Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 10, 2009
5.8
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 344 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
181
Mixed:
61
Negative:
102
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
"JeffreyW.Jul 19, 2009
Comic genius. Not a movie to see with your parents. "We've decided to cast your baby as a nazi officer pushing a baby dressed as a jew in a wheelbarrow into an oven!"
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AlbertP.Jul 13, 2009
Until last night, until Bruno, The Hangover was the funniest movie I
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StewartPJul 13, 2009
A very good satire that hits all the points
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KenGJul 14, 2009
Brilliant, hilarious, fearless, and insightful. A very worthy follow-up to "Borat". If you (like some of the posters here) were bothered by the penis shots, and the gay sex scenes (although, the sex scenes are all staged), of course you Brilliant, hilarious, fearless, and insightful. A very worthy follow-up to "Borat". If you (like some of the posters here) were bothered by the penis shots, and the gay sex scenes (although, the sex scenes are all staged), of course you didn't like this movie. You are one of the people the movie is making fun of. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaneilAJul 20, 2009
The funniest movie I have seen in a LONG time, including of course, Borat. That movie will get the praise, but the true cult movie classic is here.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
EvinCAug 12, 2009
Funny and shocking. People have to realize it's just a Sacha Cohen comedy. Watch it if your comfortable with his kind of comedy. Made me laugh out loud. Maybe it might make you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveAug 2, 2009
Jesus, people thought Borat was believable? It is a parody of our perception of Middle Easterners. This movie is a parody of our perception of gay men. I'll tell you what: I'm a straight male. But I kinda hope that every movie for Jesus, people thought Borat was believable? It is a parody of our perception of Middle Easterners. This movie is a parody of our perception of gay men. I'll tell you what: I'm a straight male. But I kinda hope that every movie for the foreseeable future throws a few naked penises on screen until homophobic guys get over themselves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Range41Jul 11, 2009
Really outrageous! I agree this wasn't as good as Borat in terms of the targets of ridicule being more obvious, and having more parts that felt really staged. However, the movie had me and the whole theater in stitches.... and the last Really outrageous! I agree this wasn't as good as Borat in terms of the targets of ridicule being more obvious, and having more parts that felt really staged. However, the movie had me and the whole theater in stitches.... and the last big scene (the wrestling scene) was both funny and extremely disturbing/poignant all at the same time. Only Cohen can have you in tears both from laughing and sadness for our culture at the same time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MrSensibleJul 11, 2009
Crude - yes. Random - yes. But it is pure comedy genius. I have not laughed like that since. well, Borat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronD.Jul 11, 2009
If you go to see this movie without realizing it's about a gay man or without realizing it's made by SBC, you don't deserve to give it a rating. Of course there is talk of anal sex, oral sex, and dildos. If you didn't If you go to see this movie without realizing it's about a gay man or without realizing it's made by SBC, you don't deserve to give it a rating. Of course there is talk of anal sex, oral sex, and dildos. If you didn't know that, you should have left less than 15 minutes after the movie started... Those who stay after that will give it a 10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamanthaSJul 10, 2009
I just saw the movie and it was very inappropriate.It had humor that was stupid yet Sacha Baron Cohen is a man who is funny. I just really enjoyed it. Stupid yet very smart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenA.Jul 10, 2009
Are you kidding me?! This was absolutely hilarious! Never before has something so tasteless been so witty, intelligent, and downright hysterical all at once! While metascores indicate otherwise, this film was SO much more daring and Are you kidding me?! This was absolutely hilarious! Never before has something so tasteless been so witty, intelligent, and downright hysterical all at once! While metascores indicate otherwise, this film was SO much more daring and laugh-out-loud worthy than Borat, which I love! Needless to say, ignore the overall mediocre score, go see it, and laugh until it hurts! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunM.Jul 10, 2009
Incredibly intelligent and extremely offensive and disturbing. Those who hate it don't get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
moonwaffle6Jul 10, 2009
This movie is exhausting in its inconsistency and cruelty. the character bruno is more obnoxious, lewder, and his racial satire is more cringe-inducing than borat. as for the movie itself, it bounces from brilliance to hilarious awkwardness,This movie is exhausting in its inconsistency and cruelty. the character bruno is more obnoxious, lewder, and his racial satire is more cringe-inducing than borat. as for the movie itself, it bounces from brilliance to hilarious awkwardness, to just plain awful scenes that fail on all accounts. All that being said, i still loved it. Just be prepared for less cleverness and more shock value this time around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanOJul 10, 2009
Like a bull ride from hell; people could not handle it because it was too wild. This movie pushed the limits of mental prejudice well beyond anything ever before tried. Bruno reveals prejudice in viewers by attempting to offend you as much Like a bull ride from hell; people could not handle it because it was too wild. This movie pushed the limits of mental prejudice well beyond anything ever before tried. Bruno reveals prejudice in viewers by attempting to offend you as much as possible. If you were offended than the movies purpose was successful. If you were not you were able to see the hilarity that ensued on screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
egJul 13, 2009
It had its funny parts, I give it that. In my opinion it was too short, and some of the stuff was just dumb. I did laugh alot, and enjoyed seeing it, so i give it a 7.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeDJul 13, 2009
This movie is definitely the funniest movie so far this year. Gut busting, laugh out loud hilarity! Certain segments of the population won't get it (midwest conservatives, I'm talking to you) but the rest will laugh their heads This movie is definitely the funniest movie so far this year. Gut busting, laugh out loud hilarity! Certain segments of the population won't get it (midwest conservatives, I'm talking to you) but the rest will laugh their heads off. Basically, you will either love this movie or leave 20 minutes into it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeviHJul 15, 2009
Like Borat before it, this movie was designed with the complete discomfort of the audience in mind. Also like Borat, you aren't going to believe some of the things you hear human beings saying or see them doing, not least of all the Like Borat before it, this movie was designed with the complete discomfort of the audience in mind. Also like Borat, you aren't going to believe some of the things you hear human beings saying or see them doing, not least of all the title character. There were, in fact, quite a few moments in this movie where I feared for Sacha Baron Cohen's safety. He is a man with serious balls, and this film is a must see so long as you don't mind actually viewing those balls. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidH.Jul 10, 2009
The less said the better, absolutely hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewGJul 16, 2009
Despite the 10 rating, this is not a perfect film -- parts of it drag and some of it falls flat -- nonetheless, the parts that work are so outrageously funny and dead on in their lampooning of celebrity culture, homophobia, and sheer human Despite the 10 rating, this is not a perfect film -- parts of it drag and some of it falls flat -- nonetheless, the parts that work are so outrageously funny and dead on in their lampooning of celebrity culture, homophobia, and sheer human stupidity that it deserves top rating -- if only for the Man Slammin finale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MattK.Jul 16, 2009
A really funny movie with great shticks and one-liners, unfortunately the gay fanfare was just over the top and nearly had me questioning my own sexuality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ManuelQ.Jul 16, 2009
Simply: is the best comedian film I've seen in my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KubaSJul 17, 2009
Not as good as Borat, it's still top act from Cohen. Yes, it's stupid. No, it doesn't make you think. It makes you laugh though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexBJul 10, 2009
Although it lacks a real storyline the film had the entire theatre in stitches from start to finish. At times crude, rude and outlandish, this is a proud 'sequel' to Borat which set the bar incredibly high. Obviously as a result of Although it lacks a real storyline the film had the entire theatre in stitches from start to finish. At times crude, rude and outlandish, this is a proud 'sequel' to Borat which set the bar incredibly high. Obviously as a result of this, the film does cross far more boundaries then Borat, but in doing so strikes up some comedy brass, not quite gold, but it looks the same and has the same effect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LarsK.Jul 19, 2009
Not equal to "Borat" in terms of quality but still far better than any Hollywood-Comedy-Movie in recent years. Brüno infiltrates the american (sub)culture to stimulate your laugh muscles with unforgettable scenes and I bet even Not equal to "Borat" in terms of quality but still far better than any Hollywood-Comedy-Movie in recent years. Brüno infiltrates the american (sub)culture to stimulate your laugh muscles with unforgettable scenes and I bet even homosexuals will giggle one or two times. Brünos appearance is totaly cute and loveable you cant be mad at this guy. So all of you puffy patriots raise your hands to the brave new Fuhrer, ja!?! Hail Bruno. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
majoy.Jul 20, 2009
I can't believe the negative reviews. I saw this and Borat within the first 10 days they came out and had little interest really in both. Borat was good, funny, some gross, but a bit long for me....didn't inspire me to want to see I can't believe the negative reviews. I saw this and Borat within the first 10 days they came out and had little interest really in both. Borat was good, funny, some gross, but a bit long for me....didn't inspire me to want to see Bruno.... But as things go, friends were going, and so I went along, with little excitement because I saw some of the negative reviews. But Bruno was sensationally funny, way over the top, had several moments where you couldn't watch, but were laughing ridiculously hard as yuo closed your eyes. Bruno totally plays on the whole accept everyone mentality of the USA and yet really can't except the gays....I mean Sacha Baren Cohen is a comedic genius. I am not going to give anything away, and advise folks not to read too much before seeing it. But there wasn't really a bad moment at all in this entire movie. From start to finish it was a total laugh riot. The Pros: get ready to laugh really hard at this surprisingly intellectual gross out movie....the jokes are a mile a minute and told mostly all straight, but the grand joke of prejudice is felt at the end. Cohen does a remarkable job in both characters (Bruno and his alt ego at the end of the movie). There's not a movie like this that really has ever been made (this made Borat seem very very tame). Cons: Well I don't know if I could watch this again....there were some really cringe moments. But this was an absolutely great movie nonetheless. I'm surprised it got only an R rating though, definitely not for kids really under 17.... I am excited to see what else Mr. Cohen has up his sleeves in future years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HyperSJul 21, 2009
Its crude. Extremely sexual in nature. And I would imagine quite offensive to the homosexual community.. But, it was funny... and time seemed to fly by. Jackass & Bruno... same level of humor... like one you'd probably like the other. Its crude. Extremely sexual in nature. And I would imagine quite offensive to the homosexual community.. But, it was funny... and time seemed to fly by. Jackass & Bruno... same level of humor... like one you'd probably like the other. Just remember. Kids don't go with your parents. Parents don't go with your kids. Would make for an extremely embarrassing and life scaring event (poor 14 year old going with grandma/grandpa. Poor 14 year old going period. ITS FOR ADULTS!). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Magik300Aug 13, 2009
I've just seen trailer, but I have so much fun over two minutes that I didn't have in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZacHAug 3, 2009
I thought Bruno was fantastic i would give it a ten but i thought it was too short and i am a perfectly straight man but i must say the beginning is very graphic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JamesVAug 7, 2009
Anything that pokes fun at the large percentage of ignorant yanks is fine by me. Reading some of the other comments on here makes me think that they saw a little to much of themselves in some of the interviewees/UFC crowds to find it funny. Anything that pokes fun at the large percentage of ignorant yanks is fine by me. Reading some of the other comments on here makes me think that they saw a little to much of themselves in some of the interviewees/UFC crowds to find it funny. A vicious assault on middle America, a fine place to commence the attack. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattFAug 9, 2009
WOW, it's crude, its racist, it extreme, its Bruno. I loved it, though its hit or miss if you like crude and racist or gay jokes for shock value you'll love it, but don't give it a bad rating if it's not your thing or if WOW, it's crude, its racist, it extreme, its Bruno. I loved it, though its hit or miss if you like crude and racist or gay jokes for shock value you'll love it, but don't give it a bad rating if it's not your thing or if you find it over the top its an all around good plot amazing improv and it makes fun of almost everyone from me 2 thumbs up 4.5 of 5 stars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GavinP.Dec 21, 2009
Cohen shows us just how stupid modern Western culture really is.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
rolandDec 4, 2009
This is visceral satire at its very best. Jonathon Swift on benzedrine. My lungs ached as Bruno lurched from one target to the next. Wise, hilarious and with a moral highway wide enough for a supersize rampant rabbit and a bit more. Not very This is visceral satire at its very best. Jonathon Swift on benzedrine. My lungs ached as Bruno lurched from one target to the next. Wise, hilarious and with a moral highway wide enough for a supersize rampant rabbit and a bit more. Not very straight and not very narrow but a work of comic genius and thrusting, ball-busting integrity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnS.Jul 11, 2009
Don't go see this movie if you're easily offended or insecure about your sexuality. If you like Sacha Baron Cohen and can see the bottom line of this films goals, you will enjoy it. Also be prepared to see some male genitalia, it Don't go see this movie if you're easily offended or insecure about your sexuality. If you like Sacha Baron Cohen and can see the bottom line of this films goals, you will enjoy it. Also be prepared to see some male genitalia, it will probably catch you off guard. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlyE.Jul 11, 2009
This is a mockumentary people! It's not supposed to make sense or tell a story, rather its purpose is to use satire to highlight other people's stupidity, desperation, racism, and homophobia. The beauty is that SBC exposes This is a mockumentary people! It's not supposed to make sense or tell a story, rather its purpose is to use satire to highlight other people's stupidity, desperation, racism, and homophobia. The beauty is that SBC exposes ignorance by pushing the envelope to threaten people's composure and hit nerves. That the people are clueless that he's not a real person, is what makes his antics that much more effective and hilarious. Yes, the movie is highly offensive, vulgar, crude, and shocking, but I loved it for those very reasons, and above all, because it was unpredictable-- I had no idea what would happen next. If you'd rather watch a lame, boring, safe, cliche, politically correct movie that you can figure out after the first half hour, then of course you'd absolutely hate Bruno. For the rest of us who want to see something different on the silver screen, Bruno is a refreshing and memorable deviation from the norm. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveG.Jul 11, 2009
It is not nearly as good or consistently funny as Borat. But Bruno has its share of amazing moments. From attempting to seduce both a former presidential candidate and a cast member from Deliverance to the adoption running gag -- Bruno is It is not nearly as good or consistently funny as Borat. But Bruno has its share of amazing moments. From attempting to seduce both a former presidential candidate and a cast member from Deliverance to the adoption running gag -- Bruno is over the top and visceral. It is not for everybody though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PFJul 11, 2009
The TN crowd I saw it with screamed in horror and then laughed until their sides hurt from beginning to end. I feel like my head was used in a volleyball game. Much funnier than Borat, a masterpiece. Rating should be NC-17, not appropriate The TN crowd I saw it with screamed in horror and then laughed until their sides hurt from beginning to end. I feel like my head was used in a volleyball game. Much funnier than Borat, a masterpiece. Rating should be NC-17, not appropriate for anyone under 17 due to severe content. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Jul 11, 2009
At any given moment, unflappable you, cerebral you, the you who laughed without apology throughout "Borat", is bound to be disconcerted by the lengths that the comedian/performance artist will go for a laugh. Always an equal opportunity At any given moment, unflappable you, cerebral you, the you who laughed without apology throughout "Borat", is bound to be disconcerted by the lengths that the comedian/performance artist will go for a laugh. Always an equal opportunity offender, Sacha Baron Cohen, trying on his latest outsider naif persona, an Austrian male model named Bruno, arrives stateside(like his Kazakhstanian predecessor with the gray suit) to disclose the ugly truth about American people. With some heavy-duty instigating, however unfair, Cohen gets to the core of plain old folks' sensibilities towards race and sexual orientation, quite brilliantly, in typical gonzo style, at the taping of a daytime talk-show where a pre-dominantly African-American audience expresses their disapproval towards Bruno for adopting one of their own. Oblivious to the minefield that lays ahead of him, in this scene, Cohen actually has the balls to set the gay agenda back, since Bruno shouldn't be anywhere near a child, while simultaneously presenting black people as hypocrites for denying homosexuals their civil rights. Sure, the "Eurotrash" fashionista provokes the studio crowd with some outlandish race-baiting, but they boo him before his racist provocations. The breadth of Cohen's madcap chutzpah will set off explosions in your summer blockbuster-addled head. Supporting gay rights with Bruno as its criterion is like being a Two Live Crew advocate during the eighties when Tipper Gore and the PMRC went after the misogynistic rappers. Cohen, who is Jewish, with his talent for getting unaware subjects to say the darnedest things, ironically(because of the anti-Semitic streak in "Borat"), evokes documentarian Claude Lanzman, whose dishonest interviewing techniques in "Shoah", got SS officers to talk openly about the Holocaust. On a different scale from processing Jews for liquidation, but shocking in its own right, Cohen captures on film, a showbiz mother willing to cast her baby as a Nazi officer who pushes another infant, a representational concentration camper, into an oven. Political correctness(supporting gay rights) collides with common sense(but not Bruno's rights) in this incendiary, but brilliant satire about the f****d up world we live in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JB.Jul 11, 2009
I can understand how some people didn't like Bruno but if your excuse is it was to gay get over yourself. And if this movie was disgusting or offensive to you should have been able to tell by the previews. If your not a homophobe and I can understand how some people didn't like Bruno but if your excuse is it was to gay get over yourself. And if this movie was disgusting or offensive to you should have been able to tell by the previews. If your not a homophobe and are secure with your sexuality go see BRUNO! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonC.Jul 11, 2009
This was the funniest movie I've ever seen. I'm going back to the theatre tomorrow to watch it. Most people don't understand the genius behind Bruno. Sacha is a mastermind. I was crying the whole movie laughing so hard.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrockJ.Jul 11, 2009
A much smarter movie than Borat as odd as it is to say of a movie that could have easily received an NC-17 rating. More satirical moments and a much better flow than Borat's first half hour of funny followed by another hour or so of A much smarter movie than Borat as odd as it is to say of a movie that could have easily received an NC-17 rating. More satirical moments and a much better flow than Borat's first half hour of funny followed by another hour or so of sheer boredom. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonvJul 10, 2009
Funniest movie since Borat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricJul 10, 2009
Shockingly funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KarlSJul 10, 2009
The movie was hilarious. it's unsettling, un-PC, ridiculous, disturbing, wrong and very funny. the theater was screaming, pretty much from beginning to end. if it bothers someone: there's something stuck somewhere and you'reThe movie was hilarious. it's unsettling, un-PC, ridiculous, disturbing, wrong and very funny. the theater was screaming, pretty much from beginning to end. if it bothers someone: there's something stuck somewhere and you're encouraged to let loose. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
funny123eerJul 12, 2009
No Borat ..but still keeps you laughing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichelletJul 12, 2009
If you loved Borat, you will like Bruno.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewM.Jul 10, 2009
Never before have I seen a movie that was so crude, tasteless, appalling, offensive, shocking, and yet socially relevant, and hysterical. Pure, unadulterated Genius. Thank you Sacha Baron Cohen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeJul 13, 2009
Funny as hell, maybe not as "pure" as Borat but most definitely bold and funny! Sasha dares to go where no one else has ever gone before with great success.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnSJul 14, 2009
Here is my theory: - Most modern women find the movie really hilarious - Men with rational/open mind find the movie hilarious. Following crowd are likely going to detest the movie: - Men with rigid mindset of female nudity - Men who cannot Here is my theory: - Most modern women find the movie really hilarious - Men with rational/open mind find the movie hilarious. Following crowd are likely going to detest the movie: - Men with rigid mindset of female nudity - Men who cannot imagine fragility of masculinity. I am as straight man as you can get, and I am here to tell you that the movie is totally comic, and I do not remember laughing so hard for another movie. I enjoyed this movie better than Borat. FWIW, I would never watch a love story -- be it Titanic or Brokeback Mountain. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LukeTheDukeJul 14, 2009
Hilarious in places, but overall it left me feeling violated. Too gay, too sick. If it weren't hilarious in part it would get a 3 or 4 for how disgusting parts of it are. Sex is so beautiful with the right, tender partner; but Bruno Hilarious in places, but overall it left me feeling violated. Too gay, too sick. If it weren't hilarious in part it would get a 3 or 4 for how disgusting parts of it are. Sex is so beautiful with the right, tender partner; but Bruno just treats arbitrary and casual sex as oh, so natural and the decadent as normal. The mock black outrage over adopted black baby OJ who gets swapped for tech devices is the funniest. Second funniest is the minister who is told he has the perfect mouth for gay fellatio. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanAJul 15, 2009
Pretty good movie. Very crude as well, don't see this with anyone that you might feel awkward around or you won't enjoy it. Lots of nudity/porn in this (not all gay either).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillW.Jul 16, 2009
Nearly passed out laughing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnM.Jul 18, 2009
This film shines the light on homophobia like Archie bunker did on racism. Excellent. I'm still laughing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JamesP.Jul 18, 2009
The funniest moments fall into two categories. Those which are just ridiculously over the top (eg. Bruno's TV pilot) and those which truly expose people's bigotry, moral outrage or just plain stupidity. Highlight for me was the The funniest moments fall into two categories. Those which are just ridiculously over the top (eg. Bruno's TV pilot) and those which truly expose people's bigotry, moral outrage or just plain stupidity. Highlight for me was the auditions for the baby actors (can your baby operate heavy machinery?). Certainly not for everyone, and not a unequivocal success as was Borat, but plenty of laughs for those prepared to put their sensitivities to one side. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BradolphP.Jul 20, 2009
This movie made my butt hurt.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StuartwJul 20, 2009
When i saw the user rating comments i thought hmmm? This could be a disappointment, but as i loved Borat so much i thought i would give it a go. The first few minutes i was smelling a turkey then it turned into a great film. I am 33 and When i saw the user rating comments i thought hmmm? This could be a disappointment, but as i loved Borat so much i thought i would give it a go. The first few minutes i was smelling a turkey then it turned into a great film. I am 33 and consider myself a liberal thinking person, i guess you have to be to enjoy this film. Some of the jokes are very graphic. But i was laughing out loud throughout the film and left with a huge smile on my face. the guy is a genius, not quite as good as Borat, but if you want a good laugh then please ignore the poor ratings and go and see it for yourself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
GregoryBJul 24, 2009
Some in the gay community had predicted that this film would be harmful for gays. I have to disagree. The character Bruno is a parody of the way homophobic people think of gay men: vain, vacuous, irresponsible sex-freaks. Poking at the Some in the gay community had predicted that this film would be harmful for gays. I have to disagree. The character Bruno is a parody of the way homophobic people think of gay men: vain, vacuous, irresponsible sex-freaks. Poking at the issues of adoption, military service, and marriage, the film unveils these same characteristics in ordinary straight people. It is not perfect, but it is a hilarious and brilliant satire of homophobia. A must-see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertHJul 24, 2009
Funny and smart. Remember : "You can laugh with anything but not with anybody"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
OJMJul 29, 2009
Absolutely outrageous. I laughed way more than at Borat but the subject matter is kind of drivel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LAug 1, 2009
Seeing the outrage of the prudish Americans posting in this comment section confirms to me that this is one of the best films of 2009.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JT.Aug 4, 2009
Anyone giving this movie a 2 or below can say all they want about its repetitiveness, obscenity, and its (because of Borat) been-there-seen-that comedy, but it's a sure cover for massive issues of homophobia. Cohen aims, locks, and Anyone giving this movie a 2 or below can say all they want about its repetitiveness, obscenity, and its (because of Borat) been-there-seen-that comedy, but it's a sure cover for massive issues of homophobia. Cohen aims, locks, and fires at a lot of the false friendliness and somehow still acceptable hate of dumb America, each time making a decisive point. From parents willing to have their two year olds go through liposuction for a part in a movie that will, they are explicitly told, portray baby Nazis carting of baby Jews into the incinerators, to Paula Abdul expounding on her humanitarian views while sitting on a Mexican worker, you get a chance to see how much acting goes on everyday and how true some stereotypes are. And all the time you're being shocked and appalled, you're also laughing yourself up good cardio workout. Basically, behind all that offends and all that makes us crack-up in this wild mockumentary, is a wise portrayal of the facades, ignorance, and unwarranted loathing in America, especially in the areas of gay sexuality strongly reminiscent of other great movies such as "Boys Don't Cry." It defines what good satire is all about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuliePAug 7, 2009
Brilliant. May be hard for some to watch but brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MannyR.Aug 9, 2009
Stop whining about how "gay" this movie was. The fact that you feel uncomfortable seeing a penis in a movie means you shouldn't go and see a movie starring Sacha Baren Cohen. Those people saying that they are 15-30 years old and walked Stop whining about how "gay" this movie was. The fact that you feel uncomfortable seeing a penis in a movie means you shouldn't go and see a movie starring Sacha Baren Cohen. Those people saying that they are 15-30 years old and walked are full of it because at my theatre no one walked out and everyone laughed. The movie was hilarious, plain and simple. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelSep 14, 2009
AWESOME. i think i actually cried with laughter. those who dont get it are the people who sachin is trying to offend and would be caught in to his trickery if their paths were crossed. honestly the funniest thing ive ever seen. agreed that AWESOME. i think i actually cried with laughter. those who dont get it are the people who sachin is trying to offend and would be caught in to his trickery if their paths were crossed. honestly the funniest thing ive ever seen. agreed that it probably deserved a R18 rating though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DgSep 9, 2009
The movie challenges societies prejudiced views by using obvious and over the top offensive materials and delivered to an unsuspecting public. in an attempt to capture their reaction. In short this is a creative movie and will appeal towards The movie challenges societies prejudiced views by using obvious and over the top offensive materials and delivered to an unsuspecting public. in an attempt to capture their reaction. In short this is a creative movie and will appeal towards the liberalised atheist minded. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SeanF.Nov 21, 2009
This is undoubtedly one of the top 5 comedies of all time! Anyone who doesn't get it, is either a homophobe IMO, or doesn't really have the sense of humor that he or she thinks they had. Only criticism is that a lot of this movie This is undoubtedly one of the top 5 comedies of all time! Anyone who doesn't get it, is either a homophobe IMO, or doesn't really have the sense of humor that he or she thinks they had. Only criticism is that a lot of this movie seemed set up, maybe Borat was too, but that movie seemed much more spontaneous and real to me. Nonetheless, this movie is A LOT funnier than Borat IMO. Don't let the mixed reviews stop you from seeing this if you like Borat, Ali G, or Sacha Baron Cohen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KeijiMNov 27, 2009
Cheap laughs at the expense of "shocking and obscene" scenes. Pretty boring if you have even the slightest amount of maturity, but it does what it set out to do i guess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AWJul 11, 2009
Ich love this movie. Brilliant and hilarious-- better than I thought it would be. So irreverent and inappropriate- surpassed my expectations.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatrickR.Jul 11, 2009
Bruno is fearless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SpencerG.Jul 11, 2009
It was pretty funny straight from the beginning. There is a lot of frontal male nudity but hey, you kind of have to expect that...if you have seen Borat and you have even a remote idea of what Cohen is about then you should not be too It was pretty funny straight from the beginning. There is a lot of frontal male nudity but hey, you kind of have to expect that...if you have seen Borat and you have even a remote idea of what Cohen is about then you should not be too shocked by this movie as it seems many people were. It was funny to see not only the movie but the theater was full when the movie started and nearly everyone was roughly under 25. After the first half hour I kid you not at least 15 people (who I judged to be older) walked out. If you have pretty conservative tastes save your money. If you enjoyed Borat and know what to expect from Cohen you will enjoy this movie as I did. However, it definitely was no Borat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndyM.Jul 11, 2009
It's not quite Borat, I'll admit. But it comes VERY close. I was laughing hard throughout this entire movie, ESPECIALLY when Cohen makes the audience super uncomfortable. It's true: only people insecure with their own It's not quite Borat, I'll admit. But it comes VERY close. I was laughing hard throughout this entire movie, ESPECIALLY when Cohen makes the audience super uncomfortable. It's true: only people insecure with their own sexuality or thoroughly intolerant of homosexuality can say this movie is "awful" and "offensive". What this movie does, in fact, is satirize Americans' discomfort with homosexuality in general. In addition, it mocks the fashion world, and the conventional, quintessential standard for "celebrity". Rarely does something this crude pull off such enthralling social commentary. Well, since Borat. Bottom line: SEE IT. Unless you're bible thumping, gay-hating, or a prude, this is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattWJul 12, 2009
I loved, loved, loved this movie. Of course it's vulgar and disgusting-- just like Borat; but it goes one step further satirically by thrusting blatant, over the top homosexuality right in the face of every uptight redneck asshole in I loved, loved, loved this movie. Of course it's vulgar and disgusting-- just like Borat; but it goes one step further satirically by thrusting blatant, over the top homosexuality right in the face of every uptight redneck asshole in America. The final scene where the mongoloid who beats himself in the head over UFC excitement starts CRYING because of all the faggotry-- oh....that was Priceless. I'd have pissed my self laughing if I hadn't felt so vindicated. As an out gay man I consider Sacha Baron Cohen my new hero. F*ck every breeder or sissy queer boy who thinks otherwise. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SebHJul 12, 2009
I was only a tad disappointed, having followed Bruno since Da Ali G Show, to find that his earlier sketch work was actually much funnier. Still, this is a great continuation in the same vein as Borat, taking the piss out of people and I was only a tad disappointed, having followed Bruno since Da Ali G Show, to find that his earlier sketch work was actually much funnier. Still, this is a great continuation in the same vein as Borat, taking the piss out of people and constantly entertaining. One or two of the interviews looked staged - particularly the baby photoshoot interview (who in their right mind would be grateful for having their baby cast as a Nazi wheelbarrowing a Jew into a fire?) - but they were still hilarious, especially the gay convertor, the focus group and the wonderfully awkward hunting sequence. People who didn't enjoy this yet loved Borat show their true colours, obviously appreciating the ironic racism and anti-Semitism on a serious level and no doubt homophobic. If you appreciate bad taste humour, then you will love Bruno. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BryanKJul 14, 2009
In 2006, Borat changed the comedy film genre with it's offensive humor which shocked many movie-goers and led to some negative responses. However I felt it was a very well made film. "Rude, yet comical" sums up Borat. Bruno was one of In 2006, Borat changed the comedy film genre with it's offensive humor which shocked many movie-goers and led to some negative responses. However I felt it was a very well made film. "Rude, yet comical" sums up Borat. Bruno was one of the most comical films I have viewed in a long time. The concept was very well executed and worked well throughout the film. The concept of a former fashion show host trying to return into the limelight with everything from a pilot on CBS to making a sex tape with Ron Paul. It was all ridiculous and enjoyable. Despite this the film had its faults. The film repeated several concepts perviously seen in Borat including the main character's assistant leaving him in the middle of the film. The humour of certain scenes left me not laughing, but freaked out. During the scene in which the pilot was been shown a particular part of the male body remained on the screen for almost two minutes. It was funny at first, but became disturbing quickly. Overall the film was entertaining, yet had faults that were noticably awkward to many in the viewing crowd. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarkSJul 14, 2009
Holds a mirror up to our society. Both humorous and freaky.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanRJul 14, 2009
In terms of what this films intends to do - shock the audience - it suceeds fantastically. The movie jumps from scene to scene frequently, with only the central story providing loose connections. This helps prevent any of the scenes getting In terms of what this films intends to do - shock the audience - it suceeds fantastically. The movie jumps from scene to scene frequently, with only the central story providing loose connections. This helps prevent any of the scenes getting to stale, giving a tighter selection of funy/shocking moments, but it does make to the movie feel more like a skit show. To get the most out of the film, your tolerance must be pretty high. If you are offended easily, this is definatly not the movie for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KevinCJul 15, 2009
While Borat made you think and laugh, sadly, Bruno just makes you laugh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulM.Jul 17, 2009
Sacha Baron Cohen is a genius. The jokes weren't as funny as Borat, but the awkward situations were hilarious. He obviously made this movie just to see how much he could get away with. It turns out that's quite a lot, as Baron Sacha Baron Cohen is a genius. The jokes weren't as funny as Borat, but the awkward situations were hilarious. He obviously made this movie just to see how much he could get away with. It turns out that's quite a lot, as Baron Cohen managed to expose the American public to sights normally reserved for internet shock videos. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PhilBJul 18, 2009
Good. The unnoticed joke is on the audience members who are offended by raunchy homosexuality. Most bits were funny. Some weren't.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
IsaiahG.Jul 18, 2009
In the begining of the film I thought it was going to be a disaster. But then as the film progressed it made sense. Bruno was really pointing out the ignorance in some people of the world; but he did it in the most hilarious way possible. In the begining of the film I thought it was going to be a disaster. But then as the film progressed it made sense. Bruno was really pointing out the ignorance in some people of the world; but he did it in the most hilarious way possible. And it is true that it kind of resembles his last film "Borat". But the point of his films is to not only to make you laugh but also to make you think. Its like he holds a mirror to his audience showing how they can be. Its not a masterpiece, but its his work of art. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillySJul 21, 2009
Makes me proud not to be a right-wing Christian conservative!! Cohen is a ground breaking, take-no-enemies, comic genius! Can't wait for Ali G.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RyanSNov 27, 2009
Bruno is vulgar and twisted. It's also hilarious. Although it's hard not to feel that it's just a modified version of Borat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcinJ.Dec 13, 2009
The main aim of the movie is to show people's prejudice, reactions and perception.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
criticDec 17, 2009
Best movie ever. NO matter what you think of him, you have to admit he is a genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TokyochuchuDec 22, 2014
I enjoyed Bruno very much. There were many moments when I couldn't help but laugh out loud. And we're talking about rib rattling, full body laughs here. Whatever you would say about Sacha Baron Cohen, you can't deny the man has balls ofI enjoyed Bruno very much. There were many moments when I couldn't help but laugh out loud. And we're talking about rib rattling, full body laughs here. Whatever you would say about Sacha Baron Cohen, you can't deny the man has balls of steel! Bruno was simply great fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
twainfileJan 11, 2011
Cohen is brilliant---a latter day Peter Sellers. The film was hilarious, but most definitely NOT for the easily offended. Mr. Cohen has a genius for letting hypocrites and poseurs hang themselves with their own rope.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Bender99Jul 5, 2011
The movie is super funny. I only had a problem with the gay sex scene with the short guy. Otherwise this is some of Cohen's best work. Borat needed a bigger push. But that is okay because it was his first time doing something like that. BrunoThe movie is super funny. I only had a problem with the gay sex scene with the short guy. Otherwise this is some of Cohen's best work. Borat needed a bigger push. But that is okay because it was his first time doing something like that. Bruno did go overboard sometimes, but when life gives you lemons you have to make a lemon party. For those who don't know what a lemon party is, you should google it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wesker2012Jun 1, 2012
My favorite comedy and satire ever. One of the best characters ever made. This movie shows how smart people think they are, but how gullible and full of themselves they really are. Great social commentary.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonDec 8, 2013
Baron Cohen is fabulous as Brüno, and actually he looks gorgeous in character. I know a lot of women who'd kill for skin that smooth and flawless. And, as I said earlier, Baron Cohen is fearless when it comes to putting himself out there toBaron Cohen is fabulous as Brüno, and actually he looks gorgeous in character. I know a lot of women who'd kill for skin that smooth and flawless. And, as I said earlier, Baron Cohen is fearless when it comes to putting himself out there to make a point and get a laugh. Of course there's a lot of controversy over this film and Baron Cohen's portrayal of a flamboyantly gay man. And, yes, in a way he does feed into the stereotype. But so what? The audience gets the point and leaves entertained. It works. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TrilobiteGFeb 25, 2016
Of course, this romp never hits the same kind of fresh, grimey and realistic marks as Borat did, but for a second, albeit a slightly less authentic attempt, this is miles better than 'just fine'. Bruno does focus more on gay stereotypes thanOf course, this romp never hits the same kind of fresh, grimey and realistic marks as Borat did, but for a second, albeit a slightly less authentic attempt, this is miles better than 'just fine'. Bruno does focus more on gay stereotypes than it does the modelling agency, but with that comes more windows on exposure of self-absorbed real life bigoted people. What you see on screen, a man licking the hairy ginger nipples off another man is somehow less shocking than the reaction from the crowd. It's a very certain type of comedy that Sacha Baron Cohen produces and it is as intriguing as it is gut bustlingly hysterical. When I was not laughing my arse off, I was merely giggling and smiling, allowing a space of breath between each hilarious moment that makes sure to get you each time. Considerably clever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Antonio12345Mar 11, 2013
Bruno, a gay wannabee pop star goes to America to find fame with his assistant. He unfortunately falls into a series of mishaps and ends up falling to become straight. Yes, this movie is filled with graphic, explicit, and offensive languageBruno, a gay wannabee pop star goes to America to find fame with his assistant. He unfortunately falls into a series of mishaps and ends up falling to become straight. Yes, this movie is filled with graphic, explicit, and offensive language and sexual content but if you try to look beyond all the racist and homophobic comments, you may find this movie very amusing and hilarious. If this movie offends you, then Borat is a much more calm prequel to Bruno that is just as hilarious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Mar 3, 2016
This one had me rolling. Not for everyone, must be pretty open minded, but if you can make it through the first 5 mins your golden.

Watch it here for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-6205-Bruno-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
avamiller21May 1, 2016
Staged or not, Cohen still displays a fearlessness and commitment to character unparalleled in the comedy world today.

Check out this movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-19d2-Orphan-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews