User Score
2.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 112
  2. Negative: 88 out of 112
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 11, 2011
    7
    You would pretty much have to be an idiot not to expect this movie to be completely balls to the wall stupid. I'm not about to tell you that this is a good movie. It isn't. It's awful as far as movies go, but if stupidly offensive material is what makes you laugh in a morbid so wrong its funny kind of way, then this is the kind of movie you could sit through once and enjoy. As a side note,You would pretty much have to be an idiot not to expect this movie to be completely balls to the wall stupid. I'm not about to tell you that this is a good movie. It isn't. It's awful as far as movies go, but if stupidly offensive material is what makes you laugh in a morbid so wrong its funny kind of way, then this is the kind of movie you could sit through once and enjoy. As a side note, I think it's kind of weird that the dude they have in the trailers (-five of him on screen at once- "RATED Awrrrr!") is in only one scene in the entire movie. Something tells me this movie was originally going to be longer cause there are a lot of plot holes. One of the big ones, if I'm not mistaken and just wasn't paying attention, is that suddenly right after being told that Bucky's porn movies would never be successful, they somehow go into production anyway. Like it literally jumps from the scene where all the potential investors decline being any part of it as they laugh their way out of the room right to the movies being an instant success. Whatever, I put way more thought into this than was ever necessary. It's a dumb movie, but if you like stupid comedies rent it. It's not really worth going to a theater to see. Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Yeah, this is a ZERO. Bawahahahahhaaa! And since the review must be 150 characters long, there is room for some more bawahhahahahhhhahahahhhahaaaa. Some film exec probably got burned greenlighting this piece of work.
  3. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    I'm a movie critic for a Central Michigan University sponsored blog so I had to see the movie in order to review it, and could not be happier that I did. This is by far one of Adam Sandler's best productions, a nominee for movie of the year, and Stephen Dorff is a shoe in for best supporting actor. I don't think there was a moment when I wasn't laughing, and the movie also inspired me toI'm a movie critic for a Central Michigan University sponsored blog so I had to see the movie in order to review it, and could not be happier that I did. This is by far one of Adam Sandler's best productions, a nominee for movie of the year, and Stephen Dorff is a shoe in for best supporting actor. I don't think there was a moment when I wasn't laughing, and the movie also inspired me to pursue my dream of being a screen writer / comedian / adult film star. If you didn't like the movie I urge you to give it a second shot. Bucky for President 2012!! Collapse
  4. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This is better then most of the comedies out there. If a person doesn't get the humor then they probably shouldn't be writing a review. i would happily suggest watching this movie.
  5. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This could very well be the death of rated R comedies. To say Bucky Larson: Born To Be a Star is an atrocious mess with horrible performances would be an accurate description of this movie. Where Bucky Larson fails is everywhere. It does nothing right. It is an abomination to the art of cinema. There is nothing redeeming about seeing this. Adam Sandler, whom I have a stronger hate for,This could very well be the death of rated R comedies. To say Bucky Larson: Born To Be a Star is an atrocious mess with horrible performances would be an accurate description of this movie. Where Bucky Larson fails is everywhere. It does nothing right. It is an abomination to the art of cinema. There is nothing redeeming about seeing this. Adam Sandler, whom I have a stronger hate for, should be ashamed. We got through Zoo Keeper and Just Go With It, but THIS is where it ends. What is there to say? Bottom line, if you want to see a "Rated R Comedy", watch Zack and Miri Make a Porno. That movies is leagues better than this. Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    Don Johnson was certainly the highlight of this flick. He truly sold the greasiness of his character, and his eyes bored through each line with drill-like charisma, at least until the rushed-climax/resolution. Dorff somewhat dialed it in, but was passable as the antago-douche. Ricci didn't have too much to work with, the way it was scripted, but she definitely played it cute enough toDon Johnson was certainly the highlight of this flick. He truly sold the greasiness of his character, and his eyes bored through each line with drill-like charisma, at least until the rushed-climax/resolution. Dorff somewhat dialed it in, but was passable as the antago-douche. Ricci didn't have too much to work with, the way it was scripted, but she definitely played it cute enough to get by. Nealon was an unexpected hoot. Mosseri was pretty funny for a background. Sandler's standard roster of players could definitely have used waaaaaay much more screen time. The casting of the hotties was done well, and there were a few shots that were cinematographically attractive, to my surprise. Swardson immersed himself in a role which had to have been tough to sell, so he did what he could. Raunchily bad overall? Yes. On-purpose? Totally. Take this movie for what it is. I mean, look at the premise... what do you expect, Godfather? A few giggles here and there, some writing holes, but eh. The music selections and score were pretty good though, surprisingly enough. I'll watch it again next time I'm sh!t-faced drunk with my friends and want to have some stupid guilt-free laughs. I mean, what did you think you were going in here to see, the Godfather for chrissakes? PS: The talking mannequin in the porn shop was the breakout role of this film, everyone in the theater was shocked and laughing. Expand
  7. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    ha i had to put a 10 because it was hilarious and no one else is putting a ten.Also its best to watch with other immature people I didn't like at first because I watched it alone until I thought about how funny it accually was.
  8. Jul 25, 2014
    7
    Why the hate? This was actually a very funny movie with some touching parts to it. It looks like folks just bandwagoned themselves critic wise. Granted it helps to have knocked back a few. I laughed really hard several times in this movie.
Metascore
9

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 13 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Sep 15, 2011
    0
    What does startle is how tiresome it all is.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Singer
    Sep 13, 2011
    20
    This movie is dire, soul-crushing stuff.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Sep 12, 2011
    20
    Of course, Bucky Larson isn't one of the year's worst films because its laughs are poisoned and problematic - rather, it's one of the year's worst films because there aren't any laughs at all.