User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 314 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 314

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 6, 2010
    5
    Borat is one of the best comic films I have ever seen,but when stepping out as Bruno, Cohen takes things a little too far. Its good to see the exposure of Western Culture is still there but many of the ideas seem to repeat themselves from Borat. Sasha Baron Cohen knows the lines and continually crosses them, sometimes too far.
  2. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    Nein! Sacha Baron Cohen goes for funny but instead heâ
  3. May 20, 2012
    0
    Very dull, inappropriate comedy that doesnt make sense. After seeing The Dictator, this movie truly sucked. I only saw one funny scene that i cracked up. I wanted to stop watching it, but i already purchased the movie. Never see this disgrace.
  4. Dec 25, 2010
    5
    Burno definitely has a lot of potential. However, it is a rather tough nut to swallow... pardon the pun. Within the first 10 minutes, one can be completely outraged by the film. It is extremely insulting, very provocative and leaves nothing unsaid... very much 'into your face' type of film. This can be rather funny at times, but overall the question of good taste remains, and Bruno walks a thin line there - at times crossing it quite drastically. Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2010
    5
    This one was okay,but it's a hit & miss film. I like Sacha Baron Cohen to be as Bruno character,but I prefer Borat better! It has alot of gay jokes,that made me puke to death! It has a little bit funny scenes,but not as funny as Borat does. And the film wasn't that much special and it gets serious that this was the same line that the actor did in Borat and it gets empty for the audience. So,it's nothing quite special for this gay comedy and please,I don't think this movie will be very interesting about gay jokes and some controversy about anything about the character,but stick to Borat. Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    Cohen is brilliant---a latter day Peter Sellers. The film was hilarious, but most definitely NOT for the easily offended. Mr. Cohen has a genius for letting hypocrites and poseurs hang themselves with their own rope.
  7. Oct 7, 2011
    5
    By bloating itself with outrageous and inappropriate shenanigans, Bruno misses out on the heart and critical social observation of Borat. Much of this is down to the character being depicted but you are left wishing that Bruno could make you split your sides and also give you something to think about. The humor swings from moderately funny to frustratingly weak and many situations appear fabricated for comedy purposes, which badly damages the film. If these scenes are staged then who knows what else is? Though not an awful movie, Bruno is inferior to Borat in just about every way. Expand
  8. May 14, 2011
    6
    Bruno goes from the funny, to the surreal to the downright ridiculous but if you liked Borat then double how far Sacha Baron Cohen was willing to go and if you're still intrigued then have a look. If you're easily offended or don't enjoy people making fools of themselves then this is not for you.
  9. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    The movie is super funny. I only had a problem with the gay sex scene with the short guy. Otherwise this is some of Cohen's best work. Borat needed a bigger push. But that is okay because it was his first time doing something like that. Bruno did go overboard sometimes, but when life gives you lemons you have to make a lemon party. For those who don't know what a lemon party is, you should google it. Expand
  10. Feb 23, 2013
    6
    It's Bruno! The latest character from Sacha Baron Cohen. Cohen is of course known for Borat and being outrageous. He goes so far in this film, that he was actually arrested 3 times while filming it, Bruno however doesn't live up to Borat. Borat was one of those movies. that you can watch over and over again. and it was still funny, Bruno isn't like that. The first time around, it's pretty funny, even thou the constant gay jokes and references to anal and oral sex gets old, fast. When it came out on DVD and I watched it again, I wasn't as impressed by it. The third time, even less so. Bruno is raunchy and good for some laughs and shock value the first time you see it, but after that it loses everything. This is the kind of movie you should rent, but definitely not buy. Expand
  11. Apr 13, 2012
    0
    im sorry but the only way you should see this is if you are homosexual and i dont even think they would like it because its that digusting penises sex toys and jokes glore its basically a gay porn gone bad
  12. May 20, 2012
    6
    Bruno is crude, disgusting, and just plain disappointing. I loved Borat but Bruno just didin't have the same feel that Borat did. It wasn't as funny and just crossed the line various times. Yes, I laughed a couple times throughout the film because it really is funny at some points. Most of the time though, I feel like they're trying to make a more controversial film than a great one. If you enjoyed Borat, give this a try but satisfaction is not guaranteed. Expand
  13. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    My favorite comedy and satire ever. One of the best characters ever made. This movie shows how smart people think they are, but how gullible and full of themselves they really are. Great social commentary.
  14. Dec 22, 2012
    5
    It does have funny moments, it really does. I don't think it's fair to compare Burno and Borat- both are different enough. This movie, while it does show a comic genius at his worst. Being a contradict to my own words, while Borat was highly enertaining and somewhat unethical- it always came across as a joke. This movie, well, I was disapointed. For Sacha Baron Cohen, whom i have great respect for (what he does is unthinkably dumb, immoral, and idiotic he makes up for it by mocking America and its problems) Oh, Bruno is an uber mediocre movie! Expand
  15. Jun 8, 2013
    5
    In order to really enjoy this film you definitely have to be a fan of Sacha Baron Cohen, and because I am not I struggled to enjoy this. It's the second time I've seen it and I just didn't really find a lot of the jokes funny. There are some funny moments and the fact Bruno adopted a black baby called OJ is kind of funny, but overall it's just not a very funny movie. It will please some, but you certainly can't take it too seriously that's for sure or you just won't enjoy it. Expand
  16. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    Baron Cohen is fabulous as Brüno, and actually he looks gorgeous in character. I know a lot of women who'd kill for skin that smooth and flawless. And, as I said earlier, Baron Cohen is fearless when it comes to putting himself out there to make a point and get a laugh. Of course there's a lot of controversy over this film and Baron Cohen's portrayal of a flamboyantly gay man. And, yes, in a way he does feed into the stereotype. But so what? The audience gets the point and leaves entertained. It works. Expand
  17. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    Bruno, a gay wannabee pop star goes to America to find fame with his assistant. He unfortunately falls into a series of mishaps and ends up falling to become straight. Yes, this movie is filled with graphic, explicit, and offensive language and sexual content but if you try to look beyond all the racist and homophobic comments, you may find this movie very amusing and hilarious. If this movie offends you, then Borat is a much more calm prequel to Bruno that is just as hilarious. Expand
  18. Mar 7, 2014
    1
    borat was terrible now this are u kidding me this **** . i got a few laughs but this is wrost then hugo go watch the dicator instead this is not my fav film
  19. Jul 10, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bruno: 4 out of 10: I have to admit I am more than a bit disappointed here. Bruno has its share of laugh out loud moments but it simply does not have those great memorable scenes that made Borat such a treat.

    One cannot help comparing Bruno to Borat since in many ways they are the same story. Borat worked because the character was, at least on a movie logic level, believable. He was played as an innocent whom one could root for; even if he had some terrible values upon reflection. He was a lovable character.

    While Borat has an innocent air about him and a charismatic travelling companion, Bruno is as characterized a horrible human being from the get go with a milquetoast traveling companion.

    Bruno is a flamboyantly gay Austrian fashion host that is so horrible, one simply feels nothing but sympathy for Sacha Baron Cohen’s victims. When you start feeling sorry for Ron Paul and Anti-homosexual Christian deprogrammers the movie has clearly gone of the rails.

    Cohen tries to infuse Bruno with countless shots of male gentalia to embarrass (one supposes) his audience, Alas none if it is as cringe inducing as the naked wresting from the first movie (Come to think of it, nothing on earth is as cringe inducing as that scene) and nothing in Bruno comes anywhere close to being that funny.

    While there are certainly scattered laughs throughout the film, Bruno is more in the style of an old Mondo Cane movie than a comedy. It is more about making the audience and his victims uncomfortable than provoking any mirth or insight.

    When I watched Borat, I would tell myself if I met the character on the street I would be polite to him as well. While watching Bruno I was shocked no one punched him in the face.
    Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Bruno is only intermittently funny and all too often the "ambushes" of celebrities and civilians look staged. The movie is even a tad -- dare we say it? -- tedious.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Undeniably funny, outrageous and boundary-pushing, this further documentation of Sacha Baron Cohen's sheer nerve will draw an abundant share of "Borat" fans.
  3. Is Brüno riotous? Yes, more so than "Borat," in which Baron Cohen's targets were ducks in a barrel and largely undeserving of ridicule. He doesn't aim much higher here, but his tricks are more inventive.