Lionsgate | Release Date: December 4, 2009
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 242 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
208
Mixed:
29
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
StevenB.Jun 1, 2010
This is the most emotionally effective film I have thus far seen in my life. Superb acting all around, and incredibly tense situations throughout.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
sailoraideJan 18, 2011
Films that depict a war environment have been coming out of Hollywood regularly in the past several years. Itâ
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
jordiMar 2, 2013
De las mejores interpretaciones de Tobey Maguire, Natalie Portman y Jake Gyllenhaall. Desgarradora. Romántica. Familiar. Dura. Nos hace odiar la guerra. Jake Gyllenhaall está guapísimo.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
JonW.Jan 4, 2010
Powerful film, one of best of year - way better than the more critically praised ho hum, depressing Up in the Air.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SpencerS.Jan 7, 2010
Brothers: Toby Maguire plays a role that is so terrifilying convincing that he should win every oscar for the next ten years. The movie takes every emotion inside of you and tears them to shreds. Jake Gyllenhaal and Maguire's final Brothers: Toby Maguire plays a role that is so terrifilying convincing that he should win every oscar for the next ten years. The movie takes every emotion inside of you and tears them to shreds. Jake Gyllenhaal and Maguire's final confrontation is so emotionally traumatizing you dont know who to root for. In the end i...t was a succesfull war/drama movie, with some of the best acting I have ever seen. I give it an A-. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JamesH.Mar 24, 2010
Very powerful performances from the leads really make this film work. Toby Maguire has the showy role but he handles it well, Natalie Portman is excellent as his wife and gives a very heartfelt performance, and Jake Gyllenhaal is subtle but Very powerful performances from the leads really make this film work. Toby Maguire has the showy role but he handles it well, Natalie Portman is excellent as his wife and gives a very heartfelt performance, and Jake Gyllenhaal is subtle but effective as his brother. The story is very good, a bit overstated perhaps but it holds your interest throughout. Good score, fine supporting performances from Sam Shepard and Mare Winningham. I am getting a little weary of movies that deal with a wars effect on a person though, fortunately this one handles the subject matter sensitively. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
javierr.Apr 2, 2010
Excellent film. one of the best of the year. storyline and acting are excellent. do not miss it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JordanK.Dec 4, 2009
A really powerful movie with what I thought was incredible acting. Toby Mcquire I thought was almost silly at times in the Spiderman movies but he really carried this movie along with Jake Gyllenhaal. Great pacing, great writing, and great A really powerful movie with what I thought was incredible acting. Toby Mcquire I thought was almost silly at times in the Spiderman movies but he really carried this movie along with Jake Gyllenhaal. Great pacing, great writing, and great acting. Especially hit home for me and my gf because I'm leaving to basic training soon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Mr.JohnP.Dec 5, 2009
A beautiful drama movie !! Great actors for a movie extraordinary !! Oscar for Natalie Portman!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PhilS.Dec 8, 2009
I loved this movie because of what the actors brought. You'll find some surprising things from the smallest places..i dont want to give anything away. Just enjoy the movie and try to take Natalie Portman seriously.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArnoldP.Jan 2, 2010
Emotionally wrenching, sometimes going over the top, uneven, raw, but still kudo's to Hollywood and Sheridan for dealing with this subject. Ensemble acting empowered the dramatic effect, with Gyllenhaall giving the most nuanced Emotionally wrenching, sometimes going over the top, uneven, raw, but still kudo's to Hollywood and Sheridan for dealing with this subject. Ensemble acting empowered the dramatic effect, with Gyllenhaall giving the most nuanced performance. You can begin to fathom the core of post traumatic stress to suicide and psychosis we are confronted with today. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MiriamR.Jan 30, 2010
The best film I've ever seen. Very touching. Brilliant actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
shannonbMay 2, 2010
This movie was good, bad, and the ugly all roled into one. It was kind of predictable, somewhat dark, but vey realistic. I would recommend the movie, but stop short of rating any higher.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RyanK.May 2, 2010
This was a very good movie. The acting was truly amazing, by everybody involved.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tabhardDec 20, 2009
I don't know what movie the critics watched because this movie was right on point with what our soldiers and their familiies are going through every day!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JuliePDec 26, 2009
Each actor gave their all for the characters. With a intense story and fantastic actors, this movie let you be a part of it's highs and lows.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeffreyFDec 4, 2009
The writing just failed this elite ensemble, only the children's roles are fully realized.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnWDec 4, 2009
I thought this movie was fantastic. On the surface, it seemed to be too simple to be good. But I think it was meant to be taken on multiple levels. Look at the two brothers, and the crimes they both committed. Murder is worse than robbery. I thought this movie was fantastic. On the surface, it seemed to be too simple to be good. But I think it was meant to be taken on multiple levels. Look at the two brothers, and the crimes they both committed. Murder is worse than robbery. Since the movie leaves you with almost no back story to the younger brother, you have to wonder what made him try to rob the bank. I think it's meant to teach that you have to take life objectively. Everyone has a back story, whether you know it or not, and they must be treated that way. As that hoe the younger brother brought to the dinner table, we are all human. That being said, there was something about the characterization of the two brothers that made it too surreal. You just have to kind of take it that they have a history of friendship and love, even though the father would make you think that there was always turmoil in the family, and that the brothers would be far from best friends. The wife was just a drag, nothing more than an object used to represent family earned, anything outside of blood. She had no personality whatsoever. The father also wasn't fleshed out enough. I think if we saw more strategically placed back story, you could make a stronger statement. The acting was decent otherwise. It was a great movie, just short of magnificent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterG.Dec 4, 2009
It was an excellant ensemble cast production. You felt the intimacy, the emotions, the frustra- tions, and yearning for meaning and happiness of a modern day family during time of war. The mov- took you there and made you feel what the char- It was an excellant ensemble cast production. You felt the intimacy, the emotions, the frustra- tions, and yearning for meaning and happiness of a modern day family during time of war. The mov- took you there and made you feel what the char- acters were feeling. You can't ask for much more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
sabinerDec 5, 2009
Great movie, wonderful acting!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JasonCDec 7, 2009
Very good movie but I feel it could of went on a little longer. I feel like the end of the movie left you hanging did not like the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Dec 7, 2009
The power and beauty of Brothers is its intense simplicity, like Sheridan's In America, there are no villans or saints in the story, just common everyday people coping with what life has dealt them and understanding family is the The power and beauty of Brothers is its intense simplicity, like Sheridan's In America, there are no villans or saints in the story, just common everyday people coping with what life has dealt them and understanding family is the foundation that holds it all, and them together. Jim Sheridan shows the honesty in his characters and everyone in the cast plays them as if they were your neighbors 2 doors down. After years of being in that spider suit, Tobey Maguire confirms to the world that he is an actor to be reckoned with, he is simply devasting in Brothers, a brilliant performance like his pre-spidey days of The Wonder Boys and Pleasantville. Natalie Portman is simply the best actress of her generation, something we've all known since The Professional. Brothers is a great movie, great in its simplicity and honesty, in its writing and directing and in its powerful perfomances. Most of all, Brothers is well worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LynnV.Dec 9, 2009
Troubling, any one who would recommend military service for their child needs to watch this movie. Very realistic emotional ride.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
FilipeM.Jan 13, 2010
A good start, a slo-mo middle and a breath-taking finale. Mix all of that with Maguire's surprisingly dark performance and you have a movie with one of the greatest after-effects you'll ever feel. Also, Natalie Portman is so hot!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyB.Apr 16, 2010
Three of our finest young actors and a strong supporting cast give excellent performances in this wise and thoughtful film. The open-ended conclusion indicates that there are filmmakers who believe that at least some of their audiences do Three of our finest young actors and a strong supporting cast give excellent performances in this wise and thoughtful film. The open-ended conclusion indicates that there are filmmakers who believe that at least some of their audiences do not need everything spelled out for them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
judytJun 13, 2010
