Focus Features | Release Date: August 5, 2005
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 189 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
98
Mixed:
41
Negative:
50
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
NickNJul 5, 2007
A clever and meaningful film about a middle aged man reflecting on his life and his future. If you think the movie has no end, you're an idiot and you have no idea what they're trying to say. I can see the criticism that it moves A clever and meaningful film about a middle aged man reflecting on his life and his future. If you think the movie has no end, you're an idiot and you have no idea what they're trying to say. I can see the criticism that it moves slowly, because some people aren't able to engage without constant fireworks. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
ChadS.Oct 30, 2005
Don(Bill Murray) hardly seems to be a racist, but derrogatory terms like "spade" and "raisin" are used, albeit in a different context outside of Winston's hearing range. Don calls his wife "the sweetest grape on the vine," and in naming Don(Bill Murray) hardly seems to be a racist, but derrogatory terms like "spade" and "raisin" are used, albeit in a different context outside of Winston's hearing range. Don calls his wife "the sweetest grape on the vine," and in naming detectives to Winston's daughter, Sam Spade is evoked. Curious, no, especially in light of the wonderful friendship Don and Winston seem to share. It's the film's chief delight. Jarmusch and John Sayles are two white men who often write great characters for African-American performers. Winston's passion towards detective stories seems quirky, but that would be a racist notion, because there would be the assertion that a black man doesn't read. As for the women, my favorite stop, and performance, belongs to Laura, as played by Sharon Stone. Jarmusch cleverly acknowledges the former sexpot is aging and passes on the nudity duties to her daughter/protege, as played by Alexis Dziena. The road trip might've been more fun with Winston(Geoffrey Wright) tagging along, but his presence in the guise of a mix tape is a clever subversion of the buddy movie. "Broken Flowers" is an art film, but it's a lot easier to watch a long take of Murray on a couch than an obscure Thai actor sit in a tree in what seems like eternity(this is in reference to "Tropical Malady"). A long take, people, isn't categorically pretentious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatC.Mar 27, 2006
A gem of a movie similar to Lost In Translation, but even more flagrant in its audience exclusion. The story is basically Bill Murray embarking on a journey where he encounters the kind of people who would be clueless to understand this A gem of a movie similar to Lost In Translation, but even more flagrant in its audience exclusion. The story is basically Bill Murray embarking on a journey where he encounters the kind of people who would be clueless to understand this movie. This creates an atmosphere of alienation and loneliness through which Murray perseveres by force of habit. The movie truly is a work of genius, but with one glaring flaw. Murray needs more facial expressions in his arsenal. OK, I get it, deadpan implies emotions roiling under the surface, but any nominally human father would have cracked a smile at the end of the movie. Given all that preceded it, that would have been awesome. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
vanveraNov 30, 2005
Slow and good. very good for your soul.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JonathanZ.Oct 3, 2005
Ever since I saw Lost in Translation (although Rushmore is a close second), I've enjoyed seeing Bill Murray on the silver screen. His ability to play incredibly remote (even glacial) characters with just the right amount of nuanced Ever since I saw Lost in Translation (although Rushmore is a close second), I've enjoyed seeing Bill Murray on the silver screen. His ability to play incredibly remote (even glacial) characters with just the right amount of nuanced humor always strikes me as the mark of genius. In this film he plays the part of Don Johnston, an aging and lonely Don Juan. Events are put into motion by a mysterious pink letter with no return address telling him he has a son. With the help of his neighbor and MapQuest, he goes off to visit four women he dated 20-odd years ago in hopes one of them will reveal herself to be the mother. I found the combination of mystery and episodic road trip to work particularly well, considering I was expecting an indie film. Sure, the pacing is off at points and the humor is tinder dry, but I didn't really mind that. I don't think anyone will argue against the fact that Murray drives the entire picture. His face is a stoic mask, and every subtle gesture hints at some deeper form of melancholy. BOTTOM LINE: Though short of greatness and a little confusing, this film is definitely an enjoyable change of pace from the mainstream. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
jasons.Oct 4, 2005
The pace of this film has so much to do with Don's character. Who hasn't had a period of time in their own life where nothing happens, nothing is felt? Why else do so many people spend billions of dollars at the theater each year? The pace of this film has so much to do with Don's character. Who hasn't had a period of time in their own life where nothing happens, nothing is felt? Why else do so many people spend billions of dollars at the theater each year? To fill a void? The trip Don takes is the "hero's journey" where we watch tepid Don's metamorphosis into a man engaged with the world and the people around him. I praise Jarmusch for steering clear of a Hollywood morality treatment to the film. There's no huge happiness, or "meaning of life" smashed over the viewer's head; just a story about a man who steps up to responsibility. And in this world that's not so minor of a thing. Oh, I laughed a lot, too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
sjb.Aug 16, 2005
Bill murray follows "Lost in Translation" with yet another brilliant under-stated performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkAug 8, 2005
By far the best movie of the year. As per usual in his latest movies, Bill Murray turns in a stellar performance, simultaneously hilarious and tragic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DrSuessSep 15, 2005
Lovely.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanC.Jan 4, 2006
I really enjoy this movie. Although the character acted by Bill Murray evokes the one he made in Lost In Translation, they are totaly similar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulW.Jan 8, 2006
I enjoyed it...but can see why other may not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielJ.Feb 3, 2006
Refreshingly slow, honest and open ended. It's not a revolution, but it's good to see a film that is detailed, but not in a specific or convenient way- i.e. only to move the plot along. I didn't 'realise', if that is Refreshingly slow, honest and open ended. It's not a revolution, but it's good to see a film that is detailed, but not in a specific or convenient way- i.e. only to move the plot along. I didn't 'realise', if that is the word, that this was a comedy. But, it's definitely not a downer- just light hearted in a completely non middle-of-the-road way. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndrewMar 5, 2006
Sometimes a movie is more about what is not shown than what is and what it does not say. Should a movie always entertain? No. Should a movie always force you to think? No. Bu,t either one or the other done well is worth the time, providing Sometimes a movie is more about what is not shown than what is and what it does not say. Should a movie always entertain? No. Should a movie always force you to think? No. Bu,t either one or the other done well is worth the time, providing you know and appreciate the difference. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
zztopOct 11, 2005
Perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TrinimanAug 14, 2005
Broken Flowers is the latest film from director Jim Jarmusch. Don (Bill Murray) is a seemingly retired person, who made a fortune in the computer business. One day, he receives a letter with no return address or signature, claiming that he Broken Flowers is the latest film from director Jim Jarmusch. Don (Bill Murray) is a seemingly retired person, who made a fortune in the computer business. One day, he receives a letter with no return address or signature, claiming that he fathered a child with the writer and that the child, almost 19 years old, is now one his way to find his unknown father. With the help of his would-be detective novelist neighbour (Jeffrey Wright, someone we should see more of in film), Don embarks on a trip to unexpectedly drop by a few former girlfriends, to try to figure out who sent the letter and who his child is. There are too many quiet, contemplative moments that worked in Lost In Translation, that don't quite work here. It's true that sometimes less is more, and that much can be communicated without relying on a lot of dialogue. But after a while, the numerous quiet moments made the film seem tedious. There are also parts that are meant to titillate, always involving females, but they don't really add to the story in any germane way, with the exception of playing on men's interest in attractive women. Was this some type of social commentary on the director's part? Probably. The real estate agent former flame (Frances Conroy)looked embarrassed and the dinner scene was painful to watch. However, it was also realistic. We've all been in situations with that type of tension. Jarmusch also tried to juxtapose the dry real estate agent and her bourgeois lifestyle with the hippie that she used to be when Don knew her. The change is apparent without having it trumpeted. The animal communicator on one hand seemed loopy and self-important, but on the other hand, stand-offish. Real people are like that: more complex than mere stereotypes. The redneck former girlfriend (Tilda Swinton)and her reasons for reacting to him upon his surprise visit, didn't develop any intrigue and didn't contribute to the story in a positive way. Broken Flowers is not predictable, and that is one of its strong suits. It's slow moving pace and ending may turn off mainstream audiences, however. Those with different tastes may find this to be one of the best films of the year. I can respect this film for trying to be different, but I don't think I would see it again or recommend it to everyone. Winner of the Grand Prix prize at the 2005 Cannes Film Festival. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TanyaAug 20, 2005
Murray and Jarmusch, mastering the gravitas of the minimal, deliver a comtemplative film (often evoking the same mood as About Schmidt) that explores instead of explains. A great examination of half-hearted lament over something lost -- when Murray and Jarmusch, mastering the gravitas of the minimal, deliver a comtemplative film (often evoking the same mood as About Schmidt) that explores instead of explains. A great examination of half-hearted lament over something lost -- when you don't know what it is that was lost. We learn far more about all the characters surrounding Murray than about Murray himself, which provides an intriguing distance to watch his character plod reluctantly but disinterestedly through his past. Marvellous! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FredWAug 30, 2005
There's probably a reason reviews are so bifurcated; either you like minimalistic/philosophical perspective or you don't. This ain't Stripes or Caddyshack, and not even Lost in Translation. Murray has never been so understated There's probably a reason reviews are so bifurcated; either you like minimalistic/philosophical perspective or you don't. This ain't Stripes or Caddyshack, and not even Lost in Translation. Murray has never been so understated and used so little in creating so much. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PatG.Aug 5, 2005
Yes, this film feels slow at times. But it is intriguing, and Murray is always interesting. The slowness, the ever-present emptiness, are part of the point, I think. And the bouquet of actresses is a special treat. As for the ending--we do Yes, this film feels slow at times. But it is intriguing, and Murray is always interesting. The slowness, the ever-present emptiness, are part of the point, I think. And the bouquet of actresses is a special treat. As for the ending--we do want more, but I agree that it is credible and has its own power. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ATHowardAug 8, 2005
This movie was brilliant and will be easily misunderstood. Bill Murray is the most interesting leading man in Hollywood right now. I hope he gets nominated for the Oscar and wins for his moving portrayal in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshSep 11, 2005
Fantastic, hilarious, and touching movie. This is a movie people who like constant action will never understand, and thats too bad for them. Someone needs to give Bill Murray an Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NigelWJan 10, 2006
Bill Murray put in a wonderfully restrained performance and each of his leading ladies shone in their own way, albeit briefly. I enjoyed the quietness and how the desperateness of Murray's character came through from what was not said. Bill Murray put in a wonderfully restrained performance and each of his leading ladies shone in their own way, albeit briefly. I enjoyed the quietness and how the desperateness of Murray's character came through from what was not said. Great music and some laughs from Jeffrey Wright. However I can totally understand why this film did nothing for some. Overall I wanted to like this movie more than I actually did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScottM.Jan 15, 2006
I saw people walking out on this film...and note some giving zero scores here..to love this film you need to have some life experiences that youth cannot give...however this is as close to Tolstoy in a film i have seen..and it doesn't I saw people walking out on this film...and note some giving zero scores here..to love this film you need to have some life experiences that youth cannot give...however this is as close to Tolstoy in a film i have seen..and it doesn't get any better than that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobA.Jan 16, 2006
A great movie destined to never be accepted by a mainstream public that can't stop wondering what happens next and simply enjoy what's happening now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickH.Jan 16, 2006
In Broken Flowers, it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
miker.Jan 2, 2006
The most heartfelt and soulful film of the past year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisS.Jan 27, 2006
After watching this movie with my girlfriend, we discussed what it meant and how we felt about it for a good hour. When was the last time a movie sparked a conversation like that for you? I guess the better question is "do you want to have a After watching this movie with my girlfriend, we discussed what it meant and how we felt about it for a good hour. When was the last time a movie sparked a conversation like that for you? I guess the better question is "do you want to have a conversation like that after a movie"? If the answer is yes, then this movie is right for you, if not, continue down the aisle at your local movie store to the "hollywood - business as usual" section. If your idea of a good movie is wacky humor, action, formulaic plots, well, this is not for you. I attributed this movie to a good short story that makes you think about the characters past and how they got to where they are, rather than spelling it out word for word. I think those of you out there that are rating this movie below a 6 are probably missing the point. Sometimes less is more. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndreasD.Apr 24, 2006
One of the best movies last year. It deserves a good rating... This movie has no ending, which is only one reason to watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NickS.Nov 27, 2005
I must say that I really enjoyed the film. My favorite part is the ending.... there is something to be said for films that leave you to try and finish the story parhapse this is forshadowed in Winston's love of detective novels?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElwynC.Dec 29, 2005
OK. I think the advertisement that proclaims this to be a "laugh out loud" movie will annoy many people but the Winston moments were mainstream LOL. I think that for most people, it may be too subtle... and I don't even know what to say OK. I think the advertisement that proclaims this to be a "laugh out loud" movie will annoy many people but the Winston moments were mainstream LOL. I think that for most people, it may be too subtle... and I don't even know what to say about the bit when Don rolls his eyes. The ending is really unsatisfying but leaves you wondering long afterwards. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlistairD.Oct 23, 2005
Very similar to Wes Anderson stuff and lost in translation, but couldn't hope for any more with this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TimD.Oct 31, 2005
I wanted this film to grab me more than it did. As it was, it had me for about the first two-thirds of the ride, providing many nicely subtle touches and some extremely funny passages. It began to lose steam for me, though, during the third I wanted this film to grab me more than it did. As it was, it had me for about the first two-thirds of the ride, providing many nicely subtle touches and some extremely funny passages. It began to lose steam for me, though, during the third and fourth encounters, and by the end I believed it all less than I did earlier and found myself caring less. Regardless, kudos to Bill Murray (and to the rest of the cast!) -- may we get the pleasure of seeing him do this kind of deeply-felt, offbeat work far more often. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillyBobAug 14, 2005
This is a movie about itself, a movie about interpreation. It's very cool.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JakeH.Sep 11, 2005
Absolutely wonderful. An a emotionally satifying film that leaves you think about life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TedC.Feb 21, 2006
A great movie, possibly my #1 for the year. One of the best endings to a movie I've seen in ages, and a great soundtrack to boot. The kind of movie that sticks with you for a long time after watching it. It will go down as one of A great movie, possibly my #1 for the year. One of the best endings to a movie I've seen in ages, and a great soundtrack to boot. The kind of movie that sticks with you for a long time after watching it. It will go down as one of Jarmusch's finest and possibly Murray's best late-career performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffM.Aug 11, 2006
Delightfully low-key. Could have been a truly great film had there been more insight into Bill Murray's character, but as it is, it's still a subtle charmer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohanS.Jan 31, 2007
Every human being is an island. No matter what you do. Bill Muray shows this unbearable loneliness in a superb way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
jwAug 11, 2007
(9.5) Those not familiar with Jarmusch, perhaps anticipating a reprise of life-altering happy sadness in the vein of Lost In Translation, were probably disappointed. They are similar in some important ways, though. Both achieve realism by (9.5) Those not familiar with Jarmusch, perhaps anticipating a reprise of life-altering happy sadness in the vein of Lost In Translation, were probably disappointed. They are similar in some important ways, though. Both achieve realism by way of non-resolution, for one. Compare it, on the other hand, to Shopgirl (which I believe tried for the same airspace as Lost In Translation) and I think you'll find that Broken Flowers succeeds in all the ways that movie, I think, failed. Jeffrey Wright - whose characters are typically very busy with everything from redefining postmodern art to diligently defending the interests of big oil companies - seems to have an abundance of time on his hands here. His hyper-interest in Murray's affairs is hilarious, his meddling a direct countercurrent to the rest of the movie's listless forward drift. While the episodic, cameo-driven quality of Dead Man and Coffee and Cigarettes remains intact, there are no (or few) intricate arcs of mysticism swivelling overhead. This makes the movie almost unbelievably real and modern, I think. So does the blatant (considering Jarmusch) use of color, in everything from the mysterious pink letter to the name of the lovely young florist, Sun Green. The soundtrack is typically strong, and stray shots of overgrown typewriters, etc. delight throughout. A meaningful, if quiet, performance by Murray is punctuated by a scene in a graveyard. In a film mad with unanswered questions and dead ends, this scene has beautiful resonance, dignity, and despite itself, explanatory power that entire dialogue-heavy movies of greater ambition failed utterly to achieve. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TubieNov 2, 2010
I love Bill Murray. With that out of the way you might want to take my review with caution because it seems not everyone thinks this movie is great. I find slow depressing movies very touching and I simply like the way I feel and connect withI love Bill Murray. With that out of the way you might want to take my review with caution because it seems not everyone thinks this movie is great. I find slow depressing movies very touching and I simply like the way I feel and connect with these type of films. If you can relate to this then you need to go rent or even buy this movie ASAP. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleApr 30, 2015
This one is slow and I can get why the audience is a little mixed on it, but the critics hit this one right on. Bill Murray is excellent in this one, as is Jeffrey Wright in a supporting role. A tale about a man going on a journey to discoverThis one is slow and I can get why the audience is a little mixed on it, but the critics hit this one right on. Bill Murray is excellent in this one, as is Jeffrey Wright in a supporting role. A tale about a man going on a journey to discover if he has a son and if so, which woman is the mother of that child, this one is simply a slice of life type of film. Nothing extraordinary happens and it is debatable as to if anything happened at all. However, I really do enjoy these type of films for the insight they provide for the characters presented. In Broken Flowers, you really get to really understand Murray's character and his problems and really, you feel bad for him since he is so alone, though he has always been surrounded by people. In addition, Jim Jarmusch's direction is brilliant. He really manages to capture the beauty of life by emphasizing the beauty of the landscape that Murray transverses. Much like life, the beauty is in the details and this film really underscores that. A subtle film that is so subtle it will not really touch a lot of viewers, this one really was moving. On top of that, the comedic moments were well done and actually really funny, but you had to pay attention to catch them. As a whole, Broken Flowers is a very good film that works on multiple levels. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
migaspintoAug 5, 2015
Great film from top director Jim Jarmusch. It's an open film with several mensages and an ambiguous ending. I liked very much, but i must say who didn't like Jarmusch other works, won't like this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews