User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1174 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    It's a great movie with great actioning. I'm not for the guy's love story line,that was just weird,but if you looking at the base storyline and the acting that came out of this movie. It was a great movie to reflex a different way of life and there struggles. I wouldn't pay for this movie in the theater,because of the storyline. I waiting to it came on the movie channels before I watched it.
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    Ang Lee is able to articulate the deep true feeling of 'Love' through the portrayal of two people who, no matter what the risks and dangers they could face in their society, cannot stand it when they are apart. The movie redefines the essence of love and the strength of its power, and also deals with the issue of the conformity of society's views are nearly as strong and dangerous if corrupt. Brokeback Mountain is in a way like R&J, both involve a couple that only see each other in secret because of the immoral views of their peers prevent them from being together. Collapse
  3. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    I loved this movie, it makes me cry every time I watch it. I have seen it about 5 times now. Last weekend I ditched the guys and ruined our planned beer run just to watch this film again. Some say it's just a film but for me it's been a real life changer and caused a lot of self reflection......I really think it's time I started being honest with myself. Again, great film, one of the best!
  4. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brokeback Mountain is not only one of the best movies of the decade but also one of the greatest movies of all time! A stunning MASTERPIECE! You can't deny it! It's a great love story (almost platonic!) between two young men! Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhaal give two fantastic performances, making the movie realistic and heart-wrenching. Everyting in this movie is BEAUTIFUL, there are no words to describe It. I remember when I watched it for the first time, it was automatically my favourite movie ever, simply because you have to feel involved in the story. Though the movie describes an homossexual relationship, that's not the point. This movie is about LOVE, that's it! It's a story about TWO PERSONS THAT FELL IN LOVE FOREVER! In the final, if you thought the film would be a cliché, you were wrong. GOD, in the final, Heath gives one of the most devastating scenes in the cinema, you can't help crying everytime you see it. Ang Lee knows how to put emotion into a movie. Gyllenhaal was amazing! LEDGER proved he was the BEST ACTOR OF HIS GENERATION!
    Forever my favourite movie, a TRULY MASTERPIECE! 10.0!
    Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    I don't give many tens, but this deserves it. Aside from being beautifully directed, with great technical aspects, as well as great acting, this is one of the most beautiful scripts of the 21st century so far. It didn't surprise me when I found out Annie Proulx was a finalist for a Pulitzer for the short story, which is translated very well by the two screen writers. The movie starts out very innocent and sweet, and then it starts to turn into a gradual downward spiral of devastation until you're just left emotional knocked out by the end of the movie. The themes of society's influence on human behavior, the desire for happiness, and demise caused by obsession, are all subtly, yet powerfully, conveyed in this movie. Calling this a gay love story is like calling Lord Of The Rings a movie about hiking. This is one of the most torturous, psychological portrayals of two people's lives I've ever seen in a movie. It's so well calculated, without coming off the least bit unnatural. I've seen it several times, and I still pick up on things that I hadn't caught onto before. I heard it was a groundbreaking movie about a gay romance, and I didn't get how that was, since there had been many movies about gay romances before. I figured it was probably an overrated movie. When I saw it, I realized I couldn't have been more wrong. Your emotional connection will be irrelevant to your sexual orientation. What is really going to connect you to the movie are your ideas about the pressure to conform to society, compared to your desire to live a life of happiness. One man chooses conformity, and the other chooses happiness, and it doesn't necessarily end up how you might expect. I'm actually getting emotional writing this, thinking about the movie. I really hope everyone who watches it is able to pick up on the subtle themes, the hidden meanings behind specific lines, and the inner thoughts of particular characters who might not be ready to say those thoughts out loud, or even admit them to themselves. Those kind of things are extremely difficult to incorporate into a script without losing its realistic feel, but this movie does it. Of course, it might take a few views to pick up on everything. Whether you're judging this movie on its intelligent, calculated writing, its technical achievements, its performances, of which Heath Ledger's is one of the best of the 21st century, or its overall directing, or if you judge a movie on its emotional appeal, and its powerful, thought provoking themes, I can't see how you objectively give this movie anything less than a strong review. Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    A rare picture in which I don't doubt for a second that it is a masterpiece. The movie has this unique quality in which everything feels so effortless. Ang Lee's direction for this film is among the best I have seen, and the performances are exceptional.
