Brokeback Mountain

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1298 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Brokeback Mountain is one of the biggest classics of the 00´s decade. And Lee is a great director not afraid of doing such different films, and with this one, he is at his best. The pace is perfect to make you feel the loneliness people in the Mid West around the 60´s-70´s used to feel, and especially the characters here presented. Once the film ends, you can´t getBrokeback Mountain is one of the biggest classics of the 00´s decade. And Lee is a great director not afraid of doing such different films, and with this one, he is at his best. The pace is perfect to make you feel the loneliness people in the Mid West around the 60´s-70´s used to feel, and especially the characters here presented. Once the film ends, you can´t get out of your head this impactful movie. Cinematography is crazy good. And the acting... so real, perfect and raw. Jake Gyllenhaal does a great job, Anne Hathaway is great in her little role, Michelle Williams is all kinds of outstanding... but Heath Ledger... a performance that defines a career. I would have given the oscar to him that year. Incredible what he did with his character. I give the movie a 10 because there´s no flaw one can find. Crash winning over Brokeback and Munich was the biggest joke in the Academy´s history. At least it got 3 including best director. Expand
  2. SAbBJ
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    I had no desire to see this movie! I went with my girlfriend to get out of the "doghouse" and I did not want any of my friends to know. We had all be joking about the movie for weeks. After going, and just minutes into the movie, I completely forgot it was a story about 2 guys. You get so caught up in the movie......and what is going on. When it was over, we were both so down. Actually I had no desire to see this movie! I went with my girlfriend to get out of the "doghouse" and I did not want any of my friends to know. We had all be joking about the movie for weeks. After going, and just minutes into the movie, I completely forgot it was a story about 2 guys. You get so caught up in the movie......and what is going on. When it was over, we were both so down. Actually down for a couple of days. This is the first movie that has ever had this kind of impact on me. She and I have had some of the best talks since this movie and it has brought us closer. You guys out there (including my friends) who think this is a joke of a movie......go see it with open eyes. And just because you find this movie is a 10, does not mean you are gay! Expand
  3. Anth
    Jan 5, 2006
    9
    Anyone who would give this movie a zero (Trish H.) because of its homosexual content missed the entire part about LOVE. You would do well to take some of your "moral fiber" and try to be a little more regular.
  4. Brianne
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Fantastic-- strong, meaningful and so real. Perfect movie.
  5. EstelleG.
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    This film was a real eye opener, and timely, as humanity seeks to evolve and find our centre. This movie was all encompassing, surpassing what some may see as the main theme - gay love . It brought home the realisation that life is so short, that we do not stand in judgment of each other and that love in its purest form does not discriminate.
  6. romanm
    Feb 10, 2009
    10
    This movie has dug so far into my soul and touched me so deep that its haunting effect may never go away. never has a movie made me take a long look in the mirror at myself, the life i've led, wanted to lead, what i've had to let go and why., what and who fills my heart with unimaginable joy and how sometimes that joy has been turned into unimaginable sorrow. this film has taken This movie has dug so far into my soul and touched me so deep that its haunting effect may never go away. never has a movie made me take a long look in the mirror at myself, the life i've led, wanted to lead, what i've had to let go and why., what and who fills my heart with unimaginable joy and how sometimes that joy has been turned into unimaginable sorrow. this film has taken me to places that terrify me and leave me speechless while at the same time makes me realize what a precious gift i have been given....the ability to give and receive love in all its graces and hearrtbreaks. i will never take that gift f or it sunkown outcome for granted.but pursue it and be thankful i was allowed the journey. Expand
  7. ChrisB.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    Two homosexual individuals struggle to be together, bound by the norms and rules of society. At first, I was confused to how fast the story was moving with the very short scenes; but then understood the movie has to be told like this as it takes place over somewhat 20years. Looking back, this method of story-telling was very effective. As a true horror, sci-fi and animie fanatic, even I Two homosexual individuals struggle to be together, bound by the norms and rules of society. At first, I was confused to how fast the story was moving with the very short scenes; but then understood the movie has to be told like this as it takes place over somewhat 20years. Looking back, this method of story-telling was very effective. As a true horror, sci-fi and animie fanatic, even I found this movie breathtaking. Scenery, story and acting was spot on. I've seen alot of movies, and this is at the top of the pile. Everybody should see this movie! Expand
  8. Darren&Brandi
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    Brandi- It was good I liked it alot. Darren-Brandi actually cried! I did too. Stephanie was bawling! And Rick well I think he cried too.. Brandi says she was about to cry..But same difference.. Im kinda pissed at the fact that all gay romances end in tragedy..Why cant we win!?
  9. JosephN.
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    all of america should see this movie. and all the troops in iraq, too. it's about hatred as well as love and it's a very important film. well done ang lee.
  10. NestorI.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Never before saw a movie that made me cry.
  11. JonathanF
    Jul 21, 2008
    10
    One of the most remarkable films I have ever seen. It is perfect. Heath Ledger is brilliant, and the fact that he is gone only makes this film that much more heart-wrenching. This movie belongs to Ledger, but you cannot deny the accomplishments of the rest of the cast - Jake Gyllenhaal, Michelle Williams and Anne Hathaway are fantastic, as is Kate Mara as Ledger's daughter. The final One of the most remarkable films I have ever seen. It is perfect. Heath Ledger is brilliant, and the fact that he is gone only makes this film that much more heart-wrenching. This movie belongs to Ledger, but you cannot deny the accomplishments of the rest of the cast - Jake Gyllenhaal, Michelle Williams and Anne Hathaway are fantastic, as is Kate Mara as Ledger's daughter. The final scene is one of excruciating emotion. What a truly incredible film. Also, one of the most important ever made. Expand
  12. SteffiC
    Aug 18, 2008
    10
    I Loved Heath Ledger in this film, i cried three times with his performance. Heath and Jake were the right actors to cast in this film. Excellent film!
  13. NickBristol
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    i saw this film two days ago and have not been able to concentrate on anything else. i keep telling myself its just a film but it has moved me in a way like no other thing i have ever seen. it is the most beautiful masterpiece i have ever seen and probably will ever see. it broke my heart and i left the cinema wanting a different ending but knowing it would not have been the film it wasi saw this film two days ago and have not been able to concentrate on anything else. i keep telling myself its just a film but it has moved me in a way like no other thing i have ever seen. it is the most beautiful masterpiece i have ever seen and probably will ever see. it broke my heart and i left the cinema wanting a different ending but knowing it would not have been the film it was without the ending it had. everyone should see this and i believe that jake and heath should win awards for these performances Expand
  14. Brian
    Jan 17, 2006
    8
    Overall a good movie. For those with open minds, the movie offers a lot to think about. As I read the reviews below, I couldn't help but think the following.....for those saying if the movie wasn't about "gay" cowboys it wouldn't be acclaimed is like saying if Titanic wasn't about a ship sinking it wouldn't have been such a success. For the obvious ChristiansOverall a good movie. For those with open minds, the movie offers a lot to think about. As I read the reviews below, I couldn't help but think the following.....for those saying if the movie wasn't about "gay" cowboys it wouldn't be acclaimed is like saying if Titanic wasn't about a ship sinking it wouldn't have been such a success. For the obvious Christians who slammed the movie because of its content (yes, I am a straight male Christian with a family), this movie offered great insight into those who are different than most of us and how those people are affected by the intolerence of the rest of us. Before you praise Christians so much remember...the guys at the end who murdered Jack probably called themselves Christians.

