User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1251 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2013
    2
    Ang Lee's story on two gay loving cowboys is just a complete waste of my time. I never thought that after lee's blockbuster bust, "Hulk" that he would create something completely worse. Sadly he does. First off, the story is just ridiculous. A lot of the movie is just sex, which had plenty of scenes that i've never want to see ever again. The acting may be decent, but when you put theseAng Lee's story on two gay loving cowboys is just a complete waste of my time. I never thought that after lee's blockbuster bust, "Hulk" that he would create something completely worse. Sadly he does. First off, the story is just ridiculous. A lot of the movie is just sex, which had plenty of scenes that i've never want to see ever again. The acting may be decent, but when you put these characters in a story like this, it just doesn't work. Plain and Simple. Honestly, I think Lee can do much better than this crap. He somewhat did that with "Life of Pi", but I'm still waiting for that one movie of his that'll hopefully redeem him as one of the greatest directors of our time. But right now, this what we're stuck with. Overall, this movie is a terrible storyline to go off of. Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2013
    0
    GROSSSSS NASTY dont watch this there is no such thing as gay cowboys
  3. Sep 24, 2014
    0
    Awful terrible depraved homo nonsense. No redeeming feature to this movie. I nearly vomited at the debauched scenes in this movie. Everybody involved from the producers and directors down should be taken outside and beaten with big sticks. Awful, just awful, no wonder the sicko liberal press loved it, they have never come across a sexual perversion they did not love.
  4. Jul 31, 2015
    2
    A ridiculous movie of which the critics feel compelled to like. I read reviews of this movie from them before the thing was even available for their viewing. It is a chick-flick meant to show that even gay men can be sensitive, and caring. I would be willing to bet there isn't a straight man in America that went to see this piece of psuedo-gay porn voluntarily. They went only because theirA ridiculous movie of which the critics feel compelled to like. I read reviews of this movie from them before the thing was even available for their viewing. It is a chick-flick meant to show that even gay men can be sensitive, and caring. I would be willing to bet there isn't a straight man in America that went to see this piece of psuedo-gay porn voluntarily. They went only because their wives and girlfriends wanted them to. If this were about two women it maybe, MAYBE would have made it onto the Lifetime channel. Expand
  5. Aug 15, 2011
    2
    A boring "love story" about two gay men that only want to have sex. Basically, this movie is a non-explicit pornography. I don't understand all the hype.
  6. Lew
    Dec 20, 2005
    2
    Sick and twisted. If you are a heterosexual male, save your money for anything else.
  7. HCarter
    Jan 30, 2006
    0
    Gay cowboys are far from my idea of an American love story. Only another attempt of Hollywood to stuff the gay lifestyle down our throats. (no pun intended) As much as they would like to think this is the norm, it is not, and it is not acceptable.
  8. OscarL.
    Feb 1, 2006
    1
    Teh first half of the movie is a Marlboro commercial. I was expecting the "Come to where the flavor is" voice. The second half is a failed gay compassion provoking video. We all know to be gay is ok, it is something normal to love. So, another love soap opera with a west side cowboys scenario was uneccessary.
  9. Shaun
    Apr 6, 2006
    3
    I'm sure the book is good. However, this is one truly boring and terrible movie. The plot is thin and incredibly unexplained, and no I'm not talking about the ending because I GOT IT, but the fact that the men could have wives and children and still be in love with each other could have used much more explanation. I don't know why people don't question that. I I'm sure the book is good. However, this is one truly boring and terrible movie. The plot is thin and incredibly unexplained, and no I'm not talking about the ending because I GOT IT, but the fact that the men could have wives and children and still be in love with each other could have used much more explanation. I don't know why people don't question that. I understand how it is, but it saddens me, as a gay man, to have this garbage strewn onto the public without any explanation. The cinematography is good, the acting is good, the story is terrible, and it is very very very boring. I know slower moving movies that kept me more entertained that this garbage. I can't believe people think this is 'artful'. It wouldn't take very much for me to come up with a better screenplay involving the forbidden love of two men - making it more interesting, more developed, and could probably even add a twist ending to it. But alas, this is what we get. And it gets all of it's good reviews just because conservative America isn't used to contemporary life. Shame. Expand
  10. joej.
    Apr 6, 2006
    1
    If u like watching 2 guys in a movie get it on i do recammend this.not 2 mention it starts out very slow.
  11. JimH.
    Dec 10, 2005
    0
    One of the most overated movies of the year.
  12. LomaxH.
    Dec 9, 2005
    0
    Will no one criticize this trite, overacted, and, most importantly, overrated tribute to America's continued love affair with celebrity directors, handsome actors, and subject matter that deems a film above reproach? I guess not. Get in line, the are a couple of spots on Ang Lee's butt that have not been kissed.
  13. Mary
    Jan 29, 2006
    2
    Way overrated. A minimalist movie missing a script and emotional depth. Should not be in the running for awards. Can't really see why so many critics thought it was terrific. But then again critcs liked Lost in Translation too.
  14. Shannon
    Jan 31, 2006
    1
    This movie was so boring. The characters had no depth, and they hardly spoke!
  15. jonno
    Jan 3, 2006
    3
    Yawn! Why is being gay still such a big deal? Who cares? and why does anyone who disagrees with the content of this movie or questions the endless obession with gay themes in hollywood and TV get labelled as homophobic? Boring movie anyway but is the usual sentimental crap that gets oscars. Desite that solid acting from the two leads.
  16. KarenS.
    Jan 30, 2006
    1
    This movie was boring and way too long. I expected something much better.
  17. ShgreK.
    Jan 6, 2006
    2
    Another attempt by the 'liberal intelectuals' and 'I- am-proud-to-be-morally-neutral' film-makers to impose upon society in a cunning and subtle way the concept of gay 'love' as perfectly normal.
  18. C.Chavers
    Jan 7, 2006
    3
    This film is a huge disappointment from many levels. the most noticeable part of the film is it's drawn out length. this film could have been done in 15 minutes instead of 2 hours and 30 minutes. the themes are so overdone in gay literature and film and this not only gives straight people an inadequate perception of gay people but it also works to give gay people a distorted andThis film is a huge disappointment from many levels. the most noticeable part of the film is it's drawn out length. this film could have been done in 15 minutes instead of 2 hours and 30 minutes. the themes are so overdone in gay literature and film and this not only gives straight people an inadequate perception of gay people but it also works to give gay people a distorted and dismal perspective of themselves. for example, why are all gay relationships tragic and end in death??? why is this theme so repeated and overdone. all gay relationships do not end this way but sure, in the literature and this film totally colors within these lines. this film if anything gives the message to not be gay or you will be murdered or end up in a dead end relationship that can't work. (thx matthew shephard rip off storyline) . there is nothing inspirational or motivating about this film. as a gay man this film leaves me with a huge feeling of disgust at the overused and offensive stereotypes (while the limp wrist lisping type is totally avoided, you still have closeted tragic love and a relationship based on carnal proximity and no spiritual or real communication oriented committments) this is a horrible film overall. 3 points just because it's gay themed and "hollywood" everything else that basically matters in this film is absent and it's found lacking. Expand
  19. Bill
    Feb 12, 2006
    0
    Yet another of Hollywood's attempts to indoctrinate immorality into the common culture and pretend that homosexuality is normal. The idea of co-mingling with a sweaty cowboy with a saddle chapped behind after a long day's work somehow isn't appealing. Gives new credence to Willie Nelson's song "Mama, don't let your children grow up to be fag cowboys"
  20. KrisS.
    Feb 22, 2006
    0
    This movie is absurdly sick. The very moral fiber of our country is deteriorating. I grew up ranching and, trust me, any real self respecting cowboy would not appreciate this. Homosexuality is not part of being a cowboy and has no place in a western movie. Get real people, wake up! You're being misguided by Hollywood and don't even realize it.
  21. EricS.
    Feb 25, 2006
    2
    [***SPOILER***] Under normal circumstances, I would say this movie is OK. Given the hype, critical acclaim, and the numerous award nominations, I have to say this film is a fraud. Don't believe the hype. The cinematography is good and that's about it. Given that this story is about two men and given the length of the film, I was surprised that the primary characters are not even [***SPOILER***] Under normal circumstances, I would say this movie is OK. Given the hype, critical acclaim, and the numerous award nominations, I have to say this film is a fraud. Don't believe the hype. The cinematography is good and that's about it. Given that this story is about two men and given the length of the film, I was surprised that the primary characters are not even well-developed. When one dies, you don't even care b/c there's no heartfelt interest in him. Heath Ledger as best actor??? I couldn't believe how bad he was, unless you think talking without moving your lips is difficult. I had to stop myself from laughing out loud at his acting during one dramatic, emotional scene. I could not wait for this movie to be over ... it is soooo boring. After seeing the movie, I do believe a few that I've heard opine that this film's critical success is due to a liberal political agenda. That's the only thing that makes sense, b/c it's not that good. OK at best. Expand
  22. Phil
    Mar 15, 2006
    0
    THE WORST movie I have ever witnessed. I let a ladyfriend talk me into watching it with her(things we do for love). Not that I am homophobic, but the movie had no redeeming characters, just endless minutes of the misery broughjt on by one summer at brokeback mountain. Watching 2 men destroy their own lives as well as the lives of their familys isn't enteraining in the least, and by THE WORST movie I have ever witnessed. I let a ladyfriend talk me into watching it with her(things we do for love). Not that I am homophobic, but the movie had no redeeming characters, just endless minutes of the misery broughjt on by one summer at brokeback mountain. Watching 2 men destroy their own lives as well as the lives of their familys isn't enteraining in the least, and by the end of the movie I could understand either of them becoming suicidal, I know I was by the time it was over. The only redeeming quaulity was that you were so thankful when it was over. Expand
  23. FraserWalker
    Mar 26, 2006
    0
    What was that piece of garbage the only thing that comes to my head is "gay cowboys" looks like a plot taken out of a South Park episode the only reason it got good reviews is because people like seeing gay guys get beatin to death and thats the only reason. i'm not gay or anything but c'mon people that has to be one of the supidist films i've ever seen i think they shouldWhat was that piece of garbage the only thing that comes to my head is "gay cowboys" looks like a plot taken out of a South Park episode the only reason it got good reviews is because people like seeing gay guys get beatin to death and thats the only reason. i'm not gay or anything but c'mon people that has to be one of the supidist films i've ever seen i think they should re-phrase the title for a better warning "Bend over Mountain Expand
