Paramount Pictures | Release Date: October 22, 1999
3.7
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 109 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
38
Mixed:
15
Negative:
56
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
choomtabi31May 20, 2016
One of the few if not the only movie I can watch over and over again. Truly a favorite of mine. Totally recommended.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2456-Bringing-Out-the-Dead
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpangleApr 1, 2016
I did not love Bringing Out the Dead. A compelling character study, the film simply does not resolve enough about its premise to be a truly good film. The whole film builds up to something and the pay-off, if it is there, is so not worth it.I did not love Bringing Out the Dead. A compelling character study, the film simply does not resolve enough about its premise to be a truly good film. The whole film builds up to something and the pay-off, if it is there, is so not worth it. It does not deserve the low audience score it has on Metacritic, though I would attribute that to some weird bot based on the amount of negativity compared to the positive reviews. It is really well done and the acting across the board, especially Ving Rhames, is very good. It is well-written and all that, minus the ending. Another problem I had here was with the editing. I typically love the editing in Scorsese's work, but here, it feels quite disjointed and downright odd at times. Overall, Bringing Out the Dead is an oddly put together and somewhat incomplete work from a master director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
asianriqueSep 15, 2010
The people who I have suggested this film to and disliked it all had one thing in common: they were dissatisfied with a broken and hopeless environment, mental instability, and intense emotions to be the focus of movies. However, the onesThe people who I have suggested this film to and disliked it all had one thing in common: they were dissatisfied with a broken and hopeless environment, mental instability, and intense emotions to be the focus of movies. However, the ones that did like it agree with me that when one takes what is presented on the screen and looks beneath it, the film is now rife with inner conflicts and turmoil, so many different kinds that do not need to be expressed with extroverted antics. Cage's character was intense without having to do or say too much to pass that. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JimmyP.Mar 18, 2007
I thought that this might be maybe one of if not Scorsese's most overlooked film. I thought it had a powerful message, gripping direction, and standout performances, from Nicolas Cage, and Ving Rhames. Lookout for Scorsese's voice I thought that this might be maybe one of if not Scorsese's most overlooked film. I thought it had a powerful message, gripping direction, and standout performances, from Nicolas Cage, and Ving Rhames. Lookout for Scorsese's voice on the dispatch, and also Queen Latifah's. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Barryw.Dec 1, 2005
This movie is excellent.the acting is superb,and the story deep and full of humor,love,and spritual lessons.i loved the movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
VictoriamJan 24, 2005
I tought it was mildly entertaining but the whole story of urban decay destroying someone to the brink of insanity still revites me to the core.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatC.Jan 12, 2004
A unique premise and a lot of tongue-in-cheek gallows humor distinguish this film. It has little in the way of teachings worth retaining, but is quite instructive in pointing out which ones to discard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
YoonC.Sep 14, 2003
A spiritual ambulance chase, the movie's too hectic and hyperbolic(while Cage is too lifeless and dopey) to arrive at any sobering conclusion, moral or otherwise. Highly impressive in terms of camera movement and visual flair, the movie A spiritual ambulance chase, the movie's too hectic and hyperbolic(while Cage is too lifeless and dopey) to arrive at any sobering conclusion, moral or otherwise. Highly impressive in terms of camera movement and visual flair, the movie has little to show or say when at rest. Perhaps, most similar to After Hours, another movie that tried to compensate for the thinness of material or lack of compelling core with constant movement and distractions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RyanM.Feb 8, 2003
A hopeless, pathetic, show off of intense hospital scenes and bad performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SteveK.Nov 12, 2002
I didnt understand this POS movie at all. Prepare yourself for alot of boredom if you decide to watch this movie. Tom Sizemore's character was cool though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 18, 2001
Absolutely great, a misunderstood masterpiece.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JasonD.Mar 29, 2001
There's no way I'd ever want to see this movie again.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JacquesR.Jan 22, 2001
Ving Rhames is absolutely classic, and John Goodman and Tom Sizmore are great. Just be prepared for the film to be a bit depressing: one big night shoot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful