User Score
1.9

Overwhelming dislike- based on 107 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 107
  2. Negative: 85 out of 107

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This could very well be the death of rated R comedies. To say Bucky Larson: Born To Be a Star is an atrocious mess with horrible performances would be an accurate description of this movie. Where Bucky Larson fails is everywhere. It does nothing right. It is an abomination to the art of cinema. There is nothing redeeming about seeing this. Adam Sandler, whom I have a stronger hate for, should be ashamed. We got through Zoo Keeper and Just Go With It, but THIS is where it ends. What is there to say? Bottom line, if you want to see a "Rated R Comedy", watch Zack and Miri Make a Porno. That movies is leagues better than this. Expand
  2. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Yeah, this is a ZERO. Bawahahahahhaaa! And since the review must be 150 characters long, there is room for some more bawahhahahahhhhahahahhhahaaaa. Some film exec probably got burned greenlighting this piece of work.
  3. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    Don Johnson was certainly the highlight of this flick. He truly sold the greasiness of his character, and his eyes bored through each line with drill-like charisma, at least until the rushed-climax/resolution. Dorff somewhat dialed it in, but was passable as the antago-douche. Ricci didn't have too much to work with, the way it was scripted, but she definitely played it cute enough to get by. Nealon was an unexpected hoot. Mosseri was pretty funny for a background. Sandler's standard roster of players could definitely have used waaaaaay much more screen time. The casting of the hotties was done well, and there were a few shots that were cinematographically attractive, to my surprise. Swardson immersed himself in a role which had to have been tough to sell, so he did what he could. Raunchily bad overall? Yes. On-purpose? Totally. Take this movie for what it is. I mean, look at the premise... what do you expect, Godfather? A few giggles here and there, some writing holes, but eh. The music selections and score were pretty good though, surprisingly enough. I'll watch it again next time I'm sh!t-faced drunk with my friends and want to have some stupid guilt-free laughs. I mean, what did you think you were going in here to see, the Godfather for chrissakes? PS: The talking mannequin in the porn shop was the breakout role of this film, everyone in the theater was shocked and laughing. Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    I'm a movie critic for a Central Michigan University sponsored blog so I had to see the movie in order to review it, and could not be happier that I did. This is by far one of Adam Sandler's best productions, a nominee for movie of the year, and Stephen Dorff is a shoe in for best supporting actor. I don't think there was a moment when I wasn't laughing, and the movie also inspired me to pursue my dream of being a screen writer / comedian / adult film star. If you didn't like the movie I urge you to give it a second shot. Bucky for President 2012!! Collapse
  5. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This is better then most of the comedies out there. If a person doesn't get the humor then they probably shouldn't be writing a review. i would happily suggest watching this movie.
  6. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    ha i had to put a 10 because it was hilarious and no one else is putting a ten.Also its best to watch with other immature people I didn't like at first because I watched it alone until I thought about how funny it accually was.
Metascore
9

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 13 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Sep 15, 2011
    0
    What does startle is how tiresome it all is.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Singer
    Sep 13, 2011
    20
    This movie is dire, soul-crushing stuff.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Sep 12, 2011
    20
    Of course, Bucky Larson isn't one of the year's worst films because its laughs are poisoned and problematic - rather, it's one of the year's worst films because there aren't any laughs at all.