User Score
1.8

Overwhelming dislike- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 105
  2. Negative: 84 out of 105

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    ha i had to put a 10 because it was hilarious and no one else is putting a ten.Also its best to watch with other immature people I didn't like at first because I watched it alone until I thought about how funny it accually was.
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    1
    This movie is insulting to my intelligence. This movie is insulting to everyone's intelligence. The whole theme of the movie seemed vulgar, gross, and stupid, but I decided to watch it because Happy Madison has made some funny movies before with stupid premises and it was co-written by Adam Sandler so there was a good chance that this movie could have been funny. Unfortunately I couldn't have been more wrong. The movie tries to use two kind of humor, gross humor and stupid humor. In the end it manages to be stupid and gross but fails to be humorous in any way shape or form. It's a huge, unfunny, and insulting waste of time so don't watch it. I wouldn't wish this kind of torture on anyone. So save yourself and your brain cells and avoid this movie at any and all costs. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2012
    0
    Is this supposed to be a spoof of Boogie Nights? I don't know, but nothing works in this dreadful film and Nick Swardson isn't funny once. I wish I could un-watch it.
  4. Jun 29, 2012
    0
    I believe that the best way to talk about this movie without spoiling what little is here is to talk about Nick Swardson. He is the reason that this movie makes me a little sad. I really enjoy most of his better known work. I thought he was very good in Reno 911! as Terry, the homosexual prostitute, and I think his stand-up routine is fairly strong. And then, this happens. And it isn
  5. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    This is better then most of the comedies out there. If a person doesn't get the humor then they probably shouldn't be writing a review. i would happily suggest watching this movie.
  6. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Yeah, this is a ZERO. Bawahahahahhaaa! And since the review must be 150 characters long, there is room for some more bawahhahahahhhhahahahhhahaaaa. Some film exec probably got burned greenlighting this piece of work.
  7. Jun 18, 2012
    0
    a gooooooooooooooooooooooooooood movie!!!!!!!! Would watch again to 420 blaze through it coz 419 is too noob and not as good coz booom headshot win win win
  8. Jun 17, 2012
    0
    One of the worst movies ever!!! Bucky Larson: Born to to be Star have much, really much mistakes. The trama is like other terrible comedy movies. The cast is regular (some good actors), but what happen? In this movie all the cast have an stupid performance. This movie is really horrible, stupid and boring.
  9. Jun 6, 2012
    0
    Possibly The Worst Comedy I Have Ever Seen!
    No Effort At All! The Worst Movie Of 2000-Present!
  10. Jan 19, 2012
    1
    One of the worst movies 2011 has ever watched. For one, the props are poorly made, including, "Bucky Larson's" teeth. They're white, and see-through when reflected with light. Plus, the actors were just awkward at times. Every joke make me face-palm. You may get a few chuckles out of this movie, as in the grape scene. Possibly. Otherwise, this movie is pure garbage.
  11. Jan 4, 2012
    0
    Bucky Larson: Born to be a Star. [raspberry] AS IF! Bucky Larson was never born to be a star, and only embarrasses himself inside this terrible, worthless, stupid comedy. It's most likely this will get a Razzie.
  12. Dec 28, 2011
    4
    First off we all knew this movie was going to be a sausage fest and completely stupid and immature but really lay off the guys I thought many of the critics including Rotten Tomatoes were way to harsh by giving this a 0%, I admit with out denial the movie was garbage and not worth anymore than a 35% on a scale to 100 but it profiled its purpose by grossing you out and making you chuckle once in a while, I really don't see how Borat is any better but in all honesty this movie sucked. Expand
  13. Dec 6, 2011
    0
    Such trash to the fact that they make toilet humor look worst than it ever was, I would compare this to Scary Movie comedy but not even. This movie over uses toilet humor and d*ck jokes sooo much that its not funny, their is a certain level of how much of this humor you can use but this is over the top and gross that it makes Adam Sandler look bad for co-producing this and releasing it in his company. This is just another one of Happy Madison's failed abortions. Expand
  14. Nov 25, 2011
    4
    lol saw this in theaters; i knew it would be dumb, but i was shocked at just how dumb it was; there were parts that had me laughing uncontrollably, and other parts that tried way to hard to be funny.

    all in all its pretty bad movie; its almost so bad that its good; but it falls just short of that.
  15. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    movies like these give me hope. that i will be a good filmmaker. i can't believe movies like these get made!!! only because they have people like adam sandler being a producer. that's the only reason they get made. if i brought them the script for this movie they'd laugh me out of the building, but put adam sandler as a producer and bam it gets made!!! BULLSH*T
  16. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Stephen Dorf, who gave the best performance of his career last year in "Somewhere" follows that with the EGREGIOUS Bucky Larson: Born to be a Star.I just don't understand how this movie even made it to the big screen, should have been a Direct to video release.
  17. Oct 7, 2011
    1
    Christina Ricci And Stephen Dorff What The Hell??? All Of Your Other Movies Are Ok... Why Does This Movie Suck?? Honestly This Is One Of The Worst Movies I Have Ever Seen! Acting Is God Awful, And So Is The Plot... There Trying To Be Funny.... But I'm Not Laughing... Its Production Values Are Meh.. Brings It Up 1 Pt... I Want This Movie To Be Nammed "The Worst Movie Of The Year"
  18. Oct 3, 2011
    1
    Trully pathethical and terrifying movie, the acting is horrible, born to be an idiot should be the real title, totally disappointed, after the movie finished, I was begging the owners of the cinema, I wanted my money bag... I wanted it.
  19. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    I'm a movie critic for a Central Michigan University sponsored blog so I had to see the movie in order to review it, and could not be happier that I did. This is by far one of Adam Sandler's best productions, a nominee for movie of the year, and Stephen Dorff is a shoe in for best supporting actor. I don't think there was a moment when I wasn't laughing, and the movie also inspired me to pursue my dream of being a screen writer / comedian / adult film star. If you didn't like the movie I urge you to give it a second shot. Bucky for President 2012!! Expand
  20. Sep 28, 2011
    5
    i enjoyed the first half hour of this film and i thought theyve got something good here but then sadly the next hour of the film was dull. nick swardsons excellent comedic talent is wasted in a fairly bad script
  21. Sep 27, 2011
    0
    If there is one phrase that could sum up this film ; Never go full retard........
  22. Sep 22, 2011
    0
    I first saw the trailer thinking it was a joke...some sort of funny or die skit. It was so horrendous I had to go see the movie. Lets just say my first impression was right. Don't waste the money but watch it eventually for a laugh at how horrible it is.
  23. Sep 20, 2011
    0
    Who ever keeps thinking crap like this (film?) should be made are devoid of all talent.
    A lot of the stars in this movie are ...ok actors, but this movie has done a great disservice to them all.
    Skip it or burn it your choice.
  24. Sep 15, 2011
    0
    I actually wasted an hour and a half of my life with this movie? I knew it was going to be atrocious but i had to kill time, good thing i work at my theater so i got in for free. Their is a reason why this movie had one of the worst openings for a wide release movie of all time, its because its the dumbest and most pointless and stupid thins to ever be created. I cant even call it a movie because this is a disgrace to the movie business, whatever you do, do not waste your money nor your valuable time with this piece of crap. Definite 0/10 Expand
  25. Sep 14, 2011
    0
    Awful. Makes no sense on any level or in any way and the poor stars who was talked into doing this might as well go home. Their careers are over: Edward Hermann (Remember FDR) Steven Dorff, Don Johnson, Christina Ricci and even poor Nick Tuturro. I think only Kevin Nealon may survive this because his character was so inexplicable that it almost doesn't matter.
  26. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This could very well be the death of rated R comedies. To say Bucky Larson: Born To Be a Star is an atrocious mess with horrible performances would be an accurate description of this movie. Where Bucky Larson fails is everywhere. It does nothing right. It is an abomination to the art of cinema. There is nothing redeeming about seeing this. Adam Sandler, whom I have a stronger hate for, should be ashamed. We got through Zoo Keeper and Just Go With It, but THIS is where it ends. What is there to say? Bottom line, if you want to see a "Rated R Comedy", watch Zack and Miri Make a Porno. That movies is leagues better than this. Expand
  27. Sep 12, 2011
    0
    Absolute, utter garbage. Nick Swardson is so void of talent that he should be banned from breathing. Everything about this film is completely embarrassing to the film industry as a whole. Seeing an actress like Christina Ricci in this film is just a disgrace and proof that her career is in the toilet. There is nothing worthwhile to say about this movie, if someone were to like this then they probably have no soul and/or no brain. Burn any copies you find and stop being friends with anyone who likes this kind of swill. Very strong candidate for worst film of the year. Expand
  28. Sep 12, 2011
    1
    Skip-it - Christina Ricci and Stephen Dorff's careers are officially over. They are no longer stars. And neither is Bucky Larson. One of the worst films of the year.
  29. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    Don Johnson was certainly the highlight of this flick. He truly sold the greasiness of his character, and his eyes bored through each line with drill-like charisma, at least until the rushed-climax/resolution. Dorff somewhat dialed it in, but was passable as the antago-douche. Ricci didn't have too much to work with, the way it was scripted, but she definitely played it cute enough to get by. Nealon was an unexpected hoot. Mosseri was pretty funny for a background. Sandler's standard roster of players could definitely have used waaaaaay much more screen time. The casting of the hotties was done well, and there were a few shots that were cinematographically attractive, to my surprise. Swardson immersed himself in a role which had to have been tough to sell, so he did what he could. Raunchily bad overall? Yes. On-purpose? Totally. Take this movie for what it is. I mean, look at the premise... what do you expect, Godfather? A few giggles here and there, some writing holes, but eh. The music selections and score were pretty good though, surprisingly enough. I'll watch it again next time I'm sh!t-faced drunk with my friends and want to have some stupid guilt-free laughs. I mean, what did you think you were going in here to see, the Godfather for chrissakes? PS: The talking mannequin in the porn shop was the breakout role of this film, everyone in the theater was shocked and laughing. Expand
  30. Sep 11, 2011
    0
    There are so many reasons why I will not see "Bucky Larson: Born To Be a Star." 1. The film looks so bad, even Grandma's Boy only had two feet of a porno movie. 2. A boring and unfunny comedy that should get a razzie next year. 3. Why is Adam Sandler producing this appauling mess? One thing is for certain, put this in the list in the box office bombs list and send it next to Mars Needs Moms and Green Lantern all over their death certificate. Expand
Metascore
9

Overwhelming dislike - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 13 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Sep 15, 2011
    0
    What does startle is how tiresome it all is.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Singer
    Sep 13, 2011
    20
    This movie is dire, soul-crushing stuff.
  3. Reviewed by: David Ehrlich
    Sep 12, 2011
    20
    Of course, Bucky Larson isn't one of the year's worst films because its laughs are poisoned and problematic - rather, it's one of the year's worst films because there aren't any laughs at all.