    Good insightful movie. If you keep an open mind you'll learn. If you don't keep an open mind, don't bother seeing it and go see Hostel (you won't have a problem with that movie).
    Expand
  15. MelS
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    This movie is a masterpiece and it is beautiful in every way.
  16. DelilahV.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    I thought this movie was one of the most brilliant movies ever made. Everyone says "if it had been a man and a woman no one would have cared". That's the point! It's different. And beautiful.
  17. AlS.
    Jul 12, 2008
    10
    Perfect in every literary aspect, superbly complemented by the musical score.
  18. Jesusblack
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Brokeback mountain is the 4th best film i've ever seen. it's amazing that ang lee, who created the hulk,(the worst movie i've ever seen), could create such an untimely and beautiful masterpiece. it makes me proud to be gay!!!
  19. HeatherW
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    It's been over 24 hours, and I'm still feeling elated and devestated. Elated because I've been touched deeply by one of the most beautiful love stories I have ever known. Elated because of the raw courage and sensitivity and sheer brilliance that Gyllenhall and Ledger bring to this movie. Elated because I finally got to see one of my favorite writer's work *finally* It's been over 24 hours, and I'm still feeling elated and devestated. Elated because I've been touched deeply by one of the most beautiful love stories I have ever known. Elated because of the raw courage and sensitivity and sheer brilliance that Gyllenhall and Ledger bring to this movie. Elated because I finally got to see one of my favorite writer's work *finally* done justice. But devastated. Just devastated. I won't say why, of course, because I don't want to give any spoilers. But all I can say is, if (and I do mean *if*) you think you can handle it without being a giggly child or a hung-up Christian conservative, please see this film. See it twice. Let it seep into your bones. Into your heart. Definitely the best movie of the year, and that's saying something. Expand
  20. rays.
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    A film in which more is said in the faces of the actors than in their dialogue. The pain in the film is cumulative and consequently profound. Ledger is a revelation and Gyllenhaal is impressive.
  21. BlisterfishCafe
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    WOW! The very best film I've seen since "Powder". I felt as if I really knew these chracters... and that ain't easy these days. I recently scolded myself in a way that makes it difficult to get out and about...I'm glad I made it to this one! It was a lobster that burned my genitals and I just purchased a laxtex fist for my friend Gary this Christmas season. Be strongWOW! The very best film I've seen since "Powder". I felt as if I really knew these chracters... and that ain't easy these days. I recently scolded myself in a way that makes it difficult to get out and about...I'm glad I made it to this one! It was a lobster that burned my genitals and I just purchased a laxtex fist for my friend Gary this Christmas season. Be strong and enjoy this film. Expand
  22. HeroGreen
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN AN IMPOSIBLE LOVE
    Before I saw the movie, I thought that homosexual people were weird and disgusting. When I heard about this movie and all the awards, I went to see it with my mom (AND I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE bad). This movie that only costed 11 million $ comparing to King Kong with 209 millon $ was great. From the cinematography...to the way they treat the story. Ang
    BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN AN IMPOSIBLE LOVE
    Before I saw the movie, I thought that homosexual people were weird and disgusting. When I heard about this movie and all the awards, I went to see it with my mom (AND I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE bad). This movie that only costed 11 million $ comparing to King Kong with 209 millon $ was great. From the cinematography...to the way they treat the story. Ang Lee is a Great Director (Crouching Tigger, Hidden Dragon), and after making a bad movie (Hulk), he continued the good road. Gylleenhaal used to be a bad actor (The day After Tomorrow) But in THIS movie...
    The Simple and short story was simply wonderful and the rest of the cast LEDGER, WILLIAMS & HATHAWAY (used to be a bad actress to ''Princess Diaries 1&2). Even thow i havent seen Crash, Capote, Good Night and good luck or Munich yet, I hope this little BUT GREAT independent picture will win the top price, best director, best screenplay, actor (lead & Sup), Actress (sup), music (even thow I loved THE CONSTANT GARDENER'S music & The PRIDE & PREJUDICE piano pieces) & Cinematography
    Expand
  23. JoeR.
    Mar 21, 2006
    9
    Yes, the Movie is slow. It's supposed to be. My opinion is based on rembering that the movie takes place between 1963 and sometime in the 80's. Gay relationships were NOT welcome. I consider it a well written and well acted movie.
    The movie is a sad one because the love of the main characters is forbidden and takes place outside their marriages. I would consider this a call
    Yes, the Movie is slow. It's supposed to be. My opinion is based on rembering that the movie takes place between 1963 and sometime in the 80's. Gay relationships were NOT welcome. I consider it a well written and well acted movie.
    The movie is a sad one because the love of the main characters is forbidden and takes place outside their marriages. I would consider this a call to acceptance. If their relationship was accepted there would be no infidelity. As for the "hate crime scene" at the end... do you really think that life treats everyone fair.
    I would call this movie a fair depiction of LIFE. Not every stroy end "happily ever after."
    Expand
  24. PETORIAFORD
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    THIS MOVIE SHOULD HAVE ONE OF THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE AND IT SHOULD HAD MADE A DIFFERENCE IN THIS WORLD....ONE DAY IT WILL LET THIS WORLD KNO ALL THIS HAS ALWAYS BEEN IN LIFE LIKE THE SAME AS HETEOSEXUAL PEOPLE RUNNING AROUND HERE CHEATING WIT ONE ANOTHER..... FUNNY HOW PEPOLPLE IN THIS WORLD LOVE TO WATCH EPISODES LIKE THAT AND WANT TO DISMISS SOMETHING THAT SHOULD ALSO BE APPROVAL TOTHIS MOVIE SHOULD HAVE ONE OF THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE AND IT SHOULD HAD MADE A DIFFERENCE IN THIS WORLD....ONE DAY IT WILL LET THIS WORLD KNO ALL THIS HAS ALWAYS BEEN IN LIFE LIKE THE SAME AS HETEOSEXUAL PEOPLE RUNNING AROUND HERE CHEATING WIT ONE ANOTHER..... FUNNY HOW PEPOLPLE IN THIS WORLD LOVE TO WATCH EPISODES LIKE THAT AND WANT TO DISMISS SOMETHING THAT SHOULD ALSO BE APPROVAL TO THEM TOO IF THEY APPROVE OF THAT CONDUCT AS WELL...... Expand
  25. MelanieH
    May 18, 2008
    9
    Beautiful, moving afull of remorseful sorrow. Not for everyone and not immediately encapturing but very, very insightful with a great cast.
  26. DW-Cali
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    Probably the most moving film that I have ever seen. As for the comments of any man rating this above a "1" needing to check himself in the mirror, I am happily married for 10 years and my wife and I have a number of gay friends. This film only highlighted the reality of gay relationships, men or women, in any time period or location. Perhaps its those that have such an issue with this Probably the most moving film that I have ever seen. As for the comments of any man rating this above a "1" needing to check himself in the mirror, I am happily married for 10 years and my wife and I have a number of gay friends. This film only highlighted the reality of gay relationships, men or women, in any time period or location. Perhaps its those that have such an issue with this film's content check themselves in the mirror, for as a gay or straight theme, I believe it teaches a message of tolerance....something that is severely lacking today! Expand
  27. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    I'm pretty sure that most of the people on this website that are giving this film a "0" haven't even seen it. It's always "ruining our country's morals" or "shoving the gay agenda down our" throats. You know what? If you went to see the movie, you're shoving down your own damn throat. If you don't like the message, don't go see the movie. Simple as that. Additionally, if you truly wantedI'm pretty sure that most of the people on this website that are giving this film a "0" haven't even seen it. It's always "ruining our country's morals" or "shoving the gay agenda down our" throats. You know what? If you went to see the movie, you're shoving down your own damn throat. If you don't like the message, don't go see the movie. Simple as that. Additionally, if you truly wanted to protect the "sanctity" of marriage, you'd be making divorce illegal. Does gay marriage affect your life in any way? Didn't think so. As for those of you that argue with the well-developed "God hates fags" statement, I hear Westboro Baptist Church is taking supporters. I mean, really. You people are no better than parasites feeding off of the misery of other people. Doesn't God also preach love? Way to be arrogant, hypocritcal a**holes. Angry rant aside, this movie is absolutely stunning. Heartfelt and utterly heartbreaking, this movie truly captures the essence of what love is. Expand
  28. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    Although i couldn't get any of my friends to watch this with me (i told them we can buy beer and Kleenex because it's a weepy) I really enjoyed it by myself. The Kleenex came in handy.
  29. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    Brokeback Mountain is quite possible the best movies of the last decade. It's beautiful, original, with extraordinary performances, and a pace that feels just perfect. It's a heartbreaking love story that moved me very much.
  30. Sep 3, 2010
    8
    Great performances all round in this heart breaking love story.
    Beautifully shot & gently paced with some great incidental music which adds to the whole setting.
  31. Jul 2, 2011
    8
    it's a requiem about old friendships and gone loves. the movie without its Controversial subject is a rare and beautiful romance, too. ang lee is a expert to show exciting moment of love and hate.
  32. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    One of the greatest movies ever made, I simply love this movie and it's almost impossible not to cry with it, such a masterpiece, one of the greatest romance movie of ever
  33. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A very, very beautiful movie! I was on the waves of the feeling, living the moments, truly. So nice chosen, cast&crew&music&places&storyy. I was so long seeking for this kinda...oww Cristal!Finally a masterpiece illustrating natural love, unfair of living not-being-yourself after repressing the love truly alive in your heart. The story, the actors, youu.. sweet Ang Lee, I soo thank you! for these 'golden frames'!.. Heath Ledger.. wow. Astonishing.. Jake Gyllenhaal..gorgeous! And all the other ppl involved! Their work fascinates me. I'd rlly go on for some extraass..! All in this moved me to tears..With some risks.. they could have been happy on their own. even letting their families broken..(moved me too, Michelle Williams is amazing!)
    Only they.. and the Brokeback Mountains - the sacred place that brought them together- But..it' was a sacrifice the world would've never understand.. the world'd never let it be so.. This feeling will follow me for some time, I'd recommand with much warm this ever-best-ever drama movie I'vevr seen/lived.. Breeze. Love. Brockback Mountainn... for the natural/wild, simply/complex.. true lovers in you!
    Expand
  34. Feb 10, 2015
    10
    In the summer of 1963, two cowboys, Ennis Del Mar and Jack Twist, are assigned the job of herding sheep on a mountainside in Wyoming. But amidst the grand beauty of Brokeback Mountain, the two men fall in love with one another. But when the job is done, they're forced to walk their separate ways. Ennis' father taught him to condemn homosexuality when he was a child, and so he began toIn the summer of 1963, two cowboys, Ennis Del Mar and Jack Twist, are assigned the job of herding sheep on a mountainside in Wyoming. But amidst the grand beauty of Brokeback Mountain, the two men fall in love with one another. But when the job is done, they're forced to walk their separate ways. Ennis' father taught him to condemn homosexuality when he was a child, and so he began to condemn his own feelings. Both men are forced to deny the only passion either of them will ever feel. They pretend so as to fit in with the others. And in doing so they hurt themselves and carry great pain with each passing moment. Both Ennis and Jack marry and have children. But every once in while, they'd get to meet up on Brokeback Mountain where they can finally stop pretending and expose there vulnerability. This is where their hearts truly lie. Brokeback Mountain is powerful, beautiful and poetic. It hits you right on your chest like a bullet when you least expect it and steals away your heart. The cinematography is gorgeous, the score is elegant and all performances, particularly Ledger's as the restrained and distant Ennis Del Mar, are marvellous. This is Ang Lee's masterpiece. Brokeback Mountain was the best film of 2005 and the greatest / most important love story of this century. Expand
  35. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    This movie is really inspiring , soulful and realism. The performances of Jake Gyllenhaal and Heath Leadger are simply magnificent . It is practically impossible not to mourn seeing this movie, because the feeling that put each of the actors, beautiful scenery, great production , how impressive the script, its originality , its plot and its outcome , make this film a classic unforgettableThis movie is really inspiring , soulful and realism. The performances of Jake Gyllenhaal and Heath Leadger are simply magnificent . It is practically impossible not to mourn seeing this movie, because the feeling that put each of the actors, beautiful scenery, great production , how impressive the script, its originality , its plot and its outcome , make this film a classic unforgettable film . As you experience each one of feelings posts in personajes.Los characters are memorable , besides being the film that has impacted me more . I never tire of seeing it , it is simply a masterpiece.
    The best movie I've seen in my life.
    Expand
  36. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    Ang Lee is able to articulate the deep true feeling of 'Love' through the portrayal of two people who, no matter what the risks and dangers they could face in their society, cannot stand it when they are apart. The movie redefines the essence of love and the strength of its power, and also deals with the issue of the conformity of society's views are nearly as strong and dangerous ifAng Lee is able to articulate the deep true feeling of 'Love' through the portrayal of two people who, no matter what the risks and dangers they could face in their society, cannot stand it when they are apart. The movie redefines the essence of love and the strength of its power, and also deals with the issue of the conformity of society's views are nearly as strong and dangerous if corrupt. Brokeback Mountain is in a way like R&J, both involve a couple that only see each other in secret because of the immoral views of their peers prevent them from being together. Expand
  37. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    I loved this movie, it makes me cry every time I watch it. I have seen it about 5 times now. Last weekend I ditched the guys and ruined our planned beer run just to watch this film again. Some say it's just a film but for me it's been a real life changer and caused a lot of self reflection......I really think it's time I started being honest with myself. Again, great film, one of the best!
