User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1250 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. richardbuddenhagen
    Jan 2, 2006
    6
    First, let me say that I really hate it when the hero gets killed by a deus ex machina.
    In many ways like Million Dollar Baby, another Hollywood tear-jerker where way too attractive actors & actresses pose as real people in a naturalistic world full of artifice. I did feel a smidge sad when Heath found his shirt (though I saw it coming when the shirt went missing in reel 2), but mostly
    First, let me say that I really hate it when the hero gets killed by a deus ex machina.
    In many ways like Million Dollar Baby, another Hollywood tear-jerker where way too attractive actors & actresses pose as real people in a naturalistic world full of artifice. I did feel a smidge sad when Heath found his shirt (though I saw it coming when the shirt went missing in reel 2), but mostly I felt that these two dudes were too mopey and existential to be real gay cowboys. I mean, unless I missed something, they're not supposed to be French, are they? They behaved like starry-eyed teenagers past the point (and age) of believability; as much as I could buy the first half hour of meet-cute and the last five minutes of human loss, the big fat middle was a dull TV message-movie. Did Matthew Shepherd really die for this? And brand me a stereo-typer, but (in my limited experience) of most of the gay couples I've met, at least one of the partners displays way more of a fey affect then either of these two stoic shepherds ever showed.
    Expand
  2. Tonydannie
    Jun 15, 2006
    5
    Wow! Talk about overrated! The most unforgatble Love Story becomes excatly that! Forgatble! I was actually looking forward to seeing this movie. But as I sat there watching couldnt help but feel a little cheated. People say it is Greek Tragedy or what have you. To me the story could have been more. There are some nice moments where we feel the characters pain having to deal with this Wow! Talk about overrated! The most unforgatble Love Story becomes excatly that! Forgatble! I was actually looking forward to seeing this movie. But as I sat there watching couldnt help but feel a little cheated. People say it is Greek Tragedy or what have you. To me the story could have been more. There are some nice moments where we feel the characters pain having to deal with this uncontrollable feeling. They are very well directed. However there really was not that big of drama! I have an open mind and that is why i wanted to see this movie. but it really did not deliver to me. I dont know what it is. it just was not there. I guess it has to be moments where Hey they get spotted acting a little to friendly with each other but nothing happens... This is a sad story. Well worth at least one time glance but nothing more. Just Over rated! Now Ang Lee can get back to more important movies Like "Hulk II" Expand
  3. GaryD.
    Jan 23, 2006
    5
    My wife & I just saw this film and we both came away generally bored, unmoved, and feeling duped by all the hype. Beautiful scenery and cinematography, reasonable depiction of herding sheep on summer range, good cast, and fair acting (nothing special, as others seem to think). BUT: The story is just not engaging. There's no chemistry between the lovers, no flirting nuances, no My wife & I just saw this film and we both came away generally bored, unmoved, and feeling duped by all the hype. Beautiful scenery and cinematography, reasonable depiction of herding sheep on summer range, good cast, and fair acting (nothing special, as others seem to think). BUT: The story is just not engaging. There's no chemistry between the lovers, no flirting nuances, no buildup. In fact, their initial lovemaking seems more like an impulsive act of rape. Like one of the other reviewers herein, I think I must have missed the "love" part (maybe I dozed off). And much of the rest of the story is either implausible or uninteresting. Will they finally get together and live happily ever after? We simply don't care. One of the "great films of all time"? No way. Even if you narrow the category to gay films, it's not even in the same league as "The Crying Game". I'm always perplexed when I'm in such disagreement with the reviewers, especially the "user comments" on this site, with which I normally agree. So I analyzed the data a little more carefully. For the weekend of Jan. 13-15, BBM (in its 6th week) grossed $5.8M, which is in ninth place. Seems odd that, by now, word of mouth for this monumental film would be doing at least as well as "Memoirs of a Geisha" or "Fun With Dick & Jane". I know, "there's no accounting for taste". I also looked at the Top 10 films of 2005 where, based on critics' reviews, BBM is #6. Excluding BBM, the average number of User Comments for the other top 9 films is 43. BBM, on the other hand, has over 460 User Comments. Seems odd that a film that is generating so much positive feedback from users would not be doing better at the box office. Or could it be that the ballot box is getting stuffed by folks with an agenda, trying to generate interest and help its chances for an Oscar. Just a thought. Expand
  4. DavidS.
    Jan 30, 2006
    4
    An overcontrived love movie. Honestly, politics aside, it's just a love story but with a guy instead of a gal. Rated so high out of fear that they'll be accused of being a homophobe. Really, nothing special here.
  5. JulioPedroF.
    Jan 1, 2006
    4
    Why is this film garnering so many 10s from us individual critics? The only thing worthwhile about this film is the theme, and that is never enough to create a good story. For my part, I live in the desert, and am no stranger to its seduction. When I wake up in the morning, I see scenery just as beautiful if not more so than in the film, and this landscape is populated by plenty of people Why is this film garnering so many 10s from us individual critics? The only thing worthwhile about this film is the theme, and that is never enough to create a good story. For my part, I live in the desert, and am no stranger to its seduction. When I wake up in the morning, I see scenery just as beautiful if not more so than in the film, and this landscape is populated by plenty of people whose lives will never be celebrated in particular or archetype. The form of the story is excellent, but the story itself is painfully old fashioned and the obsessive focus on the lovers was truly tiring. Why was further attention not paid to the wives? The children? The community? The supposed murderers? Surely their characters are just as interesting as the two dimensional (though beautiful) Ennis and Jack. Just because it's about gay cowboys doesn't make it worth the filmstock it was printed on. It may have been remarkable, but it is not truly great. Expand
  6. BillL.
    Jan 25, 2006
    4
    This movie is definitely overhyped. The photography is beautiful. Gay love needs to be more tenderly presented by people you care for, and in this movie it seems more like lust among the shepherds. The real issues involving families with children by the gay lovers is only superficially explored and the script seems dry and lacking in passion. It`s not the actors fault but this message This movie is definitely overhyped. The photography is beautiful. Gay love needs to be more tenderly presented by people you care for, and in this movie it seems more like lust among the shepherds. The real issues involving families with children by the gay lovers is only superficially explored and the script seems dry and lacking in passion. It`s not the actors fault but this message needs a real loving and profound script. It will win awards for its hype and daring to show homosexual intercourse for the mainstream first time, but it could have said much more and much more elegantly. I don`t think it will further the cause it is supposed to be supporting. Expand
  7. LizzyQ
    Feb 9, 2006
    5
    I think this movie was way over-rated. The animal abuse was almost too much to bear. The cinematography was beautiful, I think because the scenery was beautiful. I was not impressed.
  8. ToddF.
    Mar 13, 2006
    5
    Everyone else misses the point. This is not a beautiful love story, this is actually a tragedy...a tragedy for the families these men ripped apart trying to fulfill their "forbidden love". Real men stick to their commitments and provide support and love to their families first, their illicit lovers not at all. Reminds me of the guys from high school who leave their wives to revive the Everyone else misses the point. This is not a beautiful love story, this is actually a tragedy...a tragedy for the families these men ripped apart trying to fulfill their "forbidden love". Real men stick to their commitments and provide support and love to their families first, their illicit lovers not at all. Reminds me of the guys from high school who leave their wives to revive the teenage affair after a 20 year reunion, only to find their lives, and the lives of those they should love most, ruined. Sad, just sad. With this being Hollywood's version of a beautiful love story, it is no wonder Hollywood marriages last 3 months and Hollywood kids are drug addicts. Expand
  9. DougP.
    Apr 12, 2006
    4
    This movie does depict the trials and tribulations that some gay men go through (less so in these modern times) but the movie was a big dissapointment. I thought after watching it I could tell my heterosexual friends to watch so they could have a better understanding of the gay life, but the movie itself is not worth the recommendation. I'm not saying that in the end everything This movie does depict the trials and tribulations that some gay men go through (less so in these modern times) but the movie was a big dissapointment. I thought after watching it I could tell my heterosexual friends to watch so they could have a better understanding of the gay life, but the movie itself is not worth the recommendation. I'm not saying that in the end everything should have worked out and they lived out their lives together, but the ending was terrible, I was struggling to even bring a tear to my eye because it was obvious that Ennes didn't share Jack's feelings about love and happiness, granted it would be difficult in those times to live a happy life as a gay couple, but Ennes also displayed little emotion at the end of the movie, and I really can't say anything else besides this movie was dissapointing. I would recommend "Beautiful Thing" , it more closely reflects the challenges a gay person faces in these times and it has a happier ending. Expand
  10. JosephKeslar
    Jan 15, 2006
    4
    You know, I expected to be crying buckets but I wasn't. I wasn't crying. Why? Because I cry for joy, not pain. It was a classic gay Hollywood love story, all right- the faggot who seduces gets what coming to him, death, while the beloved is left to be lonely the rest of his life. Lost his wife, kids are becoming adults, his fancy boy went and got himself killed for beingYou know, I expected to be crying buckets but I wasn't. I wasn't crying. Why? Because I cry for joy, not pain. It was a classic gay Hollywood love story, all right- the faggot who seduces gets what coming to him, death, while the beloved is left to be lonely the rest of his life. Lost his wife, kids are becoming adults, his fancy boy went and got himself killed for being too uppity. You know I wanted to love this movie but I just don't. I haven't read the book yet, but I have one thing to say if it ends the same way as the movie- Shame on you, Annie Proulx! I wanted to love this movie, but it was truly disappointing. No way to give either of the queers a little happiness, even in 1983, long after Stonewall? Perhaps another case of overhyping-expectations lead to resentment. At least they got two guys to play the parts. Expand
  11. Matt
    Mar 15, 2006
    5
    This movie was not all that it was hyped up to be. I went there expecting to at least see a love story that was unique at best, but it ended up being depressing because how careless these guys were about their families and such. I just couldn't stand the two main characters and felt absolutely no sympathy for them. The only reason i give it points are for michelle william'sThis movie was not all that it was hyped up to be. I went there expecting to at least see a love story that was unique at best, but it ended up being depressing because how careless these guys were about their families and such. I just couldn't stand the two main characters and felt absolutely no sympathy for them. The only reason i give it points are for michelle william's performance and maybe a bit of Anne Hathaway's. This was more of an anti-love story that depicted gays in more of a negative way than a positive way. Expand
  12. PeterD.
    Feb 25, 2007
    4
    Beautiful and moving nature photography of mountain scenes and sheep and evocation of realistic ambiance of cowboy town. Brilliant casting and directing and the movie has it's heart in the right place.
  13. Dec 6, 2012
    6
    My girlfriend dragged me out to see this: A movie about two male farmers that fall in love but hardly say anything to each other throughout the whole movie, all while pretending to be straight even having female wives. An overrated movie, my girlfriend even apologized to me for taking me to see it because she didn't like it either since the gay couple hardly ever said anything to eachMy girlfriend dragged me out to see this: A movie about two male farmers that fall in love but hardly say anything to each other throughout the whole movie, all while pretending to be straight even having female wives. An overrated movie, my girlfriend even apologized to me for taking me to see it because she didn't like it either since the gay couple hardly ever said anything to each other. It's an okay drama that also shows the dangers and hostile perceptions gay men experience in society, worth watching once, but doesn't live up to the hype. 6/10 for a mediocre movie. Expand
  14. OrsonO.
    Jan 20, 2006
    5
    There are 17 reviews rated here "100" and only ne less than "50." Can this really be veridical? - truthful? - accurate? Or does this extraordinary ranking merely reflect the PC sensibility - the Gay "cowboy" romance everybody MUST love - that afflicts the latte drinking New York Times reading chattering class? I'm betting the latter. That doesn't mean this isn't worth There are 17 reviews rated here "100" and only ne less than "50." Can this really be veridical? - truthful? - accurate? Or does this extraordinary ranking merely reflect the PC sensibility - the Gay "cowboy" romance everybody MUST love - that afflicts the latte drinking New York Times reading chattering class? I'm betting the latter. That doesn't mean this isn't worth seeing. But I remember when films about "men who couldn't talk about their feelings" were literally a dima dozen, a few decadesa go. And whom am I to say that new generations shouldn't redicover a timeless theme in a new setting? Ang Lee is also one of our best directors. SO why not see it now? I will see it, but only long after the buzz is gone and the self-righteous moralizing of the Leftist zombies who monopolize reviewing - probably when I can see it for two bucks. Why? Many friends say the short story by Annie Proulx is considerably better. Even reviewer "Neepy" writes "it is too safe. I didn't feel much chemistry, bonding, or even lust between the two cowboys." Thoughts others have echoed - it simply isn't as good as it's made out to be. It simply isn't as good or believable as Ang Lee's "The Wedding Banquet," another gay themed film about tragic love. So why do reviewers love a film that indulges in all the negative stereotypes about westerners and Mexicans? Because gays are a priviledged "minority." This is the "Philadelphia" or "Angels in America" of our time. The lemmings are out this season, ruining a good film for those who aren't bird watchers. Too bad they don't simply leave their agenda driven baggage at home and simply let the art speak for itself. Expand
  15. EnnioP.
    Jan 2, 2006
    5
    Not as great as i thought or as its hyped to be. It was a nice story, but one that i've seen many times except this time it was two men as opposed to what i usually see with a man and a woman. Nice typical love story but with two men....maybe critics loved this because it was different. Who knows??? Overhyped, but an ok film.
  16. AmyR.
    Apr 12, 2006
    6
    Worth a rental, but disappointing. I'm a fan of Ang Lee's films, but Heath Ledger's performance almost ruined the movie for me. I thought his use of his face and mouth was exagerrated and distracting--he was hard to understand, and frankly, frustrating to watch. (I grew up with a grandad who was this "strong silent type," so maybe my expectations are unrealistic?!Worth a rental, but disappointing. I'm a fan of Ang Lee's films, but Heath Ledger's performance almost ruined the movie for me. I thought his use of his face and mouth was exagerrated and distracting--he was hard to understand, and frankly, frustrating to watch. (I grew up with a grandad who was this "strong silent type," so maybe my expectations are unrealistic?! Grandad was a master...) However, Jake Gyllenhall's performance saved the movie, and the cinematography is beautiful. But, the intensity just isn't sustained, and the screenplay somehow doesn't bring to life the depth and breadth of all those years' hidden love. Something didn't work here, and I think it's in Annie Proulx's short story. The movie ultimately seems at its core like merely an overexpanded idea, relying on a foundation of supposed bleakness that's unexplored. It doesn't quite work, and it's a shame. I thought the Ice Storm understood and explored its era and culture much better, and I expected more from Mr. Lee. Expand
  17. ScottL
    Jan 29, 2006
    6
    It's a bit too long, lacks any suspense or genuine originality , other than the gay angle and has no real surprises but it's very beautifully shot and says what it has to say (which isn't much) well. Heath Ledgers performance is Oscar worthy.
  18. JamesR.
    Jan 2, 2006
    6
    Beautiful cinematography, and the relationship is heartfelt, but the movie just drags too much to be great. Who knew that being gay in Wyoming meant spending 80% of your time staring wordlessly at the landscape?
  19. FrankT
    Jan 3, 2006
    5
    Professionally executed in every way, but antiseptic. i'm amazed that people actually respond to this film. i was not engaged. couldn't buy into the romance. didn't feel the chemistry. didn't feel the love. neither did any of the 4 people i've spoken to who also felt disappointed and cold. wildly overrated.
  20. SuzanneS
    Jan 7, 2006
    4
    Guess I missed the "part" about love....between any of the characters. Although the scenery was beautiful.
  21. DianeB.
    Jan 8, 2006
    5
    I haven't read Proulx's short story but I think I am a minority voice on the movie. I found Brokeback Mountain trite and frustrating, often boring, using more gay stereotypes than I like to see: punitive fathers, wives who suffer in silence (until they blow), alcoholism, self-hatred and denial, violent death by homophobes (I know, I know, stereotypes are often rooted in I haven't read Proulx's short story but I think I am a minority voice on the movie. I found Brokeback Mountain trite and frustrating, often boring, using more gay stereotypes than I like to see: punitive fathers, wives who suffer in silence (until they blow), alcoholism, self-hatred and denial, violent death by homophobes (I know, I know, stereotypes are often rooted in reality!) and many cinematic stereotypes as well - long shots of snow-capped mountains, full moons, empty decaying towns blowing in the wind, etc. I was never quite convinced by the "love" between these two - (sexual attraction, yes, but I couldn't figure out what else) or the motivation for Jack and Ennis enduring 20 mostly miserable years during a period of great national change. On some levels I found this an anti-gay movie (emphasis on depression, punishment and deprivation) rather than a sensitive portrayal of a loving, though doomed, relationship. I did like the scenes of the sheep being moved. Expand
  22. DanV.
    Feb 10, 2006
    6
    It was a pretty good movie but way overrated. The aging techniques were way unbelievable. After promising to leave myself and a guest rocked with weeping we were just happy to be done with it and leaving the theatre. Music was not memorable other than that one signature guitar, melodramatic, signature guitar riff.
  23. Jake
    Feb 2, 2006
    6
    an okay movie in it's own right, a little bit dull. It's beautiful to look at, but it just didn't have the emotional effect on me that everyone else seems to be having. Even though the two leads happen to be men (and I thought they both did a terrific job acting) the story about forrbiden love and its destructive results seems to be rehashed. Was it a good movie? Yes. an okay movie in it's own right, a little bit dull. It's beautiful to look at, but it just didn't have the emotional effect on me that everyone else seems to be having. Even though the two leads happen to be men (and I thought they both did a terrific job acting) the story about forrbiden love and its destructive results seems to be rehashed. Was it a good movie? Yes. Great? No. Does it deserve an Oscar? No. Other films like Crash and Capote and even Munich are much more worthy of the honor, but will most likely not get it only because this film is so contrversial, which is a pity, because the title "Best Film" implies just that, and Brokeback was definatley not the Best Film of 2005 by any means. Expand
  24. JackM.
    Apr 1, 2006
    6
    Overpraised melodrama. An uninteresting story about uninteresting people. And the production values are weak, to boot. Several early scenes are flat-out over-exposed and out-of-focus. That ain't art, Mary, that's mediocrity. Heath Ledger mumbles his way through the entire movie, which some pretentious people confuse with acting.
  25. PatriceL.
    Dec 16, 2005
    5
    What a desecration to Proulx's story! Ang Lee once again shows his tedium-masquerading-as-High Art with this farce. I couldn't stop laughing at the sheer absurdity of the scenes -- Gyllenhaal batting his pretty lashes at the strong silent Ledger. Waiting for him in the tent with nothing on but a smile. And of course one musn't forget the saccharine orchestral accompaniment. What a desecration to Proulx's story! Ang Lee once again shows his tedium-masquerading-as-High Art with this farce. I couldn't stop laughing at the sheer absurdity of the scenes -- Gyllenhaal batting his pretty lashes at the strong silent Ledger. Waiting for him in the tent with nothing on but a smile. And of course one musn't forget the saccharine orchestral accompaniment. Come on. Proulx's story is about love not cheese. The only thing that saves this movie from pure kitsch is the performance of Michelle Williams and Anne Hathaway's last scene. They rock. Expand
  26. EvaS.
    Dec 30, 2005
    5
    Brokeback Mountain was beautifully shot, but the story line was less than engaging. Heath Ledger's character Ennis is not a lovable character and the audience is left wondering why we should even care about the frustrating, dead end route his life has taken. Jake Gyllenhal's character Jack is far more appealing and his portrayal of desperate circumstances is believable and Brokeback Mountain was beautifully shot, but the story line was less than engaging. Heath Ledger's character Ennis is not a lovable character and the audience is left wondering why we should even care about the frustrating, dead end route his life has taken. Jake Gyllenhal's character Jack is far more appealing and his portrayal of desperate circumstances is believable and evokes considerable sympathy from the audience. Unfortunately, the love triangles that result from the gay lovers marriages to women are not at all exploited to add conflict and interest to the story. Expand
  27. Veronica
    Jan 15, 2006
    6
    I completely agree with Sean in the comment below. I left the movie theatre perplexed as to why I did not like this film as much as I excepted to or as much as everyone else. something is missing. I couldn't help feel that the film is a little too well done, too comfortable. A pretty package that doesn't know what it wants to be and ultimatley fails to deliver.
  28. S.Gold
    Jan 2, 2006
    6
    Not bad, but faulted, very hollywood. They're clearly giving themselves a pat on the back I can see why someone would love the film, but I don't get it. Great performance by Heath Ledger though and beautifully filmed landscape.
  29. Kitaro
    Jan 23, 2006
    5
    A slightly ridiculous movie with a kind heart. It has its moments and some fine performances.
  30. ChrisP.
    Jan 6, 2006
    6
    A forbiden love story that was extremely well acted. The wyoming mountain scenes were as stunning and desolate as they are in person. The problem I had was this movie lacked the hook or climactic ending to this sad love affair. Sorry to all those who are in love with this movie because its different or was hyped harder and longer than any other film this year, but BrokeBack...its a yawner.
  31. JimG.
    Dec 29, 2005
    5
    This movie was definitely worth seeing, but the story isn
  32. TerryB.
    Jan 21, 2006
    5
    Should be called "the emperor's new movie." It's not bad, but it's far from a masterpiece. It has lots of technical flaws, the most prominent being the sappy, melodramatic script, the sloppy editing, and the inconsistent cinematography.
  33. OliverC.
    Feb 12, 2006
    6
    The people who like this movie the most are the people who never saw it. I dont get what all the fuss is about, there is basically no love or romance in a romantic drama. It drags on a lot towards the end and i left the theater frowning. O and Omg what a predictable ending, honestly like i've never seen that before? You should probably go see it because people make it sound great and The people who like this movie the most are the people who never saw it. I dont get what all the fuss is about, there is basically no love or romance in a romantic drama. It drags on a lot towards the end and i left the theater frowning. O and Omg what a predictable ending, honestly like i've never seen that before? You should probably go see it because people make it sound great and then u can come back and agree with me. Expand
  34. Rusty
    Dec 13, 2005
    5
    Haven't seen it. But based on the fact that people are saying Oscar, I am very suspicious of their intentions. Is it because the film is great or because they have alternate desires to promote homosexuality. Very, very suspicious.
  35. Oct 17, 2013
    6
    Ang Lee is a good director and "Brokeback Mountain" is a good film too. Heath Ledger has a difficult role and he plays very well. Jake Gyllenhaal is good too but Ledger is better. Good film.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 50
    Takes great pains to be a compassionate love story; but the filmmaking itself, self-consciously restrained and desiccated, is inert and inexpressive.
  2. 75
    Isn't for everyone, but for those who are not bothered by the homosexual relationship, it offers a study in yearning, love, and loss. It didn't affect me as deeply as either "The Bridges of Madison County" or "The Remains of the Day," but it evokes some of the same feelings.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    There's neither coyness nor self-importance in Brokeback Mountain--just close, compassionate observation, deeply committed performances, a bone-deep feeling for hardscrabble Western lives. Few films have captured so acutely the desolation of frustrated, repressed passion.