User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KevinG.
    Feb 18, 2006
    10
  2. MaryW.
    Mar 10, 2006
    1
    this is one of the most boring movies i have ever seen - including my in-laws' vacsation videos!
  3. JeffJ.
    Feb 15, 2006
    4
    One critic said that this movie is "Easier to admire than love", and I think that sums it up nicely. This is a film school exercise, not a movie that could ever appeal to general audiences. I agree that the technique is interesting, particularly the factory sequences, but even a well-made movie about a boring subject is still boring. I would only recommend this film to hard-core One critic said that this movie is "Easier to admire than love", and I think that sums it up nicely. This is a film school exercise, not a movie that could ever appeal to general audiences. I agree that the technique is interesting, particularly the factory sequences, but even a well-made movie about a boring subject is still boring. I would only recommend this film to hard-core cinemaphiles. And finally, can someone explain why it's called "Bubble"? Deliberately obscure crap like that annoys me. Expand
  4. EdwardV.
    Mar 12, 2006
    1
    I am disabled and have watched a lot of movies over the last 15 years. I have registered over 1,000 reviews on the netflix site in the last 3 years alone, and i have to say that Bubble is the most boring, dull, piece of crap I've ever seen.I am very angry at having wasted my time watching this exercise in futility. I rented it because Roger Ebert called it a masterpiece. Comparing I am disabled and have watched a lot of movies over the last 15 years. I have registered over 1,000 reviews on the netflix site in the last 3 years alone, and i have to say that Bubble is the most boring, dull, piece of crap I've ever seen.I am very angry at having wasted my time watching this exercise in futility. I rented it because Roger Ebert called it a masterpiece. Comparing this movie to a masterpiece is like comparing grass growing to the Super Bowl. I don't know where his head was on this one, but I don't know if I'll ever trust his opinion again. I've been reading movie reviews for many years on many sites, but I've never seen one miss it this bad! If life isn't hard enough! Expand
  5. JakeG.
    Jan 27, 2006
    9
    Despite being very plauding and somewhat unengaging this film is incredible. Not for most-and if one goes in with any need for help from the filmmaker to make sense of this movie than forget it, because Soderbergh is not helping you. This is life filmed. Everything about it rings true. When I say true, I don't mean in a "what does it all mean" way but in a that is exactly what life Despite being very plauding and somewhat unengaging this film is incredible. Not for most-and if one goes in with any need for help from the filmmaker to make sense of this movie than forget it, because Soderbergh is not helping you. This is life filmed. Everything about it rings true. When I say true, I don't mean in a "what does it all mean" way but in a that is exactly what life in a small, poor, white, boring town is like. No musical cues, no punch ups, no indicators, nothing that a conventional mystery is-this film is about people frozen. And it works with icy precision. Expand
  6. BenK
    Jan 30, 2006
    7
    A flim for the head more than for the heart. Perhaps one of the most authentic American films in its depictions of rural, working-class life but everything about the movie felt so pre-ordained I had litte emotional connection to what was happening on screen.
  7. GeorgeR.
    Feb 2, 2006
    7
    I
  8. Filmfan
    Jan 27, 2006
    9
    I found this film to be very absorbing- the tone is very flat in a way that is completely fascinating. It seems like a cross between an Erroll Morris film and a Jeff Wall photograph, but the stylization does not reduce the presence of the actors. Laser sharp and refreshingly different.
  9. SpongeeeKhodadadi
    Jan 29, 2006
    9
    Simple. Flat. Short. GREAT! When you get to the end, you want more but can walk out of the theater satisfied because anymore would be superfluous and spoil the emotion of the film. And that was some shady stuff how Rose took Kyle's money.
  10. AlexF.
    Feb 1, 2006
    9
    BUBBLE may lapse into psychodrama, but it is also a remarkably accurate picture of how many people live in Middle America. Sophisticated city audiences may snicker at these "hicks," but the majority of ordinary Americans will recognize themselves and hoiw they live. Whether they will welcome what they see is problematical, but BUBBLE is well worth seeing, if only for the fact that the BUBBLE may lapse into psychodrama, but it is also a remarkably accurate picture of how many people live in Middle America. Sophisticated city audiences may snicker at these "hicks," but the majority of ordinary Americans will recognize themselves and hoiw they live. Whether they will welcome what they see is problematical, but BUBBLE is well worth seeing, if only for the fact that the characters (mostly non-professionals, in dead-on if flat and prosaic portrayals) actually WORK for a living. How often do we see that in an American movie lately? Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Phil Hall
    20
    Bubble is among his (Soderbergh) worst films. What in the world was he thinking with this?
  2. An embarrassment to all concerned, the film was written, directed and produced by Soderbergh for reasons that are not readily apparent.
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    80
    The film doesn't judge or prod its characters, just watches the long fuse of the plot dwindle, then explode.