  24. RebeccaH.
    Mar 3, 2006
    3
    Other than the acting, this movie has no appeal. The story is of two immature men who fall in love, but not to the point where they would have cared to do much about it. Sure they met up quite a few times, but I can't get beyond how pathetic they seemed with being completely unable to give themselves to one another while breaking the hearts and shattering the lives of the women who Other than the acting, this movie has no appeal. The story is of two immature men who fall in love, but not to the point where they would have cared to do much about it. Sure they met up quite a few times, but I can't get beyond how pathetic they seemed with being completely unable to give themselves to one another while breaking the hearts and shattering the lives of the women who they pretended to care about. The only emotions I felt during the entire movie were for Michelle Williams' character. Expand
  25. SophieS.
    Mar 4, 2006
    1
    Hopelessly melodramatic. If this had been a film about a man and a woman, the critics would not be "emotionally affected" by the heartbreaking story of two people in love- they would be condemning the selfish nature of their affair and the impact this would have on their families (wives/husbands and children). Because this has gay characters (and played by two straight actors i might Hopelessly melodramatic. If this had been a film about a man and a woman, the critics would not be "emotionally affected" by the heartbreaking story of two people in love- they would be condemning the selfish nature of their affair and the impact this would have on their families (wives/husbands and children). Because this has gay characters (and played by two straight actors i might add...since when were REAL gay actors unemployable in Hollywood???) all of a sudden it's a masterpiece. For heaven's sake let's all get a grip! Not once has anyone stopped to think of the emotional pain and hurt inflicted on those wives in this film..that's the most reprehensible thing about it. The film focuses on the cowboys' love and ignores the pain, betrayal and grotesque selfishness exemlpified by the two leading guys on thier wives and children. Grotesque. Horrible. Awful. Since when was infidelity, cheating and betrayal noteworthy? Everyone makes choices...all this film showed was that these two guys were not MAN enough to make their choices and live by them. Their guilt and depression are clearly attributed to their pathetic sense of themselves. NO sympathy for those characters...only the women who yet again...seem to have been left by the wayside. It looks like soon homosexual rights will outdo womens' rights. What a sham. Expand
  26. MylesPeralta
    Mar 6, 2006
    0
    for god's sakes. Why does anyone care about this movie? Its about two cowboys who are like "this town ain't big enough for the both of us; so lets go into the mountains and have sex!" just because Heath Ledger and Jake Gillenhal wanna become boofers, doesnt mean its an academy award winner! seriously...
  27. JonD.
    Mar 9, 2006
    2
    This is one of those Love or HATE movies... its a love story, not a bad plot because its almost the same story as all love stories except one thing. It was about gay men in the west. Also too long and too boring for people that like to go to the movies to be entertained or amazed.
  28. C.M.
    Apr 10, 2006
    2
    2 given for scenery only. Slow and very boring. Two men fall in love, get married, home with their families, then get together then home with their families, then get together on and on. This movies wasn't about homosexuality, it was about bi-sexuality. Pet peev... Why is that minority groups continue to group themselves, segregate themselves and then make the claim that they are 2 given for scenery only. Slow and very boring. Two men fall in love, get married, home with their families, then get together then home with their families, then get together on and on. This movies wasn't about homosexuality, it was about bi-sexuality. Pet peev... Why is that minority groups continue to group themselves, segregate themselves and then make the claim that they are ostracized from the rest of society. I agree live and let live, love and let love but I have to ask by what rating system or standard did this this movie received such great reviews. My concern, the way this movie was done could cause more harm than good to the group of people it was supposed to represent. There are more effective ways to be heard. Expand
  29. BobS.
    Apr 18, 2006
    1
    this movie is a horrible example of a movie. The actors in this moive should be ashamed. I am disapointed. I want my money back.
  30. Steve
    Apr 18, 2006
    2
    A disappointing movie. Sorry, but I just didn't see the chemistry between Heath and Jay. I found it hard to understand some of the dialogue and might have missed key points because of this. The movie just didn't speak to me. I thought it was over-rated.
  31. faghater
    Apr 27, 2006
    1
    Why would you make such a movie that expresses homosexuality in such a positive light. It is a sin to love thy gender as stated in the 10 commandments, therefore all knowing good people of this earth should protest the grotesque visualization of sodomy. God Hates FAGS and black people, but mostly FAGS!!!!!!!
