User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 321 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 98 out of 321
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    Baron Cohen is fabulous as Brüno, and actually he looks gorgeous in character. I know a lot of women who'd kill for skin that smooth and flawless. And, as I said earlier, Baron Cohen is fearless when it comes to putting himself out there to make a point and get a laugh. Of course there's a lot of controversy over this film and Baron Cohen's portrayal of a flamboyantly gay man. And, yes, inBaron Cohen is fabulous as Brüno, and actually he looks gorgeous in character. I know a lot of women who'd kill for skin that smooth and flawless. And, as I said earlier, Baron Cohen is fearless when it comes to putting himself out there to make a point and get a laugh. Of course there's a lot of controversy over this film and Baron Cohen's portrayal of a flamboyantly gay man. And, yes, in a way he does feed into the stereotype. But so what? The audience gets the point and leaves entertained. It works. Expand
  2. Feb 23, 2013
    6
    It's Bruno! The latest character from Sacha Baron Cohen. Cohen is of course known for Borat and being outrageous. He goes so far in this film, that he was actually arrested 3 times while filming it, Bruno however doesn't live up to Borat. Borat was one of those movies. that you can watch over and over again. and it was still funny, Bruno isn't like that. The first time around, it's prettyIt's Bruno! The latest character from Sacha Baron Cohen. Cohen is of course known for Borat and being outrageous. He goes so far in this film, that he was actually arrested 3 times while filming it, Bruno however doesn't live up to Borat. Borat was one of those movies. that you can watch over and over again. and it was still funny, Bruno isn't like that. The first time around, it's pretty funny, even thou the constant gay jokes and references to anal and oral sex gets old, fast. When it came out on DVD and I watched it again, I wasn't as impressed by it. The third time, even less so. Bruno is raunchy and good for some laughs and shock value the first time you see it, but after that it loses everything. This is the kind of movie you should rent, but definitely not buy. Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2014
    1
    borat was terrible now this are u kidding me this **** . i got a few laughs but this is wrost then hugo go watch the dicator instead this is not my fav film
  4. Dec 22, 2014
    8
    I enjoyed Bruno very much. There were many moments when I couldn't help but laugh out loud. And we're talking about rib rattling, full body laughs here. Whatever you would say about Sacha Baron Cohen, you can't deny the man has balls of steel! Bruno was simply great fun.
  5. Jun 8, 2013
    5
    In order to really enjoy this film you definitely have to be a fan of Sacha Baron Cohen, and because I am not I struggled to enjoy this. It's the second time I've seen it and I just didn't really find a lot of the jokes funny. There are some funny moments and the fact Bruno adopted a black baby called OJ is kind of funny, but overall it's just not a very funny movie. It will please some,In order to really enjoy this film you definitely have to be a fan of Sacha Baron Cohen, and because I am not I struggled to enjoy this. It's the second time I've seen it and I just didn't really find a lot of the jokes funny. There are some funny moments and the fact Bruno adopted a black baby called OJ is kind of funny, but overall it's just not a very funny movie. It will please some, but you certainly can't take it too seriously that's for sure or you just won't enjoy it. Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2010
    5
    Burno definitely has a lot of potential. However, it is a rather tough nut to swallow... pardon the pun. Within the first 10 minutes, one can be completely outraged by the film. It is extremely insulting, very provocative and leaves nothing unsaid... very much 'into your face' type of film. This can be rather funny at times, but overall the question of good taste remains, and Bruno walksBurno definitely has a lot of potential. However, it is a rather tough nut to swallow... pardon the pun. Within the first 10 minutes, one can be completely outraged by the film. It is extremely insulting, very provocative and leaves nothing unsaid... very much 'into your face' type of film. This can be rather funny at times, but overall the question of good taste remains, and Bruno walks a thin line there - at times crossing it quite drastically. Expand
  7. Aug 27, 2010
    5
    This one was okay,but it's a hit & miss film. I like Sacha Baron Cohen to be as Bruno character,but I prefer Borat better! It has alot of gay jokes,that made me puke to death! It has a little bit funny scenes,but not as funny as Borat does. And the film wasn't that much special and it gets serious that this was the same line that the actor did in Borat and it gets empty for the audience.This one was okay,but it's a hit & miss film. I like Sacha Baron Cohen to be as Bruno character,but I prefer Borat better! It has alot of gay jokes,that made me puke to death! It has a little bit funny scenes,but not as funny as Borat does. And the film wasn't that much special and it gets serious that this was the same line that the actor did in Borat and it gets empty for the audience. So,it's nothing quite special for this gay comedy and please,I don't think this movie will be very interesting about gay jokes and some controversy about anything about the character,but stick to Borat. Expand
  8. May 14, 2011
    6
    Bruno goes from the funny, to the surreal to the downright ridiculous but if you liked Borat then double how far Sacha Baron Cohen was willing to go and if you're still intrigued then have a look. If you're easily offended or don't enjoy people making fools of themselves then this is not for you.
  9. Oct 6, 2010
    5
    Borat is one of the best comic films I have ever seen,but when stepping out as Bruno, Cohen takes things a little too far. Its good to see the exposure of Western Culture is still there but many of the ideas seem to repeat themselves from Borat. Sasha Baron Cohen knows the lines and continually crosses them, sometimes too far.
  10. Jul 10, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bruno: 4 out of 10: I have to admit I am more than a bit disappointed here. Bruno has its share of laugh out loud moments but it simply does not have those great memorable scenes that made Borat such a treat.

    One cannot help comparing Bruno to Borat since in many ways they are the same story. Borat worked because the character was, at least on a movie logic level, believable. He was played as an innocent whom one could root for; even if he had some terrible values upon reflection. He was a lovable character.

    While Borat has an innocent air about him and a charismatic travelling companion, Bruno is as characterized a horrible human being from the get go with a milquetoast traveling companion.

    Bruno is a flamboyantly gay Austrian fashion host that is so horrible, one simply feels nothing but sympathy for Sacha Baron Cohen’s victims. When you start feeling sorry for Ron Paul and Anti-homosexual Christian deprogrammers the movie has clearly gone of the rails.

    Cohen tries to infuse Bruno with countless shots of male gentalia to embarrass (one supposes) his audience, Alas none if it is as cringe inducing as the naked wresting from the first movie (Come to think of it, nothing on earth is as cringe inducing as that scene) and nothing in Bruno comes anywhere close to being that funny.

    While there are certainly scattered laughs throughout the film, Bruno is more in the style of an old Mondo Cane movie than a comedy. It is more about making the audience and his victims uncomfortable than provoking any mirth or insight.

    When I watched Borat, I would tell myself if I met the character on the street I would be polite to him as well. While watching Bruno I was shocked no one punched him in the face.
    Expand
  11. Dec 22, 2012
    5
    It does have funny moments, it really does. I don't think it's fair to compare Burno and Borat- both are different enough. This movie, while it does show a comic genius at his worst. Being a contradict to my own words, while Borat was highly enertaining and somewhat unethical- it always came across as a joke. This movie, well, I was disapointed. For Sacha Baron Cohen, whom i have greatIt does have funny moments, it really does. I don't think it's fair to compare Burno and Borat- both are different enough. This movie, while it does show a comic genius at his worst. Being a contradict to my own words, while Borat was highly enertaining and somewhat unethical- it always came across as a joke. This movie, well, I was disapointed. For Sacha Baron Cohen, whom i have great respect for (what he does is unthinkably dumb, immoral, and idiotic he makes up for it by mocking America and its problems) Oh, Bruno is an uber mediocre movie! Expand
  12. May 20, 2012
    0
    Very dull, inappropriate comedy that doesnt make sense. After seeing The Dictator, this movie truly sucked. I only saw one funny scene that i cracked up. I wanted to stop watching it, but i already purchased the movie. Never see this disgrace.
  13. Oct 7, 2011
    5
    By bloating itself with outrageous and inappropriate shenanigans, Bruno misses out on the heart and critical social observation of Borat. Much of this is down to the character being depicted but you are left wishing that Bruno could make you split your sides and also give you something to think about. The humor swings from moderately funny to frustratingly weak and many situations appearBy bloating itself with outrageous and inappropriate shenanigans, Bruno misses out on the heart and critical social observation of Borat. Much of this is down to the character being depicted but you are left wishing that Bruno could make you split your sides and also give you something to think about. The humor swings from moderately funny to frustratingly weak and many situations appear fabricated for comedy purposes, which badly damages the film. If these scenes are staged then who knows what else is? Though not an awful movie, Bruno is inferior to Borat in just about every way. Expand
  14. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    My favorite comedy and satire ever. One of the best characters ever made. This movie shows how smart people think they are, but how gullible and full of themselves they really are. Great social commentary.
  15. May 20, 2012
    6
    Bruno is crude, disgusting, and just plain disappointing. I loved Borat but Bruno just didin't have the same feel that Borat did. It wasn't as funny and just crossed the line various times. Yes, I laughed a couple times throughout the film because it really is funny at some points. Most of the time though, I feel like they're trying to make a more controversial film than a great one. IfBruno is crude, disgusting, and just plain disappointing. I loved Borat but Bruno just didin't have the same feel that Borat did. It wasn't as funny and just crossed the line various times. Yes, I laughed a couple times throughout the film because it really is funny at some points. Most of the time though, I feel like they're trying to make a more controversial film than a great one. If you enjoyed Borat, give this a try but satisfaction is not guaranteed. Expand
  16. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    Nein! Sacha Baron Cohen goes for funny but instead heâ
  17. Apr 13, 2012
    0
    im sorry but the only way you should see this is if you are homosexual and i dont even think they would like it because its that digusting penises sex toys and jokes glore its basically a gay porn gone bad
  18. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    The movie is super funny. I only had a problem with the gay sex scene with the short guy. Otherwise this is some of Cohen's best work. Borat needed a bigger push. But that is okay because it was his first time doing something like that. Bruno did go overboard sometimes, but when life gives you lemons you have to make a lemon party. For those who don't know what a lemon party is, you shouldThe movie is super funny. I only had a problem with the gay sex scene with the short guy. Otherwise this is some of Cohen's best work. Borat needed a bigger push. But that is okay because it was his first time doing something like that. Bruno did go overboard sometimes, but when life gives you lemons you have to make a lemon party. For those who don't know what a lemon party is, you should google it. Expand
  19. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    Cohen is brilliant---a latter day Peter Sellers. The film was hilarious, but most definitely NOT for the easily offended. Mr. Cohen has a genius for letting hypocrites and poseurs hang themselves with their own rope.
  20. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    Bruno, a gay wannabee pop star goes to America to find fame with his assistant. He unfortunately falls into a series of mishaps and ends up falling to become straight. Yes, this movie is filled with graphic, explicit, and offensive language and sexual content but if you try to look beyond all the racist and homophobic comments, you may find this movie very amusing and hilarious. If thisBruno, a gay wannabee pop star goes to America to find fame with his assistant. He unfortunately falls into a series of mishaps and ends up falling to become straight. Yes, this movie is filled with graphic, explicit, and offensive language and sexual content but if you try to look beyond all the racist and homophobic comments, you may find this movie very amusing and hilarious. If this movie offends you, then Borat is a much more calm prequel to Bruno that is just as hilarious. Expand
  21. AH
    Jul 10, 2009
    1
    Old, tired, boring. How many penises, dildos, sex toys until its tiring. I GIVE THIS AWFUL MOVIE A 1 OUT OF 10. Don't bother!
  22. "JeffreyW.
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    Comic genius. Not a movie to see with your parents. "We've decided to cast your baby as a nazi officer pushing a baby dressed as a jew in a wheelbarrow into an oven!"
  23. susiew
    Jul 12, 2009
    0
    From seeing the reviews, I thought this would be a really funny movie, much as Borat was funny. I was VERY disappointed. Bruno was nothing but a glorified porn movie. TOTAL waste of money.
  24. AlbertP.
    Jul 13, 2009
    8
    Until last night, until Bruno, The Hangover was the funniest movie I
  25. StewartP
    Jul 13, 2009
    9
    A very good satire that hits all the points
  26. KenG
    Jul 14, 2009
    10
    Brilliant, hilarious, fearless, and insightful. A very worthy follow-up to "Borat". If you (like some of the posters here) were bothered by the penis shots, and the gay sex scenes (although, the sex scenes are all staged), of course you didn't like this movie. You are one of the people the movie is making fun of.
  27. DaneilA
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    The funniest movie I have seen in a LONG time, including of course, Borat. That movie will get the praise, but the true cult movie classic is here.
  28. JohnK
    Jul 20, 2009
    0
    Being a construction worker all my life, I think this is the sickest movie I have ever attended. I had company walking out during the movie, if that is what you call that filth? Disgusting is the best word. Its a good thing we have alot of good and great movies.
  29. PhilA
    Jul 23, 2009
    3
    The movie has it's funny parts, but frankly, it's just too vulgar. Homosexuality is one thing, but there's just too much penis in that movie to be enjoyable. Frankly, I don't know it received an R rating. I laughed, but left disturbed.
  30. JuraM
    Jul 28, 2009
    5
    A horribly disappointing return to the big screen for Baron Cohen after a fantastic gem named "Borat". Bruno lives up to nor the fun or humour of it's predecessor. In all truth the character of Bruno just isn't as good as Borat's, at all. As another reviewer points out Borat works because it's believable and Borat is likable. Bruno is neither. Often taking it slightly A horribly disappointing return to the big screen for Baron Cohen after a fantastic gem named "Borat". Bruno lives up to nor the fun or humour of it's predecessor. In all truth the character of Bruno just isn't as good as Borat's, at all. As another reviewer points out Borat works because it's believable and Borat is likable. Bruno is neither. Often taking it slightly to far, relying on sheer shock value that has not as much effect as the long-lasting antics of Borat. And dare I say it, Borat actually had a good story, Bruno has none. It may be slightly unfair to judge a movie by anothers standards but Borat raised the bar too high for this genre to live up to! Expand
  31. EvinC
    Aug 12, 2009
    8
    Funny and shocking. People have to realize it's just a Sacha Cohen comedy. Watch it if your comfortable with his kind of comedy. Made me laugh out loud. Maybe it might make you.
  32. Dave
    Aug 2, 2009
    8
    Jesus, people thought Borat was believable? It is a parody of our perception of Middle Easterners. This movie is a parody of our perception of gay men. I'll tell you what: I'm a straight male. But I kinda hope that every movie for the foreseeable future throws a few naked penises on screen until homophobic guys get over themselves.
  33. LaxM
    Jul 11, 2009
    2
    There is no point in watching this movie unless you want to see Sasha Baren Cohen wave his instrument in the air and have sex with other guys. There are some funny moments, yes, but they do not make up for the majority of the movie... which is very bad.
