Sundance Selects | Release Date: June 17, 2011
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 20 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
16
Mixed:
1
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
pdw123Sep 19, 2016
This documentary is the best ever and a keeper, no matter if you're a horseman or not. Also, as a person whose family and extended family has experienced emotional and physical abuse, many more great documentaries about this very subject needThis documentary is the best ever and a keeper, no matter if you're a horseman or not. Also, as a person whose family and extended family has experienced emotional and physical abuse, many more great documentaries about this very subject need to be made, because this is really quite crucial to all our understanding (also considering all the other bad films and forgetful nonsense coming out these days). I have now viewed it a few times in the year since it came out and am still mesmerized by it. Personally, I'd probably give Buck my presidential endorsement. Also, the fact that the average review on here is not 5 stars (which is what this deserves!) is definitely a sign that there is still much abuse and callous insensitivity going on in America, and in secrecy, and I know this to be the case! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CamilloPiarulliSep 8, 2015
Although Buck may not appeal to most people (that goes for me too), this short documentary demonstrated that it deserves the title of "unexpected treat". The story itself is not very rich or elaborate, but Buck Brannaman's analogies and hisAlthough Buck may not appeal to most people (that goes for me too), this short documentary demonstrated that it deserves the title of "unexpected treat". The story itself is not very rich or elaborate, but Buck Brannaman's analogies and his real life story are enough to steal anyone's heart. "Horses are incredibly forgiving. They fill in places we're not capable of filling ourselves." ~Buck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
toemac65Jun 26, 2013
A truly inspiring emotional movie about a fascinating individual. Pulls at the heartstrings without pandering and is a nice little piece of Americana as well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EdenAug 16, 2011
Buck is someone we all should learn from, and a remarkable man. This movie doesn't quite do him justice. Unfortunately, this movie could have been culled down into an hour tv documentary and probably have been just as good. The producersBuck is someone we all should learn from, and a remarkable man. This movie doesn't quite do him justice. Unfortunately, this movie could have been culled down into an hour tv documentary and probably have been just as good. The producers may have borrowed from Buck a little too much and failed to plum the depths of the man, instead merely letting us hear a whisper of him. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MhbytbJul 24, 2011
I thought the movie was very real. Because it was real, it said a lot about the frailties of humans, even the frailties of Buck.
Beautiful horses, great characters, good cinematography.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VeshayJul 17, 2011
Truly this is great movie for all ages. It has a unique style of a movie with a critical look at the side of the animal as part of our lives. The acting is a real pleasure to watch with the reality of both living and helping others to helpTruly this is great movie for all ages. It has a unique style of a movie with a critical look at the side of the animal as part of our lives. The acting is a real pleasure to watch with the reality of both living and helping others to help themselves and their animals fit together in our lives. The family aspect was vital in making and location filming adds so much to its poignancy. Each member of the family with Buck work together and become a important force for each family and animal they help. Outstanding filming and narration from friends, coworkers, put this movie into the top 10 of the year for me. Hope it can get vital distribution throughout the country. A screen gem ! 5 out 5 for me Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
txrangersfan72Jul 2, 2011
A good documentary is entertaining, educational, informative and usually makes you leave the theater thinking long after the movie has ended. While many documentaries have a political or moral stance, it is the rare documentary that fulfillsA good documentary is entertaining, educational, informative and usually makes you leave the theater thinking long after the movie has ended. While many documentaries have a political or moral stance, it is the rare documentary that fulfills all of the criteria for a good documentary, yet really has no purpose other than to enlighten. "Buck," is the documentary of real-life horse whisperer Buck Brannaman, his path to the life he chose, the lessons he learned as a child and how he took the right path as an adult in spite of his past.

"Buck" was timely for me as it represented what is in my heart at the moment. Wanting to enjoy each moment as they come. Not dwell on the past. Turn the negative things that have happened to me into positive things for the future. While the documentary did serve to tell Buck's story, as well as give insight into the amazing work he does as a horse trainer, it did much more. It displayed immense insight into fatherhood, parenting, patience and living for the positive things in our short lives.

While watching, I frequently thought of my estranged father-in-law, whom I believe would love this movie. Not only as a father, but also as a love for the roots of what makes a good cowboy.

"Buck" is a beautifully shot film with a captivating, heartwarming, as well as heartbreaking, story. I couldn't encourage seeing it more.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews