Universal Pictures | Release Date: July 10, 2009
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 347 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
184
Mixed:
61
Negative:
102
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
PhilAJul 23, 2009
The movie has it's funny parts, but frankly, it's just too vulgar. Homosexuality is one thing, but there's just too much penis in that movie to be enjoyable. Frankly, I don't know it received an R rating. I laughed, but The movie has it's funny parts, but frankly, it's just too vulgar. Homosexuality is one thing, but there's just too much penis in that movie to be enjoyable. Frankly, I don't know it received an R rating. I laughed, but left disturbed. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
3
ShaneD.Jul 10, 2009
Came close to crossing the line on many occasions and crossed it at least twice. Overall it was sporadically funny, but also very raunchy and not worth the money to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MarkB.Jul 10, 2009
Just felt too set up and not as natural and free flowing as Borat. A couple of funny moments but overshadowed by the cheap laughs. Expected better of SBC, unimaginative and no different from any other cheap laugh film. Cop-out
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
IanMJul 13, 2009
Bruno doesn't have what it takes. I like Baron Cohen... I loved Borat... Bruno left me feeling, flat, disinterested, unhappy. This time around, the whole thing seems basically unoriginal and 'setup'. I was expecting a kick in Bruno doesn't have what it takes. I like Baron Cohen... I loved Borat... Bruno left me feeling, flat, disinterested, unhappy. This time around, the whole thing seems basically unoriginal and 'setup'. I was expecting a kick in the balls, all I got was pretend fellatio - and just as unsatisfying. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CCJul 15, 2009
I honestly tried to watch this movie with high hopes and tried to disregard all of the bad things I heard everyone say, but I just walked away a few bucks shorter and whole lot more disappointed. It isn't really that funny. I understand I honestly tried to watch this movie with high hopes and tried to disregard all of the bad things I heard everyone say, but I just walked away a few bucks shorter and whole lot more disappointed. It isn't really that funny. I understand Cohen's attempt to portray homosexuality, and I have no problem with that. The biggest problem is that the movie isn't that funny. The story was also very flimsy and just an excuse to give "reason" to what he was doing. I was honestly disappointed and only wished Cohen could've a much better job with such a brilliant character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TomPJul 19, 2009
The homosexuality and stretched, seemingly staged skits far outweighs the funny. The character is nowhere near as entertaining as Borat, and the story was even weaker. An interview with a gay converter was a particular highlight for me, but The homosexuality and stretched, seemingly staged skits far outweighs the funny. The character is nowhere near as entertaining as Borat, and the story was even weaker. An interview with a gay converter was a particular highlight for me, but times when he merely tried to make people uncomfortable using homosexual shock techniques and nudity were just boriing and unoriginal. Wait for this on DVD, it's not worth seeing in theatres. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MikeMikeJul 21, 2009
Outrageous and original--I'll give it that. However, the gags are too scripted not to notice, or disgusting for the sake of being disgusting. (Mind you, I enjoy the Jackass movies.) Where Borat was at least mostly plausible, this thing Outrageous and original--I'll give it that. However, the gags are too scripted not to notice, or disgusting for the sake of being disgusting. (Mind you, I enjoy the Jackass movies.) Where Borat was at least mostly plausible, this thing is ridiculously unbelievable. I could not help calling "bogus" through the entire movie. Let's hope the next movie isn't just an attempt at cashing in on the way out. Too bad. Save your money and see this one at home if you must. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChristianD.Jul 15, 2009
Borat was hilarious, but this wasn't funny at all. Just disturbing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JamesHNov 21, 2009
I just am not a fan of Sasha Baron Cohen, I don
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
LaxMJul 11, 2009
There is no point in watching this movie unless you want to see Sasha Baren Cohen wave his instrument in the air and have sex with other guys. There are some funny moments, yes, but they do not make up for the majority of the movie... which There is no point in watching this movie unless you want to see Sasha Baren Cohen wave his instrument in the air and have sex with other guys. There are some funny moments, yes, but they do not make up for the majority of the movie... which is very bad. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
2
AVJul 13, 2009
Only reason i rated this a 2 is because that is how many times i laughed. this was definitely no borat (at least Borat had a balance of funny and vulgar comedy).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BobRJul 12, 2009
This movie was pathetic... Don't waste your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
EliasC.Dec 15, 2009
One of the most offensive and unwatchable films I have ever seen seeded throughout with strokes of brilliance that show that if Cohen can get it together, he can produce, write and star in a very good film. This is not it however. The first One of the most offensive and unwatchable films I have ever seen seeded throughout with strokes of brilliance that show that if Cohen can get it together, he can produce, write and star in a very good film. This is not it however. The first 20 minutes is simply nauseating. The editor should have left these scenes for the end after the viewer develops at least a little bit of empathy for the Bruno character. Overall, this film is a waste of talent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JulienDec 6, 2009
I am not easily offended, but this movie is an outrage. It's not fun at all. It's pointlessly gross and if there was a message in there, it got swallowed by the tons of sick and idiotic situations. To bad, the topic deserved a I am not easily offended, but this movie is an outrage. It's not fun at all. It's pointlessly gross and if there was a message in there, it got swallowed by the tons of sick and idiotic situations. To bad, the topic deserved a better treatment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MiKEDec 23, 2009
What happened!?!?! Borat was a close to being a masterpiece, yet Bruno is total crap! Why does bruno have to be so mean spirted? The movie should of been so much more!! way more. yet all we got was alot of sick jokes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AHJul 10, 2009
Old, tired, boring. How many penises, dildos, sex toys until its tiring. I GIVE THIS AWFUL MOVIE A 1 OUT OF 10. Don't bother!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JohnF.Jul 11, 2009
Dreary bad taste. A scant 82 minutes of skits with a central theme of anal sex and very dated stereotypical, effeminate, homosexual mannerisms.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
konnorMJul 13, 2009
This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. It is boring and pathetic...the only part at I laughed at was when the hole of his cock barked "Bruno". The rest was downhill.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SpungoMJul 16, 2009
Felt like a really bad 1990's Lorn Michaels film. In other words, a 5 minute SNL skit stretched into an 83 minute movie. The Bruno character was by far the weakest on Da Ali G Show, so no surprises that a Bruno movie would be so horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TannerP.Jul 11, 2009
If you like watching homosexual porno, then this movie is for you. Most of the laughter that ensued during the movie was out of pure disgust and "WTF!? I can't believe they put this in a movie" moments. The few genuinely funny moments If you like watching homosexual porno, then this movie is for you. Most of the laughter that ensued during the movie was out of pure disgust and "WTF!? I can't believe they put this in a movie" moments. The few genuinely funny moments are outweighed heavily by the cringe worthy moments. The worst movie I have laid my eyes on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
[Anonymous]Jul 10, 2009
The absolute worst movie (if you want to call it that)i've ever tried to watch
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NotaFanSmithJul 13, 2009
I checked my watch to see how much longer the movie was about 30 minutes from the end. The comedy genius of Borat is not captured here. Contrived rather than improvised- Cohen doesn't reveal anything of substance here. I would have I checked my watch to see how much longer the movie was about 30 minutes from the end. The comedy genius of Borat is not captured here. Contrived rather than improvised- Cohen doesn't reveal anything of substance here. I would have snoozed had the popcorn in my teeth not kept me up. Waste of time - except the 15 seconds I laughed at Paula Abdul and...I forgot what else made me laugh. Oh well. Should have rented it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MartinJul 17, 2009
This movie sucked. There were about 3 or 4 actual jokes, the rest was all just for shock value. It's damn near unwatchable, it's not entertaining. Oh lets show guys doing the gayest thing possible to show how intolerant we This movie sucked. There were about 3 or 4 actual jokes, the rest was all just for shock value. It's damn near unwatchable, it's not entertaining. Oh lets show guys doing the gayest thing possible to show how intolerant we americans are! NEWS FLASH, just because straight people dont want to see a bunch of dicks flapping around and two guys making out for a half hour in the deep south doesn't make you intolerant, it makes you ****ing normal. are vegetarians considered intolerant if they are disgusted by animal slaughter at a butcher shop? NO, its something they personally find nasty and that's fine. This movie was a softcore gay porn with a couple jokes. This age of political correctness makes me sick, stop trying to shove your "love everything" agenda down our throats. There's a reason people are disgusted by shit like this, none of them being that it was funny. Manuel Q if you think this is the best comedian film you've ever seen you must be gayer than will and grace. This movie is garbage. For the record i thought Borat was hilarious, but that's because it had more jokes and was more original, bruno was a rehash, and a terrible one at that. unoriginal and unfunny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
michellemJul 29, 2009
I'm 20 years old and hang out with lots of immature dirty guys and we drink and make dirty jokes for fun. This movie was so disgusting that we almost left after the first scene. We kept trying to give it a chance and laugh at it, but I'm 20 years old and hang out with lots of immature dirty guys and we drink and make dirty jokes for fun. This movie was so disgusting that we almost left after the first scene. We kept trying to give it a chance and laugh at it, but no... it was awkward and crossed too many lines even for the crudest of crowds. I can't believe the world has come to this, publicly putting porn up on the big screen. The one point I gave it was for the like 3 funny scenes the movie did contain: the military scene, the "gayby" with headphones, and the girl whipping him through the window. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RyanZ.Jul 19, 2009
I went to this movie with my wife on the weekend and we were the 3rd group of people to walk out by about the 1 hour mark. I can't believe a major studio spent as much money as they did on this super-lightweight project. At least we got I went to this movie with my wife on the weekend and we were the 3rd group of people to walk out by about the 1 hour mark. I can't believe a major studio spent as much money as they did on this super-lightweight project. At least we got a full refund. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AdamOJul 22, 2009
This movie wasn't funny, but rather crude and disgusting. Scenes that weren't obscene were too similar to those in "Borat" and did not bring forth humor or a sense of a storyline.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ProudAmericanEvangelicalChristianNov 25, 2009
I was under the impression this movie poked fun at homosexuals. We were shocked and appalled to find out the movie did not do this, but rather made fun of decent ordinary Americans! I was appalled. What is so funny about that? My stomach I was under the impression this movie poked fun at homosexuals. We were shocked and appalled to find out the movie did not do this, but rather made fun of decent ordinary Americans! I was appalled. What is so funny about that? My stomach turned as I watched good Christian Americans made to look like fools. This movie is a disgrace to America! It should be banned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SamN.Dec 11, 2009
When I found out the amount of danger actor and crewman alike went through while making this movie, I was appalled. To think that so many people went through life and death situations to make this tasteless, unfunny mess of a film frustrates When I found out the amount of danger actor and crewman alike went through while making this movie, I was appalled. To think that so many people went through life and death situations to make this tasteless, unfunny mess of a film frustrates me. Had they put their lives at risk for something as funny as Borat, then that would be admirable. But Bruno isn't even an tenth as funny as Borat. Borat was crude, yes, but in an intelligent way that was handled with clever, well thought out writing. We got to see people go from 'oh, he's an odd fellow but I'll try to be accepting' to 'get the Hell away from me you freak'. That's funny. Bruno bombards you with the most repulsive crap over and over again. That's not. It does this so often that I became immune to it all and I was flat out bored by the end of the movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
lukechristianscMar 7, 2014
borat was terrible now this are u kidding me this **** . i got a few laughs but this is wrost then hugo go watch the dicator instead this is not my fav film
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
susiewJul 12, 2009
From seeing the reviews, I thought this would be a really funny movie, much as Borat was funny. I was VERY disappointed. Bruno was nothing but a glorified porn movie. TOTAL waste of money.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JohnKJul 20, 2009
Being a construction worker all my life, I think this is the sickest movie I have ever attended. I had company walking out during the movie, if that is what you call that filth? Disgusting is the best word. Its a good thing we have alot of Being a construction worker all my life, I think this is the sickest movie I have ever attended. I had company walking out during the movie, if that is what you call that filth? Disgusting is the best word. Its a good thing we have alot of good and great movies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
AndrewRJul 12, 2009
To me, Borat was a huge laughfest, so I gave Bruno a try although the trailer looked pretty poor. The movie was a complete flop, hardly anyone in the theater was laughing at anything. Granted one or two moments got a laugh out of me, but To me, Borat was a huge laughfest, so I gave Bruno a try although the trailer looked pretty poor. The movie was a complete flop, hardly anyone in the theater was laughing at anything. Granted one or two moments got a laugh out of me, but trust me, I loved Borat, but Bruno should definitely be avoided at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JillianT.Jul 23, 2009
I liked da ali g show and borat but this was awful... dumb humor, vile antics, stupid storyline (why is there even a storyline? it would have been better without one).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CalebGJan 18, 2010
I usually force myself to finish all movies and books, no matter how bad, but I walked out of this movie. Such a disappointment compared to Borat. I give it a 0/10 because I actually asked for my money back.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DarrenDec 7, 2009
Complete waste of money. I turned it off part way through since it was such a waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PhilipJul 11, 2009
Avoid this movie! It's nothing like Borat, it's more like a gay porno... In fact, it could put most of those to shame. Saying this movie is 99% debauchery isn't an opinion, it's a fact. The very few laughs won't stop Avoid this movie! It's nothing like Borat, it's more like a gay porno... In fact, it could put most of those to shame. Saying this movie is 99% debauchery isn't an opinion, it's a fact. The very few laughs won't stop you from feeling violated after cringing through this filth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JerryBJul 10, 2009
This was possibly the worst movie I have ever seen - there may have been one funny moment, but I don't recall it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
WillM.Jul 10, 2009
This was a horrible excuse for a Borat follow up. It crossed the line with nudity. No one needs to see that much dick. not worth my $9.50
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
joeym.Jul 12, 2009
It sucked.....IT WAS THE WEIRDEST THING I have ever seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarkJul 12, 2009
One of the worse movies I have ever seen. Disturbing to the eyes and ears.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AmandaF.Jul 12, 2009
Tasteless, offensive, waste of time and money. The previews shown on TV were the only funny moments in the whole movie. Do not see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
tashawJul 13, 2009
This was the worst movie i have ever seen in my life. they should take this out of the movies. There is pornography in it. ( i didn't know that the movie theaters promotes pornography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KristenHJul 14, 2009
Absolutely disgusting, we walked out of the movie. This should be rated X and for homosexuals only. Truly trashy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ShirleyF.Jul 19, 2009
I was appalled. We walked out after 15 minutes. Everyone I talked to at the theater said it was a horrible movie including the manager who gave me my money back. (First time I ever walked out on a movie) They even let my 14 year old grandson I was appalled. We walked out after 15 minutes. Everyone I talked to at the theater said it was a horrible movie including the manager who gave me my money back. (First time I ever walked out on a movie) They even let my 14 year old grandson in and he couldn't wait to leave. If you all feel that this was a good movie then "what is becoming of our morals? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DerfPJul 22, 2009
The film uses shock as the main recipe for laughter, which generally works for me, but not in this movie. The problem is that it's excessive and monotonous, therefore tiring and predictable. Shorter sequences of the shock-scenes would The film uses shock as the main recipe for laughter, which generally works for me, but not in this movie. The problem is that it's excessive and monotonous, therefore tiring and predictable. Shorter sequences of the shock-scenes would have saved the film by maintaining an element of surprise. I also think the timing of this film is wrong. Too much time has passed since Ali G and Borat, so arguably the novelty of cringe-flicks has worn off. It seems the director knew this and so decided to make it as tasteless as possible as a plea to the audience that there is still something on offer. There is not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
crystaldJul 25, 2009
Stupid obnoxious movie... can't this guy do anything else? He's not a good actor. it's the same ole same ole as Borat, only this time more vulgar and obscene. People were walkng out. Should be rated NC-17... he makes his money Stupid obnoxious movie... can't this guy do anything else? He's not a good actor. it's the same ole same ole as Borat, only this time more vulgar and obscene. People were walkng out. Should be rated NC-17... he makes his money by making fun of others and making fools out of them. I don't like this stupid Jewish moron.... Sacha Baron Cohen. he ha, what a joke he is! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RegularAmericanFellowChristianAug 4, 2009
Sorry, but I was mislead into going to see this movie by the rating system in place, which much to my astonishment granted an R rating to this movie, which again and again rubs the viewers eyes in Sasha Barron Cohen's genitals. Simply Sorry, but I was mislead into going to see this movie by the rating system in place, which much to my astonishment granted an R rating to this movie, which again and again rubs the viewers eyes in Sasha Barron Cohen's genitals. Simply put, I do not want to see a man's scrotum or peenus when I go to a movie. And I would not expect to see a woman's clitoris at an R rated movie either. So what's going on in Hollywood that this is becoming part of what is acceptable in R rated films? (Same deal in the closing credits to "Hangover"). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KapeemAug 5, 2009
I'm a big fan of the Ali G Show, and I know Sacha Baron Cohen is a funny guy, but he failed with Bruno. It's just shock humor and him antagonizing people. No wit, just Tom Green-like antics. Also very disgusting, awkward, and I'm a big fan of the Ali G Show, and I know Sacha Baron Cohen is a funny guy, but he failed with Bruno. It's just shock humor and him antagonizing people. No wit, just Tom Green-like antics. Also very disgusting, awkward, and cringe-inducing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
STannerJul 12, 2009
Hard to believe that people view this as entertainment. I could only deal with 45 mins. before walking out. A talking penis...THIS is supposed to be comedy?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
B.D.Jul 12, 2009
This movie was nothing but a gay male porno movie. It should have been rated "X". It was nothing but none stop male anal and oral sexual intercourse, with occasional not funny clips. The only good thing about this movie was when it was over, This movie was nothing but a gay male porno movie. It should have been rated "X". It was nothing but none stop male anal and oral sexual intercourse, with occasional not funny clips. The only good thing about this movie was when it was over, and I was able to leave the theater! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
williamc.Jul 13, 2009
Bruno can't be Borat.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
R.C.Jul 16, 2009
This movie should be rated XXX. It is disgusting and dirty. We walked out of the threater after 15 minutes, requested refund and got it. Do not waste your time with this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrandonDJul 17, 2009
I love the Ali G show on HBO with Bruno, but Bruno the movie is TERRIBLE! I think they ran out of creative funny ideas so they decided to shock people and show penises, gay sex, and porn. And that
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
HelpUJul 19, 2009
If you like the fact that you went to see this movie when your mom told you not to, please voice your praise otherwise this isn't a movie, it is the worst and longest joke ever to appear on the silver screen that only feeds on If you like the fact that you went to see this movie when your mom told you not to, please voice your praise otherwise this isn't a movie, it is the worst and longest joke ever to appear on the silver screen that only feeds on controversy for its punch lines. I have never seen the Ali G Show but he sounds like a pretty cheap comedian that doesn't know how to make a real joke rather to get himself in court and on Fox News. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DWJul 19, 2009
This "movie" should be rated XXXX for explicit sexual content (videos of anal and oral sex acts, although marginally covered over some body parts.) Other than that it was awful, not funny and just another reason that I shouldn't ever go This "movie" should be rated XXXX for explicit sexual content (videos of anal and oral sex acts, although marginally covered over some body parts.) Other than that it was awful, not funny and just another reason that I shouldn't ever go to a theater again. The previews and reviews of this movie completely ignore the explicit content of this movie and are misleading and lies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
alishakJul 29, 2009
Bruno should be a weird storyline porno. I don't find humor in disgusting gay visuals with poop flying across the screen and brown hand prints smeared on the walls. Any straight person could probably not handle this type of "humor." Bruno should be a weird storyline porno. I don't find humor in disgusting gay visuals with poop flying across the screen and brown hand prints smeared on the walls. Any straight person could probably not handle this type of "humor." People are messed up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
angieaJul 29, 2009
Anyone who likes this movie has to be gay no questions asked. It's not that us straight people "don't get" the movie, it's that were not f***** up enough to think that sh*ts funny. Whats wrong with you people? go rent so more Anyone who likes this movie has to be gay no questions asked. It's not that us straight people "don't get" the movie, it's that were not f***** up enough to think that sh*ts funny. Whats wrong with you people? go rent so more gay porn sick f***s. sick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomGAug 13, 2009
This movie was ridiculously boring most the time and not worth the money I paid to see it. Thankfully I went during Matinee and only paid $4.50 but even that is way too much for this dumb movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
shlugalugAug 27, 2010
Nein! Sacha Baron Cohen goes for funny but instead heâ
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
7dogguyApr 13, 2012
im sorry but the only way you should see this is if you are homosexual and i dont even think they would like it because its that digusting penises sex toys and jokes glore its basically a gay porn gone bad
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
MattyiceMay 20, 2012
Very dull, inappropriate comedy that doesnt make sense. After seeing The Dictator, this movie truly sucked. I only saw one funny scene that i cracked up. I wanted to stop watching it, but i already purchased the movie. Never see this disgrace.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews