Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: August 24, 2001
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 47 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
33
Mixed:
8
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
OneWhoKnowsAug 25, 2010
The best soundtrack EVER! The best of the strangest comedies in history. I tried to find another movie by the author of Bubble Boy... nothing I could find works as well as this.
Should be ranked as one of the best comedies (although I know
The best soundtrack EVER! The best of the strangest comedies in history. I tried to find another movie by the author of Bubble Boy... nothing I could find works as well as this.
Should be ranked as one of the best comedies (although I know it won't). Too many Napoleon Dynamite fans out there...
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
FelixQ.Jul 25, 2006
I will defend this one unto the death. Well, maybe not *death*, but you get the point. I actually laughed out loud while watching it on my own, which doesn't happen often. I really am a sap for the puppy-dog eyes male leads, and this I will defend this one unto the death. Well, maybe not *death*, but you get the point. I actually laughed out loud while watching it on my own, which doesn't happen often. I really am a sap for the puppy-dog eyes male leads, and this movie just scratches the itch in the hard to reach spot in he middle of my back. Metaphorically speaking, that it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JackieU.Aug 22, 2002
Way off da scalez!!!! jake gyllenhaal is my favorite actor and he's da hottest 2! i have a cousin that stars in movies like zoolander and meet the parent, but he's not as funny as jake!!!iiiiii loooovvvvveeeeeee uuuuu Way off da scalez!!!! jake gyllenhaal is my favorite actor and he's da hottest 2! i have a cousin that stars in movies like zoolander and meet the parent, but he's not as funny as jake!!!iiiiii loooovvvvveeeeeee uuuuu jjjjakkkkeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!~*~*~*~*by:jackie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BigK.Dec 20, 2005
Gyllenhall is (in my view) not that great. He picked a winner to star in here though. V.funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamanthaMay 11, 2006
I Loved this movie. its a true fairytale, and it even has the fairytale ending. its my favourite!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
hillaryMay 11, 2006
This movie ROCKS!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Nov 22, 2005
"Bubble Boy" wants to have it both ways; tasteless, with a sweet underpinning, but for this story of a boy with an immunity disorder to really work, the filmmakers needed to be fearless like the people who made the underrated "Pumpkin". To "Bubble Boy" wants to have it both ways; tasteless, with a sweet underpinning, but for this story of a boy with an immunity disorder to really work, the filmmakers needed to be fearless like the people who made the underrated "Pumpkin". To make fun of disabled people is a risky proposition and "Bubble Boy" cops out, choosing rather to make fun of Hinduism and foreign accents. There's also a missed opportunity to satirize a certain brand of Christian fundamentalism, the hypocritical kind; which triggered a bout of deja vu, and then I remembered, oh yeah, "Saved", another film that played it too safe. "Bubble Boy" seems more like material for a pre-"Hairspray" John Waters vehicle than a mainstream flick, but it's worth seeing because Jake Gyllenhaal is on the verge of stardom. Maggie's brother is immensely likable, even when he's parroting, "500 dollahs!" Ever Carradine should've played his love interest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jAbMaNMar 2, 2011
One of the best Jake Gyllenhaal movies I ever seen, following Donnie Darko. Great comedy and great acting in the process.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews