User Score
1.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 111
  2. Negative: 88 out of 111

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 12, 2011
    1
    Skip-it - Christina Ricci and Stephen Dorff's careers are officially over. They are no longer stars. And neither is Bucky Larson. One of the worst films of the year.
  2. Sep 12, 2011
    0
    Absolute, utter garbage. Nick Swardson is so void of talent that he should be banned from breathing. Everything about this film is completely embarrassing to the film industry as a whole. Seeing an actress like Christina Ricci in this film is just a disgrace and proof that her career is in the toilet. There is nothing worthwhile to say about this movie, if someone were to like thisAbsolute, utter garbage. Nick Swardson is so void of talent that he should be banned from breathing. Everything about this film is completely embarrassing to the film industry as a whole. Seeing an actress like Christina Ricci in this film is just a disgrace and proof that her career is in the toilet. There is nothing worthwhile to say about this movie, if someone were to like this then they probably have no soul and/or no brain. Burn any copies you find and stop being friends with anyone who likes this kind of swill. Very strong candidate for worst film of the year. Expand
  3. Sep 20, 2011
    0
    Who ever keeps thinking crap like this (film?) should be made are devoid of all talent.
    A lot of the stars in this movie are ...ok actors, but this movie has done a great disservice to them all.
    Skip it or burn it your choice.
  4. Sep 14, 2011
    0
    Awful. Makes no sense on any level or in any way and the poor stars who was talked into doing this might as well go home. Their careers are over: Edward Hermann (Remember FDR) Steven Dorff, Don Johnson, Christina Ricci and even poor Nick Tuturro. I think only Kevin Nealon may survive this because his character was so inexplicable that it almost doesn't matter.
  5. Sep 15, 2011
    0
    I actually wasted an hour and a half of my life with this movie? I knew it was going to be atrocious but i had to kill time, good thing i work at my theater so i got in for free. Their is a reason why this movie had one of the worst openings for a wide release movie of all time, its because its the dumbest and most pointless and stupid thins to ever be created. I cant even call it a movieI actually wasted an hour and a half of my life with this movie? I knew it was going to be atrocious but i had to kill time, good thing i work at my theater so i got in for free. Their is a reason why this movie had one of the worst openings for a wide release movie of all time, its because its the dumbest and most pointless and stupid thins to ever be created. I cant even call it a movie because this is a disgrace to the movie business, whatever you do, do not waste your money nor your valuable time with this piece of crap. Definite 0/10 Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2011
    0
    There are so many reasons why I will not see "Bucky Larson: Born To Be a Star."

    1. The film looks so bad, even Grandma's Boy only had two feet of a porno movie. 2. A boring and unfunny comedy that should get a razzie next year. 3. Why is Adam Sandler producing this appauling mess? One thing is for certain, put this in the list in the box office bombs list and send it next to Mars Needs
    There are so many reasons why I will not see "Bucky Larson: Born To Be a Star."

    1. The film looks so bad, even Grandma's Boy only had two feet of a porno movie.
    2. A boring and unfunny comedy that should get a razzie next year.
    3. Why is Adam Sandler producing this appauling mess?

    One thing is for certain, put this in the list in the box office bombs list and send it next to Mars Needs Moms and Green Lantern all over their death certificate.
    Expand
  7. Sep 22, 2011
    0
    I first saw the trailer thinking it was a joke...some sort of funny or die skit. It was so horrendous I had to go see the movie. Lets just say my first impression was right. Don't waste the money but watch it eventually for a laugh at how horrible it is.
  8. Dec 28, 2011
    4
    First off we all knew this movie was going to be a sausage fest and completely stupid and immature but really lay off the guys I thought many of the critics including Rotten Tomatoes were way to harsh by giving this a 0%, I admit with out denial the movie was garbage and not worth anymore than a 35% on a scale to 100 but it profiled its purpose by grossing you out and making you chuckleFirst off we all knew this movie was going to be a sausage fest and completely stupid and immature but really lay off the guys I thought many of the critics including Rotten Tomatoes were way to harsh by giving this a 0%, I admit with out denial the movie was garbage and not worth anymore than a 35% on a scale to 100 but it profiled its purpose by grossing you out and making you chuckle once in a while, I really don't see how Borat is any better but in all honesty this movie sucked. Expand
  9. Oct 7, 2011
    1
    Christina Ricci And Stephen Dorff What The Hell??? All Of Your Other Movies Are Ok... Why Does This Movie Suck?? Honestly This Is One Of The Worst Movies I Have Ever Seen! Acting Is God Awful, And So Is The Plot... There Trying To Be Funny.... But I'm Not Laughing... Its Production Values Are Meh.. Brings It Up 1 Pt... I Want This Movie To Be Nammed "The Worst Movie Of The Year"
  10. Sep 27, 2011
    0
    If there is one phrase that could sum up this film ; Never go full retard........
  11. Nov 25, 2011
    4
    lol saw this in theaters; i knew it would be dumb, but i was shocked at just how dumb it was; there were parts that had me laughing uncontrollably, and other parts that tried way to hard to be funny.

    all in all its pretty bad movie; its almost so bad that its good; but it falls just short of that.
  12. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    movies like these give me hope. that i will be a good filmmaker. i can't believe movies like these get made!!! only because they have people like adam sandler being a producer. that's the only reason they get made. if i brought them the script for this movie they'd laugh me out of the building, but put adam sandler as a producer and bam it gets made!!! BULLSH*T
  13. Oct 3, 2011
    1
    Trully pathethical and terrifying movie, the acting is horrible, born to be an idiot should be the real title, totally disappointed, after the movie finished, I was begging the owners of the cinema, I wanted my money bag... I wanted it.
  14. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Stephen Dorf, who gave the best performance of his career last year in "Somewhere" follows that with the EGREGIOUS Bucky Larson: Born to be a Star.I just don't understand how this movie even made it to the big screen, should have been a Direct to video release.
  15. Jun 17, 2012
    0
    One of the worst movies ever!!! Bucky Larson: Born to to be Star have much, really much mistakes. The trama is like other terrible comedy movies. The cast is regular (some good actors), but what happen? In this movie all the cast have an stupid performance. This movie is really horrible, stupid and boring.
  16. Jun 6, 2012
    0
    Possibly The Worst Comedy I Have Ever Seen!
    No Effort At All! The Worst Movie Of 2000-Present!
  17. Jul 10, 2013
    1
    This movie is insulting to my intelligence. This movie is insulting to everyone's intelligence. The whole theme of the movie seemed vulgar, gross, and stupid, but I decided to watch it because Happy Madison has made some funny movies before with stupid premises and it was co-written by Adam Sandler so there was a good chance that this movie could have been funny. Unfortunately I couldn'tThis movie is insulting to my intelligence. This movie is insulting to everyone's intelligence. The whole theme of the movie seemed vulgar, gross, and stupid, but I decided to watch it because Happy Madison has made some funny movies before with stupid premises and it was co-written by Adam Sandler so there was a good chance that this movie could have been funny. Unfortunately I couldn't have been more wrong. The movie tries to use two kind of humor, gross humor and stupid humor. In the end it manages to be stupid and gross but fails to be humorous in any way shape or form. It's a huge, unfunny, and insulting waste of time so don't watch it. I wouldn't wish this kind of torture on anyone. So save yourself and your brain cells and avoid this movie at any and all costs. Expand
  18. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Such trash to the fact that they make toilet humor look worst than it ever was, I would compare this to Scary Movie comedy but not even. This movie over uses toilet humor and d*ck jokes sooo much that its not funny, their is a certain level of how much of this humor you can use but this is over the top and gross that it makes Adam Sandler look bad for co-producing this and releasing it inSuch trash to the fact that they make toilet humor look worst than it ever was, I would compare this to Scary Movie comedy but not even. This movie over uses toilet humor and d*ck jokes sooo much that its not funny, their is a certain level of how much of this humor you can use but this is over the top and gross that it makes Adam Sandler look bad for co-producing this and releasing it in his company. This is just another one of Happy Madison's failed abortions. Expand
  19. Jan 4, 2012
    0
    Bucky Larson: Born to be a Star. [raspberry] AS IF! Bucky Larson was never born to be a star, and only embarrasses himself inside this terrible, worthless, stupid comedy. It's most likely this will get a Razzie.
  20. Jan 19, 2012
    1
    One of the worst movies 2011 has ever watched. For one, the props are poorly made, including, "Bucky Larson's" teeth. They're white, and see-through when reflected with light. Plus, the actors were just awkward at times. Every joke make me face-palm. You may get a few chuckles out of this movie, as in the grape scene. Possibly. Otherwise, this movie is pure garbage.
  21. Jun 18, 2012
    0
    a gooooooooooooooooooooooooooood movie!!!!!!!! Would watch again to 420 blaze through it coz 419 is too noob and not as good coz booom headshot win win win
  22. Jun 29, 2012
    0
    I believe that the best way to talk about this movie without spoiling what little is here is to talk about Nick Swardson. He is the reason that this movie makes me a little sad. I really enjoy most of his better known work. I thought he was very good in Reno 911! as Terry, the homosexual prostitute, and I think his stand-up routine is fairly strong. And then, this happens. And it isn
  23. Nov 7, 2012
    0
    Is this supposed to be a spoof of Boogie Nights? I don't know, but nothing works in this dreadful film and Nick Swardson isn't funny once. I wish I could un-watch it.
  24. Nov 10, 2014
    0
    DO NOT SEE THIS MOVIE !!!! Boring, not interesting , weak story. looked bad in trailers and worse in theaters. this movie was worse than jack and jill
Metascore
9

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 13 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Sep 15, 2011
    0
    What does startle is how tiresome it all is.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Singer
    Sep 13, 2011
    20
    This movie is dire, soul-crushing stuff.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Sep 12, 2011
    20
    Of course, Bucky Larson isn't one of the year's worst films because its laughs are poisoned and problematic - rather, it's one of the year's worst films because there aren't any laughs at all.