  34. Range41
    Jul 11, 2009
    9
    Really outrageous! I agree this wasn't as good as Borat in terms of the targets of ridicule being more obvious, and having more parts that felt really staged. However, the movie had me and the whole theater in stitches.... and the last big scene (the wrestling scene) was both funny and extremely disturbing/poignant all at the same time. Only Cohen can have you in tears both from Really outrageous! I agree this wasn't as good as Borat in terms of the targets of ridicule being more obvious, and having more parts that felt really staged. However, the movie had me and the whole theater in stitches.... and the last big scene (the wrestling scene) was both funny and extremely disturbing/poignant all at the same time. Only Cohen can have you in tears both from laughing and sadness for our culture at the same time. Expand
  35. MrSensible
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    Crude - yes. Random - yes. But it is pure comedy genius. I have not laughed like that since. well, Borat.
  36. AaronD.
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    If you go to see this movie without realizing it's about a gay man or without realizing it's made by SBC, you don't deserve to give it a rating. Of course there is talk of anal sex, oral sex, and dildos. If you didn't know that, you should have left less than 15 minutes after the movie started... Those who stay after that will give it a 10!
  37. SamanthaS
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    I just saw the movie and it was very inappropriate.It had humor that was stupid yet Sacha Baron Cohen is a man who is funny. I just really enjoyed it. Stupid yet very smart.
  38. JohnF.
    Jul 11, 2009
    1
    Dreary bad taste. A scant 82 minutes of skits with a central theme of anal sex and very dated stereotypical, effeminate, homosexual mannerisms.
  39. StevenA.
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Are you kidding me?! This was absolutely hilarious! Never before has something so tasteless been so witty, intelligent, and downright hysterical all at once! While metascores indicate otherwise, this film was SO much more daring and laugh-out-loud worthy than Borat, which I love! Needless to say, ignore the overall mediocre score, go see it, and laugh until it hurts!
  40. ShaunM.
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Incredibly intelligent and extremely offensive and disturbing. Those who hate it don't get it.
  41. moonwaffle6
    Jul 10, 2009
    7
    This movie is exhausting in its inconsistency and cruelty. the character bruno is more obnoxious, lewder, and his racial satire is more cringe-inducing than borat. as for the movie itself, it bounces from brilliance to hilarious awkwardness, to just plain awful scenes that fail on all accounts. All that being said, i still loved it. Just be prepared for less cleverness and more shock valueThis movie is exhausting in its inconsistency and cruelty. the character bruno is more obnoxious, lewder, and his racial satire is more cringe-inducing than borat. as for the movie itself, it bounces from brilliance to hilarious awkwardness, to just plain awful scenes that fail on all accounts. All that being said, i still loved it. Just be prepared for less cleverness and more shock value this time around. Expand
  42. RyanO
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Like a bull ride from hell; people could not handle it because it was too wild. This movie pushed the limits of mental prejudice well beyond anything ever before tried. Bruno reveals prejudice in viewers by attempting to offend you as much as possible. If you were offended than the movies purpose was successful. If you were not you were able to see the hilarity that ensued on screen.
  43. AndrewR
    Jul 12, 2009
    0
    To me, Borat was a huge laughfest, so I gave Bruno a try although the trailer looked pretty poor. The movie was a complete flop, hardly anyone in the theater was laughing at anything. Granted one or two moments got a laugh out of me, but trust me, I loved Borat, but Bruno should definitely be avoided at all costs.
  44. konnorM
    Jul 13, 2009
    1
    This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. It is boring and pathetic...the only part at I laughed at was when the hole of his cock barked "Bruno". The rest was downhill.
  45. eg
    Jul 13, 2009
    7
    It had its funny parts, I give it that. In my opinion it was too short, and some of the stuff was just dumb. I did laugh alot, and enjoyed seeing it, so i give it a 7.
  46. MikeD
    Jul 13, 2009
    10
    This movie is definitely the funniest movie so far this year. Gut busting, laugh out loud hilarity! Certain segments of the population won't get it (midwest conservatives, I'm talking to you) but the rest will laugh their heads off. Basically, you will either love this movie or leave 20 minutes into it.
  47. AV
    Jul 13, 2009
    2
    Only reason i rated this a 2 is because that is how many times i laughed. this was definitely no borat (at least Borat had a balance of funny and vulgar comedy).
  48. LeviH
    Jul 15, 2009
    9
    Like Borat before it, this movie was designed with the complete discomfort of the audience in mind. Also like Borat, you aren't going to believe some of the things you hear human beings saying or see them doing, not least of all the title character. There were, in fact, quite a few moments in this movie where I feared for Sacha Baron Cohen's safety. He is a man with serious Like Borat before it, this movie was designed with the complete discomfort of the audience in mind. Also like Borat, you aren't going to believe some of the things you hear human beings saying or see them doing, not least of all the title character. There were, in fact, quite a few moments in this movie where I feared for Sacha Baron Cohen's safety. He is a man with serious balls, and this film is a must see so long as you don't mind actually viewing those balls. Expand
  49. DavidH.
    Jul 10, 2009
    9
    The less said the better, absolutely hilarious.
  50. SpungoM
    Jul 16, 2009
    1
    Felt like a really bad 1990's Lorn Michaels film. In other words, a 5 minute SNL skit stretched into an 83 minute movie. The Bruno character was by far the weakest on Da Ali G Show, so no surprises that a Bruno movie would be so horrible.
  51. AndrewG
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    Despite the 10 rating, this is not a perfect film -- parts of it drag and some of it falls flat -- nonetheless, the parts that work are so outrageously funny and dead on in their lampooning of celebrity culture, homophobia, and sheer human stupidity that it deserves top rating -- if only for the Man Slammin finale.
  52. MattK.
    Jul 16, 2009
    7
    A really funny movie with great shticks and one-liners, unfortunately the gay fanfare was just over the top and nearly had me questioning my own sexuality.
  53. LuisG
    Jul 16, 2009
    6
    The shock is there yet with less merit than BORAT most scenes feel clustered together and leave you with no real value except shock. Yes America is still intolerant but it really gives no help to the cause pure capitalism on Americas lack of coherence to how narcissistic and desperate to be in control.
  54. ManuelQ.
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    Simply: is the best comedian film I've seen in my life.
  55. KubaS
    Jul 17, 2009
    9
    Not as good as Borat, it's still top act from Cohen. Yes, it's stupid. No, it doesn't make you think. It makes you laugh though.
  56. AlexB
    Jul 10, 2009
    8
    Although it lacks a real storyline the film had the entire theatre in stitches from start to finish. At times crude, rude and outlandish, this is a proud 'sequel' to Borat which set the bar incredibly high. Obviously as a result of this, the film does cross far more boundaries then Borat, but in doing so strikes up some comedy brass, not quite gold, but it looks the same and has Although it lacks a real storyline the film had the entire theatre in stitches from start to finish. At times crude, rude and outlandish, this is a proud 'sequel' to Borat which set the bar incredibly high. Obviously as a result of this, the film does cross far more boundaries then Borat, but in doing so strikes up some comedy brass, not quite gold, but it looks the same and has the same effect. Expand
  57. LarsK.
    Jul 19, 2009
    8
    Not equal to "Borat" in terms of quality but still far better than any Hollywood-Comedy-Movie in recent years. Brüno infiltrates the american (sub)culture to stimulate your laugh muscles with unforgettable scenes and I bet even homosexuals will giggle one or two times. Brünos appearance is totaly cute and loveable you cant be mad at this guy. So all of you puffy patriots raise Not equal to "Borat" in terms of quality but still far better than any Hollywood-Comedy-Movie in recent years. Brüno infiltrates the american (sub)culture to stimulate your laugh muscles with unforgettable scenes and I bet even homosexuals will giggle one or two times. Brünos appearance is totaly cute and loveable you cant be mad at this guy. So all of you puffy patriots raise your hands to the brave new Fuhrer, ja!?! Hail Bruno. Expand
  58. majoy.
    Jul 20, 2009
    9
    I can't believe the negative reviews. I saw this and Borat within the first 10 days they came out and had little interest really in both. Borat was good, funny, some gross, but a bit long for me....didn't inspire me to want to see Bruno.... But as things go, friends were going, and so I went along, with little excitement because I saw some of the negative reviews. But Bruno was I can't believe the negative reviews. I saw this and Borat within the first 10 days they came out and had little interest really in both. Borat was good, funny, some gross, but a bit long for me....didn't inspire me to want to see Bruno.... But as things go, friends were going, and so I went along, with little excitement because I saw some of the negative reviews. But Bruno was sensationally funny, way over the top, had several moments where you couldn't watch, but were laughing ridiculously hard as yuo closed your eyes. Bruno totally plays on the whole accept everyone mentality of the USA and yet really can't except the gays....I mean Sacha Baren Cohen is a comedic genius. I am not going to give anything away, and advise folks not to read too much before seeing it. But there wasn't really a bad moment at all in this entire movie. From start to finish it was a total laugh riot. The Pros: get ready to laugh really hard at this surprisingly intellectual gross out movie....the jokes are a mile a minute and told mostly all straight, but the grand joke of prejudice is felt at the end. Cohen does a remarkable job in both characters (Bruno and his alt ego at the end of the movie). There's not a movie like this that really has ever been made (this made Borat seem very very tame). Cons: Well I don't know if I could watch this again....there were some really cringe moments. But this was an absolutely great movie nonetheless. I'm surprised it got only an R rating though, definitely not for kids really under 17.... I am excited to see what else Mr. Cohen has up his sleeves in future years. Expand
  59. HyperS
    Jul 21, 2009
    7
    Its crude. Extremely sexual in nature. And I would imagine quite offensive to the homosexual community.. But, it was funny... and time seemed to fly by. Jackass & Bruno... same level of humor... like one you'd probably like the other. Just remember. Kids don't go with your parents. Parents don't go with your kids. Would make for an extremely embarrassing and life scaring Its crude. Extremely sexual in nature. And I would imagine quite offensive to the homosexual community.. But, it was funny... and time seemed to fly by. Jackass & Bruno... same level of humor... like one you'd probably like the other. Just remember. Kids don't go with your parents. Parents don't go with your kids. Would make for an extremely embarrassing and life scaring event (poor 14 year old going with grandma/grandpa. Poor 14 year old going period. ITS FOR ADULTS!). Expand
  60. MichaelB.
    Jul 21, 2009
    6
    It wasn't horrible, but after a while, I felt like watching Borat again. Plus, it seemed that many scenes were staged unlike Borat, where it all looked unscripted. Not that bad overall though.
  61. JillianT.
    Jul 23, 2009
    0
    I liked da ali g show and borat but this was awful... dumb humor, vile antics, stupid storyline (why is there even a storyline? it would have been better without one).
  62. Magik300
    Aug 13, 2009
    10
    I've just seen trailer, but I have so much fun over two minutes that I didn't have in years.
  63. ZacH
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    I thought Bruno was fantastic i would give it a ten but i thought it was too short and i am a perfectly straight man but i must say the beginning is very graphic.
  64. BrettW
    Aug 3, 2009
    4
    Not a very good movie. There are one or two outrageously funny moments but other than that there isn't much to make you belly-laugh. I enjoy awkward shock humor when it works but a lot of it in this movie doesn't work. It may be worth renting this movie to watch with your friends, but save your money and don't see it in theaters. Oh and the people who are giving the film a Not a very good movie. There are one or two outrageously funny moments but other than that there isn't much to make you belly-laugh. I enjoy awkward shock humor when it works but a lot of it in this movie doesn't work. It may be worth renting this movie to watch with your friends, but save your money and don't see it in theaters. Oh and the people who are giving the film a 0 and saying you have to be gay to enjoy the movie, are exactly the type of people this movie was trying to make fun of. I haven't seen anything in my entire life that has offended me enough to say the things that angie a and alisha k are saying. Grow up and get used to seeing things that offend you. And stop bit**ing about it. Expand
  65. JamesV
    Aug 7, 2009
    9
    Anything that pokes fun at the large percentage of ignorant yanks is fine by me. Reading some of the other comments on here makes me think that they saw a little to much of themselves in some of the interviewees/UFC crowds to find it funny. A vicious assault on middle America, a fine place to commence the attack.
  66. MattF
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    WOW, it's crude, its racist, it extreme, its Bruno. I loved it, though its hit or miss if you like crude and racist or gay jokes for shock value you'll love it, but don't give it a bad rating if it's not your thing or if you find it over the top its an all around good plot amazing improv and it makes fun of almost everyone from me 2 thumbs up 4.5 of 5 stars.
  67. CalebG
    Jan 18, 2010
    0
    I usually force myself to finish all movies and books, no matter how bad, but I walked out of this movie. Such a disappointment compared to Borat. I give it a 0/10 because I actually asked for my money back.
  68. GavinP.
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Cohen shows us just how stupid modern Western culture really is.
  69. roland
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    This is visceral satire at its very best. Jonathon Swift on benzedrine. My lungs ached as Bruno lurched from one target to the next. Wise, hilarious and with a moral highway wide enough for a supersize rampant rabbit and a bit more. Not very straight and not very narrow but a work of comic genius and thrusting, ball-busting integrity.
  70. Darren
    Dec 7, 2009
    0
    Complete waste of money. I turned it off part way through since it was such a waste of time.
  71. TannerP.
    Jul 11, 2009
    1
    If you like watching homosexual porno, then this movie is for you. Most of the laughter that ensued during the movie was out of pure disgust and "WTF!? I can't believe they put this in a movie" moments. The few genuinely funny moments are outweighed heavily by the cringe worthy moments. The worst movie I have laid my eyes on.
  72. JohnS.
    Jul 11, 2009
    9
    Don't go see this movie if you're easily offended or insecure about your sexuality. If you like Sacha Baron Cohen and can see the bottom line of this films goals, you will enjoy it. Also be prepared to see some male genitalia, it will probably catch you off guard.
  73. PeterO.
    Jul 11, 2009
    5
    Bruno is a poor follow-up to Borat. It does contain some funny clips and moments, but they are heavily overshadowed by shocking and disgusting sex scenes, some including anal sex and other gay endeavours. This seems to be a movie that you either love or hate so I recommend that you see it for yourself and make your own final decision. 5/10.
  74. AlyE.
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    This is a mockumentary people! It's not supposed to make sense or tell a story, rather its purpose is to use satire to highlight other people's stupidity, desperation, racism, and homophobia. The beauty is that SBC exposes ignorance by pushing the envelope to threaten people's composure and hit nerves. That the people are clueless that he's not a real person, is what This is a mockumentary people! It's not supposed to make sense or tell a story, rather its purpose is to use satire to highlight other people's stupidity, desperation, racism, and homophobia. The beauty is that SBC exposes ignorance by pushing the envelope to threaten people's composure and hit nerves. That the people are clueless that he's not a real person, is what makes his antics that much more effective and hilarious. Yes, the movie is highly offensive, vulgar, crude, and shocking, but I loved it for those very reasons, and above all, because it was unpredictable-- I had no idea what would happen next. If you'd rather watch a lame, boring, safe, cliche, politically correct movie that you can figure out after the first half hour, then of course you'd absolutely hate Bruno. For the rest of us who want to see something different on the silver screen, Bruno is a refreshing and memorable deviation from the norm. Expand
  75. SteveG.
    Jul 11, 2009
    8
    It is not nearly as good or consistently funny as Borat. But Bruno has its share of amazing moments. From attempting to seduce both a former presidential candidate and a cast member from Deliverance to the adoption running gag -- Bruno is over the top and visceral. It is not for everybody though.
  76. PF
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    The TN crowd I saw it with screamed in horror and then laughed until their sides hurt from beginning to end. I feel like my head was used in a volleyball game. Much funnier than Borat, a masterpiece. Rating should be NC-17, not appropriate for anyone under 17 due to severe content.
  77. Philip
    Jul 11, 2009
    0
    Avoid this movie! It's nothing like Borat, it's more like a gay porno... In fact, it could put most of those to shame. Saying this movie is 99% debauchery isn't an opinion, it's a fact. The very few laughs won't stop you from feeling violated after cringing through this filth.
  78. JerryB
    Jul 10, 2009
    0
    This was possibly the worst movie I have ever seen - there may have been one funny moment, but I don't recall it.
  79. ChadS.
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    At any given moment, unflappable you, cerebral you, the you who laughed without apology throughout "Borat", is bound to be disconcerted by the lengths that the comedian/performance artist will go for a laugh. Always an equal opportunity offender, Sacha Baron Cohen, trying on his latest outsider naif persona, an Austrian male model named Bruno, arrives stateside(like his Kazakhstanian At any given moment, unflappable you, cerebral you, the you who laughed without apology throughout "Borat", is bound to be disconcerted by the lengths that the comedian/performance artist will go for a laugh. Always an equal opportunity offender, Sacha Baron Cohen, trying on his latest outsider naif persona, an Austrian male model named Bruno, arrives stateside(like his Kazakhstanian predecessor with the gray suit) to disclose the ugly truth about American people. With some heavy-duty instigating, however unfair, Cohen gets to the core of plain old folks' sensibilities towards race and sexual orientation, quite brilliantly, in typical gonzo style, at the taping of a daytime talk-show where a pre-dominantly African-American audience expresses their disapproval towards Bruno for adopting one of their own. Oblivious to the minefield that lays ahead of him, in this scene, Cohen actually has the balls to set the gay agenda back, since Bruno shouldn't be anywhere near a child, while simultaneously presenting black people as hypocrites for denying homosexuals their civil rights. Sure, the "Eurotrash" fashionista provokes the studio crowd with some outlandish race-baiting, but they boo him before his racist provocations. The breadth of Cohen's madcap chutzpah will set off explosions in your summer blockbuster-addled head. Supporting gay rights with Bruno as its criterion is like being a Two Live Crew advocate during the eighties when Tipper Gore and the PMRC went after the misogynistic rappers. Cohen, who is Jewish, with his talent for getting unaware subjects to say the darnedest things, ironically(because of the anti-Semitic streak in "Borat"), evokes documentarian Claude Lanzman, whose dishonest interviewing techniques in "Shoah", got SS officers to talk openly about the Holocaust. On a different scale from processing Jews for liquidation, but shocking in its own right, Cohen captures on film, a showbiz mother willing to cast her baby as a Nazi officer who pushes another infant, a representational concentration camper, into an oven. Political correctness(supporting gay rights) collides with common sense(but not Bruno's rights) in this incendiary, but brilliant satire about the f****d up world we live in. Expand
  80. JB.
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    I can understand how some people didn't like Bruno but if your excuse is it was to gay get over yourself. And if this movie was disgusting or offensive to you should have been able to tell by the previews. If your not a homophobe and are secure with your sexuality go see BRUNO!
  81. BrandonC.
    Jul 11, 2009
    10
    This was the funniest movie I've ever seen. I'm going back to the theatre tomorrow to watch it. Most people don't understand the genius behind Bruno. Sacha is a mastermind. I was crying the whole movie laughing so hard.
  82. BrockJ.
    Jul 11, 2009
    7
    A much smarter movie than Borat as odd as it is to say of a movie that could have easily received an NC-17 rating. More satirical moments and a much better flow than Borat's first half hour of funny followed by another hour or so of sheer boredom.
  83. ShaneD.
    Jul 10, 2009
    3
    Came close to crossing the line on many occasions and crossed it at least twice. Overall it was sporadically funny, but also very raunchy and not worth the money to see.
  84. MarkB.
    Jul 10, 2009
    3
    Just felt too set up and not as natural and free flowing as Borat. A couple of funny moments but overshadowed by the cheap laughs. Expected better of SBC, unimaginative and no different from any other cheap laugh film. Cop-out
  85. [Anonymous]
    Jul 10, 2009
    1
    The absolute worst movie (if you want to call it that)i've ever tried to watch
  86. WillM.
    Jul 10, 2009
    0
    This was a horrible excuse for a Borat follow up. It crossed the line with nudity. No one needs to see that much dick. not worth my $9.50
  87. Brandonv
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Funniest movie since Borat.
  88. Eric
    Jul 10, 2009
    9
    Shockingly funny.
  89. KarlS
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    The movie was hilarious. it's unsettling, un-PC, ridiculous, disturbing, wrong and very funny. the theater was screaming, pretty much from beginning to end. if it bothers someone: there's something stuck somewhere and you're encouraged to let loose.
  90. joeym.
    Jul 12, 2009
    0
    It sucked.....IT WAS THE WEIRDEST THING I have ever seen!
  91. Mark
    Jul 12, 2009
    0
    One of the worse movies I have ever seen. Disturbing to the eyes and ears.
  92. funny123eer
    Jul 12, 2009
    7
    No Borat ..but still keeps you laughing.
  93. AmandaF.
    Jul 12, 2009
    0
    Tasteless, offensive, waste of time and money. The previews shown on TV were the only funny moments in the whole movie. Do not see this movie.
  94. Michellet
    Jul 12, 2009
    9
    If you loved Borat, you will like Bruno.
  95. MatthewM.
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    Never before have I seen a movie that was so crude, tasteless, appalling, offensive, shocking, and yet socially relevant, and hysterical. Pure, unadulterated Genius. Thank you Sacha Baron Cohen.
  96. BobR
    Jul 12, 2009
    2
    This movie was pathetic... Don't waste your money.
  97. AMovieCritic
    Jul 10, 2009
    4
    I thought it couldn't get more disappointing this summer than Transformers 2, but here's another sequel, of sorts, that totally fails to live up to the original. Bruno, the 2nd cinematic film starring a Sacha Baron Cohen character, falls flat, flat, flat. It's got a couple pretty funny moments, but overall it lacks almost everything that made Borat a classic. Borat, for I thought it couldn't get more disappointing this summer than Transformers 2, but here's another sequel, of sorts, that totally fails to live up to the original. Bruno, the 2nd cinematic film starring a Sacha Baron Cohen character, falls flat, flat, flat. It's got a couple pretty funny moments, but overall it lacks almost everything that made Borat a classic. Borat, for what it was, had a story, it had 2 likable characters driving the thing, it had a great premise and it got many laughs from just showing your average person's reactions to the zany antics of Borat and his camera man as they journeyed across the country. Bruno, unfortunately, only has a little of this; most of its jokes are instead based on a series of bits and interviews, few of which feel real, and almost none of which have any sort of payoff, a lot of them seeming like they should have been on the "deleted scenes" section of the DVD. I kept waiting for a laugh as funny as the hotel room scene and the following chase from Borat and it just never happens. The movie ends with almost no payoff (or explanation of how Bruno managed to afford his own wrestling show,) and I think everyone left a bit disappointed. I was surprised to learn that Bruno's actually a good 5 minutes longer than Borat; it felt so much shorter, somehow, seeming like a much emptier film. This isn't a very funny character, these situations aren't very funny, and it's very hard to tell what was staged and what isn't, which is never a very good thing in a movie like this. I'm not a cynical viewer at all, and I was willing to believe that ALMOST all of Borat was not staged, but Bruno had even me scratching my head and wondering, if this event wasn't staged in advance, how things happened the way they did. A disappointment. Transformers 2 had more laughs, and even that was a movie that disappointed me. Expand
  98. IanM
    Jul 13, 2009
    3
    Bruno doesn't have what it takes. I like Baron Cohen... I loved Borat... Bruno left me feeling, flat, disinterested, unhappy. This time around, the whole thing seems basically unoriginal and 'setup'. I was expecting a kick in the balls, all I got was pretend fellatio - and just as unsatisfying.
  99. DanielP.
    Jul 13, 2009
    5
    This was kind of a big let down. There were some funny moments, but there were a lot of uncomfortable parts and the movie felt like a drag. It seems like this time, the cons outweighed the pros.
  100. tashaw
    Jul 13, 2009
    0
    This was the worst movie i have ever seen in my life. they should take this out of the movies. There is pornography in it. ( i didn't know that the movie theaters promotes pornography.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Bruno is only intermittently funny and all too often the "ambushes" of celebrities and civilians look staged. The movie is even a tad -- dare we say it? -- tedious.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Undeniably funny, outrageous and boundary-pushing, this further documentation of Sacha Baron Cohen's sheer nerve will draw an abundant share of "Borat" fans.
  3. Is Brüno riotous? Yes, more so than "Borat," in which Baron Cohen's targets were ducks in a barrel and largely undeserving of ridicule. He doesn't aim much higher here, but his tricks are more inventive.