Very sad, compelling and powerful movie with good performances from the three leads.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DebbieGDec 5, 2009
I loved it! Natalie Portman and Tobey both deserve an Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KristinaHDec 6, 2009
Having seen the Danish original in 2006, I have to say I prefer it over Sheridan's version. It's difficult for me to be objective. I give Susanne Bier's film a 9.5/possible 10...this remake was slightly disappointing. Tobey Having seen the Danish original in 2006, I have to say I prefer it over Sheridan's version. It's difficult for me to be objective. I give Susanne Bier's film a 9.5/possible 10...this remake was slightly disappointing. Tobey Maguire's acting was most convincing once he returned from Afghanistan. I wholeheartedly disagree with any rating lower than a 6. All in all, terrific story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadS.Dec 6, 2009
The raging bull has no proof, just a hunch, that Joey(Joe Pesci) is sleeping with Vickie(Cathy Moriarity) behind his back. Jack LaMotta(Robert DeNiro) may, or may not, be right, because Scorsese lets moviegoers decide for themselves if the The raging bull has no proof, just a hunch, that Joey(Joe Pesci) is sleeping with Vickie(Cathy Moriarity) behind his back. Jack LaMotta(Robert DeNiro) may, or may not, be right, because Scorsese lets moviegoers decide for themselves if the boxer's paranoia about possible transgressions between his brother and wife are warranted. It's this same sort of ambiguity that "Brothers" needs, as Sam(Tobey Maguire), the feisty spider, notes how Tommy(Jake Gyllenhaal) and Grace(Natalie Portman) carry on like teenagers at the skating rink. But the filmmaker telegraphs their innocence, in a scene where the black sheep brother and wife of a "dead" G.I. smoke pot and kiss, but nothing more(even though their love would have been a foregone conclusion had fate not intervened). Since the moviegoer knows the limits to their relationship, Sam's point blank accusation of infidelity sounds like the ravings of a madman, and not the prescience of a dead man walking, who knows his existence is practically irrelevant. This tweak to the film's calibration, in which the intimations of a physical relationship looms like an aura, would have kicked the pathos up a notch, because the moviegoer sees how Sam's death was the best thing that ever happened to Tommy. The drama of "Brothers" is at the homefront, not an Afghanistanian hot zone, but Tobey Maguire is too big of a star to be kept in the filmic negative space. When Sam comes home a transformed man, for the worst, Grace doesn't know the root cause of this human alchemy, and neither should we. Sam's unpardonable act could have been taken care of with a simple flashback. "Brothers" is a domestic drama that's constantly interrupted by the war, but the moviegoer pardons the interruption. This remake of the 2005 Susanne Bier original("Brodre") had me chained to my seat. The acting is, lights out terrific, perhaps, the best ensemble job in a major studio film this year, so far. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillC.Dec 6, 2009
I think the critic's missed this one. The acting is 1st rate,especially the two young girls. It gets pretty intense and plays out very realistically.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DeLindaH.Dec 8, 2009
Good movie but thought that Matt Damon and Kate Beckinsil would have been a better casting .I just didn't but Tobie and Natalie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SpangleJul 29, 2016
Brothers is an emotionally stirring film that really packs a punch when it comes to its examination of PTSD and war. Certainly not pro-military, Brothers thankfully does not go rah rah when it comes to America, instead showcasing how everyoneBrothers is an emotionally stirring film that really packs a punch when it comes to its examination of PTSD and war. Certainly not pro-military, Brothers thankfully does not go rah rah when it comes to America, instead showcasing how everyone is not necessarily a hero, because you never know what they went through. Even if you think they are, they may vehemently disagree. It's all relative. As someone who is very skeptical when it comes to the military, I greatly appreciated this element. That said, I am not sure I am buying Tobey Maguire as a tough as nails major with his whiny voice. Fortunately, Jake Gyllenhaal and Natalie Portman are good enough to overcome that miscasting and really do fit their roles, but the writing is never quite satisfying. Though the story is well told, the film feels too short and the characters not nearly well fleshed out enough, with very little in the way of character development. Gyllenhaal's character completes a 180 without reason and very little explanation as to how, which is problematic. That said, the film's power and sharp acting performances from Gyllenhaal and Portman elevate Brothers into a more than satisfactory look at the darkside of war. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeOct 22, 2016
It was a pretty good movie. It was well made, interesting, entertaining and the actors were all pretty good. Brothers is definitely a pleasant surprise and I highly recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews