Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 10, 2009
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 348 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
185
Mixed:
61
Negative:
102
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
GavinP.Dec 21, 2009
Cohen shows us just how stupid modern Western culture really is.
1 of 3 users found this helpful
9
"JeffreyW.Jul 19, 2009
Comic genius. Not a movie to see with your parents. "We've decided to cast your baby as a nazi officer pushing a baby dressed as a jew in a wheelbarrow into an oven!"
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AlbertP.Jul 13, 2009
Until last night, until Bruno, The Hangover was the funniest movie I
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
StewartPJul 13, 2009
A very good satire that hits all the points
0 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KenGJul 14, 2009
Brilliant, hilarious, fearless, and insightful. A very worthy follow-up to "Borat". If you (like some of the posters here) were bothered by the penis shots, and the gay sex scenes (although, the sex scenes are all staged), of course you Brilliant, hilarious, fearless, and insightful. A very worthy follow-up to "Borat". If you (like some of the posters here) were bothered by the penis shots, and the gay sex scenes (although, the sex scenes are all staged), of course you didn't like this movie. You are one of the people the movie is making fun of. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaneilAJul 20, 2009
The funniest movie I have seen in a LONG time, including of course, Borat. That movie will get the praise, but the true cult movie classic is here.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
twainfileJan 11, 2011
Cohen is brilliant---a latter day Peter Sellers. The film was hilarious, but most definitely NOT for the easily offended. Mr. Cohen has a genius for letting hypocrites and poseurs hang themselves with their own rope.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
wesker2012Jun 1, 2012
My favorite comedy and satire ever. One of the best characters ever made. This movie shows how smart people think they are, but how gullible and full of themselves they really are. Great social commentary.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
EvinCAug 12, 2009
Funny and shocking. People have to realize it's just a Sacha Cohen comedy. Watch it if your comfortable with his kind of comedy. Made me laugh out loud. Maybe it might make you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaveAug 2, 2009
Jesus, people thought Borat was believable? It is a parody of our perception of Middle Easterners. This movie is a parody of our perception of gay men. I'll tell you what: I'm a straight male. But I kinda hope that every movie for Jesus, people thought Borat was believable? It is a parody of our perception of Middle Easterners. This movie is a parody of our perception of gay men. I'll tell you what: I'm a straight male. But I kinda hope that every movie for the foreseeable future throws a few naked penises on screen until homophobic guys get over themselves. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Range41Jul 11, 2009
Really outrageous! I agree this wasn't as good as Borat in terms of the targets of ridicule being more obvious, and having more parts that felt really staged. However, the movie had me and the whole theater in stitches.... and the last Really outrageous! I agree this wasn't as good as Borat in terms of the targets of ridicule being more obvious, and having more parts that felt really staged. However, the movie had me and the whole theater in stitches.... and the last big scene (the wrestling scene) was both funny and extremely disturbing/poignant all at the same time. Only Cohen can have you in tears both from laughing and sadness for our culture at the same time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MrSensibleJul 11, 2009
Crude - yes. Random - yes. But it is pure comedy genius. I have not laughed like that since. well, Borat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronD.Jul 11, 2009
If you go to see this movie without realizing it's about a gay man or without realizing it's made by SBC, you don't deserve to give it a rating. Of course there is talk of anal sex, oral sex, and dildos. If you didn't If you go to see this movie without realizing it's about a gay man or without realizing it's made by SBC, you don't deserve to give it a rating. Of course there is talk of anal sex, oral sex, and dildos. If you didn't know that, you should have left less than 15 minutes after the movie started... Those who stay after that will give it a 10! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamanthaSJul 10, 2009
I just saw the movie and it was very inappropriate.It had humor that was stupid yet Sacha Baron Cohen is a man who is funny. I just really enjoyed it. Stupid yet very smart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StevenA.Jul 10, 2009
Are you kidding me?! This was absolutely hilarious! Never before has something so tasteless been so witty, intelligent, and downright hysterical all at once! While metascores indicate otherwise, this film was SO much more daring and Are you kidding me?! This was absolutely hilarious! Never before has something so tasteless been so witty, intelligent, and downright hysterical all at once! While metascores indicate otherwise, this film was SO much more daring and laugh-out-loud worthy than Borat, which I love! Needless to say, ignore the overall mediocre score, go see it, and laugh until it hurts! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ShaunM.Jul 10, 2009
Incredibly intelligent and extremely offensive and disturbing. Those who hate it don't get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
moonwaffle6Jul 10, 2009
This movie is exhausting in its inconsistency and cruelty. the character bruno is more obnoxious, lewder, and his racial satire is more cringe-inducing than borat. as for the movie itself, it bounces from brilliance to hilarious awkwardness,This movie is exhausting in its inconsistency and cruelty. the character bruno is more obnoxious, lewder, and his racial satire is more cringe-inducing than borat. as for the movie itself, it bounces from brilliance to hilarious awkwardness, to just plain awful scenes that fail on all accounts. All that being said, i still loved it. Just be prepared for less cleverness and more shock value this time around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanOJul 10, 2009
Like a bull ride from hell; people could not handle it because it was too wild. This movie pushed the limits of mental prejudice well beyond anything ever before tried. Bruno reveals prejudice in viewers by attempting to offend you as much Like a bull ride from hell; people could not handle it because it was too wild. This movie pushed the limits of mental prejudice well beyond anything ever before tried. Bruno reveals prejudice in viewers by attempting to offend you as much as possible. If you were offended than the movies purpose was successful. If you were not you were able to see the hilarity that ensued on screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
egJul 13, 2009
It had its funny parts, I give it that. In my opinion it was too short, and some of the stuff was just dumb. I did laugh alot, and enjoyed seeing it, so i give it a 7.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeDJul 13, 2009
This movie is definitely the funniest movie so far this year. Gut busting, laugh out loud hilarity! Certain segments of the population won't get it (midwest conservatives, I'm talking to you) but the rest will laugh their heads This movie is definitely the funniest movie so far this year. Gut busting, laugh out loud hilarity! Certain segments of the population won't get it (midwest conservatives, I'm talking to you) but the rest will laugh their heads off. Basically, you will either love this movie or leave 20 minutes into it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LeviHJul 15, 2009
Like Borat before it, this movie was designed with the complete discomfort of the audience in mind. Also like Borat, you aren't going to believe some of the things you hear human beings saying or see them doing, not least of all the Like Borat before it, this movie was designed with the complete discomfort of the audience in mind. Also like Borat, you aren't going to believe some of the things you hear human beings saying or see them doing, not least of all the title character. There were, in fact, quite a few moments in this movie where I feared for Sacha Baron Cohen's safety. He is a man with serious balls, and this film is a must see so long as you don't mind actually viewing those balls. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DavidH.Jul 10, 2009
The less said the better, absolutely hilarious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewGJul 16, 2009
Despite the 10 rating, this is not a perfect film -- parts of it drag and some of it falls flat -- nonetheless, the parts that work are so outrageously funny and dead on in their lampooning of celebrity culture, homophobia, and sheer human Despite the 10 rating, this is not a perfect film -- parts of it drag and some of it falls flat -- nonetheless, the parts that work are so outrageously funny and dead on in their lampooning of celebrity culture, homophobia, and sheer human stupidity that it deserves top rating -- if only for the Man Slammin finale. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MattK.Jul 16, 2009
A really funny movie with great shticks and one-liners, unfortunately the gay fanfare was just over the top and nearly had me questioning my own sexuality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ManuelQ.Jul 16, 2009
Simply: is the best comedian film I've seen in my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KubaSJul 17, 2009
Not as good as Borat, it's still top act from Cohen. Yes, it's stupid. No, it doesn't make you think. It makes you laugh though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AlexBJul 10, 2009
Although it lacks a real storyline the film had the entire theatre in stitches from start to finish. At times crude, rude and outlandish, this is a proud 'sequel' to Borat which set the bar incredibly high. Obviously as a result of Although it lacks a real storyline the film had the entire theatre in stitches from start to finish. At times crude, rude and outlandish, this is a proud 'sequel' to Borat which set the bar incredibly high. Obviously as a result of this, the film does cross far more boundaries then Borat, but in doing so strikes up some comedy brass, not quite gold, but it looks the same and has the same effect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LarsK.Jul 19, 2009
Not equal to "Borat" in terms of quality but still far better than any Hollywood-Comedy-Movie in recent years. Brüno infiltrates the american (sub)culture to stimulate your laugh muscles with unforgettable scenes and I bet even Not equal to "Borat" in terms of quality but still far better than any Hollywood-Comedy-Movie in recent years. Brüno infiltrates the american (sub)culture to stimulate your laugh muscles with unforgettable scenes and I bet even homosexuals will giggle one or two times. Brünos appearance is totaly cute and loveable you cant be mad at this guy. So all of you puffy patriots raise your hands to the brave new Fuhrer, ja!?! Hail Bruno. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
majoy.Jul 20, 2009
I can't believe the negative reviews. I saw this and Borat within the first 10 days they came out and had little interest really in both. Borat was good, funny, some gross, but a bit long for me....didn't inspire me to want to see I can't believe the negative reviews. I saw this and Borat within the first 10 days they came out and had little interest really in both. Borat was good, funny, some gross, but a bit long for me....didn't inspire me to want to see Bruno.... But as things go, friends were going, and so I went along, with little excitement because I saw some of the negative reviews. But Bruno was sensationally funny, way over the top, had several moments where you couldn't watch, but were laughing ridiculously hard as yuo closed your eyes. Bruno totally plays on the whole accept everyone mentality of the USA and yet really can't except the gays....I mean Sacha Baren Cohen is a comedic genius. I am not going to give anything away, and advise folks not to read too much before seeing it. But there wasn't really a bad moment at all in this entire movie. From start to finish it was a total laugh riot. The Pros: get ready to laugh really hard at this surprisingly intellectual gross out movie....the jokes are a mile a minute and told mostly all straight, but the grand joke of prejudice is felt at the end. Cohen does a remarkable job in both characters (Bruno and his alt ego at the end of the movie). There's not a movie like this that really has ever been made (this made Borat seem very very tame). Cons: Well I don't know if I could watch this again....there were some really cringe moments. But this was an absolutely great movie nonetheless. I'm surprised it got only an R rating though, definitely not for kids really under 17.... I am excited to see what else Mr. Cohen has up his sleeves in future years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HyperSJul 21, 2009
Its crude. Extremely sexual in nature. And I would imagine quite offensive to the homosexual community.. But, it was funny... and time seemed to fly by. Jackass & Bruno... same level of humor... like one you'd probably like the other. Its crude. Extremely sexual in nature. And I would imagine quite offensive to the homosexual community.. But, it was funny... and time seemed to fly by. Jackass & Bruno... same level of humor... like one you'd probably like the other. Just remember. Kids don't go with your parents. Parents don't go with your kids. Would make for an extremely embarrassing and life scaring event (poor 14 year old going with grandma/grandpa. Poor 14 year old going period. ITS FOR ADULTS!). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful