User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 321 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 98 out of 321
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 22, 2014
    8
    I enjoyed Bruno very much. There were many moments when I couldn't help but laugh out loud. And we're talking about rib rattling, full body laughs here. Whatever you would say about Sacha Baron Cohen, you can't deny the man has balls of steel! Bruno was simply great fun.
  2. Jul 10, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bruno: 4 out of 10: I have to admit I am more than a bit disappointed here. Bruno has its share of laugh out loud moments but it simply does not have those great memorable scenes that made Borat such a treat.

    One cannot help comparing Bruno to Borat since in many ways they are the same story. Borat worked because the character was, at least on a movie logic level, believable. He was played as an innocent whom one could root for; even if he had some terrible values upon reflection. He was a lovable character.

    While Borat has an innocent air about him and a charismatic travelling companion, Bruno is as characterized a horrible human being from the get go with a milquetoast traveling companion.

    Bruno is a flamboyantly gay Austrian fashion host that is so horrible, one simply feels nothing but sympathy for Sacha Baron Cohen’s victims. When you start feeling sorry for Ron Paul and Anti-homosexual Christian deprogrammers the movie has clearly gone of the rails.

    Cohen tries to infuse Bruno with countless shots of male gentalia to embarrass (one supposes) his audience, Alas none if it is as cringe inducing as the naked wresting from the first movie (Come to think of it, nothing on earth is as cringe inducing as that scene) and nothing in Bruno comes anywhere close to being that funny.

    While there are certainly scattered laughs throughout the film, Bruno is more in the style of an old Mondo Cane movie than a comedy. It is more about making the audience and his victims uncomfortable than provoking any mirth or insight.

    When I watched Borat, I would tell myself if I met the character on the street I would be polite to him as well. While watching Bruno I was shocked no one punched him in the face.
    Expand
  3. Mar 7, 2014
    1
    borat was terrible now this are u kidding me this **** . i got a few laughs but this is wrost then hugo go watch the dicator instead this is not my fav film
  4. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    Baron Cohen is fabulous as Brüno, and actually he looks gorgeous in character. I know a lot of women who'd kill for skin that smooth and flawless. And, as I said earlier, Baron Cohen is fearless when it comes to putting himself out there to make a point and get a laugh. Of course there's a lot of controversy over this film and Baron Cohen's portrayal of a flamboyantly gay man. And, yes, inBaron Cohen is fabulous as Brüno, and actually he looks gorgeous in character. I know a lot of women who'd kill for skin that smooth and flawless. And, as I said earlier, Baron Cohen is fearless when it comes to putting himself out there to make a point and get a laugh. Of course there's a lot of controversy over this film and Baron Cohen's portrayal of a flamboyantly gay man. And, yes, in a way he does feed into the stereotype. But so what? The audience gets the point and leaves entertained. It works. Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2013
    5
    In order to really enjoy this film you definitely have to be a fan of Sacha Baron Cohen, and because I am not I struggled to enjoy this. It's the second time I've seen it and I just didn't really find a lot of the jokes funny. There are some funny moments and the fact Bruno adopted a black baby called OJ is kind of funny, but overall it's just not a very funny movie. It will please some,In order to really enjoy this film you definitely have to be a fan of Sacha Baron Cohen, and because I am not I struggled to enjoy this. It's the second time I've seen it and I just didn't really find a lot of the jokes funny. There are some funny moments and the fact Bruno adopted a black baby called OJ is kind of funny, but overall it's just not a very funny movie. It will please some, but you certainly can't take it too seriously that's for sure or you just won't enjoy it. Expand
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    Bruno, a gay wannabee pop star goes to America to find fame with his assistant. He unfortunately falls into a series of mishaps and ends up falling to become straight. Yes, this movie is filled with graphic, explicit, and offensive language and sexual content but if you try to look beyond all the racist and homophobic comments, you may find this movie very amusing and hilarious. If thisBruno, a gay wannabee pop star goes to America to find fame with his assistant. He unfortunately falls into a series of mishaps and ends up falling to become straight. Yes, this movie is filled with graphic, explicit, and offensive language and sexual content but if you try to look beyond all the racist and homophobic comments, you may find this movie very amusing and hilarious. If this movie offends you, then Borat is a much more calm prequel to Bruno that is just as hilarious. Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2013
    6
    It's Bruno! The latest character from Sacha Baron Cohen. Cohen is of course known for Borat and being outrageous. He goes so far in this film, that he was actually arrested 3 times while filming it, Bruno however doesn't live up to Borat. Borat was one of those movies. that you can watch over and over again. and it was still funny, Bruno isn't like that. The first time around, it's prettyIt's Bruno! The latest character from Sacha Baron Cohen. Cohen is of course known for Borat and being outrageous. He goes so far in this film, that he was actually arrested 3 times while filming it, Bruno however doesn't live up to Borat. Borat was one of those movies. that you can watch over and over again. and it was still funny, Bruno isn't like that. The first time around, it's pretty funny, even thou the constant gay jokes and references to anal and oral sex gets old, fast. When it came out on DVD and I watched it again, I wasn't as impressed by it. The third time, even less so. Bruno is raunchy and good for some laughs and shock value the first time you see it, but after that it loses everything. This is the kind of movie you should rent, but definitely not buy. Expand
  8. Dec 22, 2012
    5
    It does have funny moments, it really does. I don't think it's fair to compare Burno and Borat- both are different enough. This movie, while it does show a comic genius at his worst. Being a contradict to my own words, while Borat was highly enertaining and somewhat unethical- it always came across as a joke. This movie, well, I was disapointed. For Sacha Baron Cohen, whom i have greatIt does have funny moments, it really does. I don't think it's fair to compare Burno and Borat- both are different enough. This movie, while it does show a comic genius at his worst. Being a contradict to my own words, while Borat was highly enertaining and somewhat unethical- it always came across as a joke. This movie, well, I was disapointed. For Sacha Baron Cohen, whom i have great respect for (what he does is unthinkably dumb, immoral, and idiotic he makes up for it by mocking America and its problems) Oh, Bruno is an uber mediocre movie! Expand
  9. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    My favorite comedy and satire ever. One of the best characters ever made. This movie shows how smart people think they are, but how gullible and full of themselves they really are. Great social commentary.
  10. May 20, 2012
    6
    Bruno is crude, disgusting, and just plain disappointing. I loved Borat but Bruno just didin't have the same feel that Borat did. It wasn't as funny and just crossed the line various times. Yes, I laughed a couple times throughout the film because it really is funny at some points. Most of the time though, I feel like they're trying to make a more controversial film than a great one. IfBruno is crude, disgusting, and just plain disappointing. I loved Borat but Bruno just didin't have the same feel that Borat did. It wasn't as funny and just crossed the line various times. Yes, I laughed a couple times throughout the film because it really is funny at some points. Most of the time though, I feel like they're trying to make a more controversial film than a great one. If you enjoyed Borat, give this a try but satisfaction is not guaranteed. Expand
  11. May 20, 2012
    0
    Very dull, inappropriate comedy that doesnt make sense. After seeing The Dictator, this movie truly sucked. I only saw one funny scene that i cracked up. I wanted to stop watching it, but i already purchased the movie. Never see this disgrace.
  12. Apr 13, 2012
    0
    im sorry but the only way you should see this is if you are homosexual and i dont even think they would like it because its that digusting penises sex toys and jokes glore its basically a gay porn gone bad
  13. Oct 7, 2011
    5
    By bloating itself with outrageous and inappropriate shenanigans, Bruno misses out on the heart and critical social observation of Borat. Much of this is down to the character being depicted but you are left wishing that Bruno could make you split your sides and also give you something to think about. The humor swings from moderately funny to frustratingly weak and many situations appearBy bloating itself with outrageous and inappropriate shenanigans, Bruno misses out on the heart and critical social observation of Borat. Much of this is down to the character being depicted but you are left wishing that Bruno could make you split your sides and also give you something to think about. The humor swings from moderately funny to frustratingly weak and many situations appear fabricated for comedy purposes, which badly damages the film. If these scenes are staged then who knows what else is? Though not an awful movie, Bruno is inferior to Borat in just about every way. Expand
  14. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    The movie is super funny. I only had a problem with the gay sex scene with the short guy. Otherwise this is some of Cohen's best work. Borat needed a bigger push. But that is okay because it was his first time doing something like that. Bruno did go overboard sometimes, but when life gives you lemons you have to make a lemon party. For those who don't know what a lemon party is, you shouldThe movie is super funny. I only had a problem with the gay sex scene with the short guy. Otherwise this is some of Cohen's best work. Borat needed a bigger push. But that is okay because it was his first time doing something like that. Bruno did go overboard sometimes, but when life gives you lemons you have to make a lemon party. For those who don't know what a lemon party is, you should google it. Expand
  15. May 14, 2011
    6
    Bruno goes from the funny, to the surreal to the downright ridiculous but if you liked Borat then double how far Sacha Baron Cohen was willing to go and if you're still intrigued then have a look. If you're easily offended or don't enjoy people making fools of themselves then this is not for you.
  16. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    Cohen is brilliant---a latter day Peter Sellers. The film was hilarious, but most definitely NOT for the easily offended. Mr. Cohen has a genius for letting hypocrites and poseurs hang themselves with their own rope.
  17. Dec 25, 2010
    5
    Burno definitely has a lot of potential. However, it is a rather tough nut to swallow... pardon the pun. Within the first 10 minutes, one can be completely outraged by the film. It is extremely insulting, very provocative and leaves nothing unsaid... very much 'into your face' type of film. This can be rather funny at times, but overall the question of good taste remains, and Bruno walksBurno definitely has a lot of potential. However, it is a rather tough nut to swallow... pardon the pun. Within the first 10 minutes, one can be completely outraged by the film. It is extremely insulting, very provocative and leaves nothing unsaid... very much 'into your face' type of film. This can be rather funny at times, but overall the question of good taste remains, and Bruno walks a thin line there - at times crossing it quite drastically. Expand
  18. Oct 6, 2010
    5
    Borat is one of the best comic films I have ever seen,but when stepping out as Bruno, Cohen takes things a little too far. Its good to see the exposure of Western Culture is still there but many of the ideas seem to repeat themselves from Borat. Sasha Baron Cohen knows the lines and continually crosses them, sometimes too far.
  19. Aug 27, 2010
    5
    This one was okay,but it's a hit & miss film. I like Sacha Baron Cohen to be as Bruno character,but I prefer Borat better! It has alot of gay jokes,that made me puke to death! It has a little bit funny scenes,but not as funny as Borat does. And the film wasn't that much special and it gets serious that this was the same line that the actor did in Borat and it gets empty for the audience.This one was okay,but it's a hit & miss film. I like Sacha Baron Cohen to be as Bruno character,but I prefer Borat better! It has alot of gay jokes,that made me puke to death! It has a little bit funny scenes,but not as funny as Borat does. And the film wasn't that much special and it gets serious that this was the same line that the actor did in Borat and it gets empty for the audience. So,it's nothing quite special for this gay comedy and please,I don't think this movie will be very interesting about gay jokes and some controversy about anything about the character,but stick to Borat. Expand
  20. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    Nein! Sacha Baron Cohen goes for funny but instead heâ
  21. CalebG
    Jan 18, 2010
    0
    I usually force myself to finish all movies and books, no matter how bad, but I walked out of this movie. Such a disappointment compared to Borat. I give it a 0/10 because I actually asked for my money back.
  22. KevinStanfield
    Dec 27, 2009
    5
    ProudAmerican EvangelicalChristian gave it a1: I was under the impression this movie poked fun at homosexuals. We were shocked and appalled to find out the movie did not do this, but rather made fun of decent ordinary Americans! I was appalled. What is so funny about that? My stomach turned as I watched good Christian Americans made to look like fools. This movie is a disgrace to America! ProudAmerican EvangelicalChristian gave it a1: I was under the impression this movie poked fun at homosexuals. We were shocked and appalled to find out the movie did not do this, but rather made fun of decent ordinary Americans! I was appalled. What is so funny about that? My stomach turned as I watched good Christian Americans made to look like fools. This movie is a disgrace to America! It should be banned. -ProudAmerican EvangelicalChristian I have not seen this movie but I was thinking about renting it. I was reading reviews that users have posted on it. P.A.E.C. said that this movie was un-American and should be banned but banning this movie would be un-American, one of the most important things we should value as an American is freedom of the press. Expand
  23. MiKE
    Dec 23, 2009
    2
    What happened!?!?! Borat was a close to being a masterpiece, yet Bruno is total crap! Why does bruno have to be so mean spirted? The movie should of been so much more!! way more. yet all we got was alot of sick jokes.
  24. AlanLawrence
    Dec 22, 2009
    5
    "Bruno" is a hit-and-miss affair. But as a huge fan of Sasha Baron Cohen's brilliant HBO "Ali G Show" (Rent it!!!), I also found "Borat" to be hit-and-miss. I've seen enough Cohen-as-Borat flat out works of genius on "Ali G" to make "Borat" more of a 'been there' affair (although the nude wrestling match in particular was beyond hysterical). In my view the problem with "Bruno" is a hit-and-miss affair. But as a huge fan of Sasha Baron Cohen's brilliant HBO "Ali G Show" (Rent it!!!), I also found "Borat" to be hit-and-miss. I've seen enough Cohen-as-Borat flat out works of genius on "Ali G" to make "Borat" more of a 'been there' affair (although the nude wrestling match in particular was beyond hysterical). In my view the problem with "Bruno" is that because Cohen's "Ali G" Bruno character was never well fleshed out, a Bruno movie just didn't make sense. "Bruno" has some truly classic moments, though, which make it well worth renting (but the "The Ali G Show" is a must-see!!!:). P.S.. - I've never understood the outrage of some people towards Cohen. Those who find Borat (FYI, Cohen is Jewish) and Bruno (Cohen a homophobe???) to be offensive are probably more uncomfortable with their own prejudices (possibly unconscious in many cases) than their professed shock at the often crude and mean-spirited nature of Cohen's satire (all meant to shine a light on the crude, mean-spirited nature of many segments of American society in particular). Oh well...I guess the joke's on them. Expand
  25. GavinP.
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Cohen shows us just how stupid modern Western culture really is.
  26. critic
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    Best movie ever. NO matter what you think of him, you have to admit he is a genius.
  27. EliasC.
    Dec 15, 2009
    2
    One of the most offensive and unwatchable films I have ever seen seeded throughout with strokes of brilliance that show that if Cohen can get it together, he can produce, write and star in a very good film. This is not it however. The first 20 minutes is simply nauseating. The editor should have left these scenes for the end after the viewer develops at least a little bit of empathy for One of the most offensive and unwatchable films I have ever seen seeded throughout with strokes of brilliance that show that if Cohen can get it together, he can produce, write and star in a very good film. This is not it however. The first 20 minutes is simply nauseating. The editor should have left these scenes for the end after the viewer develops at least a little bit of empathy for the Bruno character. Overall, this film is a waste of talent. Expand
  28. MarcinJ.
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    The main aim of the movie is to show people's prejudice, reactions and perception.
  29. SamN.
    Dec 11, 2009
    1
    When I found out the amount of danger actor and crewman alike went through while making this movie, I was appalled. To think that so many people went through life and death situations to make this tasteless, unfunny mess of a film frustrates me. Had they put their lives at risk for something as funny as Borat, then that would be admirable. But Bruno isn't even an tenth as funny as When I found out the amount of danger actor and crewman alike went through while making this movie, I was appalled. To think that so many people went through life and death situations to make this tasteless, unfunny mess of a film frustrates me. Had they put their lives at risk for something as funny as Borat, then that would be admirable. But Bruno isn't even an tenth as funny as Borat. Borat was crude, yes, but in an intelligent way that was handled with clever, well thought out writing. We got to see people go from 'oh, he's an odd fellow but I'll try to be accepting' to 'get the Hell away from me you freak'. That's funny. Bruno bombards you with the most repulsive crap over and over again. That's not. It does this so often that I became immune to it all and I was flat out bored by the end of the movie. Expand
  30. Darren
    Dec 7, 2009
    0
    Complete waste of money. I turned it off part way through since it was such a waste of time.
  31. Julien
    Dec 6, 2009
    2
    I am not easily offended, but this movie is an outrage. It's not fun at all. It's pointlessly gross and if there was a message in there, it got swallowed by the tons of sick and idiotic situations. To bad, the topic deserved a better treatment.
  32. roland
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    This is visceral satire at its very best. Jonathon Swift on benzedrine. My lungs ached as Bruno lurched from one target to the next. Wise, hilarious and with a moral highway wide enough for a supersize rampant rabbit and a bit more. Not very straight and not very narrow but a work of comic genius and thrusting, ball-busting integrity.
  33. RyanS
    Nov 27, 2009
    7
    Bruno is vulgar and twisted. It's also hilarious. Although it's hard not to feel that it's just a modified version of Borat.
  34. KeijiM
    Nov 27, 2009
    7
    Cheap laughs at the expense of "shocking and obscene" scenes. Pretty boring if you have even the slightest amount of maturity, but it does what it set out to do i guess.
  35. ProudAmericanEvangelicalChristian
    Nov 25, 2009
    1
    I was under the impression this movie poked fun at homosexuals. We were shocked and appalled to find out the movie did not do this, but rather made fun of decent ordinary Americans! I was appalled. What is so funny about that? My stomach turned as I watched good Christian Americans made to look like fools. This movie is a disgrace to America! It should be banned.
  36. JamesH
    Nov 21, 2009
    3
    I just am not a fan of Sasha Baron Cohen, I don
  37. SeanF.
    Nov 21, 2009
    10
    This is undoubtedly one of the top 5 comedies of all time! Anyone who doesn't get it, is either a homophobe IMO, or doesn't really have the sense of humor that he or she thinks they had. Only criticism is that a lot of this movie seemed set up, maybe Borat was too, but that movie seemed much more spontaneous and real to me. Nonetheless, this movie is A LOT funnier than Borat This is undoubtedly one of the top 5 comedies of all time! Anyone who doesn't get it, is either a homophobe IMO, or doesn't really have the sense of humor that he or she thinks they had. Only criticism is that a lot of this movie seemed set up, maybe Borat was too, but that movie seemed much more spontaneous and real to me. Nonetheless, this movie is A LOT funnier than Borat IMO. Don't let the mixed reviews stop you from seeing this if you like Borat, Ali G, or Sacha Baron Cohen. Expand
  38. Michael
    Sep 14, 2009
    10
    AWESOME. i think i actually cried with laughter. those who dont get it are the people who sachin is trying to offend and would be caught in to his trickery if their paths were crossed. honestly the funniest thing ive ever seen. agreed that it probably deserved a R18 rating though.
  39. Dg
    Sep 9, 2009
    9
    The movie challenges societies prejudiced views by using obvious and over the top offensive materials and delivered to an unsuspecting public. in an attempt to capture their reaction. In short this is a creative movie and will appeal towards the liberalised atheist minded.
  40. AaronG.
    Aug 14, 2009
    6
    It was ok. there are 4 hilarious moments, scattered with sort of funny but ok moments. It was ok. This just is not the comedic genius that was borat.
  41. TomG
    Aug 13, 2009
    0
    This movie was ridiculously boring most the time and not worth the money I paid to see it. Thankfully I went during Matinee and only paid $4.50 but even that is way too much for this dumb movie.
  42. Magik300
    Aug 13, 2009
    10
    I've just seen trailer, but I have so much fun over two minutes that I didn't have in years.
  43. EvinC
    Aug 12, 2009
    8
    Funny and shocking. People have to realize it's just a Sacha Cohen comedy. Watch it if your comfortable with his kind of comedy. Made me laugh out loud. Maybe it might make you.
  44. MattF
    Aug 9, 2009
    9
    WOW, it's crude, its racist, it extreme, its Bruno. I loved it, though its hit or miss if you like crude and racist or gay jokes for shock value you'll love it, but don't give it a bad rating if it's not your thing or if you find it over the top its an all around good plot amazing improv and it makes fun of almost everyone from me 2 thumbs up 4.5 of 5 stars.
  45. MannyR.
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    Stop whining about how "gay" this movie was. The fact that you feel uncomfortable seeing a penis in a movie means you shouldn't go and see a movie starring Sacha Baren Cohen. Those people saying that they are 15-30 years old and walked are full of it because at my theatre no one walked out and everyone laughed. The movie was hilarious, plain and simple.
  46. JulieP
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    Brilliant. May be hard for some to watch but brilliant.
  47. JamesV
    Aug 7, 2009
    9
    Anything that pokes fun at the large percentage of ignorant yanks is fine by me. Reading some of the other comments on here makes me think that they saw a little to much of themselves in some of the interviewees/UFC crowds to find it funny. A vicious assault on middle America, a fine place to commence the attack.
  48. Kapeem
    Aug 5, 2009
    0
    I'm a big fan of the Ali G Show, and I know Sacha Baron Cohen is a funny guy, but he failed with Bruno. It's just shock humor and him antagonizing people. No wit, just Tom Green-like antics. Also very disgusting, awkward, and cringe-inducing.
  49. JT.
    Aug 4, 2009
    10
    Anyone giving this movie a 2 or below can say all they want about its repetitiveness, obscenity, and its (because of Borat) been-there-seen-that comedy, but it's a sure cover for massive issues of homophobia. Cohen aims, locks, and fires at a lot of the false friendliness and somehow still acceptable hate of dumb America, each time making a decisive point. From parents willing to Anyone giving this movie a 2 or below can say all they want about its repetitiveness, obscenity, and its (because of Borat) been-there-seen-that comedy, but it's a sure cover for massive issues of homophobia. Cohen aims, locks, and fires at a lot of the false friendliness and somehow still acceptable hate of dumb America, each time making a decisive point. From parents willing to have their two year olds go through liposuction for a part in a movie that will, they are explicitly told, portray baby Nazis carting of baby Jews into the incinerators, to Paula Abdul expounding on her humanitarian views while sitting on a Mexican worker, you get a chance to see how much acting goes on everyday and how true some stereotypes are. And all the time you're being shocked and appalled, you're also laughing yourself up good cardio workout. Basically, behind all that offends and all that makes us crack-up in this wild mockumentary, is a wise portrayal of the facades, ignorance, and unwarranted loathing in America, especially in the areas of gay sexuality strongly reminiscent of other great movies such as "Boys Don't Cry." It defines what good satire is all about. Expand
  50. RegularAmericanFellowChristian
    Aug 4, 2009
    0
    Sorry, but I was mislead into going to see this movie by the rating system in place, which much to my astonishment granted an R rating to this movie, which again and again rubs the viewers eyes in Sasha Barron Cohen's genitals. Simply put, I do not want to see a man's scrotum or peenus when I go to a movie. And I would not expect to see a woman's clitoris at an R rated Sorry, but I was mislead into going to see this movie by the rating system in place, which much to my astonishment granted an R rating to this movie, which again and again rubs the viewers eyes in Sasha Barron Cohen's genitals. Simply put, I do not want to see a man's scrotum or peenus when I go to a movie. And I would not expect to see a woman's clitoris at an R rated movie either. So what's going on in Hollywood that this is becoming part of what is acceptable in R rated films? (Same deal in the closing credits to "Hangover"). Expand
  51. BrettW
    Aug 3, 2009
    4
    Not a very good movie. There are one or two outrageously funny moments but other than that there isn't much to make you belly-laugh. I enjoy awkward shock humor when it works but a lot of it in this movie doesn't work. It may be worth renting this movie to watch with your friends, but save your money and don't see it in theaters. Oh and the people who are giving the film a Not a very good movie. There are one or two outrageously funny moments but other than that there isn't much to make you belly-laugh. I enjoy awkward shock humor when it works but a lot of it in this movie doesn't work. It may be worth renting this movie to watch with your friends, but save your money and don't see it in theaters. Oh and the people who are giving the film a 0 and saying you have to be gay to enjoy the movie, are exactly the type of people this movie was trying to make fun of. I haven't seen anything in my entire life that has offended me enough to say the things that angie a and alisha k are saying. Grow up and get used to seeing things that offend you. And stop bit**ing about it. Expand
  52. ZacH
    Aug 3, 2009
    9
    I thought Bruno was fantastic i would give it a ten but i thought it was too short and i am a perfectly straight man but i must say the beginning is very graphic.
  53. Dave
    Aug 2, 2009
    8
    Jesus, people thought Borat was believable? It is a parody of our perception of Middle Easterners. This movie is a parody of our perception of gay men. I'll tell you what: I'm a straight male. But I kinda hope that every movie for the foreseeable future throws a few naked penises on screen until homophobic guys get over themselves.
  54. L
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Seeing the outrage of the prudish Americans posting in this comment section confirms to me that this is one of the best films of 2009.
  55. angiea
    Jul 29, 2009
    0
    Anyone who likes this movie has to be gay no questions asked. It's not that us straight people "don't get" the movie, it's that were not f***** up enough to think that sh*ts funny. Whats wrong with you people? go rent so more gay porn sick f***s. sick.
  56. alishak
    Jul 29, 2009
    0
    Bruno should be a weird storyline porno. I don't find humor in disgusting gay visuals with poop flying across the screen and brown hand prints smeared on the walls. Any straight person could probably not handle this type of "humor." People are messed up.
  57. michellem
    Jul 29, 2009
    1
    I'm 20 years old and hang out with lots of immature dirty guys and we drink and make dirty jokes for fun. This movie was so disgusting that we almost left after the first scene. We kept trying to give it a chance and laugh at it, but no... it was awkward and crossed too many lines even for the crudest of crowds. I can't believe the world has come to this, publicly putting porn I'm 20 years old and hang out with lots of immature dirty guys and we drink and make dirty jokes for fun. This movie was so disgusting that we almost left after the first scene. We kept trying to give it a chance and laugh at it, but no... it was awkward and crossed too many lines even for the crudest of crowds. I can't believe the world has come to this, publicly putting porn up on the big screen. The one point I gave it was for the like 3 funny scenes the movie did contain: the military scene, the "gayby" with headphones, and the girl whipping him through the window. Expand
  58. OJM
    Jul 29, 2009
    7
    Absolutely outrageous. I laughed way more than at Borat but the subject matter is kind of drivel.
  59. JuraM
    Jul 28, 2009
    5
    A horribly disappointing return to the big screen for Baron Cohen after a fantastic gem named "Borat". Bruno lives up to nor the fun or humour of it's predecessor. In all truth the character of Bruno just isn't as good as Borat's, at all. As another reviewer points out Borat works because it's believable and Borat is likable. Bruno is neither. Often taking it slightly A horribly disappointing return to the big screen for Baron Cohen after a fantastic gem named "Borat". Bruno lives up to nor the fun or humour of it's predecessor. In all truth the character of Bruno just isn't as good as Borat's, at all. As another reviewer points out Borat works because it's believable and Borat is likable. Bruno is neither. Often taking it slightly to far, relying on sheer shock value that has not as much effect as the long-lasting antics of Borat. And dare I say it, Borat actually had a good story, Bruno has none. It may be slightly unfair to judge a movie by anothers standards but Borat raised the bar too high for this genre to live up to! Expand
  60. crystald
    Jul 25, 2009
    0
    Stupid obnoxious movie... can't this guy do anything else? He's not a good actor. it's the same ole same ole as Borat, only this time more vulgar and obscene. People were walkng out. Should be rated NC-17... he makes his money by making fun of others and making fools out of them. I don't like this stupid Jewish moron.... Sacha Baron Cohen. he ha, what a joke he is!
  61. GregoryB
    Jul 24, 2009
    9
    Some in the gay community had predicted that this film would be harmful for gays. I have to disagree. The character Bruno is a parody of the way homophobic people think of gay men: vain, vacuous, irresponsible sex-freaks. Poking at the issues of adoption, military service, and marriage, the film unveils these same characteristics in ordinary straight people. It is not perfect, but it is a Some in the gay community had predicted that this film would be harmful for gays. I have to disagree. The character Bruno is a parody of the way homophobic people think of gay men: vain, vacuous, irresponsible sex-freaks. Poking at the issues of adoption, military service, and marriage, the film unveils these same characteristics in ordinary straight people. It is not perfect, but it is a hilarious and brilliant satire of homophobia. A must-see. Expand
  62. RobertH
    Jul 24, 2009
    10
    Funny and smart. Remember : "You can laugh with anything but not with anybody"
  63. PhilA
    Jul 23, 2009
    3
    The movie has it's funny parts, but frankly, it's just too vulgar. Homosexuality is one thing, but there's just too much penis in that movie to be enjoyable. Frankly, I don't know it received an R rating. I laughed, but left disturbed.
  64. JillianT.
    Jul 23, 2009
    0
    I liked da ali g show and borat but this was awful... dumb humor, vile antics, stupid storyline (why is there even a storyline? it would have been better without one).
  65. AdamO
    Jul 22, 2009
    1
    This movie wasn't funny, but rather crude and disgusting. Scenes that weren't obscene were too similar to those in "Borat" and did not bring forth humor or a sense of a storyline.
  66. MikeK
    Jul 22, 2009
    4
    Borat succeeded largely because the character was so likeable. The situations he found himself in were the result of his presumed innocence and cultural ignorance. The character of Bruno isn't nearly as likeable, so the "victims" of his pranks often generate enough empathy to make you feel bad for them. With Borat, while you sometimes felt bad for his victims, it wasn't the Borat succeeded largely because the character was so likeable. The situations he found himself in were the result of his presumed innocence and cultural ignorance. The character of Bruno isn't nearly as likeable, so the "victims" of his pranks often generate enough empathy to make you feel bad for them. With Borat, while you sometimes felt bad for his victims, it wasn't the dominant emotion. The rating should probably be NC-17. That much sex, gay or straight, simulated or not, is too heavy for the "R". Overall the film disappoints. Expand
  67. DerfP
    Jul 22, 2009
    0
    The film uses shock as the main recipe for laughter, which generally works for me, but not in this movie. The problem is that it's excessive and monotonous, therefore tiring and predictable. Shorter sequences of the shock-scenes would have saved the film by maintaining an element of surprise. I also think the timing of this film is wrong. Too much time has passed since Ali G and The film uses shock as the main recipe for laughter, which generally works for me, but not in this movie. The problem is that it's excessive and monotonous, therefore tiring and predictable. Shorter sequences of the shock-scenes would have saved the film by maintaining an element of surprise. I also think the timing of this film is wrong. Too much time has passed since Ali G and Borat, so arguably the novelty of cringe-flicks has worn off. It seems the director knew this and so decided to make it as tasteless as possible as a plea to the audience that there is still something on offer. There is not. Expand
  68. MikeMike
    Jul 21, 2009
    3
    Outrageous and original--I'll give it that. However, the gags are too scripted not to notice, or disgusting for the sake of being disgusting. (Mind you, I enjoy the Jackass movies.) Where Borat was at least mostly plausible, this thing is ridiculously unbelievable. I could not help calling "bogus" through the entire movie. Let's hope the next movie isn't just an attempt at Outrageous and original--I'll give it that. However, the gags are too scripted not to notice, or disgusting for the sake of being disgusting. (Mind you, I enjoy the Jackass movies.) Where Borat was at least mostly plausible, this thing is ridiculously unbelievable. I could not help calling "bogus" through the entire movie. Let's hope the next movie isn't just an attempt at cashing in on the way out. Too bad. Save your money and see this one at home if you must. Expand
  69. BillyS
    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    Makes me proud not to be a right-wing Christian conservative!! Cohen is a ground breaking, take-no-enemies, comic genius! Can't wait for Ali G.
  70. MichaelB.
    Jul 21, 2009
    6
    It wasn't horrible, but after a while, I felt like watching Borat again. Plus, it seemed that many scenes were staged unlike Borat, where it all looked unscripted. Not that bad overall though.
  71. HyperS
    Jul 21, 2009
    7
    Its crude. Extremely sexual in nature. And I would imagine quite offensive to the homosexual community.. But, it was funny... and time seemed to fly by. Jackass & Bruno... same level of humor... like one you'd probably like the other. Just remember. Kids don't go with your parents. Parents don't go with your kids. Would make for an extremely embarrassing and life scaring Its crude. Extremely sexual in nature. And I would imagine quite offensive to the homosexual community.. But, it was funny... and time seemed to fly by. Jackass & Bruno... same level of humor... like one you'd probably like the other. Just remember. Kids don't go with your parents. Parents don't go with your kids. Would make for an extremely embarrassing and life scaring event (poor 14 year old going with grandma/grandpa. Poor 14 year old going period. ITS FOR ADULTS!). Expand
  72. JohnK
    Jul 20, 2009
    0
    Being a construction worker all my life, I think this is the sickest movie I have ever attended. I had company walking out during the movie, if that is what you call that filth? Disgusting is the best word. Its a good thing we have alot of good and great movies.
  73. DaneilA
    Jul 20, 2009
    10
    The funniest movie I have seen in a LONG time, including of course, Borat. That movie will get the praise, but the true cult movie classic is here.
  74. Stuartw
    Jul 20, 2009
    8
    When i saw the user rating comments i thought hmmm? This could be a disappointment, but as i loved Borat so much i thought i would give it a go. The first few minutes i was smelling a turkey then it turned into a great film. I am 33 and consider myself a liberal thinking person, i guess you have to be to enjoy this film. Some of the jokes are very graphic. But i was laughing out loud When i saw the user rating comments i thought hmmm? This could be a disappointment, but as i loved Borat so much i thought i would give it a go. The first few minutes i was smelling a turkey then it turned into a great film. I am 33 and consider myself a liberal thinking person, i guess you have to be to enjoy this film. Some of the jokes are very graphic. But i was laughing out loud throughout the film and left with a huge smile on my face. the guy is a genius, not quite as good as Borat, but if you want a good laugh then please ignore the poor ratings and go and see it for yourself. Expand
  75. BradolphP.
    Jul 20, 2009
    7
    This movie made my butt hurt.
  76. majoy.
    Jul 20, 2009
    9
    I can't believe the negative reviews. I saw this and Borat within the first 10 days they came out and had little interest really in both. Borat was good, funny, some gross, but a bit long for me....didn't inspire me to want to see Bruno.... But as things go, friends were going, and so I went along, with little excitement because I saw some of the negative reviews. But Bruno was I can't believe the negative reviews. I saw this and Borat within the first 10 days they came out and had little interest really in both. Borat was good, funny, some gross, but a bit long for me....didn't inspire me to want to see Bruno.... But as things go, friends were going, and so I went along, with little excitement because I saw some of the negative reviews. But Bruno was sensationally funny, way over the top, had several moments where you couldn't watch, but were laughing ridiculously hard as yuo closed your eyes. Bruno totally plays on the whole accept everyone mentality of the USA and yet really can't except the gays....I mean Sacha Baren Cohen is a comedic genius. I am not going to give anything away, and advise folks not to read too much before seeing it. But there wasn't really a bad moment at all in this entire movie. From start to finish it was a total laugh riot. The Pros: get ready to laugh really hard at this surprisingly intellectual gross out movie....the jokes are a mile a minute and told mostly all straight, but the grand joke of prejudice is felt at the end. Cohen does a remarkable job in both characters (Bruno and his alt ego at the end of the movie). There's not a movie like this that really has ever been made (this made Borat seem very very tame). Cons: Well I don't know if I could watch this again....there were some really cringe moments. But this was an absolutely great movie nonetheless. I'm surprised it got only an R rating though, definitely not for kids really under 17.... I am excited to see what else Mr. Cohen has up his sleeves in future years. Expand
  77. DW
    Jul 19, 2009
    0
    This "movie" should be rated XXXX for explicit sexual content (videos of anal and oral sex acts, although marginally covered over some body parts.) Other than that it was awful, not funny and just another reason that I shouldn't ever go to a theater again. The previews and reviews of this movie completely ignore the explicit content of this movie and are misleading and lies.
  78. AaronN.
    Jul 19, 2009
    6
    Some very funny moments, but way too polished and way too much male on male sex.
  79. ShirleyF.
    Jul 19, 2009
    0
    I was appalled. We walked out after 15 minutes. Everyone I talked to at the theater said it was a horrible movie including the manager who gave me my money back. (First time I ever walked out on a movie) They even let my 14 year old grandson in and he couldn't wait to leave. If you all feel that this was a good movie then "what is becoming of our morals?
  80. HelpU
    Jul 19, 2009
    0
    If you like the fact that you went to see this movie when your mom told you not to, please voice your praise otherwise this isn't a movie, it is the worst and longest joke ever to appear on the silver screen that only feeds on controversy for its punch lines. I have never seen the Ali G Show but he sounds like a pretty cheap comedian that doesn't know how to make a real joke If you like the fact that you went to see this movie when your mom told you not to, please voice your praise otherwise this isn't a movie, it is the worst and longest joke ever to appear on the silver screen that only feeds on controversy for its punch lines. I have never seen the Ali G Show but he sounds like a pretty cheap comedian that doesn't know how to make a real joke rather to get himself in court and on Fox News. Expand
  81. TomP
    Jul 19, 2009
    3
    The homosexuality and stretched, seemingly staged skits far outweighs the funny. The character is nowhere near as entertaining as Borat, and the story was even weaker. An interview with a gay converter was a particular highlight for me, but times when he merely tried to make people uncomfortable using homosexual shock techniques and nudity were just boriing and unoriginal. Wait for this The homosexuality and stretched, seemingly staged skits far outweighs the funny. The character is nowhere near as entertaining as Borat, and the story was even weaker. An interview with a gay converter was a particular highlight for me, but times when he merely tried to make people uncomfortable using homosexual shock techniques and nudity were just boriing and unoriginal. Wait for this on DVD, it's not worth seeing in theatres. Expand
  82. RyanZ.
    Jul 19, 2009
    1
    I went to this movie with my wife on the weekend and we were the 3rd group of people to walk out by about the 1 hour mark. I can't believe a major studio spent as much money as they did on this super-lightweight project. At least we got a full refund.
  83. "JeffreyW.
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    Comic genius. Not a movie to see with your parents. "We've decided to cast your baby as a nazi officer pushing a baby dressed as a jew in a wheelbarrow into an oven!"
  84. LarsK.
    Jul 19, 2009
    8
    Not equal to "Borat" in terms of quality but still far better than any Hollywood-Comedy-Movie in recent years. Brüno infiltrates the american (sub)culture to stimulate your laugh muscles with unforgettable scenes and I bet even homosexuals will giggle one or two times. Brünos appearance is totaly cute and loveable you cant be mad at this guy. So all of you puffy patriots raise Not equal to "Borat" in terms of quality but still far better than any Hollywood-Comedy-Movie in recent years. Brüno infiltrates the american (sub)culture to stimulate your laugh muscles with unforgettable scenes and I bet even homosexuals will giggle one or two times. Brünos appearance is totaly cute and loveable you cant be mad at this guy. So all of you puffy patriots raise your hands to the brave new Fuhrer, ja!?! Hail Bruno. Expand
  85. JonB.
    Jul 18, 2009
    6
    The slapstick humor was only so-so in this movie, but small subtleties are wonderful. Ironically, you really have to pay attention to every word that Bruno says because there is probably a small, subtle joke there. I thought those were the best part.
  86. IsaiahG.
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    In the begining of the film I thought it was going to be a disaster. But then as the film progressed it made sense. Bruno was really pointing out the ignorance in some people of the world; but he did it in the most hilarious way possible. And it is true that it kind of resembles his last film "Borat". But the point of his films is to not only to make you laugh but also to make you think. In the begining of the film I thought it was going to be a disaster. But then as the film progressed it made sense. Bruno was really pointing out the ignorance in some people of the world; but he did it in the most hilarious way possible. And it is true that it kind of resembles his last film "Borat". But the point of his films is to not only to make you laugh but also to make you think. Its like he holds a mirror to his audience showing how they can be. Its not a masterpiece, but its his work of art. Expand
  87. PhilB
    Jul 18, 2009
    8
    Good. The unnoticed joke is on the audience members who are offended by raunchy homosexuality. Most bits were funny. Some weren't.
  88. JamesP.
    Jul 18, 2009
    7
    The funniest moments fall into two categories. Those which are just ridiculously over the top (eg. Bruno's TV pilot) and those which truly expose people's bigotry, moral outrage or just plain stupidity. Highlight for me was the auditions for the baby actors (can your baby operate heavy machinery?). Certainly not for everyone, and not a unequivocal success as was Borat, but The funniest moments fall into two categories. Those which are just ridiculously over the top (eg. Bruno's TV pilot) and those which truly expose people's bigotry, moral outrage or just plain stupidity. Highlight for me was the auditions for the baby actors (can your baby operate heavy machinery?). Certainly not for everyone, and not a unequivocal success as was Borat, but plenty of laughs for those prepared to put their sensitivities to one side. Expand
  89. JohnM.
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    This film shines the light on homophobia like Archie bunker did on racism. Excellent. I'm still laughing.
  90. BrandonD
    Jul 17, 2009
    0
    I love the Ali G show on HBO with Bruno, but Bruno the movie is TERRIBLE! I think they ran out of creative funny ideas so they decided to shock people and show penises, gay sex, and porn. And that
  91. PaulM.
    Jul 17, 2009
    10
    Sacha Baron Cohen is a genius. The jokes weren't as funny as Borat, but the awkward situations were hilarious. He obviously made this movie just to see how much he could get away with. It turns out that's quite a lot, as Baron Cohen managed to expose the American public to sights normally reserved for internet shock videos.
  92. IanC
    Jul 17, 2009
    6
    Bruno has its funny parts--many more so than the average movie marketed as a "comedy" coming out these days--but those parts are just so terribly framed. The pacing is terrible, it's too short (75 minutes without credits), the staged bits are very obvious and quite poorly done, and there are entirely too many uh penises in it. The bottom line is that, though this movie had potential, Bruno has its funny parts--many more so than the average movie marketed as a "comedy" coming out these days--but those parts are just so terribly framed. The pacing is terrible, it's too short (75 minutes without credits), the staged bits are very obvious and quite poorly done, and there are entirely too many uh penises in it. The bottom line is that, though this movie had potential, I'd probably rather watch Borat for the 10th time than watch Bruno for the 2nd. Expand
  93. Martin
    Jul 17, 2009
    1
    This movie sucked. There were about 3 or 4 actual jokes, the rest was all just for shock value. It's damn near unwatchable, it's not entertaining. Oh lets show guys doing the gayest thing possible to show how intolerant we americans are! NEWS FLASH, just because straight people dont want to see a bunch of dicks flapping around and two guys making out for a half hour in the deep This movie sucked. There were about 3 or 4 actual jokes, the rest was all just for shock value. It's damn near unwatchable, it's not entertaining. Oh lets show guys doing the gayest thing possible to show how intolerant we americans are! NEWS FLASH, just because straight people dont want to see a bunch of dicks flapping around and two guys making out for a half hour in the deep south doesn't make you intolerant, it makes you ****ing normal. are vegetarians considered intolerant if they are disgusted by animal slaughter at a butcher shop? NO, its something they personally find nasty and that's fine. This movie was a softcore gay porn with a couple jokes. This age of political correctness makes me sick, stop trying to shove your "love everything" agenda down our throats. There's a reason people are disgusted by shit like this, none of them being that it was funny. Manuel Q if you think this is the best comedian film you've ever seen you must be gayer than will and grace. This movie is garbage. For the record i thought Borat was hilarious, but that's because it had more jokes and was more original, bruno was a rehash, and a terrible one at that. unoriginal and unfunny. Expand
  94. NoahB
    Jul 17, 2009
    4
    This film should have a category of its own - 'Performance Art' or something like that. That's because it's not a 'Comedy' or 'Documentary' or anything else that you may have seen before, other than 'Borat'. If you look at it that way, that it's not a traditional type of film; it doesn't fit into any normal category; then it kind This film should have a category of its own - 'Performance Art' or something like that. That's because it's not a 'Comedy' or 'Documentary' or anything else that you may have seen before, other than 'Borat'. If you look at it that way, that it's not a traditional type of film; it doesn't fit into any normal category; then it kind of makes sense. Otherwise, you're going to be saying WTF? I don't consider this to be a comedy. It's more like a montage of shocking scenes which may make you laugh, but are just as, if not more likely, to disgust and horrify you. Either way, these scenes going to make you react strongly. And I believe that's the main point of Performance Art. If you want to have a strong reaction to something, if you want to be surprised, probably horrified, possibly greatly amused, go see 'Bruno'. Otherwise, you're welcome to stay home and watch reruns of 'Everybody Loves Raymond'. Personally, I laughed at some of the scenes, while others had me covering my face, not wanting to watch or hear what was happening. I would have liked some of the scenes and concepts to be developed more because I thought they were interesting and/or funny, but they were only given very brief exposure. Other scenes, I wish I had never seen them and will try to erase them from memory. Cohen is very talented, though strange. There are lifetimes of material in Bruno, if developed properly. Perhaps he is not interested in developing any of the concepts he has introduced in a deeper, more meaningful and less disgusting way, but he has opened a door for others to do so in the future. After all that, I can't decide if I love or hate the film. I think it's an important film, it's groundbreaking, it will change the world in some way for better or worse, but do I like it? I like parts of it. I hate other parts. Expand
  95. KubaS
    Jul 17, 2009
    9
    Not as good as Borat, it's still top act from Cohen. Yes, it's stupid. No, it doesn't make you think. It makes you laugh though.
  96. R.C.
    Jul 16, 2009
    0
    This movie should be rated XXX. It is disgusting and dirty. We walked out of the threater after 15 minutes, requested refund and got it. Do not waste your time with this movie.
  97. ManuelQ.
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    Simply: is the best comedian film I've seen in my life.
  98. LuisG
    Jul 16, 2009
    6
    The shock is there yet with less merit than BORAT most scenes feel clustered together and leave you with no real value except shock. Yes America is still intolerant but it really gives no help to the cause pure capitalism on Americas lack of coherence to how narcissistic and desperate to be in control.
  99. MattK.
    Jul 16, 2009
    7
    A really funny movie with great shticks and one-liners, unfortunately the gay fanfare was just over the top and nearly had me questioning my own sexuality.
  100. AndrewG
    Jul 16, 2009
    10
    Despite the 10 rating, this is not a perfect film -- parts of it drag and some of it falls flat -- nonetheless, the parts that work are so outrageously funny and dead on in their lampooning of celebrity culture, homophobia, and sheer human stupidity that it deserves top rating -- if only for the Man Slammin finale.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 34
  2. Negative: 6 out of 34
  1. Bruno is only intermittently funny and all too often the "ambushes" of celebrities and civilians look staged. The movie is even a tad -- dare we say it? -- tedious.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Undeniably funny, outrageous and boundary-pushing, this further documentation of Sacha Baron Cohen's sheer nerve will draw an abundant share of "Borat" fans.
  3. Is Brüno riotous? Yes, more so than "Borat," in which Baron Cohen's targets were ducks in a barrel and largely undeserving of ridicule. He doesn't aim much higher here, but his tricks are more inventive.