User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 320 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 98 out of 320
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GavinP.
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Cohen shows us just how stupid modern Western culture really is.
  2. "JeffreyW.
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    Comic genius. Not a movie to see with your parents. "We've decided to cast your baby as a nazi officer pushing a baby dressed as a jew in a wheelbarrow into an oven!"
  3. StewartP
    Jul 13, 2009
    9
    A very good satire that hits all the points
  4. KenG
    Jul 14, 2009
    10
    Brilliant, hilarious, fearless, and insightful. A very worthy follow-up to "Borat". If you (like some of the posters here) were bothered by the penis shots, and the gay sex scenes (although, the sex scenes are all staged), of course you didn't like this movie. You are one of the people the movie is making fun of.
  5. DaneilA
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    The funniest movie I have seen in a LONG time, including of course, Borat. That movie will get the praise, but the true cult movie classic is here.
  6. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    Cohen is brilliant---a latter day Peter Sellers. The film was hilarious, but most definitely NOT for the easily offended. Mr. Cohen has a genius for letting hypocrites and poseurs hang themselves with their own rope.
  7. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    My favorite comedy and satire ever. One of the best characters ever made. This movie shows how smart people think they are, but how gullible and full of themselves they really are. Great social commentary.
  8. Range41
    Jul 11, 2009
    9
    Really outrageous! I agree this wasn't as good as Borat in terms of the targets of ridicule being more obvious, and having more parts that felt really staged. However, the movie had me and the whole theater in stitches.... and the last big scene (the wrestling scene) was both funny and extremely disturbing/poignant all at the same time. Only Cohen can have you in tears both from Really outrageous! I agree this wasn't as good as Borat in terms of the targets of ridicule being more obvious, and having more parts that felt really staged. However, the movie had me and the whole theater in stitches.... and the last big scene (the wrestling scene) was both funny and extremely disturbing/poignant all at the same time. Only Cohen can have you in tears both from laughing and sadness for our culture at the same time. Expand
  9. MrSensible
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    Crude - yes. Random - yes. But it is pure comedy genius. I have not laughed like that since. well, Borat.
  10. AaronD.
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    If you go to see this movie without realizing it's about a gay man or without realizing it's made by SBC, you don't deserve to give it a rating. Of course there is talk of anal sex, oral sex, and dildos. If you didn't know that, you should have left less than 15 minutes after the movie started... Those who stay after that will give it a 10!
  11. SamanthaS
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    I just saw the movie and it was very inappropriate.It had humor that was stupid yet Sacha Baron Cohen is a man who is funny. I just really enjoyed it. Stupid yet very smart.
  12. StevenA.
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Are you kidding me?! This was absolutely hilarious! Never before has something so tasteless been so witty, intelligent, and downright hysterical all at once! While metascores indicate otherwise, this film was SO much more daring and laugh-out-loud worthy than Borat, which I love! Needless to say, ignore the overall mediocre score, go see it, and laugh until it hurts!
  13. ShaunM.
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Incredibly intelligent and extremely offensive and disturbing. Those who hate it don't get it.
  14. RyanO
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Like a bull ride from hell; people could not handle it because it was too wild. This movie pushed the limits of mental prejudice well beyond anything ever before tried. Bruno reveals prejudice in viewers by attempting to offend you as much as possible. If you were offended than the movies purpose was successful. If you were not you were able to see the hilarity that ensued on screen.
  15. MikeD
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    This movie is definitely the funniest movie so far this year. Gut busting, laugh out loud hilarity! Certain segments of the population won't get it (midwest conservatives, I'm talking to you) but the rest will laugh their heads off. Basically, you will either love this movie or leave 20 minutes into it.
  16. LeviH
    Jul 15, 2009
    9
    Like Borat before it, this movie was designed with the complete discomfort of the audience in mind. Also like Borat, you aren't going to believe some of the things you hear human beings saying or see them doing, not least of all the title character. There were, in fact, quite a few moments in this movie where I feared for Sacha Baron Cohen's safety. He is a man with serious Like Borat before it, this movie was designed with the complete discomfort of the audience in mind. Also like Borat, you aren't going to believe some of the things you hear human beings saying or see them doing, not least of all the title character. There were, in fact, quite a few moments in this movie where I feared for Sacha Baron Cohen's safety. He is a man with serious balls, and this film is a must see so long as you don't mind actually viewing those balls. Expand
  17. DavidH.
    Jul 10, 2009
    9
    The less said the better, absolutely hilarious.
  18. AndrewG
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    Despite the 10 rating, this is not a perfect film -- parts of it drag and some of it falls flat -- nonetheless, the parts that work are so outrageously funny and dead on in their lampooning of celebrity culture, homophobia, and sheer human stupidity that it deserves top rating -- if only for the Man Slammin finale.
  19. ManuelQ.
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    Simply: is the best comedian film I've seen in my life.
  20. KubaS
    Jul 17, 2009
    9
    Not as good as Borat, it's still top act from Cohen. Yes, it's stupid. No, it doesn't make you think. It makes you laugh though.
  21. majoy.
    Jul 20, 2009
    9
    I can't believe the negative reviews. I saw this and Borat within the first 10 days they came out and had little interest really in both. Borat was good, funny, some gross, but a bit long for me....didn't inspire me to want to see Bruno.... But as things go, friends were going, and so I went along, with little excitement because I saw some of the negative reviews. But Bruno was I can't believe the negative reviews. I saw this and Borat within the first 10 days they came out and had little interest really in both. Borat was good, funny, some gross, but a bit long for me....didn't inspire me to want to see Bruno.... But as things go, friends were going, and so I went along, with little excitement because I saw some of the negative reviews. But Bruno was sensationally funny, way over the top, had several moments where you couldn't watch, but were laughing ridiculously hard as yuo closed your eyes. Bruno totally plays on the whole accept everyone mentality of the USA and yet really can't except the gays....I mean Sacha Baren Cohen is a comedic genius. I am not going to give anything away, and advise folks not to read too much before seeing it. But there wasn't really a bad moment at all in this entire movie. From start to finish it was a total laugh riot. The Pros: get ready to laugh really hard at this surprisingly intellectual gross out movie....the jokes are a mile a minute and told mostly all straight, but the grand joke of prejudice is felt at the end. Cohen does a remarkable job in both characters (Bruno and his alt ego at the end of the movie). There's not a movie like this that really has ever been made (this made Borat seem very very tame). Cons: Well I don't know if I could watch this again....there were some really cringe moments. But this was an absolutely great movie nonetheless. I'm surprised it got only an R rating though, definitely not for kids really under 17.... I am excited to see what else Mr. Cohen has up his sleeves in future years. Expand
  22. Magik300
    Aug 13, 2009
    10
    I've just seen trailer, but I have so much fun over two minutes that I didn't have in years.
  23. ZacH
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    I thought Bruno was fantastic i would give it a ten but i thought it was too short and i am a perfectly straight man but i must say the beginning is very graphic.
  24. JamesV
    Aug 7, 2009
    9
    Anything that pokes fun at the large percentage of ignorant yanks is fine by me. Reading some of the other comments on here makes me think that they saw a little to much of themselves in some of the interviewees/UFC crowds to find it funny. A vicious assault on middle America, a fine place to commence the attack.
  25. MattF
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    WOW, it's crude, its racist, it extreme, its Bruno. I loved it, though its hit or miss if you like crude and racist or gay jokes for shock value you'll love it, but don't give it a bad rating if it's not your thing or if you find it over the top its an all around good plot amazing improv and it makes fun of almost everyone from me 2 thumbs up 4.5 of 5 stars.
  26. roland
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    This is visceral satire at its very best. Jonathon Swift on benzedrine. My lungs ached as Bruno lurched from one target to the next. Wise, hilarious and with a moral highway wide enough for a supersize rampant rabbit and a bit more. Not very straight and not very narrow but a work of comic genius and thrusting, ball-busting integrity.
  27. JohnS.
    Jul 11, 2009
    9
    Don't go see this movie if you're easily offended or insecure about your sexuality. If you like Sacha Baron Cohen and can see the bottom line of this films goals, you will enjoy it. Also be prepared to see some male genitalia, it will probably catch you off guard.
  28. AlyE.
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    This is a mockumentary people! It's not supposed to make sense or tell a story, rather its purpose is to use satire to highlight other people's stupidity, desperation, racism, and homophobia. The beauty is that SBC exposes ignorance by pushing the envelope to threaten people's composure and hit nerves. That the people are clueless that he's not a real person, is what This is a mockumentary people! It's not supposed to make sense or tell a story, rather its purpose is to use satire to highlight other people's stupidity, desperation, racism, and homophobia. The beauty is that SBC exposes ignorance by pushing the envelope to threaten people's composure and hit nerves. That the people are clueless that he's not a real person, is what makes his antics that much more effective and hilarious. Yes, the movie is highly offensive, vulgar, crude, and shocking, but I loved it for those very reasons, and above all, because it was unpredictable-- I had no idea what would happen next. If you'd rather watch a lame, boring, safe, cliche, politically correct movie that you can figure out after the first half hour, then of course you'd absolutely hate Bruno. For the rest of us who want to see something different on the silver screen, Bruno is a refreshing and memorable deviation from the norm. Expand
  29. PF
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    The TN crowd I saw it with screamed in horror and then laughed until their sides hurt from beginning to end. I feel like my head was used in a volleyball game. Much funnier than Borat, a masterpiece. Rating should be NC-17, not appropriate for anyone under 17 due to severe content.
  30. ChadS.
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    At any given moment, unflappable you, cerebral you, the you who laughed without apology throughout "Borat", is bound to be disconcerted by the lengths that the comedian/performance artist will go for a laugh. Always an equal opportunity offender, Sacha Baron Cohen, trying on his latest outsider naif persona, an Austrian male model named Bruno, arrives stateside(like his Kazakhstanian At any given moment, unflappable you, cerebral you, the you who laughed without apology throughout "Borat", is bound to be disconcerted by the lengths that the comedian/performance artist will go for a laugh. Always an equal opportunity offender, Sacha Baron Cohen, trying on his latest outsider naif persona, an Austrian male model named Bruno, arrives stateside(like his Kazakhstanian predecessor with the gray suit) to disclose the ugly truth about American people. With some heavy-duty instigating, however unfair, Cohen gets to the core of plain old folks' sensibilities towards race and sexual orientation, quite brilliantly, in typical gonzo style, at the taping of a daytime talk-show where a pre-dominantly African-American audience expresses their disapproval towards Bruno for adopting one of their own. Oblivious to the minefield that lays ahead of him, in this scene, Cohen actually has the balls to set the gay agenda back, since Bruno shouldn't be anywhere near a child, while simultaneously presenting black people as hypocrites for denying homosexuals their civil rights. Sure, the "Eurotrash" fashionista provokes the studio crowd with some outlandish race-baiting, but they boo him before his racist provocations. The breadth of Cohen's madcap chutzpah will set off explosions in your summer blockbuster-addled head. Supporting gay rights with Bruno as its criterion is like being a Two Live Crew advocate during the eighties when Tipper Gore and the PMRC went after the misogynistic rappers. Cohen, who is Jewish, with his talent for getting unaware subjects to say the darnedest things, ironically(because of the anti-Semitic streak in "Borat"), evokes documentarian Claude Lanzman, whose dishonest interviewing techniques in "Shoah", got SS officers to talk openly about the Holocaust. On a different scale from processing Jews for liquidation, but shocking in its own right, Cohen captures on film, a showbiz mother willing to cast her baby as a Nazi officer who pushes another infant, a representational concentration camper, into an oven. Political correctness(supporting gay rights) collides with common sense(but not Bruno's rights) in this incendiary, but brilliant satire about the f****d up world we live in. Expand
  31. JB.
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    I can understand how some people didn't like Bruno but if your excuse is it was to gay get over yourself. And if this movie was disgusting or offensive to you should have been able to tell by the previews. If your not a homophobe and are secure with your sexuality go see BRUNO!
  32. BrandonC.
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    This was the funniest movie I've ever seen. I'm going back to the theatre tomorrow to watch it. Most people don't understand the genius behind Bruno. Sacha is a mastermind. I was crying the whole movie laughing so hard.
  33. Brandonv
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Funniest movie since Borat.
  34. Eric
    Jul 10, 2009
    9
    Shockingly funny.
  35. KarlS
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    The movie was hilarious. it's unsettling, un-PC, ridiculous, disturbing, wrong and very funny. the theater was screaming, pretty much from beginning to end. if it bothers someone: there's something stuck somewhere and you're encouraged to let loose.
  36. Michellet
    Jul 12, 2009
    9
    If you loved Borat, you will like Bruno.
  37. MatthewM.
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Never before have I seen a movie that was so crude, tasteless, appalling, offensive, shocking, and yet socially relevant, and hysterical. Pure, unadulterated Genius. Thank you Sacha Baron Cohen.
  38. George
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    Funny as hell, maybe not as "pure" as Borat but most definitely bold and funny! Sasha dares to go where no one else has ever gone before with great success.
  39. JohnS
    Jul 14, 2009
    10
    Here is my theory: - Most modern women find the movie really hilarious - Men with rational/open mind find the movie hilarious. Following crowd are likely going to detest the movie: - Men with rigid mindset of female nudity - Men who cannot imagine fragility of masculinity. I am as straight man as you can get, and I am here to tell you that the movie is totally comic, and I do not remember Here is my theory: - Most modern women find the movie really hilarious - Men with rational/open mind find the movie hilarious. Following crowd are likely going to detest the movie: - Men with rigid mindset of female nudity - Men who cannot imagine fragility of masculinity. I am as straight man as you can get, and I am here to tell you that the movie is totally comic, and I do not remember laughing so hard for another movie. I enjoyed this movie better than Borat. FWIW, I would never watch a love story -- be it Titanic or Brokeback Mountain. Expand
  40. JordanA
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    Pretty good movie. Very crude as well, don't see this with anyone that you might feel awkward around or you won't enjoy it. Lots of nudity/porn in this (not all gay either).
  41. WillW.
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    Nearly passed out laughing!
  42. JohnM.
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    This film shines the light on homophobia like Archie bunker did on racism. Excellent. I'm still laughing.
  43. GregoryB
    Jul 24, 2009
    9
    Some in the gay community had predicted that this film would be harmful for gays. I have to disagree. The character Bruno is a parody of the way homophobic people think of gay men: vain, vacuous, irresponsible sex-freaks. Poking at the issues of adoption, military service, and marriage, the film unveils these same characteristics in ordinary straight people. It is not perfect, but it is a Some in the gay community had predicted that this film would be harmful for gays. I have to disagree. The character Bruno is a parody of the way homophobic people think of gay men: vain, vacuous, irresponsible sex-freaks. Poking at the issues of adoption, military service, and marriage, the film unveils these same characteristics in ordinary straight people. It is not perfect, but it is a hilarious and brilliant satire of homophobia. A must-see. Expand
  44. RobertH
    Jul 24, 2009
    10
    Funny and smart. Remember : "You can laugh with anything but not with anybody"
  45. L
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Seeing the outrage of the prudish Americans posting in this comment section confirms to me that this is one of the best films of 2009.
  46. JT.
    Aug 4, 2009
    10
    Anyone giving this movie a 2 or below can say all they want about its repetitiveness, obscenity, and its (because of Borat) been-there-seen-that comedy, but it's a sure cover for massive issues of homophobia. Cohen aims, locks, and fires at a lot of the false friendliness and somehow still acceptable hate of dumb America, each time making a decisive point. From parents willing to Anyone giving this movie a 2 or below can say all they want about its repetitiveness, obscenity, and its (because of Borat) been-there-seen-that comedy, but it's a sure cover for massive issues of homophobia. Cohen aims, locks, and fires at a lot of the false friendliness and somehow still acceptable hate of dumb America, each time making a decisive point. From parents willing to have their two year olds go through liposuction for a part in a movie that will, they are explicitly told, portray baby Nazis carting of baby Jews into the incinerators, to Paula Abdul expounding on her humanitarian views while sitting on a Mexican worker, you get a chance to see how much acting goes on everyday and how true some stereotypes are. And all the time you're being shocked and appalled, you're also laughing yourself up good cardio workout. Basically, behind all that offends and all that makes us crack-up in this wild mockumentary, is a wise portrayal of the facades, ignorance, and unwarranted loathing in America, especially in the areas of gay sexuality strongly reminiscent of other great movies such as "Boys Don't Cry." It defines what good satire is all about. Expand
  47. JulieP
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    Brilliant. May be hard for some to watch but brilliant.
  48. MannyR.
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Stop whining about how "gay" this movie was. The fact that you feel uncomfortable seeing a penis in a movie means you shouldn't go and see a movie starring Sacha Baren Cohen. Those people saying that they are 15-30 years old and walked are full of it because at my theatre no one walked out and everyone laughed. The movie was hilarious, plain and simple.
  49. Michael
    Sep 14, 2009
    10
    AWESOME. i think i actually cried with laughter. those who dont get it are the people who sachin is trying to offend and would be caught in to his trickery if their paths were crossed. honestly the funniest thing ive ever seen. agreed that it probably deserved a R18 rating though.
  50. Dg
    Sep 9, 2009
    9
    The movie challenges societies prejudiced views by using obvious and over the top offensive materials and delivered to an unsuspecting public. in an attempt to capture their reaction. In short this is a creative movie and will appeal towards the liberalised atheist minded.
  51. SeanF.
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    This is undoubtedly one of the top 5 comedies of all time! Anyone who doesn't get it, is either a homophobe IMO, or doesn't really have the sense of humor that he or she thinks they had. Only criticism is that a lot of this movie seemed set up, maybe Borat was too, but that movie seemed much more spontaneous and real to me. Nonetheless, this movie is A LOT funnier than Borat This is undoubtedly one of the top 5 comedies of all time! Anyone who doesn't get it, is either a homophobe IMO, or doesn't really have the sense of humor that he or she thinks they had. Only criticism is that a lot of this movie seemed set up, maybe Borat was too, but that movie seemed much more spontaneous and real to me. Nonetheless, this movie is A LOT funnier than Borat IMO. Don't let the mixed reviews stop you from seeing this if you like Borat, Ali G, or Sacha Baron Cohen. Expand
  52. AW
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    Ich love this movie. Brilliant and hilarious-- better than I thought it would be. So irreverent and inappropriate- surpassed my expectations.
  53. PatrickR.
    Jul 11, 2009
    9
    Bruno is fearless.
  54. AndyM.
    Jul 11, 2009
    9
    It's not quite Borat, I'll admit. But it comes VERY close. I was laughing hard throughout this entire movie, ESPECIALLY when Cohen makes the audience super uncomfortable. It's true: only people insecure with their own sexuality or thoroughly intolerant of homosexuality can say this movie is "awful" and "offensive". What this movie does, in fact, is satirize Americans' It's not quite Borat, I'll admit. But it comes VERY close. I was laughing hard throughout this entire movie, ESPECIALLY when Cohen makes the audience super uncomfortable. It's true: only people insecure with their own sexuality or thoroughly intolerant of homosexuality can say this movie is "awful" and "offensive". What this movie does, in fact, is satirize Americans' discomfort with homosexuality in general. In addition, it mocks the fashion world, and the conventional, quintessential standard for "celebrity". Rarely does something this crude pull off such enthralling social commentary. Well, since Borat. Bottom line: SEE IT. Unless you're bible thumping, gay-hating, or a prude, this is a must see. Expand
  55. MattW
    Jul 12, 2009
    9
    I loved, loved, loved this movie. Of course it's vulgar and disgusting-- just like Borat; but it goes one step further satirically by thrusting blatant, over the top homosexuality right in the face of every uptight redneck asshole in America. The final scene where the mongoloid who beats himself in the head over UFC excitement starts CRYING because of all the faggotry-- oh....that I loved, loved, loved this movie. Of course it's vulgar and disgusting-- just like Borat; but it goes one step further satirically by thrusting blatant, over the top homosexuality right in the face of every uptight redneck asshole in America. The final scene where the mongoloid who beats himself in the head over UFC excitement starts CRYING because of all the faggotry-- oh....that was Priceless. I'd have pissed my self laughing if I hadn't felt so vindicated. As an out gay man I consider Sacha Baron Cohen my new hero. F*ck every breeder or sissy queer boy who thinks otherwise. Expand
  56. SebH
    Jul 12, 2009
    9
    I was only a tad disappointed, having followed Bruno since Da Ali G Show, to find that his earlier sketch work was actually much funnier. Still, this is a great continuation in the same vein as Borat, taking the piss out of people and constantly entertaining. One or two of the interviews looked staged - particularly the baby photoshoot interview (who in their right mind would be grateful I was only a tad disappointed, having followed Bruno since Da Ali G Show, to find that his earlier sketch work was actually much funnier. Still, this is a great continuation in the same vein as Borat, taking the piss out of people and constantly entertaining. One or two of the interviews looked staged - particularly the baby photoshoot interview (who in their right mind would be grateful for having their baby cast as a Nazi wheelbarrowing a Jew into a fire?) - but they were still hilarious, especially the gay convertor, the focus group and the wonderfully awkward hunting sequence. People who didn't enjoy this yet loved Borat show their true colours, obviously appreciating the ironic racism and anti-Semitism on a serious level and no doubt homophobic. If you appreciate bad taste humour, then you will love Bruno. Expand
  57. PaulM.
    Jul 17, 2009
    10
    Sacha Baron Cohen is a genius. The jokes weren't as funny as Borat, but the awkward situations were hilarious. He obviously made this movie just to see how much he could get away with. It turns out that's quite a lot, as Baron Cohen managed to expose the American public to sights normally reserved for internet shock videos.
  58. IsaiahG.
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    In the begining of the film I thought it was going to be a disaster. But then as the film progressed it made sense. Bruno was really pointing out the ignorance in some people of the world; but he did it in the most hilarious way possible. And it is true that it kind of resembles his last film "Borat". But the point of his films is to not only to make you laugh but also to make you think. In the begining of the film I thought it was going to be a disaster. But then as the film progressed it made sense. Bruno was really pointing out the ignorance in some people of the world; but he did it in the most hilarious way possible. And it is true that it kind of resembles his last film "Borat". But the point of his films is to not only to make you laugh but also to make you think. Its like he holds a mirror to his audience showing how they can be. Its not a masterpiece, but its his work of art. Expand
  59. BillyS
    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    Makes me proud not to be a right-wing Christian conservative!! Cohen is a ground breaking, take-no-enemies, comic genius! Can't wait for Ali G.
  60. MarcinJ.
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    The main aim of the movie is to show people's prejudice, reactions and perception.
  61. critic
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    Best movie ever. NO matter what you think of him, you have to admit he is a genius.
  62. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    The movie is super funny. I only had a problem with the gay sex scene with the short guy. Otherwise this is some of Cohen's best work. Borat needed a bigger push. But that is okay because it was his first time doing something like that. Bruno did go overboard sometimes, but when life gives you lemons you have to make a lemon party. For those who don't know what a lemon party is, you shouldThe movie is super funny. I only had a problem with the gay sex scene with the short guy. Otherwise this is some of Cohen's best work. Borat needed a bigger push. But that is okay because it was his first time doing something like that. Bruno did go overboard sometimes, but when life gives you lemons you have to make a lemon party. For those who don't know what a lemon party is, you should google it. Collapse
  63. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    Baron Cohen is fabulous as Brüno, and actually he looks gorgeous in character. I know a lot of women who'd kill for skin that smooth and flawless. And, as I said earlier, Baron Cohen is fearless when it comes to putting himself out there to make a point and get a laugh. Of course there's a lot of controversy over this film and Baron Cohen's portrayal of a flamboyantly gay man. And, yes, inBaron Cohen is fabulous as Brüno, and actually he looks gorgeous in character. I know a lot of women who'd kill for skin that smooth and flawless. And, as I said earlier, Baron Cohen is fearless when it comes to putting himself out there to make a point and get a laugh. Of course there's a lot of controversy over this film and Baron Cohen's portrayal of a flamboyantly gay man. And, yes, in a way he does feed into the stereotype. But so what? The audience gets the point and leaves entertained. It works. Expand
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Bruno is only intermittently funny and all too often the "ambushes" of celebrities and civilians look staged. The movie is even a tad -- dare we say it? -- tedious.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Undeniably funny, outrageous and boundary-pushing, this further documentation of Sacha Baron Cohen's sheer nerve will draw an abundant share of "Borat" fans.
  3. Is Brüno riotous? Yes, more so than "Borat," in which Baron Cohen's targets were ducks in a barrel and largely undeserving of ridicule. He doesn't aim much higher here, but his tricks are more inventive.