Bug

  • Release Date: May 25, 2007
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 95
  2. Negative: 40 out of 95

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. TrentS.
    Jun 1, 2007
    8
    Surprisingly strong adaptation of a very tricky play to pull off. Friedkin is in top form playing with lighting and the limited set better than any film in years. The performances are exceptional, from the smaller role of Brian F. O'Byrne to the leads Ashley Judd and Michael Shannon. Not a traditional horror film by any stretch of the imagination, but truly disturbing in a way no Surprisingly strong adaptation of a very tricky play to pull off. Friedkin is in top form playing with lighting and the limited set better than any film in years. The performances are exceptional, from the smaller role of Brian F. O'Byrne to the leads Ashley Judd and Michael Shannon. Not a traditional horror film by any stretch of the imagination, but truly disturbing in a way no horror film in recent memory has even attempted to reach for. Expand
  2. KennethS.
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    For anyone who has ever been around a person on the edge of sanity this was a very chilling portrayal of the descent into madness. A great real-life horror film with fantastic acting and direction.
  3. BobC
    Oct 9, 2007
    7
    The biggest problem with this movie was the way it was marketed. This is not a horror movie. It's not a science fiction movie. It's a drama. If you approach it as a dramatic film and take a second to think about the plot and the characters you may actually see an interesting movie about a couple of desperate people who find solice in each others insanity. Others seem to be The biggest problem with this movie was the way it was marketed. This is not a horror movie. It's not a science fiction movie. It's a drama. If you approach it as a dramatic film and take a second to think about the plot and the characters you may actually see an interesting movie about a couple of desperate people who find solice in each others insanity. Others seem to be approaching it in hopes of seeing people who get eaten alive by some kind of alien insects or a skin eating virus. Those people seem to be the ones who are writing negative reviews. Though, that's the problem studios face when they try to sell thoughtful films to a mass audience. The mass audience doesn't really understand it and "knee-jerkedly" call it stupid. Expand
  4. TylerG.
    May 25, 2007
    10
    Great horror film one of the best of the year by far one of the best ever, go see this movie, it has great acting and it's overall a great experience.
  5. Poopon
    Sep 26, 2007
    9
    Luv the user reviews. Either its a very low score or a very high score, not much in between. And that likely shows that this is a great, unique movie experience. I rated it high obviously. This being because it was such a great ride to go on with the characters. I only wish we had been completely stuck in the motel room with the characters the entire movie instead of straying to the Luv the user reviews. Either its a very low score or a very high score, not much in between. And that likely shows that this is a great, unique movie experience. I rated it high obviously. This being because it was such a great ride to go on with the characters. I only wish we had been completely stuck in the motel room with the characters the entire movie instead of straying to the outside world on occasion. Other than that, the acting was superb and very believable. Micheal Shannon plays one of the craziest people ever and yet comes off intelligent and makes you want to believe what he is preaching. Agnes falls right for it and becomes just as crazy as Peter. I plan to watch it again because I know for a fact there are subtle things I missed....only really good movies require a second viewing to fully understand the movie as a whole IMO. Expand
  6. KennedyF.
    Feb 22, 2008
    9
    Tense and totally engrossing. Amazing performances.
  7. AliciaS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    8
    An awesomely creepy look at how delusion and paranoia can spread. Unbelievable acting. The first half is a little slow, but it becomes more and more creepy as it builds up to a very powerful end. As a Psych major, I ate it up. I have never seen anything else to even begin to compare it to! Unique and clever. A must-see for anyone interested in the human psyche.
  8. Jo-anB.
    May 27, 2007
    9
    What a great acting job. I really unique movie Think Ashley Judd out did herself; what a contrast to her past movies. Harry Conick is not quite as believable, but I really liked Michael Shannon...it was nice to see a newcomer in the mix.
  9. Graemedark
    May 28, 2007
    8
    Not the average slasher/horror film many may be expecting... there were several walkouts at the screening I attended (all chatty teenagers with too-active cell phones, I'll say). This is basically an intense, psychological arthouse film, more potent and sophisticated than the teen fare we've been inundated with lately. Definitely for the adventurous cineaste.
  10. RichardB.
    May 30, 2007
    10
    Its not the gory gross out torture movie that the current horror fans seem to want, but its a movie with great acting, very original, and really "gets under your skin."
  11. ChadS.
    Jun 1, 2007
    7
    "Bug" is a love story and love makes you do crazy things; that is the essence of the film's "What if Mulder was insane?" scenario. Agnes(Ashley Judd) is on the pipe and snorts coke, but love is the real drug she's hooked on. Not since Jodie Foster in "Nell" has a big-time actress risk looking utterly ridiculous by making the attempt to be primal without any vanity or "Bug" is a love story and love makes you do crazy things; that is the essence of the film's "What if Mulder was insane?" scenario. Agnes(Ashley Judd) is on the pipe and snorts coke, but love is the real drug she's hooked on. Not since Jodie Foster in "Nell" has a big-time actress risk looking utterly ridiculous by making the attempt to be primal without any vanity or self-consciousness. She largely succeeds, with a lot of help from Michael Shannon. Although "Bug" needs the time to establish Peter as a benevolent character, more time could've been devoted to the building of suspense rather than the construction of tedium. After all, "Bug" is largely a filmed play. But give the filmmaker credit for not resorting to CGI effects to dramatize the imagery in Peter's mind. Expand
  12. PaulK.
    Jun 15, 2007
    7
    This definitely takes a long time to get where it's going, but the end of it is payoff worth the wait. A good video pick for the fall/winter.
  13. BeakBeak
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    Bug was a good movie. Not what I expect, but good. I think most people who didn't like this movie expected a run-of-the-mill horror flick. Well it wasn't one, sorry you retards don't understand anything beyond Van Helsing.
  14. RobertR
    Sep 22, 2007
    7
    Bug is stupendous. It
  15. SuziP.
    Oct 12, 2007
    10
    I love this movie it totally tore my heart out at the end!
  16. BillB.
    Oct 17, 2007
    8
    Even though I was bored through most of the movie, and the ending wasn't very brutal, or surprising, I still liked this movie. It is not based on a formula, and it is memorable. What more can one ask for?
  17. MW
    Dec 12, 2007
    8
    Very interesting film. Not at all what I expected (I imagine that's a common observation of this film). I thoroughly enjoyed the ride into madness experienced by Ashley's character, and the gleeful way in which Michael Shannon's character led (not dragged) her into the abyss. I thought both were superb in their roles. And there was just enough of a crack in the door to make Very interesting film. Not at all what I expected (I imagine that's a common observation of this film). I thoroughly enjoyed the ride into madness experienced by Ashley's character, and the gleeful way in which Michael Shannon's character led (not dragged) her into the abyss. I thought both were superb in their roles. And there was just enough of a crack in the door to make you wonder if in fact they were insane at all or if the military really had done something heinous to them (e.g. was the "doctor" really even there?) Expand
  18. J.J.M.
    May 29, 2007
    8
    While it is clear that the trailers represented a different film, this was a good cinematic experience in its own right. This was based on a play that was classified as 'horror/comedy.' All comedic moments ARE intentional, if not a little uncomfortable. This film explores the psychology of the characters, and despite others comments to the contrary, this film shows Ashley Judd While it is clear that the trailers represented a different film, this was a good cinematic experience in its own right. This was based on a play that was classified as 'horror/comedy.' All comedic moments ARE intentional, if not a little uncomfortable. This film explores the psychology of the characters, and despite others comments to the contrary, this film shows Ashley Judd is a fantastic actress. Don't go see this if you are expecting 'Slither.' You won't find it here. Expand
  19. Mark
    May 31, 2007
    10
    This is Ashley Judd's finest performance to date. And her co-star Michael Shannon keeps pace with the raw emotion of the plot. This is not a horror film except for the horror that occurs in people's minds when they lose touch with reality. The movie is a scary portrait of what can happen when two people with the same distorted perspective get together and re-enforce each This is Ashley Judd's finest performance to date. And her co-star Michael Shannon keeps pace with the raw emotion of the plot. This is not a horror film except for the horror that occurs in people's minds when they lose touch with reality. The movie is a scary portrait of what can happen when two people with the same distorted perspective get together and re-enforce each other's delusions until they become real. It suggests why some succumb to such charismatic destructive leaders like Jim Jones and other suicidal martyrs. This movie is not for the faint of heart. It is not a date movie for those looking for light entertainment. But it is a movie that will leave you thinking. Expand
  20. luluf.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    Blew me away! Starts off slow. I actually looked at the CD blurb to see if I had picked up a drama rather than a horror flick. But just hang on. Let the movie steep you like a bag of tea in hot water. The scorch is coming. Hang on! Loved it. Would like to see more filmmaking of this caliber.
  21. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    This film is a huge **** It starts off interesting and ends perfectly and it shows just how far 2 people can go into madness. I think the leads were great and played their roles perfectly. I really liked this film.
  22. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    **** great. Utterly mis-marketed. Michael Shannon gives a spellbinding performance that will stand the test of time with some of the great characters of the last 20 years.
  23. Jul 30, 2013
    7
    Bug is a perfect example of an excellent stage play being properly transferred onto the silver screen. They cleverly kept Shannon from the hit play at Red Orchid, and Judd does an outstanding job in her demented role. The camera work is clean, and the set dressing it disturbingly breathtaking. It is not a horror, but a psychological thriller. It is thought provoking, nerve-wracking, andBug is a perfect example of an excellent stage play being properly transferred onto the silver screen. They cleverly kept Shannon from the hit play at Red Orchid, and Judd does an outstanding job in her demented role. The camera work is clean, and the set dressing it disturbingly breathtaking. It is not a horror, but a psychological thriller. It is thought provoking, nerve-wracking, and sad. Tracy Letts is a master at his craft, and if you are wanting a completely messed up flick, look no further. Expand
  24. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Thanks to great direction, interesting characters and powerhouse performances from Ashley Judd and Michael Shannon, “Bug” is just a flat out amazing and an incredibly disturbing film about two people slowly losing their hold on reality. Unlike most movies about the paranoid or conspiracy theorists, this one felt realistic and the psychosis that the characters of Agnes and Peter go through comes off in such a way that I started to wonder if their reality isn’t the true reality of the film. Of course, it’s not but the characters are played so believably that it’s easy to engage yourself with the troubled twosome. This movie is also one of those films that actually gets better for me with each viewing as each time I am able to appreciate the subtext, editing and overall direction from William Friedkin more and more. Expand
  25. Sep 28, 2015
    7
    Bug is an odd film that I want to uprate because it is so different and features some intense acting, but cannot because not enough actually happens. Although it is not a very scary, violent, or graphic film, I would class it as a kind of psychological drama horror. It is reminiscent of both "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf" and "American Hustle" in a weird way. Recommended mainly to thoseBug is an odd film that I want to uprate because it is so different and features some intense acting, but cannot because not enough actually happens. Although it is not a very scary, violent, or graphic film, I would class it as a kind of psychological drama horror. It is reminiscent of both "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf" and "American Hustle" in a weird way. Recommended mainly to those with a keen interest in the psychological. Expand
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. With his (Friedkin) vigorous camera compositions and a talented cast, he manages to straddle a wickedly fine line between taught portrayal of paranoia and parody of paranoia.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    40
    A ranting, claustrophobic drama that trades in shopworn paranoid notions, William Friedkin's overwrought screen version of Tracy Letts' play assaults the viewer with aggressive thesping and over-the-top notions of shocking incident, all to intensely alienating effect.
  3. Has the feverish compression of live theater and the moody expansiveness of film. The mix is insanely powerful.