, 2002
    10
    Colin Firth is such a total hottie!!! Renee is totally cool and I must say that she totally rocks!!! But Colin Firth is such a hottie!!!!!
  11. DavidS.
    Jan 11, 2002
    7
    The movie grows on you so that by the time it's over, you find yourself wanting more. The main character is portrayed as a never-get-it-right loser that you keep hoping one day, like so many movies do, will get it right and be the envy of everyone. Yet Bridget never quite gets out of this role.
  12. Jen
    Dec 30, 2001
    10
    The movie was great. All my friendS and I did was say that we could see us doing the same things. Bridget Jones was a character that I could relate to. It was great from beginnning to end.
  13. JoanneN.
    Dec 2, 2001
    10
    I really love this movie! It actually makes you think about what's going to happen next. It's romantic in everyway. Even in a humorous way. Hugh Grant is actually cute for the first time in a movie and the old curly haired looking Colin Firth will turn out to be cute in the end. The fight in the movie is one of the highlights! It's not really brutal, but is fun to watch. I really love this movie! It actually makes you think about what's going to happen next. It's romantic in everyway. Even in a humorous way. Hugh Grant is actually cute for the first time in a movie and the old curly haired looking Colin Firth will turn out to be cute in the end. The fight in the movie is one of the highlights! It's not really brutal, but is fun to watch. This movie has some sexual contents and foul language, but that won't even matter. This is one of my favorite movies and people should see it. Expand
  14. TedB.
    Oct 29, 2001
    8
    First a confession. I don't care for most of the roles I have seen Renee Zellweger, and to this point have considered her one-dimensional. I rented this with dread, but was very pleasantly suprised. Apparently Renee can do more than whine. Here's hoping we see more range in the future.
  15. KimR.
    Oct 14, 2001
    10
    "Bridget Jones's Diary" was hilarious!
  16. KimR.
    Oct 14, 2001
    10
    "Bridget Jones's Diary" was hilarious!
  17. ChristeC.
    Sep 30, 2001
    10
    I Love It!!
  18. Kristina
    Sep 14, 2001
    10
    Oh my God!!
  19. Kristina
    Sep 14, 2001
    10
    Oh my God!!
  20. MichaelC.
    Sep 14, 2001
    9
    The only reason not to go and see Bridget Jones?s Diary right now is if you don?t already know the ending to "Fatal Attraction." Otherwise, get your rocker off the seat and run to the cinema to watch this movie! Okay, back to critiquing the movie. It blew me away from start to finish! In the first 5 minutes I was already in tears from laughing so much. That?s a new World record! This The only reason not to go and see Bridget Jones?s Diary right now is if you don?t already know the ending to "Fatal Attraction." Otherwise, get your rocker off the seat and run to the cinema to watch this movie! Okay, back to critiquing the movie. It blew me away from start to finish! In the first 5 minutes I was already in tears from laughing so much. That?s a new World record! This movie is flippin? funny and it knows it. The characters get in impossible situations that are very funny and simple situations that are even funnier. Renee Zellweger plays Bridget brilliantly, she splendid and gained 7kg?s for the movie. Well, Renee, it was worth it. This is arguably her best performance to date, a dramatic and comic one that has had so much effort put into to it literally bursts out of the screen. Hugh Grant injects the film with a shot of bad-boy personality and Colin Firth is just great. The soundtrack is also miraculous and the amazingly original one-liners are so memorable you?ll be quoting them to everyone in sight! Bridget Jones?s Diary is fun, clever, entertaining and frankly brilliant ? see it now! Expand
  21. RobertF.
    Aug 11, 2001
    8
    Zellwegger's oozy warm bubbling sexuality keeps this silly ship afloat...she steals every scene from two pretty boy actors and we never question why they want her so bad...we know why.
  22. Marith
    Jul 21, 2001
    10
    This is the first time in my life that I seen one film, four times. Renee is very good and Colin Firth, yes I like him very much as Darcy. The more films Colin makes the better he becomes. The beauty of Colin Firth's acting is that he gives expression and body language to his character. Great stuff. Greeting from Holland.
  23. NikkiH.
    Jun 29, 2001
    10
    It's all just too true! Great movie!
  24. KarenC.
    Jun 10, 2001
    10
    Who wouldn't love a movie which gives you the idea to have a Tarts and Vicars party of your own (and forget to tell some of the guests that the costume-theme has been cancelled, in favor of a tea party). Great roles for women are rare, and Zellweger sparkles as a funny, voluptuous-as-Hollywood allows, slightly clownish insecure single. While the book and the film have been criticized Who wouldn't love a movie which gives you the idea to have a Tarts and Vicars party of your own (and forget to tell some of the guests that the costume-theme has been cancelled, in favor of a tea party). Great roles for women are rare, and Zellweger sparkles as a funny, voluptuous-as-Hollywood allows, slightly clownish insecure single. While the book and the film have been criticized by those who don't understand comedy or feminism, rest assured that smart women can be witty and romantic and loving and horny and clumsy and flawed, and that you can be as sexy in a girdle as you can be in a thong. Hugh Grant actually acts heterosexual in this film, lusty and sexy. If you've read Helen Fielding's first novel, Cause Celebre, about a woman saving refugees in Africa, you know that she is as politically correct as she is satiric. This is a respectable adaptation of a hilarious novel. Not for men who don't understand why a movie should be about the hearts and minds of clever women. Expand
  25. RyanM.
    May 26, 2001
    8
    Almost always hilarious and touching. You fall in love with "Bridget" after the first five minutes.
  26. MaryZ.
    May 19, 2001
    7
    Renee Z. was charming and convincingly British. Firth was utter perfection as Darcy. Very enjoyable.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 33
  2. Negative: 2 out of 33
  1. Mr. Showbiz
    Reviewed by: Kevin Maynard
    60
    What's right as rain with Diary is the casting.
  2. 75
    Where the highly likable actress (Zellweger) proves most valuable is in making us adore this insecure, clumsy, contradictory creature.
  3. 80
    Bessed with a gleamingly polished, very funny script.