  7. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    I'm pretty sure that most of the people on this website that are giving this film a "0" haven't even seen it. It's always "ruining our country's morals" or "shoving the gay agenda down our" throats. You know what? If you went to see the movie, you're shoving down your own damn throat. If you don't like the message, don't go see the movie. Simple as that. Additionally, if you truly wanted to protect the "sanctity" of marriage, you'd be making divorce illegal. Does gay marriage affect your life in any way? Didn't think so. As for those of you that argue with the well-developed "God hates fags" statement, I hear Westboro Baptist Church is taking supporters. I mean, really. You people are no better than parasites feeding off of the misery of other people. Doesn't God also preach love? Way to be arrogant, hypocritcal a**holes. Angry rant aside, this movie is absolutely stunning. Heartfelt and utterly heartbreaking, this movie truly captures the essence of what love is. Expand
  8. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    Although i couldn't get any of my friends to watch this with me (i told them we can buy beer and Kleenex because it's a weepy) I really enjoyed it by myself. The Kleenex came in handy.
  9. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Brokeback Mountain is quite possible the best movies of the last decade. It's beautiful, original, with extraordinary performances, and a pace that feels just perfect. It's a heartbreaking love story that moved me very much.
  10. Sep 3, 2010
    8
    Great performances all round in this heart breaking love story.
    Beautifully shot & gently paced with some great incidental music which adds to the whole setting.
  11. Jul 2, 2011
    8
    it's a requiem about old friendships and gone loves. the movie without its Controversial subject is a rare and beautiful romance, too. ang lee is a expert to show exciting moment of love and hate.
  12. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest movies ever made, I simply love this movie and it's almost impossible not to cry with it, such a masterpiece, one of the greatest romance movie of ever
  13. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very, very beautiful movie! I was on the waves of the feeling, living the moments, truly. So nice chosen, cast&crew&music&places&storyy. I was so long seeking for this kinda...oww Cristal!Finally a masterpiece illustrating natural love, unfair of living not-being-yourself after repressing the love truly alive in your heart. The story, the actors, youu.. sweet Ang Lee, I soo thank you! for these 'golden frames'!.. Heath Ledger.. wow. Astonishing.. Jake Gyllenhaal..gorgeous! And all the other ppl involved! Their work fascinates me. I'd rlly go on for some extraass..! All in this moved me to tears..With some risks.. they could have been happy on their own. even letting their families broken..(moved me too, Michelle Williams is amazing!)
    Only they.. and the Brokeback Mountains - the sacred place that brought them together- But..it' was a sacrifice the world would've never understand.. the world'd never let it be so.. This feeling will follow me for some time, I'd recommand with much warm this ever-best-ever drama movie I'vevr seen/lived.. Breeze. Love. Brockback Mountainn... for the natural/wild, simply/complex.. true lovers in you!
    Expand
  14. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Brokeback Mountain is one of the biggest classics of the 00´s decade. And Lee is a great director not afraid of doing such different films, and with this one, he is at his best. The pace is perfect to make you feel the loneliness people in the Mid West around the 60´s-70´s used to feel, and especially the characters here presented. Once the film ends, you can´t get out of your head this impactful movie. Cinematography is crazy good. And the acting... so real, perfect and raw. Jake Gyllenhaal does a great job, Anne Hathaway is great in her little role, Michelle Williams is all kinds of outstanding... but Heath Ledger... a performance that defines a career. I would have given the oscar to him that year. Incredible what he did with his character. I give the movie a 10 because there´s no flaw one can find. Crash winning over Brokeback and Munich was the biggest joke in the Academy´s history. At least it got 3 including best director. Expand
  15. Mar 31, 2013
    2
    Ang Lee's story on two gay loving cowboys is just a complete waste of my time. I never thought that after lee's blockbuster bust, "Hulk" that he would create something completely worse. Sadly he does. First off, the story is just ridiculous. A lot of the movie is just sex, which had plenty of scenes that i've never want to see ever again. The acting may be decent, but when you put these characters in a story like this, it just doesn't work. Plain and Simple. Honestly, I think Lee can do much better than this crap. He somewhat did that with "Life of Pi", but I'm still waiting for that one movie of his that'll hopefully redeem him as one of the greatest directors of our time. But right now, this what we're stuck with. Overall, this movie is a terrible storyline to go off of. Expand
  16. Aug 15, 2011
    2
    A boring "love story" about two gay men that only want to have sex. Basically, this movie is a non-explicit pornography. I don't understand all the hype.
  17. Aug 28, 2011
    8
    Don't believe those who say that Brokeback Mountain redefines anything. What this is is an incredibly well-made Titanic story with a interesting look into a self-loathing mind set. However, you shouldn't even listen to those who try to dismiss its premise of "gay love story" as a gimmick. Not because it rises above that, but because assuming that audiences would respond differently if it were about a man and a woman is an unfair comparison because the entire story revolves around the idea that it is a GAY romance. It's the equivalent of saying "Would you still like Guess Who's Coming to Dinner if everyone was white?" Expand
  18. Dec 6, 2012
    6
    My girlfriend dragged me out to see this: A movie about two male farmers that fall in love but hardly say anything to each other throughout the whole movie, all while pretending to be straight even having female wives. An overrated movie, my girlfriend even apologized to me for taking me to see it because she didn't like it either since the gay couple hardly ever said anything to each other. It's an okay drama that also shows the dangers and hostile perceptions gay men experience in society, worth watching once, but doesn't live up to the hype. 6/10 for a mediocre movie. Expand
  19. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    Overall, the film is well done. Ang Lee has done a fantastic job of "showing" as opposed to "preaching" morality about homosexuality. This is particularly vital as it allows us to simply become engrossed in this tragic but heart-moving love story. Where the film fails, I believe, is the choice of setting. The time and place chosen does not appeal to most people, and we would rather experience a remarkable love story without the added distraction of cowboys and rodeos. I'm sure many would say cowboys are needed in this movie, just as the ship sinking was needed in the "Titanic" . The point, however, is that the added cowboy element has little if no benefit to the story-line. On balance though, it is a satisfying watch with marvelous cinematography and music. Expand
  20. Jun 5, 2013
    0
    GROSSSSS NASTY dont watch this there is no such thing as gay cowboys
  21. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    Ang Lee is a good director and "Brokeback Mountain" is a good film too. Heath Ledger has a difficult role and he plays very well. Jake Gyllenhaal is good too but Ledger is better. Good film.
  22. Mar 22, 2014
    2
    Incredibly dull movie about gay cowboys, that probably wouldn't get any popularity, if it wasn't about homosexuals. I'm not any sort of homophobe, but giving a boring movie, without any plot twists, deeper meaning or action high grade, just because it tells a story about gays is plain riddiculous.

    Avoid it like plague, unless you are deeply involved in some sort of LGBT movement or you
    can't sleep at night and need something to help you achive that state. Expand
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 50
    Takes great pains to be a compassionate love story; but the filmmaking itself, self-consciously restrained and desiccated, is inert and inexpressive.
  2. 75
    Isn't for everyone, but for those who are not bothered by the homosexual relationship, it offers a study in yearning, love, and loss. It didn't affect me as deeply as either "The Bridges of Madison County" or "The Remains of the Day," but it evokes some of the same feelings.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    There's neither coyness nor self-importance in Brokeback Mountain--just close, compassionate observation, deeply committed performances, a bone-deep feeling for hardscrabble Western lives. Few films have captured so acutely the desolation of frustrated, repressed passion.