  38. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brokeback Mountain is not only one of the best movies of the decade but also one of the greatest movies of all time! A stunning MASTERPIECE! You can't deny it! It's a great love story (almost platonic!) between two young men! Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhaal give two fantastic performances, making the movie realistic and heart-wrenching. Everyting in this movie is BEAUTIFUL, there are no words to describe It. I remember when I watched it for the first time, it was automatically my favourite movie ever, simply because you have to feel involved in the story. Though the movie describes an homossexual relationship, that's not the point. This movie is about LOVE, that's it! It's a story about TWO PERSONS THAT FELL IN LOVE FOREVER! In the final, if you thought the film would be a cliché, you were wrong. GOD, in the final, Heath gives one of the most devastating scenes in the cinema, you can't help crying everytime you see it. Ang Lee knows how to put emotion into a movie. Gyllenhaal was amazing! LEDGER proved he was the BEST ACTOR OF HIS GENERATION!
    Forever my favourite movie, a TRULY MASTERPIECE! 10.0!
    Expand
  39. Jun 11, 2013
    10
    A rare picture in which I don't doubt for a second that it is a masterpiece. The movie has this unique quality in which everything feels so effortless. Ang Lee's direction for this film is among the best I have seen, and the performances are exceptional.
  40. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    It's a great movie with great actioning. I'm not for the guy's love story line,that was just weird,but if you looking at the base storyline and the acting that came out of this movie. It was a great movie to reflex a different way of life and there struggles. I wouldn't pay for this movie in the theater,because of the storyline. I waiting to it came on the movie channels before I watched it.
  41. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    I don't give many tens, but this deserves it. Aside from being beautifully directed, with great technical aspects, as well as great acting, this is one of the most beautiful scripts of the 21st century so far. It didn't surprise me when I found out Annie Proulx was a finalist for a Pulitzer for the short story, which is translated very well by the two screen writers. The movie starts outI don't give many tens, but this deserves it. Aside from being beautifully directed, with great technical aspects, as well as great acting, this is one of the most beautiful scripts of the 21st century so far. It didn't surprise me when I found out Annie Proulx was a finalist for a Pulitzer for the short story, which is translated very well by the two screen writers. The movie starts out very innocent and sweet, and then it starts to turn into a gradual downward spiral of devastation until you're just left emotional knocked out by the end of the movie. The themes of society's influence on human behavior, the desire for happiness, and demise caused by obsession, are all subtly, yet powerfully, conveyed in this movie. Calling this a gay love story is like calling Lord Of The Rings a movie about hiking. This is one of the most torturous, psychological portrayals of two people's lives I've ever seen in a movie. It's so well calculated, without coming off the least bit unnatural. I've seen it several times, and I still pick up on things that I hadn't caught onto before. I heard it was a groundbreaking movie about a gay romance, and I didn't get how that was, since there had been many movies about gay romances before. I figured it was probably an overrated movie. When I saw it, I realized I couldn't have been more wrong. Your emotional connection will be irrelevant to your sexual orientation. What is really going to connect you to the movie are your ideas about the pressure to conform to society, compared to your desire to live a life of happiness. One man chooses conformity, and the other chooses happiness, and it doesn't necessarily end up how you might expect. I'm actually getting emotional writing this, thinking about the movie. I really hope everyone who watches it is able to pick up on the subtle themes, the hidden meanings behind specific lines, and the inner thoughts of particular characters who might not be ready to say those thoughts out loud, or even admit them to themselves. Those kind of things are extremely difficult to incorporate into a script without losing its realistic feel, but this movie does it. Of course, it might take a few views to pick up on everything. Whether you're judging this movie on its intelligent, calculated writing, its technical achievements, its performances, of which Heath Ledger's is one of the best of the 21st century, or its overall directing, or if you judge a movie on its emotional appeal, and its powerful, thought provoking themes, I can't see how you objectively give this movie anything less than a strong review. Expand
  42. David
    Feb 1, 2006
    7
    Looked great, great script, excellent sound track, but I just did not believe that Heath Ledger was into it. I didn't believe the love story/20 year grand passion worked - so it didn't really work for me.
  43. Aug 28, 2011
    8
    Don't believe those who say that Brokeback Mountain redefines anything. What this is is an incredibly well-made Titanic story with a interesting look into a self-loathing mind set. However, you shouldn't even listen to those who try to dismiss its premise of "gay love story" as a gimmick. Not because it rises above that, but because assuming that audiences would respond differently if itDon't believe those who say that Brokeback Mountain redefines anything. What this is is an incredibly well-made Titanic story with a interesting look into a self-loathing mind set. However, you shouldn't even listen to those who try to dismiss its premise of "gay love story" as a gimmick. Not because it rises above that, but because assuming that audiences would respond differently if it were about a man and a woman is an unfair comparison because the entire story revolves around the idea that it is a GAY romance. It's the equivalent of saying "Would you still like Guess Who's Coming to Dinner if everyone was white?" Expand
  44. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    One of the best romance movies to date and undoubtedly a classic! Amazing acting, great premise. Some of the best directing period! Brokeback Mountain is a MUST watch! Would considered as one of my favorite movies! Highly recommended!
  45. Jan 4, 2016
    10
    Brokeback Mountain is powerful in story-line and Performance. Led by Heath Ledger, Jake Gyllenhaal who bring to life wonderful characters to a perfection. along with the emotions and powerful dialogue that perfectly blend together to cement this film as one of the best films out there.
  46. SteveM.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    Amazing, sensitive.
  47. KevinF.
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    The movie haunts you afterwards. Achingly beautiful. It left me unfulfilled but in a good way. If that makes sense. It is a wonderful adaptation of a simple but powerful story. You don't have to like these characters but hopefully you have enough humanity to understand them.
  48. Mike
    Jan 29, 2006
    9
    I found this movie emotionally wrenching and very well made. However I think that it is an exaggeration to call this movie a masterpiece. In my mind it is a well-crafted assemblage of quality elements (cinematography, acting, screenplay) but somehow does not quite gel into a whole. I think this leads to a captivating movie experience for many as we can on our own "assemble" the satisfying I found this movie emotionally wrenching and very well made. However I think that it is an exaggeration to call this movie a masterpiece. In my mind it is a well-crafted assemblage of quality elements (cinematography, acting, screenplay) but somehow does not quite gel into a whole. I think this leads to a captivating movie experience for many as we can on our own "assemble" the satisfying movie experience that we each want to see in the movie. For me like a few other site users, there was not enough chemistry between Jack and Ennis, not just of the physical kind. I think that in particular Jack's character remained undeveloped...Jake Gyllenhall either was not given enough from the script or he didn't quite make the character seem plausible. This may seem to be a small detail but I kept on noticing that Jake's eyebrows looked plucked which I think of as anomalous given the time and place in which the story occurred. Nowadays it looks strange when a man plucks his eyebrows...it would have been 100x stranger in early 1960's Wyoming. Was that supposed to be a signal of gayness to other men? Why such an obvious one? This, to some minor, incongruity signals to me the more general problem of how to understand the main characters' and in particular Jack's motivation. He didn't seem to be a convincing character, more of a cypher. Expand
  49. BradJ.
    Jan 7, 2006
    9
    Fantastic movie, not at all preachy though it has a point. The story could easily be compared to "Romeo and Juliet", and Ang Lee proves that dispite the Hulk he is an excellent director. I went to watch the movie simply to thumb my nose at the bigots who opposed it because of the homosexuality, and it surprised me by being one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. Like Fantastic movie, not at all preachy though it has a point. The story could easily be compared to "Romeo and Juliet", and Ang Lee proves that dispite the Hulk he is an excellent director. I went to watch the movie simply to thumb my nose at the bigots who opposed it because of the homosexuality, and it surprised me by being one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. Like Napolian Dynomite it relies on no special effects and is shot in a stark, almost documentary style that will only work if the story is worthwhile. The story is worthwhile. Expand
  50. AndrewR.
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    Some (though not all) of the criticism I have read of this film serve as a startling reminder that ignorance, prejudice and hatred are still out there (which, in a way, only further justifies the point of this film). In 2006 there are still people who would exclaim, "This movie is sick! Why do most movies in this day and age have to be about homosexuality? Is nothing sacred anymore? Some (though not all) of the criticism I have read of this film serve as a startling reminder that ignorance, prejudice and hatred are still out there (which, in a way, only further justifies the point of this film). In 2006 there are still people who would exclaim, "This movie is sick! Why do most movies in this day and age have to be about homosexuality? Is nothing sacred anymore? What's next lesbian nuns?" Or, "Sick and twisted. If you are a heterosexual male, save your money for anything else." Only the inherent cliches and ignorance inherent in those opinions ensures they are not to be taken too seriously. It's sad. But it does something else: it reminds me that, whilst we may rightly proclaim the universality of this story and how accessible it is to everyone, it IS still an important film for gay people at this time in history. I found Brokeback Mountain to be a starkly frightening film in it's intelligence about the dangerous contexts (always implicit, nothing more is needed) in which such love would have existed. It leaves the viewer with so much to think about. all in the details and inferences, which will make it worth seeing again. In it's profound belief in the universality and power of love, though, it is also uplifting and extraordinary. I don't think the film is about something to applaud so much as it is about something worth believing in and worth fighting for. Expand
  51. TomS.
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    This movie left me deeply despressed and I awoke early this morning thinking about it. I can not pin point all the ways it disturbed my until then contented love and life. I am not sure my love for mate is strong enough, I am not sure I can handle aging and the loss of romantic, passion filled love as it seems to ebb away over time. I have few of the obstacles these men faced in living my This movie left me deeply despressed and I awoke early this morning thinking about it. I can not pin point all the ways it disturbed my until then contented love and life. I am not sure my love for mate is strong enough, I am not sure I can handle aging and the loss of romantic, passion filled love as it seems to ebb away over time. I have few of the obstacles these men faced in living my love, but their tragedy somehow upset the hold I felt I had on my relationship and life. I hope this leaks away soon and I hope in time I figure out is how and why it made me feel this way. Expand
  52. SamZ.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    I think the movie although it was some gay cowboys is like the story Romeo and Juliet but guy to guy version I loved it.
  53. MattP.
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    An epic love story. Not a 'gay cowboy film". They aren't even cowboys. I cried, I laughed(a lot suprising), and I felt a connection to each and every character. BEST movie of the year. Hands down.
  54. JamesH.
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    this is one of the best films i have ever seen. it is breathtaking leaving in shock and pain of the conclusion. everyone in it are amazing with no sub-standard performance and it should get best film at the oscars. it has broken the mold with the desperately sad story set with some of the most beautiful landscape in the world. a story about the bleakest and upsetting love that just this is one of the best films i have ever seen. it is breathtaking leaving in shock and pain of the conclusion. everyone in it are amazing with no sub-standard performance and it should get best film at the oscars. it has broken the mold with the desperately sad story set with some of the most beautiful landscape in the world. a story about the bleakest and upsetting love that just happens to be two men. Expand
  55. RobertM.
    Jan 1, 2006
    10
    I was totally moved by this movie - it slowly builds, and Wham! - all of the "could have", "should have", "what if's" of your life surface. I must see this movie again.
  56. Doug
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    There are no words to really express my love for this film and the lives of its characters. I hold them all in my heart and lovingly do so. Ang Lee is a true master and the film is as brilliant as it is breathtaking. The script is pared down perfection and the performances are carried out with nuanced subtlety. Ennis and Jack come together to tell their story with such precision and There are no words to really express my love for this film and the lives of its characters. I hold them all in my heart and lovingly do so. Ang Lee is a true master and the film is as brilliant as it is breathtaking. The script is pared down perfection and the performances are carried out with nuanced subtlety. Ennis and Jack come together to tell their story with such precision and perfection that I am almost moved to tears as I write this. Heath Ledger embodies Ennis in a way that lets us feel the vibration of his soul in every heartbeat, his and ours. And Jake Gyllenhal as Jack embodies the hope and enduring spirit of every peson who dares to really be true to himself in tehe world. The movie haunts me not because of it's tragic theme but because of Jack and Ennis's love and the exquisite way Ledger and Gyllenhal bring it to us. I treasure this film and I predict it will become one of the great films of the 21st century. Expand
  57. MarkR.
    Jan 22, 2006
    10
    Only 3 films in my life have effected me so deeply. First The Sound of Music, next Cabaret, and now Brokeback Mountain.
  58. MartaF.
    Jan 23, 2006
    7
    It
  59. RaulL.
    Jan 20, 2006
    9
    This film haunted me after watching it. I feel like crying everytime I think of it. No other film EVER gave me these feelings.
  60. PhilG.
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    This movie is a full-bodied love story of two people. It shows how both of them have been torn from each other due to society's pull, and every moment is captured in the eyes of the two men. It shows how much pain each of them go through with each passing year and the undeniable fire betwixt, keeping them together. This movie is a far cry from pornography and a rich jubilation of a This movie is a full-bodied love story of two people. It shows how both of them have been torn from each other due to society's pull, and every moment is captured in the eyes of the two men. It shows how much pain each of them go through with each passing year and the undeniable fire betwixt, keeping them together. This movie is a far cry from pornography and a rich jubilation of a love story; it is definitely worth seeing multiple times. Expand
  61. Katriel
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    I loved this movie. It was so close to the story, and kept the audience very involved.
  62. ThomasE.
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Virtually a perfect movie.
  63. MeganH.
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    I LOVED this movie. I thought it showed the lifestyles of some men because of the world today. Hopefully it will open people's minds.
  64. Lynn
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Very sad but very good.
  65. PhyllisH.
    Jan 6, 2006
    8
    Acting superb, storyline disappointing. Cinematography was amazing.
  66. AlanA.
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    An amazing film. This one is worthy of Oscars on all fronts: actors, cinematography, director, screenwriting, music, and more. And way overdue. The far right is just gonna have to get used to it.
  67. CliffO.
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    This is the best portrayal ever of life in small western towns. Undoubtedly the gay relationship between the two cowboys is much more common than country people like to admit. This movie will be enoyed by all people, gay or straight, who have still have a heart and can feel for the sadness and frustration felt by these guys. Also: great settings: the natural beauty of western mountains This is the best portrayal ever of life in small western towns. Undoubtedly the gay relationship between the two cowboys is much more common than country people like to admit. This movie will be enoyed by all people, gay or straight, who have still have a heart and can feel for the sadness and frustration felt by these guys. Also: great settings: the natural beauty of western mountains and rivers. Expand
  68. MarkB.
    Jan 9, 2006
    9
    In addition to its many, many genuine excellences, Ang Lee's so-called "gay cowboy" movie is also notable for providing me with the most simultaneously entertaining and disturbing time I've had watching a movie preview trailer since junior high school. The preview came on just before Syriana (a movie which, blaming as it does all the world's evils on American oil cartels, In addition to its many, many genuine excellences, Ang Lee's so-called "gay cowboy" movie is also notable for providing me with the most simultaneously entertaining and disturbing time I've had watching a movie preview trailer since junior high school. The preview came on just before Syriana (a movie which, blaming as it does all the world's evils on American oil cartels, you'd hardly label as one especially attractive to a "red-state" audience) and when it became apparent that Ennis Del Mar (Heath Ledger) and Jack Twist (Jake Gyllenhaal) were going to share more than a can of beans, about twenty-five people in the audience, almost as one, simultaneously responded with a loud, high-pitched cry of "Eeeee-YEW!!!" Imagine that: a movie NOT dealing with horror or torture whose trailer reduces a group of seemingly intelligent, well-mannered adults to a bunch of 7-year-old girls reacting to a waterbug skittering across the basement floor at their Brownie meeting! Despite this and the recent news of a Utah multiplex suddenly yanking it despite the fact that it was making money there as everywhere (one word to their management staff: IDIOTS!) this film, despite its instant status as a Jay Leno punchline, is affecting and moving people all over the country who are willing to give it a chance, and it's doing so for several very simple, basic reasons: it's a beautifully written and directed, spectacularly shot, superbly acted piece of great storytelling that stays with you no matter what your political, religious or sexual persuasion. (Even conservative critic Michael Medved praised it, although part of this may stem from his awareness that his attempts to sabotage Million Dollar Baby last year by revealing its secrets in print and on TV might just have "tipped it" enough to win it several Oscars last year, and he's not making THAT mistake again.) Quentin Tarantino said at Cannes that he liked Michael Moore's Fahrenheit 9/11 not because he agreed with its stance but because he found it supremely entertaining, and regardless of your views on homosexuality, Brokeback Mountain works as a classic, old fashioned star-crossed and circumstance-separated lovers' "weeper" in the tradition of Back Street, Waterloo Bridge and many other movies familiar to your grandparents and those who like to tape Turner Classic Movies at 3 in the morning. (A more recent film parallel? Well, perhaps 2004's The Notebook...up to a point.) Writers Annie Proulx, Diana Ossana and Larry McMurtry (whose Lonesome Dove is undoubtedly much loved by some of the very same people who want nothing to do with his latest effort) may have specific viewpoints, but they're not doctrinaire: I think it's extremely possible for Brokeback Mountain to speak as strongly to conservative Christians as it does to gay activists. Keep in mind that the tragedy of Ennis's and Jack's long-running, clandestine affair extends to their wives and loved ones, and that nobody in the movie is patronized or caricatured. (Jack's wife, played by Anne Hathaway as a different kind of "princess" than she did in a pair of Disney movies, comes closest, but this is negated in a poignant, self-aware monologue near the end; Michelle Williams and Linda Cardellini as women in Ennis's life are simply heartbreaking.) It can also be argued that ranch boss Joe Aguirre (Randy Quaid), who hired Ennis and Jack to protect grazing sheep from wolf attacks, fires them not only because of their affair, but because they weren't doing their job--and that if the two cowboys had actually followed their hearts once down from Brokeback, Ennis's terrific, immensely sympathetic daughter (Kate Mara) would never have existed. Brokeback Mountain works superbly not only as an offbeat love story but as a powerful meditation of how entire lives are permanently altered by one impulsive action. Robert Frost's famous poem "The Road Not Taken" comes to mind not just in light of what would've happened if Jack and Ennis had become full-time lovers, but alternately (and in light of the turns everybody's lives end up taking) what the results would've been if the two guys hadn't reacted to boredom, loneliness, horniness and That Indescribable Something Else...and each of them had stayed on his side of the tent. Expand
  69. MarcoM.
    Feb 1, 2006
    8
    I loved this film. The relationship between Gyllenhaal and Ledger is powerful, amazing and unique. Slightly overrated, the
  70. Dave
    Feb 16, 2006
    10
    Incredible movie. The end hit me like a punch that knocks the wind out of you. I'm very open minded and have many gay friends, but was still a bit nervous about seeing this movie. If you love good film and are still haven't seen this movie, see it! The romantic scenes are very tastefully done and well acted. After a while you practically forget this movie is about two guysIncredible movie. The end hit me like a punch that knocks the wind out of you. I'm very open minded and have many gay friends, but was still a bit nervous about seeing this movie. If you love good film and are still haven't seen this movie, see it! The romantic scenes are very tastefully done and well acted. After a while you practically forget this movie is about two guys falling in love. Expand
  71. NikolaS.
    Feb 10, 2006
    8
    This film, the story, the deeply real characters and the compelling portrayal from the wonderful actors in it have really moved me. I was not expecting the film to live up to the media build up but its graceful growth and the raw honest emotion carries you away. Heath Ledger's performance was surely his best yet and I think he gave the film a lot of integrity.
  72. JenWP
    Feb 1, 2006
    10
    A truly breathtaking masterpiece. Ledger's performance as the inarticulate and eternally stifled Ennis is definitely Oscar-worthy. Rodrigo Prieto's amazing cinematography combined with the haunting musical score by Gustavo Santaolalla make this a true feast for the senses.
  73. TimT.
    Feb 10, 2006
    10
    Very well written and preformed by all the actors involved. Would love to see the director turn the book The Front Runner by Patricia Warren into his next big screen movie. I enjoyed the book in 1974 and still do today. you go guys.
  74. Zack
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    This movie touched me beyond words. I was barely able to make it out of the theatre and into my car without breaking down. I woke the next day, depressed and beyond tears. Brokeback Mountain had a profound effect on me and one that will not soon be forgotten. It has been over a week since I viewed the movie and not a day has gone by that it hasn't been in my thoughts. PLEASE go see This movie touched me beyond words. I was barely able to make it out of the theatre and into my car without breaking down. I woke the next day, depressed and beyond tears. Brokeback Mountain had a profound effect on me and one that will not soon be forgotten. It has been over a week since I viewed the movie and not a day has gone by that it hasn't been in my thoughts. PLEASE go see this movie. Unless you are a homophobe or a card carrying member of the religious right, you will love the movie and be extremely touched. Only homophobes and haters give this movie a 0. I see probably roughly 25 movies a year and it's the best and most touching movie I've seen in YEARS. Both male actors deserve every award that can be given to them for doing an excellent job in telling the story of Jack and Ennis. The last few minutes will take your breath away. I sat in my chair for 10 minutes after the film ended before I was able to go to my car. I am not an emotional guy....especially in public...and this is the first movie I've ever cried at. I cannot say enough good about this moive. I loved it and if you are a kind and open hearted person, you'll love it too. Expand
  75. AmandaR.
    Feb 2, 2006
    10
    This is one of the best, most moving movies EVER made. I can't stop thinking about it and how great the actors were in the movie. It was amazing. Go see it, you won't be sorry.
  76. José
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    Very sad. As a gay man it's easy to relate to one of the two. Mine was Dennis... until I came out. And I was so happy then. Still, it's not fair to frame this movie within its sex tendencies. It's a great movie no matter what. It's a supreme cry to all those who waste golden chances that may never show up again. We have to grab love where we find it. It's one of Very sad. As a gay man it's easy to relate to one of the two. Mine was Dennis... until I came out. And I was so happy then. Still, it's not fair to frame this movie within its sex tendencies. It's a great movie no matter what. It's a supreme cry to all those who waste golden chances that may never show up again. We have to grab love where we find it. It's one of those movies that make you want to jump right inside and rescue the main character from his fatal lonely destiny. And like him, I swear, if I could do it, perhaps I would never jump out. Expand
  77. MoviegoerGeek
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    It didn't hit me in the guts the way "Bridges of Madison County" did , but that´s a whole another kind of story anyway.The "Marlboro postcards" are there to show us the surreal beauty of the place in question; somewhere you can always go back to, but what the heck, it's in your imagination! Concerning the slo pace, I think BM is character-driven, so the movie follows the It didn't hit me in the guts the way "Bridges of Madison County" did , but that´s a whole another kind of story anyway.The "Marlboro postcards" are there to show us the surreal beauty of the place in question; somewhere you can always go back to, but what the heck, it's in your imagination! Concerning the slo pace, I think BM is character-driven, so the movie follows the aching, dubious, incredulous and often contemplative mood of it's main protagonist: Ennis Del Mar. Gay Western my balls!! This movie is a lot about subtext. ANYONE can relate to: 1) Commiting or suffering iInfidelities 2) wealth differences in a relationship 3) mad, obsessive search for the impossible 4) dealing with the authority when you have everything to lose (remember Jack's father in law) 5) the slow descent into lowdown when your object of passion can't give you what you want 6) consequences of not being able to say what you feel (regret) 7) fear of the payback 8) fear of everything else and last, and more imposrtantly, OPPORTUNITIES LOST (regret again). Can you relate to some of this? BM hast it's little flaws (yes, it's a bit too long) and it's memorable, magical moments (when Ennis whispers n impossibly tender lullaby in Jack's ears your heart just breaks out of nowhere) This is a movie you just need to watch leaving all of your prejudices, labels and high expectations in the box office. Expand
  78. JoeA.
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    If you liked 'Bridges of Madison County', you will like this movie. While similar in the basic premise of forbidden love vs. moral and 'right' committments, the subtext for Brokeback ends up being as much if not more powerful than the main story. And as an aside, you don't have to be gay to enjoy the movie (and I've heard it hasn't turned anyone gay . . If you liked 'Bridges of Madison County', you will like this movie. While similar in the basic premise of forbidden love vs. moral and 'right' committments, the subtext for Brokeback ends up being as much if not more powerful than the main story. And as an aside, you don't have to be gay to enjoy the movie (and I've heard it hasn't turned anyone gay . . . yet). So, if you're skipping out on this movie 'cause you've got an uncomfortable streak w/ the story, I suggest you get over it and check your homophobia at the ticket window; otherwise, you're gonna miss out on a captivating movie. My other half gets kind of uncomfortable seeing men together, but even she liked the movie. (and I'm still straight the last time I checked -- crossing my fingers). Expand
  79. YiZ.
    Feb 5, 2006
    10
    I think this movie is great. heath's such an actor and the contrast between wild open natural scene and stifling oppressive human society. you do need some guts to be different, even just to be yourself. it's a comfort for people like these two poor ones.
  80. ColinY.
    Feb 9, 2006
    10
    How can I put in words my response to this film: superb, brilliant, terrifyingly true, sad, beautiful. I came out of the movie speechless and emotionally exhausted. The honest portrayal of all the characters is laudable, but Heath Ledger's performance throughout is truly staggering. In future years this film will come to be seen as one of the greatest of all time.
  81. TerryM
    Mar 1, 2006
    10
    This film is shot so well, it actually transports the viewer to that period and location. The performances by Ledger and Gyllenhaal are so genuine for that generation in which the film is shot. However, this is a drama. It requires a mature audience. If you are looking for special effects or lots of laughs, this movie isn't for you. This film is an insight into the lives of twoThis film is shot so well, it actually transports the viewer to that period and location. The performances by Ledger and Gyllenhaal are so genuine for that generation in which the film is shot. However, this is a drama. It requires a mature audience. If you are looking for special effects or lots of laughs, this movie isn't for you. This film is an insight into the lives of two men that are coping with the demands of their society, their beliefs and their love for each other. I thought this movie had a very real feel to it. The end very sad. This is one of the most memorable movies I have ever seen. I would recomend it to almost anyone. Expand
  82. NicholasS.
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    Best film I've seen in at least 3 years. Superior performances, superb cinematography, excellent screen play! Repeat viewings on the big screen are definitely in order!
  83. BugaTraey
    Mar 27, 2006
    10
    this movie is the best! it is not supposed to be about 2 gay ppl falling in love, yes they are gay but so what..they fell in love. they did leave their families behind but they needed to do it, if yoyu loved someone that much then you;d do it. this movie ois great!! the actors are fantastic and ang less is great as well!!!!!!!!!!!(L)
  84. Roger
    Mar 4, 2006
    10
    A masterpiece of film. This one is going to be talked about for a hundred years.
  85. Jeff
    Mar 7, 2006
    10
    Ok, let us all get past that the movie was based on Gay Love, this was not a movie about how it affected the wives, I guess you would have to be either Gay or bisexual to truley understand why they could not give themselves fully to one another, and yes the movie did lack a certain passion, but as a breakthrough movie, it was not about cheating on their wife, come on, Love between a man Ok, let us all get past that the movie was based on Gay Love, this was not a movie about how it affected the wives, I guess you would have to be either Gay or bisexual to truley understand why they could not give themselves fully to one another, and yes the movie did lack a certain passion, but as a breakthrough movie, it was not about cheating on their wife, come on, Love between a man and a woman is different, you do not have to hise it, but in 1963 , do you really think they could of been together and lived a life with peace?, Now to the movie itself, Good acting, I even believed their Love, Truley can not compare to a man woman affair. Let us PLEASE get past that they were cheating on thier wife, in their hearts they were not cheating, they loved each other and in a different time and place, they would not of tried to get married and "Be Strieght", they would of just been together and not went on with a fake cover up life. OK, I am getting to emotional talking about it. Expand
  86. DominicJ.
    May 1, 2006
    9
    Not only sensitive but skilful in its sustained sadness. It has surprised many men generally unmoved by gay relationships depicted on film. The short story is a classic and the film comes close to matching its restraint.
  87. sinclairb.
    May 6, 2006
    10
    A touching and beautiful love story. A great film, one of the best movies in the last 30 years or so. I'll never understand the people who are saying terrible things about this masterpiece.
  88. SurjyaS.
    Jun 2, 2006
    10
    Heard so much about this "gay cowboy" story- the great reviews, the worst reviews, the winning streak, the final disappointment....could not figure out who was right and who was wrong. But that was untill I saw it myself. And when I did, I was completely bowled over. The movie wrenched my heart out. Never before have I seen a movie which portrayed true love being found and lost in such a Heard so much about this "gay cowboy" story- the great reviews, the worst reviews, the winning streak, the final disappointment....could not figure out who was right and who was wrong. But that was untill I saw it myself. And when I did, I was completely bowled over. The movie wrenched my heart out. Never before have I seen a movie which portrayed true love being found and lost in such a masterly way. I have strong objections against the "gay cowboy" tag. It's not a story about gay people, it's a story about two people finding love where they least expected and they cannot do anything about it. In the final moments I found myself crying almost involuntarily. I would have given it a 100 out of 10 if it was possible to do so! Expand
  89. JenS.
    Jun 3, 2006
    10
    An excellent movie. Although many people who don't like it say that it could just as easily have been a man and a woman, this is not true. The movie, at least to me, was more about the sheer REPRESSION Ennis and Jack inflicted on themselves than even about their affair. [***SPOILERS***] It was about how they were having a relationship that was not socially acceptable at the time An excellent movie. Although many people who don't like it say that it could just as easily have been a man and a woman, this is not true. The movie, at least to me, was more about the sheer REPRESSION Ennis and Jack inflicted on themselves than even about their affair. [***SPOILERS***] It was about how they were having a relationship that was not socially acceptable at the time which eventually led to Jack's death- which is not cliche because it never gets old. Expand
  90. DanielD.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Extraordinary movie. This film truly moved me. Wow! An unforgettable Masterpiece!
  91. LindaDudley
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    Movie buff here. This movie was simply stunning. Acting, directing, cinematography, music were perfect. Visually breathtaking.
  92. LebbosN.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    I loved it! Loved it! Great actors Gyllenhaal and Ledger, (RIP) and the story is perfect.
  93. MichaelL.
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    Without a doubt, the best film of the year. It is subtle and respectful. It doesn't manipulate. It has a story to tell, and it does so--beautifully. The acting is superb. The directing is restrained. These are people you feel you know; not actors playing parts. The biggest tragedy of "Brokeback Mountain" is that small-minded people insist it's "propaganda" for the "gay agenda". Without a doubt, the best film of the year. It is subtle and respectful. It doesn't manipulate. It has a story to tell, and it does so--beautifully. The acting is superb. The directing is restrained. These are people you feel you know; not actors playing parts. The biggest tragedy of "Brokeback Mountain" is that small-minded people insist it's "propaganda" for the "gay agenda". Those who could learn from it won't see it; those who could maybe see that love is indeed a force of nature by viewing this gorgeous and haunting film, never will because of preconceived ideas and/or ignorance. For those who open their hearst and minds, this movie is a gem. The most perfect example of heart-wrenching, doomed love since Romeo and Juliet. Expand
  94. ChrisE.
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    Brilliant film. Oscars all around.
  95. LloydV.
    Dec 12, 2005
    10
    A minimum of story-telling elements is used to convey a powerfully moving story of enduring love in a very beautiful way.
  96. JemW.
    Dec 13, 2005
    10
    Mainstream next!
  97. askayogi
    Dec 15, 2005
    10
    During our history here as humans on planet earth, we as a collective whole experience times where we are boosted up to the next level of higher conciousness. As a world and as a nation we have accended higher up to the green valleys of Brokeback Mountain. If you do not love this movie than you will be left behind. This is not an implication of the world turning gay, but a deep behooving During our history here as humans on planet earth, we as a collective whole experience times where we are boosted up to the next level of higher conciousness. As a world and as a nation we have accended higher up to the green valleys of Brokeback Mountain. If you do not love this movie than you will be left behind. This is not an implication of the world turning gay, but a deep behooving that unless you start loving and stop judging you will be the only one to suffer. Expand
  98. JohnB.
    Dec 1, 2005
    10
    Like Annie Proulx's writing, the film was by equal turns rapturous and devastating. Both exquisitely beautiful and gut-punched painful. Do not go to this movie thinking that Ang Lee has thoughtfully sprinkled in some magic movie dust that will leave you feeling good. You will walk out feeling emotionally drained and conflicted. The conflicted feeling will last for days. My explicit Like Annie Proulx's writing, the film was by equal turns rapturous and devastating. Both exquisitely beautiful and gut-punched painful. Do not go to this movie thinking that Ang Lee has thoughtfully sprinkled in some magic movie dust that will leave you feeling good. You will walk out feeling emotionally drained and conflicted. The conflicted feeling will last for days. My explicit advice is that the film be seen in an environment that will promote a feeling of intimacy. See it with someone you love. You will willingly bear your heart. You will feel vulnerable. Heath Ledger fully becomes Ennis del Mar. He is wracked by pain, frustration, fear and guilt that never completely leave him. Jake Gyllenhaal fully becomes Jack Twist. He has a kind of hopeful joy you feel you can drink in great healing gulps. But Ennis cannot be completely healed, he can only be temporarily relieved and the anguish that this causes Jack is fully realized through Jake. Ennis' and Jack's love is made fully evident by Heath and Jake in actions and expressions both great and small. The music of Gustavo Santaolalla is pitch perfect and the screenplay of Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana is flawless. I don't feel the need to elaborate on the performances of Michelle Williams and Anne Hathaway or the cinematography of Rodrigo Prieto. They were each exceptional and have been praised elsewhere. They were not the focus of my concern although if they had not been so exceptional the film would have been crippled. Please, read the story. But expect to come away from the film with different impressions and understandings. Be prepared to think differently about Jack and Ennis. Be prepared to understand them more fully. I am honestly grateful to Heath Ledger, Jake Gyllenhaal and Ang Lee for so lovingly giving Ennis and Jack and their story to us and I will write them to say so. You will be changed by this film. Expand
  99. JosephA.
    Dec 18, 2005
    10
    Can hardly breath for the melancholy I still feel after watching this fantastic film.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 50
    Takes great pains to be a compassionate love story; but the filmmaking itself, self-consciously restrained and desiccated, is inert and inexpressive.
  2. 75
    Isn't for everyone, but for those who are not bothered by the homosexual relationship, it offers a study in yearning, love, and loss. It didn't affect me as deeply as either "The Bridges of Madison County" or "The Remains of the Day," but it evokes some of the same feelings.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    There's neither coyness nor self-importance in Brokeback Mountain--just close, compassionate observation, deeply committed performances, a bone-deep feeling for hardscrabble Western lives. Few films have captured so acutely the desolation of frustrated, repressed passion.