  32. TomB.
    Apr 3, 2006
    0
    A cure for insomnia, a modest love story. It gets noticed because it breaks traditional stereotypes, that's it. It would be like having a teen movie full of heavily clothed teen women, and teen guys that AREN'T trying to have sex. Or having a sports movie where the underdog gets completely destroyed. OOO SHOCKING AND CREATIVE. I know some people will blast me as a homophob (a A cure for insomnia, a modest love story. It gets noticed because it breaks traditional stereotypes, that's it. It would be like having a teen movie full of heavily clothed teen women, and teen guys that AREN'T trying to have sex. Or having a sports movie where the underdog gets completely destroyed. OOO SHOCKING AND CREATIVE. I know some people will blast me as a homophob (a typical reaction to critics of critics of this film) but I fell asleep 3 times during this movie because it movies at the pace of a sedated sloth. Expand
  33. ChristineL.
    Apr 4, 2006
    2
    HORRIBLE! just because its about life as a homosexual cowboy in the 1960's-1980's is the only reason it won any awards. horrible is not a good enough word to describe this story. i have plenty of gay friends who agree with me. its just a bad movie. period. thats it. im actually speechless cause i cant believe it won ANY awards at all!
  34. BJ
    Apr 6, 2006
    0
    This movie was the worst gay themed movie ever made. The story was completly disappointing. And what was with the accent of the stars? Were they shooting for a southern or cowboy accent that didn't make them sound like a retard? Heath ledger was so uncomfortable in all his scenes and it shows. He mumbled many of the lines or failed to deliver them properly. The absurd notion that This movie was the worst gay themed movie ever made. The story was completly disappointing. And what was with the accent of the stars? Were they shooting for a southern or cowboy accent that didn't make them sound like a retard? Heath ledger was so uncomfortable in all his scenes and it shows. He mumbled many of the lines or failed to deliver them properly. The absurd notion that jack twists wife wouldn't notice that he was a FLAMING homosexual is also unbelievable. Overall the movie was over hyped because it was the first "mainstream" exposure to gay issues. "Boys don't cry" was a far better movie than this flaming pile of poo. A 1000 monkeys typing for a 1000 days would come up with a better gay drama than this weak showing from Ang Lee who is overblown as a director. Expand
  35. LucyB.
    May 20, 2006
    3
    Good actors and beautiful setting. Boring movie.
  36. WilliamD.
    May 7, 2006
    0
    An over rated movie that destroys the most recognizable icon of America, the Cowboy.
  37. carpediem
    Dec 14, 2008
    2
    As a gay man with gay friends... none of us felt this was a realistic depiction of the way it happens. This movie is a tragedy (in the Romeo and Juliet sense) that could have had power, but failed because of it's completely non-believable depiction of how the relationship formed. If anyone thinks Ang Lee may be homosexual... I would have to say he can't be. Not if he directs a As a gay man with gay friends... none of us felt this was a realistic depiction of the way it happens. This movie is a tragedy (in the Romeo and Juliet sense) that could have had power, but failed because of it's completely non-believable depiction of how the relationship formed. If anyone thinks Ang Lee may be homosexual... I would have to say he can't be. Not if he directs a movie with such an unrealistic development of a gay relationship. Expand
  38. malaysianfanann
    May 10, 2009
    1
    The feeling is so strong if ...you knew that no body knew you stuck in love with that man..normal people don't understand that feeling..so of course they feel disguisting and ..decent it. you people don't know...that miracle feeling....man love man even just for sex...but it's very strong...and make u cry and cry....my god.
  39. Ellen
    Dec 30, 2005
    0
    Why is Hollywood promoting life-threatening sexual behavior in a movie on the one hand and full of male actors who continue to be insulted by being called even remotely feminine, much less gay. This is NOT about love, because if you love someone, you do not ask them to engage in harmful behavior!
  40. TroyS.
    Dec 9, 2005
    1
    Please! This is over-rated propaganda. Very disturbing.
  41. TobyB.
    Jan 1, 2006
    2
    Boring and overlong; does not engage the emotions. If it wasn't about gay men the critics would have slammed it.
  42. KatieT.
    Jan 13, 2006
    1
    This movie was so unfathomably boring I almost fell asleep. I kept waiting for something to happen, but the plot was very dul. This is supposed to be a love story, but, not only was love never mentioned, there didn't seem to be any real passion between any of the characters. I was terribly dissapointed because the reviews of this movie were so good, and in reality, it is very bad. This movie was so unfathomably boring I almost fell asleep. I kept waiting for something to happen, but the plot was very dul. This is supposed to be a love story, but, not only was love never mentioned, there didn't seem to be any real passion between any of the characters. I was terribly dissapointed because the reviews of this movie were so good, and in reality, it is very bad. This movie somehow makes me believe that critics are playing a joke on American society to see how many suckers they can get to sit through this terribly dull film. Expand
  43. KevinB.
    Jan 13, 2006
    1
    Gotta give credit for the actors to pull off the characters, but other than that
  44. TrishH.
    Jan 2, 2006
    0
    This movie is sick! Why do most movies in this day and age have to be about homosexuality? Is nothing sacred anymore? What's next lesbian nuns? Real Cowboy's are what made this country what it is today. This movie destroys the moral fiber that a real Cowboy believes in.
  45. RyanT.
    Jan 22, 2006
    3
    Ridiculously over-praised. It's sloppy melodrama with one-dimensional characters and shakey film craft. People are falling all over themselves to praise this because of the gay plot, but if this was about a man and a woman on Brokeback Mountain, no one would notice or care.
  46. LukeV.
    Jan 24, 2006
    3
    I planned to spend the night after watching Brokeback trying to formulate my opinions of the movie into a clear up or down vote. The thought process took place as i was watching however, i found myself annoyed at the choppy editing, showing 2 or 3 seconds of a certain image as if it was something that was required to be filmed and then moving on to another image without time for I planned to spend the night after watching Brokeback trying to formulate my opinions of the movie into a clear up or down vote. The thought process took place as i was watching however, i found myself annoyed at the choppy editing, showing 2 or 3 seconds of a certain image as if it was something that was required to be filmed and then moving on to another image without time for reflection. The whole movie seemed like a search through photographs from a long time ago, the viewer spends only a short while on any one picture and isnt able to really put themselves in the position of any of the people they are seing. I went into Brokeback ready and willing to be blown away, but when all was said and done this year's "best picture" seemed little more than a second-hand tale. Expand
  47. Carol
    Jan 26, 2006
    2
    Didn't anyone read the story? A wonderful, a perfect short story, so dense, you could almost smell, feel, hear every written word. Nothing of all that was to be seen or felt in this movie. It was so disappointing.
  48. DerekH.
    Jan 28, 2006
    1
    Less a movie of substence then a play on the classic hollywood love story with a splash of contravesity to try to bring it out of the masses. Poor direction and bad use of the supporting cast really brings this film down to a 1 out of 10.
  49. SlimPickens
    Jan 31, 2006
    1
    When I made westerns they really ment something about the west. With all the other movies this year, this is what was picked as a top movie. No wonder I don't go as much as I use to. Lets keep the gays in the citys where they belong and will someone please make a REAL western. This movie sucked!
  50. KristaC.
    Jan 30, 2006
    1
    im sorry, but could someone please tell me the point of this movie?? Great acting by Jake and Heath, but what an awful plot.
  51. Jack
    Jan 4, 2006
    0
    Isn't it interesting that most of the 10's came from men. This movie has been overly hyped and crammed down our throats from day one. It isn't a shock that Hollywood critics liked it. The majority of them are gay. This isn't about a love story. This is about pushing homosexuality one more step closer to acceptance. If it was a man and a women it would not have recieved Isn't it interesting that most of the 10's came from men. This movie has been overly hyped and crammed down our throats from day one. It isn't a shock that Hollywood critics liked it. The majority of them are gay. This isn't about a love story. This is about pushing homosexuality one more step closer to acceptance. If it was a man and a women it would not have recieved these marks. What is the next movie going to be - boy meets dog? Expand
  52. CregT.
    Jan 5, 2006
    0
    Substitute a female for one of the male leads and taglines containing the words: 'predictable,' 'trite,' 'sentimental,' and 'saccharine' would be the order of the day, but no because this film supposedly challenges social mores and love against the odds (or whatever) it's suddenly a 'masterpiece.' Is there nothing that will end Substitute a female for one of the male leads and taglines containing the words: 'predictable,' 'trite,' 'sentimental,' and 'saccharine' would be the order of the day, but no because this film supposedly challenges social mores and love against the odds (or whatever) it's suddenly a 'masterpiece.' Is there nothing that will end Hollywood's love affair with these grinding behemoths released at the end of each year as a means to garner awards from judges who are blindsided by anything that seems even remotely 'epic,' 'arthouse,' or 'daring,' and to redeem actors at the 12th hour after they have trudged through a year of less-than-spectacular roles as jive-speaking knights from the middle ages and crossdressing undercover cops? I find nothing heroic or ennobling about these characters. It's not just because the central relationship itself immediately alienates anyone whose buttons aren't pressed by watching two rustic types fondle each other in the prairie, but because their lack of control over their carnal whims and consequent adultery (compounded by cooly calculated deception) makes them morally repugnant. It's not hard to divine the propagandistic intent behind this preduction - after all, it's not the first time for Lee - but I really do think that adapting a pamphlet on 'Homosexaulity and Tolerance' would have made for a more engaging film; it certainly wouldn't have been any more disposable. Expand
  53. Ben
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    Honestly, just for any of you that read these reviews and think " Wow, all the reviews are really good, this movie must be great!" The only reason they are all great is because most of the posts are put up by people that support homosexuality or are themselves. I think most americans have spoken with saying that this movie wasn't worth giving even 20 million dollars to in almost a Honestly, just for any of you that read these reviews and think " Wow, all the reviews are really good, this movie must be great!" The only reason they are all great is because most of the posts are put up by people that support homosexuality or are themselves. I think most americans have spoken with saying that this movie wasn't worth giving even 20 million dollars to in almost a month. I mean syriana ( spelling?) did better than that in opening weekend than this movie did in a whole month. And that movie wasn't really that big at all. I just saw the critics awards and of course there going to give this movie the best picture. They are a small group of people that only are pushing their horribley mislead ideas of whats right and truly good. They carry the views of a very small percentage of americans, and it shows that most americans don't buy into the garbage hollywood sells. The movie was horrible. Expand
  54. nicktrusov
    Feb 11, 2006
    0
    funny how the only movies that ever get good ratings from any of you so called movie reviewers are movies about gay love, or oppressed ghetto high school basketball teams winning a game.
    truth check...
    If we throw a little realism in there what will we see... dicks going in man asses, aids, and little kids selling crack, killing each other over a pair of addidas. The glorification and
    funny how the only movies that ever get good ratings from any of you so called movie reviewers are movies about gay love, or oppressed ghetto high school basketball teams winning a game.
    truth check...
    If we throw a little realism in there what will we see... dicks going in man asses, aids, and little kids selling crack, killing each other over a pair of addidas. The glorification and ammount of truth kept hidden in these films is no less than that of old war flicks.
    You have got to be kidding me.
    Expand
  55. ElaineThompson
    Feb 27, 2006
    0
    This movie was awful. I went into openminded, seeking for some artistic value. There was none. The only critical acclaim was that it took two actors who thought they were performing breakthrough roles, and really, it was just Sodom & Gomorrah the sequel. There was no artistic value, there was no story, there was no goodness, there was no epic quality, it was just bad. MichelleThis movie was awful. I went into openminded, seeking for some artistic value. There was none. The only critical acclaim was that it took two actors who thought they were performing breakthrough roles, and really, it was just Sodom & Gomorrah the sequel. There was no artistic value, there was no story, there was no goodness, there was no epic quality, it was just bad. Michelle Williams deserves some credit for playing a tormented woman. But where in this world are movies going if this gets marks above decent movies like Crash, or Walk the Line, or Cinderella Man. Movies that actually leave you feeling somewhat replenished instead of drained, dirty, and depressed.
    Don't waste your time or your money on this joke of an Ang Lee film. From Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon to Crouching Cowboys HIdden Agenda.
    Expand
  56. MrWonka
    Mar 1, 2006
    0
    Poofta Mountain, the magical place where all the little oomfa loomfa's come to gather at the chocolate waterfalls. They are quite a happy little folk, who love to frolic through the daffodils, and chase butterflys over the rainbow, and have tea parties everyday in the afternoon. Sometimes these happy little folk even like to dance to disco music with glitter balls, and shiny sequinPoofta Mountain, the magical place where all the little oomfa loomfa's come to gather at the chocolate waterfalls. They are quite a happy little folk, who love to frolic through the daffodils, and chase butterflys over the rainbow, and have tea parties everyday in the afternoon. Sometimes these happy little folk even like to dance to disco music with glitter balls, and shiny sequin outfits. They also like to play cowboys and indians with each other. What a happy gay little folk they are. Expand
  57. AnonymousMC
    Mar 4, 2006
    0
    Propaganda Film *********************************************

    http://www.worldnetdaily.com/news/article.asp?ARTICLE_ID=49036 ************************************************************ The book "'The Marketing of Evil" explains how the far left media strikes again and explains why everyone votes so high. "The Marketing of Evil" has been almost alone among news media voices to
    Propaganda Film *********************************************

    http://www.worldnetdaily.com/news/article.asp?ARTICLE_ID=49036
    ************************************************************
    The book "'The Marketing of Evil" explains how the far left media strikes again and explains why everyone votes so high.

    "The Marketing of Evil" has been almost alone among news media voices to expose "Brokeback" for what it actually is
    Expand
  58. DomA.
    Apr 23, 2006
    3
    I think that what this movie was meant to represent and the storyline were completely off. The forbidden love story was great, but I did not like country cowboy theme intertwined with that. I felt it could have grasped an audience better and been explosive enough to win an Oscar if it had been set in different place or different time even. Heath's country accent was completely off as I think that what this movie was meant to represent and the storyline were completely off. The forbidden love story was great, but I did not like country cowboy theme intertwined with that. I felt it could have grasped an audience better and been explosive enough to win an Oscar if it had been set in different place or different time even. Heath's country accent was completely off as well. I was not impressed with his performance as the Leading Actor. Expand
  59. AlyElle
    Apr 24, 2006
    0
    I have never been so disappointed in a critically-acclaimed, Oscar nominated movie in all my life! I thought Million Dollar Baby was bad, but this takes the cake. The people who are giving this movie a high rating are obviously "followers" who take on the opinions of people they deem important. Brokeback Mountain did not live up to any of the media hype. First of all, there was noI have never been so disappointed in a critically-acclaimed, Oscar nominated movie in all my life! I thought Million Dollar Baby was bad, but this takes the cake. The people who are giving this movie a high rating are obviously "followers" who take on the opinions of people they deem important. Brokeback Mountain did not live up to any of the media hype. First of all, there was no romantic chemistry between these two cowboys, nor was there any reason to believe they are gay by orientation. Rather, they are stuck in the middle of nowhere for an entire summer, with only themselves. They are about as gay as two inmates stuck in the same cell for the rest of their lives. In other words, if I were isolated for months with a woman, she and I would most likely get it own, too-- BIG DEAL! Where's the romance in that? Ang Lee and the writers failed to show a genuine emotional bond develop between these two. Their attachment was driven by loneliness and libido, nothing else. Heath Ledger was a HORRIBLE actor! I could barely understand him throughout the movie. Being from Mississippi, I pride myself on understanding the thickest of country accents, but even I was lost numerous times whenever Ledger's character spoke. Jake G. wasn't too much better. The best actor--by far-- was the woman who played Ledger's wife. Now, another issue I have with the movie is that neither character showed any struggle with their attraction to one another as it related to them being married men living heterosexual lives. It was hard--in fact, impossible-- to root for them because they showed absolutely no remorse for cheating on their wives and abandoning their families. Never did I really get the sense that being "gay" was hard for them. We are expected to believe that 20 years passed between them, yet we never see any substance to their relationship. These are the same men who--despite the taboo nature of their affair--kiss passionately OUTSIDE the home of one partner whose wife and family are within sight. PLEASE!!! And, speaking of 20 years passing, the make-up artist assigned to this movie needs to be shot because none of the characters--except the children-- aged one bit. In the end, Ledger's character didn't look anymore than 10 years older than his 19-year old daughter. All in all, this movie was all about political Hollywood hype and not about cinematic quality. I would have given it a 1 for the few beautifully shot landscape scene of the mountain side, but after seeing so many of them transition after transition, that got old... so Brokeback gets a ZERO from me! The movie perpetuates the stigma that gay men have no remorse for infidelity and care more about getting their rocks off than being in meaningful, loving, committed relationships with each other. I am very gay friendly and I have seen true love be established and maintained by gay couples. For them it isn't about sex! Too bad America didn't get to see that in this movie. Thank God "Crash" got Best Movie and not his piece of junk! Collapse
  60. RickMan
    May 13, 2007
    1
    Are you freaking kidding me? This movie sucked! It involved gay cowboys, a far cry from the actual persona of a real cowboy during that time. What was it that was moving? Watching two cowboys express gay feelings toward one another. How about they make a movie involving two gay women expressing thier deepest love for each other around the time of Christ. Would this be moving? I still Are you freaking kidding me? This movie sucked! It involved gay cowboys, a far cry from the actual persona of a real cowboy during that time. What was it that was moving? Watching two cowboys express gay feelings toward one another. How about they make a movie involving two gay women expressing thier deepest love for each other around the time of Christ. Would this be moving? I still think that this movie was not worth the time spent making it. Expand
  61. KaylaA.
    Jan 11, 2006
    0
    I did not like the movie one bit!!! It really disgust me!!
  62. BobL.
    Jan 12, 2006
    1
    Politically correct and absurd. Hollywood's version of reality.
  63. JoeWilson
    Jan 13, 2006
    0
    this movie is front for teh homosapiem agenda. that is why my church is boycoting it. the bible says its Adma and Eve not Adam and STEVE. what all you peopl dont undrstand is that teh bibel cannot lie because that is what God said. that is why the LORD our God in HEavn smoked Sadam & Gommorhea. btw, 4 all you "strait" peopl giving it 10, maybe YOU are the homosapiem.
  64. CarlosM.
    Jan 21, 2006
    1
    Flat characters, predictable.
  65. ChristyB.
    Jan 24, 2006
    2
    It was soo long and boring. I thought for sure it would have been a worthwhile movie with the awards it was winning but it was so long and drawn out. Hats off to Heath though, I guess you can say he was one hell of an actor.
  66. ArthurS.
    Jan 24, 2006
    0
    when did leaving your wife and children to indulge in a former flame become "beautiful?" I dont care if its "forbidden love" or not, anyone having an affair with a youthful flame can make up some stupid excuse to indulge in sex, prostitution, etc. This is a disgusting picture, and simply because you are a homosexual doesn't justify the reprehensible act of forfeiting your own #$#$ing when did leaving your wife and children to indulge in a former flame become "beautiful?" I dont care if its "forbidden love" or not, anyone having an affair with a youthful flame can make up some stupid excuse to indulge in sex, prostitution, etc. This is a disgusting picture, and simply because you are a homosexual doesn't justify the reprehensible act of forfeiting your own #$#$ing children because of flesh lust. Expand
  67. JeffC.
    Jan 31, 2006
    0
    Please...Just a political movie that Hollywood and the left are ramming down our throat. We have the courts back and WE will do something about the moral decay of this country...sorry the movie was bad. I think I slept thru most of it. BAD MOVIE!!!
  68. Moo
    Feb 21, 2006
    3
    awful...it was boring. i wanted to walk out of the movies, but i stayed in hope that the movie had not yet hit the climax, but the movie continued in boredom until, aslas, the climax was hit...the movie ended.
  69. JasonF.
    Feb 26, 2006
    1
    As a gay man, I'm giving this movie a 1 for cinematography and thats it. I left this movie feeling numb, bored and uninspired except to go home a take a bottle of prozac. I realize everybody doesn't live happily ever after, and it enraged me more than anything really. There was nothing but repression, betrayal, self hate, misery and emptyness to this movie. What kind of story As a gay man, I'm giving this movie a 1 for cinematography and thats it. I left this movie feeling numb, bored and uninspired except to go home a take a bottle of prozac. I realize everybody doesn't live happily ever after, and it enraged me more than anything really. There was nothing but repression, betrayal, self hate, misery and emptyness to this movie. What kind of story has ALL of it's characters miserable - with absolutely no bright side? Not a moive I would recommend to ANYONE. Expand
  70. SeanK.
    Apr 18, 2006
    2
    I give it a two rating because some of the scenery was great. The acting was average, the characters forgettable. An overall terrible movie, with nothing to interest the viewer and the ending just cuts off unexpectedly with no resolution. Starts out blah, remains blah and ends before you can say blah. A joke that it garnered so much acclaim, one of the worst movies I have seen in years.
  71. anonymous
    Apr 26, 2006
    2
    This moving was utterly miserable to say the least. I give it a 2 for the photography and landscape for where it was filmed, other than that it in no way lived up to its expectations, the "oscar" abilty acting was no where near what one could deem "oscar" the accents made it unbearable, and not to mention there was no timeline for this movie, it just jumped around leaving the audienceThis moving was utterly miserable to say the least. I give it a 2 for the photography and landscape for where it was filmed, other than that it in no way lived up to its expectations, the "oscar" abilty acting was no where near what one could deem "oscar" the accents made it unbearable, and not to mention there was no timeline for this movie, it just jumped around leaving the audience without a clue for how much time has elapsed. The characters did not evolve and niether did the movie. The homosexual love affair and predictable "hate-crime" ending was only a front to try and make this the most controversial movie of the century, which it definitly did not accomplish. Its acting and plot were glorified for greatness and instead the movie left its audience wondering what they had just paid money to watch. Expand
  72. IanB.
    Aug 27, 2007
    1
    Any man that rates this above a 1 needs to take a long look in the mirror.
  73. TonyF
    Jan 29, 2008
    1
    Horribly over-rated. The only reason this movie gets such high reviews is because the reviewers don't want to appear as homophobic. This movie is basically City Slickers+ gay cowboys - humor and entertainment.
  74. Annick
    Feb 25, 2008
    3
    Null... takes too long... you really need to want to watch it or else you quit really fast !!!!!!! People have left the movie place before the action... too bad cause if you persist and watch it till the end its is ok.
  75. DanS.
    Dec 24, 2005
    3
    Even a whole week after viewing this film, I find myself asking, "how can something so supposedly taboo and interesting as gay cowboy love be turned into the most boring, inexpressive film of the year?" Brokeback sports some fine performances, excellent cinematography, but it ultimately dies in the hands of its somber pace and lack of passion. It's impossible to force audiences to Even a whole week after viewing this film, I find myself asking, "how can something so supposedly taboo and interesting as gay cowboy love be turned into the most boring, inexpressive film of the year?" Brokeback sports some fine performances, excellent cinematography, but it ultimately dies in the hands of its somber pace and lack of passion. It's impossible to force audiences to sympathize with characters in which we have nothing invested and about which we do not care. Expand
  76. Mar 22, 2014
    2
    Incredibly dull movie about gay cowboys, that probably wouldn't get any popularity, if it wasn't about homosexuals. I'm not any sort of homophobe, but giving a boring movie, without any plot twists, deeper meaning or action high grade, just because it tells a story about gays is plain riddiculous.

    Avoid it like plague, unless you are deeply involved in some sort of LGBT movement or you
    Incredibly dull movie about gay cowboys, that probably wouldn't get any popularity, if it wasn't about homosexuals. I'm not any sort of homophobe, but giving a boring movie, without any plot twists, deeper meaning or action high grade, just because it tells a story about gays is plain riddiculous.

    Avoid it like plague, unless you are deeply involved in some sort of LGBT movement or you can't sleep at night and need something to help you achive that state.
    Expand
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. 50
    Takes great pains to be a compassionate love story; but the filmmaking itself, self-consciously restrained and desiccated, is inert and inexpressive.
  2. 75
    Isn't for everyone, but for those who are not bothered by the homosexual relationship, it offers a study in yearning, love, and loss. It didn't affect me as deeply as either "The Bridges of Madison County" or "The Remains of the Day," but it evokes some of the same feelings.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    100
    There's neither coyness nor self-importance in Brokeback Mountain--just close, compassionate observation, deeply committed performances, a bone-deep feeling for hardscrabble Western lives. Few films have captured so acutely the desolation of frustrated, repressed passion.